Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 071/2014

New Materials Science Center at KIT

Foundation Stone Ceremony with Minister Schmid – Focus on Materials for Energy Storage and Conversion
2014_071_Neues_Materialwissenschaftliches_Zentrum_am_KIT_72dpi

New materials for energy storage and energy conversion will be in the focus of research conducted at the Materials Science Center for Energy Systems (MZE) that will be built on KIT Campus South. Today, the foundation stone ceremony took place in the presence of the Baden-Württemberg Minister of Finance and Economics Dr. Nils Schmid. The building costs of EUR 27.4 million will be shared equally between the Federal Republic of Germany and the state of Baden-Württemberg. The funds have been granted under a competition launched by the State Ministry of Science, Research, and the Arts to establish materials science centers in Baden-Württemberg. At the same time, the Microtribology Center of the Fraunhofer Society is being built in the vicinity. It will study scientific aspects of friction and wear processes.

 

“We do not only lay the foundation stone for a new building, but also for a closer cooperation between research and industry in the Southwest. For the state government, this new building is an investment into the future of this leading state of innovation in Europe. Baden-Württemberg is to be enabled to continue its innovation tradition in the future,” said the Minister of Finance and Economics, Nils Schmid, during the ceremony. The event was organized by the Karlsruhe Office for Assets and Construction in Baden-Württemberg on behalf of the Ministry of Finance and Economics and the Fraunhofer Society.

 

“Materials research is one of the major drivers of innovations in many branches and for many applications. The MZE with its focus on energy technology and the specific competence of KIT will contribute significantly to a sustainable economy,” said the Minister of Science, Research, and the Arts of the state of Baden-Württemberg, Theresia Bauer.

 

“New materials for energy supply, such as rechargeable battery systems and printable solar cells, are major prerequisites for the energy turnaround. The MZE will contribute essentially to their development. For this purpose, scientists of various disciplines cooperate closely at the KIT. We would like to thank the Federation and the State for their support in establishing the Materials Science Center for Energy Systems,” emphasized Professor Holger Hanselka, President of KIT.

 

The MZE will pool materials science working groups with about 200 employees in total. They focus on process technology, characterization and modeling as well as on the simulation of new materials for energy systems. The new center will allow for an unprecedented highly interdisciplinary cooperation of engineers and scientists. “Research at the MZE will not only cover the development of new materials for energy technology, but also processes, by means of which these materials can be produced efficiently, processed, and integrated into complete systems,” explained Professor Michael J. Hoffmann, Coordinator of the MZE.

 

The new building with a usable area of about 4200 m2 is being constructed under the supervision of the Karlsruhe Office for Assets and Construction in Baden-Württemberg on the Campus South of KIT in the direct vicinity of the Audimax. The design was made by the architectural office van den Valentyn, Cologne, that won the first prize in a competition in 2011. Room layout is tailored specially to the interdisciplinary work and to foster communication among the working groups and their cooperation. The building is planned to be completed in late 2015. The total project volume is EUR 35.8 million, EUR 27.4 million of which are spent for the new building. This amount is financed at an equal ratio from state funds under the Zukunftsoffensive IV program and from federal supraregional funds to promote research.

 

At the same time, the Microtribology Center of the Fraunhofer Society is being built near the MZE. Here, the Fraunhofer Institute for Mechanics of Materials IWM, Freiburg, and the KIT Institute for Applied Materials will increasingly concentrate their cooperation in the area of microtribology in the future. Microtribology focuses on friction and wear of components, both of which reduce the lifetimes and adversely affect the economic efficiency and reliability of technical systems. “Location of the Microtribology Center on the premises of KIT Campus South means a big opportunity for both partners to use synergy potentials. This is the basis for pushing the energy turnaround and for providing industry with new materials science solutions,” said Professor Alfred Gossner, Executive Vice President Finance, Controlling and Information Systems of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 02.06.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseAby3∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneKls9∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseGxr5∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 071/2014

Neues Materialwissenschaftliches Zentrum am KIT

Feierliche Grundsteinlegung mit Minister Schmid – Werkstoffe für Energiespeicherung und Energiewandlung im Fokus
Anette Ipach-Öhmann, Leiterin des Landesbetriebs Vermögen und Bau Baden-Württemberg; Prof. Alfred Gossner, Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft; Finanzminister Dr. Nils Schmid; KIT-Vizepräsident Prof. Detlef Löhe; Thomas Wientgen, Architekturbüro van den Valentyn (v.l
Anette Ipach-Öhmann, Leiterin des Landesbetriebs Vermögen und Bau BW; Prof. Alfred Gossner, Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft; Finanzminister Dr. Nils Schmid; KIT-Vizepräsident Prof. Detlef Löhe; Thomas Wientgen, Architekturbüro van den Valentyn (Foto: KIT)

Neue Werkstoffe für Energiespeicherung und Energiewandlung stehen im Mittelpunkt der Forschung des Materialwissenschaftlichen Zentrums für Energiesysteme (MZE), das nun am Campus Süd des KIT gebaut wird. Die feierliche Grundsteinlegung fand heute mit dem baden-württembergischen Minister für Finanzen und Wirtschaft Dr. Nils Schmid statt. Den Neubau für 27,4 Millionen Euro finanzieren Land und Bund jeweils zur Hälfte. Die Mittel hatte das Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg in einem Wettbewerb zur Etablierung materialwissenschaftlicher Forschungsbauten in Baden-Württemberg ausgelobt. Zeitgleich entsteht in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft das MikroTribologie Centrum der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, das sich mit wissenschaftlichen Aspekten von Reib- und Verschleißprozessen beschäftigt. Fotos von der Grundsteinlegung finden Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der Medien hier ab circa 16 Uhr zum Herunterladen.

 

„Wir legen nicht nur den Grundstein für ein neues Gebäude, sondern auch für die noch stärkere Zusammenarbeit zwischen Forschung und Wirtschaft im Südwesten. Für die Landesregierung ist dieser Neubau eine Investition in die Zukunft des Innovationslandes Nummer eins in Europa, damit in Baden-Württemberg Innovation auch in Zukunft Tradition hat“, sagte Finanz- und Wirtschaftsminister Nils Schmid bei der Grundsteinlegung. Zu der Feier hatte das Amt Karlsruhe, Vermögen und Bau Baden-Württemberg, im Namen des Ministeriums für Finanzen und Wirtschaft und der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft eingeladen.

 

„Die materialwissenschaftliche Forschung ist einer der bedeutendsten Innovationstreiber in vielen Branchen und bei vielen Anwendungen. Das MZE wird mit seinem besonderen Schwerpunkt in der Energietechnik und der spezifischen Kompetenz des KIT auf diesem Feld einen wichtigen Beitrag zu einer ressourcenschonenden Wirtschaftsweise leisten“, so die Ministerin für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst des Landes Baden-Württemberg, Theresia Bauer.

 

„Neue Materialien für die Energieversorgung, etwa für wiederaufladbare Batteriesysteme und druckbare Solarzellen, sind entscheidende Voraussetzungen für die Energiewende. Zu ihrer Entwicklung wird das MZE maßgeblich beitragen, dazu arbeiten die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler verschiedener Disziplinen am KIT eng zusammen. Für die große Unterstützung beim Aufbau des Materialwissenschaftlichen Zentrums für Energiesysteme danken wir Bund und Land sehr“, betont Professor Holger Hanselka, Präsident des KIT.

 

Primär materialwissenschaftlich ausgerichtete Arbeitsgruppen mit insgesamt circa 200 Mitarbeitern, die sich sich mit der Prozesstechnik, der Charakterisierung sowie der Modellierung und Simulation von neuen Materialien für Energiesysteme beschäftigen, werden im MZE fachübergreifend unter einem Dach zusammengeführt. Der Forschungsneubau eröffnet somit erstmals die Möglichkeit einer hochgradig interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit von Ingenieuren und Naturwissenschaftlern. „Denn in der Forschung am MZE geht es nicht nur um die Entwicklung neuer Materialien für die Energietechnik, sondern auch um die Verfahren, mit denen sie sich wirtschaftlich herstellen, verarbeiten und in komplette Systeme integrieren lassen“, erläutert Professor Michael J. Hoffmann, Koordinator des MZE.

 

Der Forschungsneubau mit einer Nutzfläche von circa 4.200 Quadratmetern entsteht unter Projektleitung von Vermögen und Bau Baden Württemberg, Amt Karlsruhe, auf dem Campus Süd des KIT in unmittelbarer Nähe des Audimax. Der Entwurf stammt vom Kölner Architekturbüro van den Valentyn, das 2011 in einem Planungswettbewerb den ersten Preis gewann. Das räumliche Konzept wurde speziell auf den interdisziplinären Ansatz zugeschnitten mit dem Ziel, die Kommunikation zwischen den Arbeitsgruppen zu intensivieren und damit die Zusammenarbeit zu fördern. Die Fertigstellung des Gebäudes ist für Ende 2015 geplant. Das finanzielle Gesamtvolumen des Vorhabens beträgt 35,8 Millionen Euro, davon entfallen 27,4 Millionen Euro auf den Neubau. Finanziert wird dieser jeweils zur Hälfte mit Landesmitteln der Zukunftsoffensive IV und mit Mitteln der überregionalen Forschungsförderung des Bundes.

 

Zeitgleich entsteht neben dem MZE der Neubau für das MikroTribologie Centrum der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. Im MikroTribologie Centrum werden das Fraunhofer-Institut für Werkstoffmechanik IWM Freiburg und das Institut für Angewandte Materialien des KIT ihre enge Zusammenarbeit in der Mikrotribologie künftig noch stärker bündeln. Die Mikrotribologie erforscht Reibung und Verschleiß bei Bauteilen, die deren Lebensdauer verkürzen und die Wirtschaftlichkeit und Zuverlässigkeit technische Systeme beeinträchtigen. „Die Ansiedlung des MikroTribologie Centrums auf dem Gelände des KIT-Campus Süd ist für beide Partner eine große Chance, Synergiepotenziale zu nutzen. Dies ist die Basis, um sowohl die Energiewende voranzutreiben als auch um der Industrie neue materialwissenschaftliche Lösungen zu bieten“, so Professor Alfred Gossner, Vorstand Finanzen, Controlling, IT der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

le, 02.06.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneWxn4∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseSlo9∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.