Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 042/2014

Reducing Energy Consumption in Production

Funding for Companies Investing in Energy-efficient Production Processes – The Project Management Agency Karlsruhe within KIT Coordinates Funding Program on Behalf of the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs

Industry is among the biggest consumers of energy. One third of the energy in Germany is used in the form of heat or electricity to operate facilities and to produce goods and products. Often, energy might be saved by modernizing production processes. Under the new funding program of the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, which is coordinated by the Karlsruhe Project Management Agency within KIT, additional costs of the use of energy-efficient technologies in industrial production will be reimbursed on a pro rata basis.

 

“While transforming the energy system, energy consumption has to be reduced on all levels,” Peter Schneider of the Karlsruhe Project Management Agency within KIT says. Apart from fundamental and close-to-application energy research as conducted by the KIT, thermal insulation of buildings, or household appliances with a low power consumption, production processes in industry still offer reduction potentials. “With its funding program for energy-efficient and climate-saving production processes, the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs now creates further incentives for companies investing into novel plants that reduce energy consumption and protect the climate,” Schneider says.

 

In view of rising energy costs, increase in energy efficiency will be the key for German industry to maintain its international competitiveness and innovative power. Under the special fund “Energy and Climate”, the Federal Government has now established an energy efficiency fund, for which the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi) is responsible. This energy efficiency fund is aimed at supporting industry in using energy-efficient and climate-protecting production processes. In case of investments, companies are to decide in favor of energy-efficient and environmentally compatible production processes. On behalf of the BMWi, the Karlsruhe Project Management Agency within KIT is now coordinating this funding program. From now on, proposals may be submitted. Projects to be funded will be selected every three months.

 

Funding will amount to up to 20 percent of the additional investment costs directly related to environmental protection, i.e. of the additional costs of an energy-efficient technology compared to a conventional one. Maximum funding for each project is limited to EUR 1.5 million. Basic prerequisites for a proposal are additional investment costs of at least EUR 50,000, a specific reduction of end energy consumption of at least 5 percent, and a reduction of carbon dioxide emissions of at least 1 kg/year per EUR 1 additional investment costs.

 

Producing companies in Germany and their contractors may apply for funding. Funding will be granted for investments to increase energy efficiency in commercial and industrial production processes and in particular for changes to energy-efficient technologies and measures taken for the efficient use of energy. The funding program is aimed at reducing energy consumption and energy costs, increasing competitiveness, and supporting the dissemination of efficiency technologies. At the same time, emission of greenhouse gases is to be reduced.

 

More information on funding by BMWi:

http://www.bmwi.de/DE/Mediathek/publikationen,did=626356.html

 

Information on the submission of proposals to the Project Management Agency:

http://www.ptka.kit.edu/560.php

 

Contact partner for further questions:

Projektträger Karlsruhe (PTKA) am KIT

Energieeffiziente und klimaschonende Produktionsprozesse
Dr.-Ing. Michael Große
Tel.: +49 (0)721 608 25192
E-Mail: michael grosseBah9∂kit edu

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

kes, 07.04.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseWtu2∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Kosta Schinarakis
Redakteur/Pressereferent
Phone: +49 721 608-21165
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakisIye2∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 042/2014

Energiesparen in der Produktion

Fördergelder für Unternehmen, die in energieeffiziente Produktionsprozesse investieren / Projektträger Karlsruhe am KIT betreut Förderprogramm im Auftrag des Bundeswirtschaftsministeriums

Die Industrie gehört zu den größten Energieverbrauchern. Ein Drittel der Energie in Deutschland wird als Wärme oder Strom genutzt, um Anlagen zu betreiben sowie Güter und Produkte herzustellen. Vielfach ließe sich Energie sparen, wenn auf moderne Produktionsprozesse umgerüstet würde. Mit dem nun gestarteten Förderprogramm des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie, betreut durch den Projektträger Karlsruhe am KIT, werden Mehrkosten für den Einsatz energieeffizienter Technologien in der industriellen Produktion anteilig erstattet.

 

„Im Rahmen der Energiewende muss auf allen Ebenen angesetzt werden“, sagt Peter Schneider vom Projektträger Karlsruhe am KIT. Neben grundlegender und anwendungsnaher Energieforschung wie etwa am KIT, Gebäude-Wärmedämmung oder stromsparenden Haushaltsgeräten liegen gerade in den Produktionsprozessen der Industrie noch Potentiale, die man nutzen kann. „Mit der Fördermaßnahme für energieeffiziente und klimaschonende Produktionsprozesse schafft das Bundeswirtschaftsministerium nun für Betriebe weitere Anreize, bei der Investition in neue Anlagen noch intensiver an Energieeinsparungen und Klimaschutz zu denken“, so Schneider.

 

Vor dem Hintergrund steigender Energiepreise, der internationalen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit sowie ihrer Innovationsfähigkeit ist die Steigerung der Energieeffizienz für die deutsche Industrie eine Schlüsselfrage. Die Bundesregierung hat deshalb innerhalb des Sondervermögens "Energie und Klimafonds" einen Energieeffizienzfonds beim Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) aufgelegt. Ein Ziel des Energieeffizienzfonds besteht darin, die Industrie dabei zu unterstützen, energieeffiziente und klimaschonende Produktionsprozesse einzusetzen. Unternehmen sollen sich im Falle von Investitionen für möglichst energieeffiziente und umweltverträgliche Produktionsprozesse entscheiden. Das BMWi hat den Projektträger Karlsruhe am KIT damit beauftragt, die Maßnahme „Förderung von energieeffizienten und klimaschonenden Produktionsprozessen“ umzusetzen. Anträge können ab sofort beim Projektträger Karlsruhe eingereicht werden. Die Auswahl erfolgt vierteljährlich.

 

Die Förderung beträgt bis zu 20 Prozent der unmittelbar auf den Umweltschutz bezogenen Investitionsmehrkosten, also der Kosten, die eine energieeffiziente Technik mehr als die konventionelle kostet. Die maximale Zuwendung ist je Vorhaben auf einen Betrag von 1.500.000 Euro begrenzt. Grundvoraussetzungen für einen Antrag sind Investitionsmehrkosten von mindestens 50.000 Euro, eine spezifische Endenergieeinsparung von mindestens 5 Prozent und eine Kohlendioxid-Einsparung pro Jahr von mindestens einem Kilogramm pro einen Euro Investitionsmehrkosten.

 

Antragsberechtigt sind produzierende Unternehmen in Deutschland sowie deren Kontraktoren. Gefördert werden investive Maßnahmen zur Steigerung der Energieeffizienz in gewerblichen und industriellen Produktionsprozessen; insbesondere Umstellungen auf energieeffiziente Technologien sowie Maßnahmen zur effizienten Nutzung von Energie. Ziel ist es, den Energieverbrauch und die Energiekosten zu senken, die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit zu steigern und die Verbreitung von Effizienztechnologien zu unterstützen. Zugleich soll auch die Emission von Treibhausgasen gesenkt werden.

 

Weitere Informationen zur Förderung des BMWi:

http://www.bmwi.de/DE/Mediathek/publikationen,did=626356.html

Hinweise zur Antragstellung durch den Projektträger:

http://www.ptka.kit.edu/560.php

Ansprechpartner für weitere Fragen:

Projektträger Karlsruhe (PTKA) am KIT

Energieeffiziente und klimaschonende Produktionsprozesse
Dr.-Ing. Michael Große
Tel.: +49 (0)721 608 25192
E-Mail: michael grosseZan6∂kit edu

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

kes, 07.04.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu