Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseYaf0∂kit edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 048/2014

EU: Karlsruhe Is Top in IT

EU Study Analyzes Performance of IT Regions / Karlsruhe in Fourth Place in Europe

A recent study of the EU Commission analyzes the performance of European regions in information and communication technol-ogies. According to this study, Karlsruhe ranks in fourth place of more than 1000 regions in Europe behind megacities like Paris, London, and Munich. According to the EU Commission, a very important factor of the top regions’ success is access to excellent universities and research centers, such as the KIT in Karlsruhe.

 

“The young graduates of the KIT develop the most innovative ideas in the region and drive the development of information and communication technologies in the area of Karlsruhe,” Wilfried Juling, Head of the Informatics, Economics, and Society Division of KIT, comments the good result. To many projects and cooperative ventures with regional partners, the KIT contributes expertise and innovations from research. The Informatics Department of the KIT is the department having the longest tradition in Germany. It consists of about 2400 students and 40 professors. The first electronic mail in Germany was received in Karlsruhe in 1984. The KIT is regularly ranked in top positions by the CHE and Wirtschaftswoche rankings. Moreover, the KIT hosts the bwUniCluster, the central computing cluster of the state of Baden-Württemberg, and the Smart Data Innovation Lab, where research into information technologies for big data is conducted in cooperation with international industry partners. “The study reveals that networking of science, industry, and politics works well in the region of Karlsruhe,” Juling summarizes.

 

“Karlsruhe is a strong location of information and communication technologies,” mayor Dr. Frank Mentrup says. “This small, but very powerful hub of information and communication technologies compared to Paris, London, and Munich is characterized by a highly innovative environment”. According to Mentrup, this environment consists of diverse IT enterprises, strong partners in research and science, such as the Fraunhofer Institutes, the Research Center for Information Technology, and universities with KIT being the driving force, and the CyberForum, the largest regionally active and leading IT network in Europe with more than 1000 members. The CyberForum won competitions launched by the state of Baden-Württemberg and the European Cluster Excellence Initiative. The relevance of information and communication technologies in Karlsruhe and the region and the associated competences are reflected by an above-average number of newly established enterprises, about 30,000 employees, and more than 4200 companies working in this sector. Mentrup: “These conditions and the good life in Karlsruhe and the region are the right mix to attract smart minds and, hence, innovative capacity and to keep them here.”

 

The EU study mainly focused on three elements: Economic activity, research and development, and innovations in the area of information and communication technologies. Particular attention was paid to the intensity, international character, and networking of the activities. The findings of the study are based on an integrated indicator derived from 42 individual indicators to assess activities in the area of information and communication technologies. For the determination of the indicators, various data sources and databases were used, such as university ranking lists, citation indexes, information on cooperation in European research projects, number of leading investors in information and communication technologies worldwide, venture capital investments, employees and turnovers of the companies.

 

More information can be found in the press release of the EU:

http://europa.eu/rapid/press-release_IP-14-435_de.htm

 

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

kes, 17.04.2014

Press contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
Redakteur/Pressereferent
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail: schinarakisHsy7∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 048/2014

EU: Karlsruhe ist Spitze in der IT

EU-Studie analysiert Leistungsfähigkeit der IT-Regionen / Karlsruhe europaweit auf Platz 4

In einer aktuellen Studie bilanziert die EU-Kommission die Stärke der europäischen Regionen in Sachen Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien (IKT). Einen herausragenden vierten Platz in der Gesamtwertung von über 1000 Regionen belegt Karlsruhe, das sich nur Millionenmetropolen wie Paris, London und München geschlagen geben muss. Zu den entscheidenden Erfolgsfaktoren der Spitzenregionen zählt die EU-Kommission unter anderem den Zugang zu sehr guten Universitäten und Forschungszentren, wie etwa dem KIT in Karlsruhe. 

 

„Gerade die jungen Absolventen des KIT bringen die innovativsten Ideen in die Region und sind Motor der IKT-Region Karlsruhe“, freut sich Wilfried Juling, Bereichsleiter Informatik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft am KIT, über das gute Abschneiden. In vielen Projekten und Kooperationen mit Partnern aus der Region bringt das KIT Expertise und Innovationen aus der Forschung ein. Die Fakultät Informatik des KIT ist die traditionsreichste in Deutschland und umfasst rund 2400 Studierende und 40 Professoren. Die erste E-Mail Deutschlands wurde 1984 in Karlsruhe empfangen. Das KIT erzielt regelmäßig Spitzenplätze in den einschlägigen Rankings bei CHE und WirtschaftsWoche. Das KIT ist auch Standort der zentralen Rechenanlagen des Landes Baden-Württemberg bwUniCluster und des Smart Data Innovation Lab, an dem mit internationalen Industriepartnern an Informationstechnologien für große Datenmengen geforscht wird. „Die aktuelle Studie zeigt, dass die Vernetzung zwischen Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Standortpolitik hier funktioniert“, so Juling.

 

„Karlsruhe ist per se ein starker IKT-Standort“, sieht Oberbürgermeister Dr. Frank Mentrup den hiesigen IT-Standort durch den Spitzenplatz der EU-Studie bestärkt. „Das innovative Umfeld machen den Nährboden für das nach Paris, London und München „kleinste, aber feine“ Spitzenzentrum aus“, freut sich OB Mentrup. Anteil daran habe eine vielfältige IT-Unternehmenslandschaft, hätten Partner aus Forschung und Wissenschaft wie die Fraunhofer Institute, das Forschungszentrum Informatik und der Hochschulsektor mit dem Zugpferd KIT, schließlich das CyberForum, das mit über 1.000 Mitgliedern größte regional aktive und führende IT-Netzwerk Europas, ausgezeichnet vom Land Baden-Württemberg und der European Cluster Excellence Initiative. Eine überdurchschnittliche Gründungsintensität in diesem Bereich, rund 30.000 Beschäftigte und mehr als 4.200 Unternehmen im IKT-Sektor in der Technologieregion Karlsruhe verdeutlichen den Stellenwert, den Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik in Karlsruhe und der Region hat, und die Kompetenz, die damit verbunden ist. Mentrup: „Zusammen mit dem ausgesprochen guten Leben in Karlsruhe und der Region bieten wir die richtige Mischung, um kluge Köpfe und damit Innovationen nach Karlsruhe zu holen und zu halten.“

 

In der aktuellen Studie wurden drei Elemente analysiert: Wirtschaftstätigkeit, Forschung und Entwicklung, Innovation im IKT-Sektor. Insbesondere im Hinblick auf ihre Intensität, ihre Internationalisierung und ihre Vernetzung. Die Erkenntnisse beruhen auf einem zusammengesetzten Indikator, der 42 Einzelindikatoren zur Bewertung der IKT-Tätigkeiten zusammenfasst. Zur Erarbeitung der Indikatoren und Messwerte wurden mehrere Datenquellen und Datenbanken herangezogen: Hochschulranglisten, Zitierungsregister, Informationen über die Zusammenarbeit in europäischen Forschungsprojekten, Zahl der weltweit führenden IKT-Investoren, die in den einzelnen Regionen präsent sind, Wagniskapitalfinanzierung wie auch Beschäftigungszahlen und Umsatzzahlen der Unternehmen.

 

Mehr Informationen in der Presseinformation der EU: http://europa.eu/rapid/press-release_IP-14-435_de.htm

 

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

kes, 17.04.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu