Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 053/2014

Math Makes Mobile Maps Meaningful

KIT in the Science Year “The Digital Society:” Mathematics and Theoretical Computer Science Help Optimally Represent Information on Navigation Systems
2014_053_Mathe_macht_mobile_Karten_uebersichtlich_72dpi
Overfull maps on the satnav or the smartphone display can be prevented with the help of mathematically based algorithms. (Photo: KIT / Nöllenburg)

Due to the success of navigation devices and smartphones, digital maps are used widely in everyday life. They guide us safely along motorways or to the next bakery as long as the map is good and clear. However, representation of many information items on small, mobile screens is not trivial. At the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), computer scientists have now developed a method to ensure mathematically optimal adaptation of the labeling to the perspective and driving direction.

  

“Digital maps are often superior to paper maps,” Martin Nöllenburg, KIT, explains. “Digital maps can be rotated or zoomed. Places of interest can be added by a thematic selection from databases.” The challenge, however, consists in keeping the representation and labeling clear, no matter how the user adjusts the visible range and how the route continues. “When the labelings overlap, jump or flicker, the added value is lost and a driver distracted by irritating representations may be a danger in road traffic.”

 

At the KIT, Nöllenburg heads a group of young researchers, which focuses on mathematically exact geovisualization, i.e. the representation of information in maps. This research area is of interest not only for mathematicians and theoretical computer scientists. This is reflected by the fact that Nöllenburg was granted a research award by the Google Internet and Maps Service. “In the end, usable algorithms can only be programmed, if the problem is understood mathematically,” Nöllenburg says.

 

By means of the mathematical description of digital maps, the difficulty of the problem can be estimated first. For example, maximization of the number of labelings in the selected image section of the navigation device along a route is one of the mathematical problems, the so-called NP-complete problems, that require most of the computing time. “When increasing the number of objects in the map, the required computing capacity grows exponentially,” Nöllenburg emphasizes. “And computing capacity quickly reaches its limits, especially on mobile devices.”

 

Together with his team, Nöllenburg develops algorithms of higher performance due to a reasonable limitation of the general problem. “Instead of trying to maximize the number of displayed labelings, a good compromise of legibility, computing time, and information depth is reached by keeping the number of labelings in the given section constant,” Benjamin Niedermann explains. He developed the mathematical proofs. “In any case, man cannot sensibly perceive more than three to seven objects.” On this basis, it is not only possible to find a simple method for the sensible labeling of a map. It can also be shown that the computing time of the new method rises moderately only when the object number is increased. “Interestingly, limitation of optimization on a section of the map causes the sum of labelings to increase along the complete route. Hence, more places of interests are mentioned along a way.”

 

“The more mobile end devices are used in everyday life, the better should be the mathematical basis,” Nöllenburg says. “This is the only way to develop products that really support us in everyday life and do not require more time and effort for operation.” Now, Nöllenburg and his team want to proceed from fundamental research to application and convert the mathematical methods into implementable algorithms. “I am sure that our methods will prove their value in practice.”

 

Andreas Gemsa, Benjamin Niedermann, and Martin Nöllenburg. Trajectory-based dynamic map labeling. In: International Symposium on Algorithms and Computation (ISAAC’13), pp. 413–423. Springer-Verlag, LNCS 8283, December 2013.

 

Digital Press Kit Relating to the Science Year 2014

Communication, energy supply, mobility, industry, health care, leisure time: Digital technologies have long been part of our everyday life, they open up new opportunities and offer solutions for problems of society. At the same time, they pose challenges. Opportunities and risks will be in the focus of the Science Year 2014 – The Digital Society. At the KIT, researchers of all disciplines study various – technical and societal – aspects of digitization. The digital press kit of KIT relating to the Science Year 2014 contains short portraits, press releases, and videos:
http://www.pkm.kit.edu/digitalegesellschaft

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

kes, 07.05.2014

For further information, please contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
PKM, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseLun2∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 053/2014

Mathe macht mobile Karten übersichtlich

KIT im Wissenschaftsjahr „Die Digitale Gesellschaft“: Methoden aus Mathematik und theoretischer Informatik helfen, Informationen auf Navigationsgeräten stets optimal darzustellen.
Übervolle Karten auf dem Navi- oder Smartphone-Display: mit mathematisch fundierten Algorithmen lässt sich das vermeiden. (Bild: KIT/Nöllenburg)
Übervolle Karten auf dem Navi- oder Smartphone-Display: mit mathematisch fundierten Algorithmen lässt sich das vermeiden. (Bild: KIT/Nöllenburg)

Mit dem Siegeszug von Navigationsgeräten und Smartphones finden digitale Karten breite Anwendung im Alltag. Sie lotsen uns zielsicher über die Autobahnen oder zum nächsten Bäcker – solange die Karte gut und übersichtlich ist. Aber die Darstellung von vielen Informationen auf kleinen, mobilen Bildschirmen ist nicht trivial. Am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) haben Informatiker nun eine Methode entwickelt, um die mathematisch optimale Anpassung von Beschriftungen an Perspektive und Fahrtrichtung zu gewährleisten.

  

„Digitale Karten sind Papierkarten vielfach überlegen“, erklärt Martin Nöllenburg vom KIT. „Digitale Karten lassen sich passend drehen oder zoomen; Sehenswürdigkeiten lassen sich thematisch aus Datenbanken hinzuladen.“ Eine Herausforderung sei es jedoch, die Darstellung und Beschriftung übersichtlich zu halten, egal wie der Nutzer den sichtbaren Bereich einstellt und egal wie die Route verläuft. „Wenn die Beschriftungen ständig überlappen, springen oder flackern, ist der Mehrwert dahin und gerade ein durch irritierende Darstellungen abgelenkter Fahrer kann im Straßenverkehr eine Gefahr darstellen.“

 

Am KIT leitet Nöllenburg eine Nachwuchswissenschaftlergruppe, die sich mathematisch exakt mit Geovisualisierung beschäftigt, also der Darstellung von Informationen in Karten. Dass dieses Forschungsgebiet nicht nur für Mathematiker und theoretische Informatiker interessant ist, zeigt, dass Nöllenburg für seine Arbeit bereits einen Research Award des Internet- und Kartendienstes Google erringen konnte. „Letztlich lassen sich brauchbare Algorithmen nur programmieren, wenn man das Problem mathematisch verstanden hat“, findet Nöllenburg.

 

Mittels der mathematischen Beschreibung von digitalen Karten lässt sich zunächst die Schwierigkeit des Problems abschätzen. Zum Beispiel gehört die Maximierung der Zahl der Beschriftungen im gewählten Bildausschnitt eines Navigationsgerätes entlang einer Route zu der rechenzeitintensivsten Gruppe von mathematischen Problemen, den sogenannten NP-vollständigen Problemen. „Wenn man die Zahl der Objekte in der Karte vergrößert, vergrößert man exponentiell die dafür notwendige Rechenleistung“, stellt Nöllenburg fest. „Diese ist natürlich gerade auf mobilen Geräten schnell ausgereizt.“

 

Vor diesem Hintergrund entwickelt Nöllenburg mit seiner Arbeitsgruppe Algorithmen, die leistungsfähiger sind, indem sie das allgemeine Problem sinnvoll eingrenzen. „Statt zu versuchen, die Zahl der gleichzeitig eingeblendeten Beschriftungen zu maximieren, kann man einen guten Kompromiss zwischen Lesbarkeit, Rechenzeit und Informationstiefe finden, wenn man sich auf eine konstante Anzahl von Beschriftungen im gegebenen Ausschnitt beschränkt“, erklärt Benjamin Niedermann, der die mathematischen Beweise ausgearbeitet hat. „Mehr als drei bis sieben Objekte kann ein Mensch ohnehin nicht bewusst wahrnehmen.“ Darauf aufbauend lässt sich nicht nur ein einfaches Verfahren finden, das die Beschriftung einer Karte sinnvoll durchführt. Es lässt sich auch zeigen, dass die Rechenzeit des neuen Verfahrens nur moderat wächst, wenn die Objektzahl steigt. „Interessanterweise führt die Einschränkung der Optimierung auf einen passenden Kartenausschnitt dazu, dass die Summe der Beschriftungen über die ganze Route größer wird, also zum Beispiel mehr Sehenswürdigkeiten entlang des Weges erwähnt werden.“

 

„Je mehr mobile Endgeräte im Alltag genutzt werden, desto fundierter sollten die mathematischen Grundlagen sein“, unterstreicht Nöllenburg. „Nur so können wir Produkte entwickeln, die uns wirklich im Alltag unterstützen und nicht immer mehr Zeit und Mühe für die Bedienung abverlangen.“ Daher will Nöllenburg nun mit seinem Team den Schritt von der Grundlagenforschung in die Anwendung gehen und aus den mathematischen Methoden bald implementierbare Algorithmen entwickeln. „Ich bin mir sicher, dass unsere Methoden sich auch in der Praxis bewähren.“

 

Andreas Gemsa, Benjamin Niedermann, and Martin Nöllenburg. Trajectory-based dynamic map labeling. In: International Symposium on Algorithms and Computation (ISAAC’13), pp. 413–423. Springer-Verlag, LNCS 8283, December 2013.

 

Digitale Pressemappe zum Wissenschaftsjahr 2014

Ob in der Kommunikation, der Energieversorgung oder der Mobilität, in der Industrie, im Gesundheitsbereich oder in der Freizeit: Digitale Technologien sind längst Teil unseres Alltags, sie eröffnen neue Möglichkeiten und bieten Lösungen für gesellschaftliche Probleme. Gleichzeitig stellen sie uns vor Herausforderungen. Chancen und Risiken stehen im Mittelpunkt des Wissenschaftsjahres 2014 – Die Digitale Gesellschaft. Am KIT beschäftigen sich Forscherinnen und Forscher aller Disziplinen mit den vielfältigen – technischen und gesellschaftlichen – Aspekten der Digitalisierung. Kurzporträts, Presseinformationen und Videos dazu bietet die digitale Pressemappe des KIT zum Wissenschaftsjahr:
http://www.pkm.kit.edu/digitalegesellschaft

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

kes, 07.05.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseVod6∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.