Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 063/2014

KIT Representation in China Opened

KIT’s Strategic Representation Office at Suzhou, China, Acts as Central Interface between Chinese Partners and KIT Scientists
2014_063_KIT_Eroeffnung_der_KIT-Repraesentanz_in_China_72dpi
Professor Detlef Löhe, KIT Vice President for Research and Information (front right), opened the new KIT representation in China. (Photo: wbk, KIT)

Researchers from China and the KIT have been cooperating successfully in scientific cooperation and innovation projects and in the promotion of young scientists for many years. From now on, KIT will present its activities under the roof of its newly opened branch office in the city of Suzhou in the Chinese province of Jiangsu. This office is to be used as an interdisciplinary platform, incubator, and contact office of the KIT for industry and science in China. The office in Suzhou was opened officially today in the presence of about 200 invited guests from science, industry, and politics of both countries.

 

“The new KIT representation in China will serve as an interdisciplinary platform to enhance cooperation projects between the KIT and its Chinese partners in the areas of education, research, and innovation,” says Holger Hanselka, President of KIT. “It will support academic exchange and joint research and development relating to current topics. This cooperation of both countries will give rise to big synergy potentials. “The KIT already cooperates with more than 30 partner universities at 22 locations in China. The spectrum of activities extends from graduate schools to joint laboratories to close-to-industry projects.

 

“The permanent representation of KIT in one of the most important countries is to provide for the direct and uncomplicated access to local partners and their needs,” explains Gisela Lanza, China Commissioner of the KIT and holder of a chair at the KIT Institute of Production Science (wbk). Workshops, seminars, and conferences on strategic fields of research of KIT will be organized. This year, the office will help organize an alumni seminar on global production, a seminar on mobility systems is planned next year. For students, summer schools and exchange programs will be established. Last, but not least, intercultural communication will be strengthened.

 

For the strategic activities of the KIT in China, Suzhou is a rather favorable location. A strategic partnership between the province of Jiangsu and the state of Baden-Württemberg has been existing for decades now. Many branch offices of German companies are located in the Suzhou Industrial Park (SIP). Vice versa, the KIT is considered an attractive partner by Chinese researchers due to its outstanding research activities and excellent networking in Baden-Württemberg.

 

Numerous industrial and academic networks in the areas of e.g. nanotechnology, production engineering, mobility, and mechanical engineering have been established in the region. Since 2006, KIT has been active in many of these networks under the roof of the Global Advanced Manufacturing Institute (GAMI). In line with the three defined KIT tasks of research, innovation, and teaching, GAMI that was founded by Lanza enhances the understanding of global production structures and develops new, robust, and controlled production networks for industrial companies in accordance with local framework conditions. Advanced qualification, training, and coaching are important elements offered by GAMI to industry partners in order to sustainably improve the supply chain. GAMI presently has 20 Chinese employees, who graduated in engineering at the KIT. It is also involved in current research projects of the KIT.

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,500 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

kes, 16.05.2014

Press contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseLzz8∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseYed5∂kit edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

Anleitung RSS-Feed einbinden

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 063/2014

Eröffnung der KIT-Repräsentanz in China

Mit seiner strategischen Präsenz im chinesischen Suzhou bietet das KIT eine zentrale Schnittstelle zwischen Partnern in China und KIT-Wissenschaftlern an
Professor Detlef Löhe, Vizepräsident für Forschung und Information des KIT (vorne re.) eröffnet die neue KIT-Repräsentanz in China. (Foto: wbk, KIT)
Professor Detlef Löhe, Vizepräsident für Forschung und Information des KIT (vorne re.) eröffnet die neue KIT-Repräsentanz in China. (Foto: wbk, KIT)

Forscher aus China und dem KIT arbeiten seit vielen Jahren erfolgreich zusammen etwa in wissenschaftlichen Kooperationen, Innovationsprojekten und bei der Nachwuchsförderung. Nun präsentiert das KIT seine Aktivitäten unter dem Dach seiner neu eröffneten Außenstelle in der Stadt Suzhou in der chinesischen Provinz Jiangsu. Als interdisziplinäre Plattform wird sie Inkubator und zentrale Kontaktstelle des KIT für Industrie und Wissenschaft in China sein. Die offizielle Eröffnung feierten heute rund 200 geladene Gäste aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik der beiden Länder in Suzhou.

 

„Die neue KIT-Repräsentanz in China wird als interdisziplinäre Plattform dienen, um Kooperationen in den Feldern Lehre, Forschung und Innovation zwischen dem KIT und seinen chinesischen Partnern zu vertiefen“, sagt Holger Hanselka, Präsident des KIT. „Sie fördert den akademischen Austausch, gemeinsame Forschung und Entwicklung zu aktuellen Themen, die in der internationalen Zusammenarbeit beider Länder Synergiepotentiale entfalten.“ Schon heute arbeitet das KIT mit über 30 Partneruniversitäten an 22 Standorten in China zusammen. Das Spektrum der Aktivitäten reicht von Graduiertenschulen über gemeinsame Labore bis zu industrienahen Projekten.

 

„Die KIT-Repräsentanz schafft mit der permanenten Vertretung in einem der wichtigsten Länder den direkten und unkomplizierten Zugang zu lokalen Partnern und deren Bedürfnissen“, erklärt Gisela Lanza, China-Beauftragte des KIT und Lehrstuhlinhaberin am wbk Institut für Produktionstechnik des KIT. Geplant sind Workshops Seminare und Konferenzen zu den strategischen Forschungsfeldern des KIT. In diesem Jahr wird die Organisation eines Alumni-Seminars zu Globaler Produktion unterstützt, im nächsten Jahr eines zu Mobilitätssystemen. Für Studierende sollen Sommerschulen und Austauschprogramme ausgerichtet werden. Und nicht zuletzt wird die interkulturelle Verständigung gestärkt.

 

Für die strategischen Aktivitäten des KIT in China ist Suzhou ein günstiger Ausgangsort. So existiert bereits seit Jahrzehnten eine strategische Partnerschaft zwischen der Provinz Jiangsu und dem Land Baden-Württemberg. Gerade im Suzhou Industrial Park (SIP) finden sich zahlreiche Ansiedlungen deutscher Industrieunternehmen. Umgekehrt gilt das KIT aufgrund seiner ausgezeichneten Forschung und exzellenten Vernetzung im Industrieland Baden-Württemberg bei chinesischen Forschern als attraktiver Partner.

 

In der Region haben sich bereits zahlreiche industrielle und akademische Netzwerke unter anderem in den Feldern Nanotechnologie, Produktionstechnik, Mobilität und Maschinenbau etabliert. Mit dem Global Advanced Manufacturing Institute (GAMI) in Suzhou ist das KIT bereits seit 2006 in vielen dieser Netzwerke aktiv. Das von Lanza gegründete Institut vertieft entsprechend der drei KIT-Säulen Forschung, Innovation und Lehre das Verständnis globaler Produktionsstrukturen und entwickelt angepasst an die lokalen Rahmenbedingungen neue, robuste und beherrschte Produktionsnetzwerke für Industrieunternehmen. Das Thema Weiterbildung, Training und Coaching ist hier ein wichtiger Baustein, den das GAMI seinen Industriepartnern anbietet, um eine nachhaltige Verbesserung in der Supply Chain zu erzielen. Die Einzigartigkeit des GAMI sind zum einen die aktuell 20 chinesischen Mitarbeiter, die überwiegend am KIT ihren Ingenieursabschluss absolviert haben und zum anderen die Einbindung in aktuelle KIT-Forschungsarbeiten.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

kes, 16.05.2014

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Redakteur/Pressereferent
Tel.: +49 721 608-21165
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail: schinarakisGdt8∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseUza8∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.