Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 054/2014

Cooperation at the Interface of Vehicle and Production Technologies

KIT Researcher Steven Peters Is First Industry Fellow of Daimler AG
2014_054_Kooperation_an_der_Schnittstelle_zwischen_Fahrzeug-_und_Produktionstechnologie_72dpi
Works at KIT and in industry: Dr. Seven Peters. (Photo: KIT/wbk)

A novel type of cooperation between Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and Daimler AG is aimed at evaluating new production processes and developing industrialization concepts for innovative technologies in automotive engineering. The industry fellowship “GoTech4DAI – Global Technology Monitoring for Dynamic Automotive Industries” bridges the gap between both disciplines and between science and industry. Industry Fellow Dr. Steven Peters is senior engineer at KIT’s Institute of Production Science (wbk).


“My tasks lie at the interface of vehicle and production technologies and the interface between science and industry,” Dr. Steven Peters explains. At KIT’s Institute of Production Science, Peters works in the research area of “Production Systems” headed by Professor Gisela Lanza. His team consists of 15 engineers. Within the framework of the “GoTech4DAI” industry fellowship, Peters studies methods to evaluate new production technologies that are still “immature”, which means not yet suited for series production in terms of costs, quality, or flexibility.

 

Together with the Center for Production and Materials Technologies (PWT) and the Research Department (RD) of Daimler AG, he develops industrialization concepts for new technologies in automotive engineering. Future models of Mercedes-Benz with their complex drive technologies serve as an example. Intelligent multi-materials lightweight construction also plays an important role. Work is aimed at using the best suited material for every component.

 

With “GoTech4DAI”, KIT and Daimler AG further intensify their long-standing close cooperation. The fellowship was initiated and promoted by Professor Gisela Lanza, Head of the Institute of Production Science (wbk) of KIT, and Professor Thomas Weber, Member of the Board of Management of Daimler AG, who is responsible for Group Research at Mercedes-Benz Cars Development. Gisela Lanza, member of the Industry-Science Research Alliance of the federal government and Shared Professor with Daimler AG until 2012, underlines the importance of the so-called shared models to KIT: “I think that close cooperation of research and industry in mechanical engineering in particular can generate a sustainable added value for both sides. This understanding has a long tradition at KIT and in particular at the wbk.”

 

As one of the shared instruments of KIT, industry fellowships allow for a close connection of research conducted by excellent young scientists to industrial applications and for the rapid knowledge transfer from research to industry and vice versa. Dr. Dieter Seegmüller, Head of the PWT of Daimler AG, considers the cooperation to be “a joint contribution to the superordinate objective of considering the development of production technologies in an earlier stage of the development process of new vehicles.” Dr. Christian Hahner, Director of Daimler AG Group Research and responsible for the research strategy and technology management, emphasizes the great potential of this innovative cooperation for both sides.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 08.05.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseCoo6∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseYrq8∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseAmf6∂kit edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

Anleitung RSS-Feed einbinden

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 054/2014

Kooperation an der Schnittstelle zwischen Fahrzeug- und Produktionstechnologie

KIT-Forscher Steven Peters wird erster Industry Fellow der Daimler AG
Arbeitet am KIT und gleichzeitig in der Industrie: Dr. Steven Peters (Bild: KIT/wbk)
Arbeitet am KIT und gleichzeitig in der Industrie: Dr. Steven Peters (Bild: KIT/wbk)

Neue Produktionsprozesse zu bewerten sowie Industrialisierungskonzepte für innovative Technologien im Automobilbau zu entwickeln, ist Ziel einer neuartigen Kooperation zwischen dem Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) und der Daimler AG: Die Industry Fellowship „GoTech4DAI – Global Technology Monitoring for Dynamic Automotive Industries“ schlägt eine Brücke zwischen den Disziplinen und zwischen Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft. Industry Fellow ist Dr. Steven Peters, Oberingenieur am wbk Institut für Produktionstechnik des KIT.


„Meine Aufgaben liegen an einer doppelten Schnittstelle – zwischen Fahrzeug- und Produktionstechnologie sowie zwischen Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft“, erklärt Dr. Steven Peters. Am wbk des KIT arbeitet Peters im Forschungsbereich „Produktionssysteme“ unter der Leitung von Professorin Gisela Lanza und führt 15 Ingenieure. In der Industry Fellowship „GoTech4DAI“ erforscht Peters Methoden zur Bewertung neuer Produktionstechnologien, die noch „unreif“, das heißt im Hinblick auf Kosten, Qualität oder Flexibilität noch nicht für eine Serienproduktion geeignet sind.

 

Gemeinsam mit dem Center Produktions- und Werkstofftechnik (PWT) sowie der Konzernforschung (RD) der Daimler AG entwickelt er Industrialisierungskonzepte für neue Technologien im Automobilbau. Als Beispiel dienen die künftigen Baureihen von Mercedes-Benz mit ihren komplexen Antriebstechnologien. Eine zentrale Rolle spielt auch der intelligente Multi-Material-Leichtbau, der darauf zielt, für jedes Bauteil den am besten geeigneten Werkstoff einzusetzen.

 

Mit „GoTech4DAI“ bauen das KIT und die Daimler AG ihre langjährige intensive Zusammenarbeit weiter aus. Initiatoren und Promotoren sind Professorin Gisela Lanza, Institutsleiterin am wbk des KIT, und Professor Thomas Weber, Vorstandsmitglied der Daimler AG, verantwortlich für Konzernforschung und Mercedes-Benz Cars Entwicklung. Gisela Lanza, Mitglied der Forschungsunion Wirtschaft – Wissenschaft der Bundesregierung und bis 2012 selbst als Shared-Professorin bei der Daimler AG tätig, unterstreicht die Bedeutung der sogenannten „Shared-Modelle“ aus der Sicht des KIT: „Ich glaube, dass gerade im Maschinenbau durch die enge Anbindung der Forschung an die Industrie ein nachhaltiger Mehrwert für beide Seiten generiert werden kann. Dieses Verständnis hat am KIT und speziell am wbk eine lange Tradition“.

 

Als ein Shared-Instrument des KIT ermöglichen Industry Fellowships herausragenden Nachwuchswissenschaftlern eine enge Anbindung ihrer Forschung an industrielle Anwendungen sowie einen zeitnahen Wissenstransfer von der Forschung in die Industrie und umgekehrt. Dr. Dieter Steegmüller, Leiter der PWT der Daimler AG, sieht in der Zusammenarbeit „einen gemeinsamen Beitrag für das übergeordnete Ziel, die Entwicklung von Produktionsverfahren zukünftig noch früher im Entstehungsprozess neuer Fahrzeuge zu berücksichtigen.“ Dr. Christian Hahner, als Direktor in der Konzernforschung der Daimler AG unter anderem für Forschungsstrategie und Technologie-Management verantwortlich, hebt das große Potenzial dieser innovativen Zusammenarbeit für beide Seiten hervor.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

or, 08.05.2014
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseFdh0∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.