Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 041/2014

Adequate Design of Electric Vehicles

Master’s Thesis by Young Engineer Lisa Braun Won Drive-E Studies Award of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research and the Fraunhofer Society
2014_041_Bedarfsgerechte_Auslegung_von_Elektroautos_72dpi
Prof. Alexander Verl, Jonathan Jürgens, Lisa Braun, Dr. Georg Schütte (from left to right; Photo: Stephan Raum, BMBF).

Which electric motor fits to which driving situation? This was the subject of the master’s thesis written by Lisa Braun at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Her studies might con-tribute to optimizing electric vehicles and to enhancing their acceptance and use. With her thesis, the young engineer has now won the first place of the 2014 Drive-E studies competition launched by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research and the Fraunhofer Society. The award was handed over by Dr. Georg Schütte, State Secretary of the BMBF, and Professor Alexander Verl, Member of the Board of Fraunhofer Society, in Stuttgart yesterday evening.

 

Until 2020, one million electric vehicles are planned to drive on German roads. This objective was defined by the Federal Govern-ment in its “National Development Plan for Electric Mobility”. To enhance the acceptance and use of electric vehicles, their range has to be increased among others. This may be achieved by increasing the efficiency of the drive train. Lisa Braun, who studied electrical engineering and information technology at the KIT and specialized in electric mobility, analyzed the dependence of total efficiency of the drive train on the type of motor used in her master’s thesis entitled “Fahrer- und fahrsituationsabhängige Bewertung unterschiedlicher Elektromotorkonzepte” (Driver- and driving situation-dependent assessment of various electric motor concepts). Her thesis is based on the following assumption: When the advantages of various types of motors are used specifically for various driving applications, the operating range of the machine is more important than maximum efficiency or maximum power density. “Depending on the application, that type of motor that reaches the highest efficiency over the complete operation period and optimally uses the limited energy of the battery would be chosen,” the engineer explains.

 

Lisa Braun virtually tested and compared various electric motor concepts for selected everyday driving situations. Her tests covered permanently excited synchronous machines (PSM), the rotor of which contains a permanent magnet, externally excited synchronous machines (EESM), where the magnetic rotor field is generated by an electric current, and asynchronous machines (ASM). Contrary to synchronous machines, their ratio of motor speed to the frequency of supply voltage is not constant, but depends on the loading state of the machine. At the moment, the lightweight, compact PSM are used most frequently in electric vehicles. They reach the highest peak efficiency. However, total efficiency of the other two types is higher in particular at higher motor speeds.

 

Accordingly, the study of Lisa Braun revealed that PSM are far more efficient than EESM and ASM in urban traffic and during maneuvering in particular. With increasing speed, the efficiency of PSM decreases, while that of the other two types increases. In the high-speed range, EESM and ASM predominate. However, for a long measurement drive or a mixed driving cycle, the resulting deviations are rather small in spite of these significant differences. “From the technical point of view, no machine is to be preferred to the other, as long as the exact operation points over the entire lifecycle of the machines are not known. The machine type can therefore be selected according to other criteria,” Lisa Braun explains.

 

According to Braun’s thesis, personal driving profiles might be de-veloped from universally valid individual situations in the future. In this way, the design of the vehicles can be adapted optimally to the customers’ needs. Lisa Braun wrote her master’s thesis at the Insti-tute of Electrical Engineering (ETI) of KIT under the supervision of Professor Martin Doppelbauer, who holds the professorship for hybrid electric vehicles (HEV). Presently, she is working as a doctoral student at Siemens and is writing her thesis at KIT’s Institute of Vehicle System Technology (FAST).

 

For the fifth time, the Drive-E studies award was granted by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research and the Fraunhofer Society to excellent, innovative theses of students in the area of electric mobility this year. In the category of “diploma and master’s theses,” Lisa Braun shares the first prize with Jonathan Jürgens from the University of Hanover. Both winners are granted an amount of EUR 4500. At the awards ceremony yesterday evening, April 3, at Mercedes-Benz Stuttgart, Dr. Dieter Zetsche, CEO of Daimler AG and Head of Mercedes-Benz Cars, presented the keynote speech about “The automobile energy turnaround: Status and perspectives of electric mobility.”

 

The Mobility Systems Center pools KIT activities relating to vehicle technology. Presently, 40 KIT institutes with about 800 employees are working on methodological and technical fun-damentals for tomorrow’s vehicles. It is their objective to de-velop concepts, technologies, methods, and processes for future mobility considering the complex interactions of vehicle, driver, traffic, and society.

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 04.04.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseChw8∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneHmy3∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be downloaded under www.kit.edu or requested by mail topresseQlq5∂kit edu or phone +49 721 608-4 7414. The photo may be used in the context given above exclusively.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 041/2014

Bedarfsgerechte Auslegung von Elektroautos

Nachwuchsingenieurin Lisa Braun erreicht mit ihrer Masterarbeit den 1. Platz beim DRIVE-E-Studienpreis des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung und der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft
Prof. Alexander Verl, Jonathan Jürgens, Lisa Braun, Dr. Georg Schütte (v.l.n.r.; Foto: Stephan Raum, BMBF).
Prof. Alexander Verl, Jonathan Jürgens, Lisa Braun, Dr. Georg Schütte (v.l.n.r.; Foto: Stephan Raum, BMBF).

Welcher Elektromotor passt zu welcher Fahrsituation? Mit dieser Frage hat sich Lisa Braun in ihrer Masterarbeit am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) befasst. Ihre Untersuchung könnte wesentlich dazu beitragen, Elektrofahrzeuge so zu optimieren, dass ihre Akzeptanz und Verbreitung deutlich steigen. Mit ihrer Arbeit erreichte die Nachwuchsingenieurin nun den ersten Platz beim DRIVE-E-Studienpreis 2014 des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung und der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. Den Preis verliehen Dr. Georg Schütte, Staatssekretär im BMBF und Professor Alexander Verl, Vorstandsmitglied der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, gestern Abend in Stuttgart.

 

Bis zum Jahr 2020 sollen eine Million Elektroautos auf deutschen Straßen fahren. Dieses Ziel hat die Bundesregierung im „Nationalen Entwicklungsplan Elektromobilität“ formuliert. Um die Akzeptanz und Verbreitung von Elektrofahrzeugen zu fördern, muss unter anderem ihre Reichweite erhöht werden. Dazu kann eine Steigerung der Effizienz des Antriebsstrangs beitragen. Lisa Braun, die am KIT Elektro- und Informationstechnik mit Schwerpunkt Elektromobilität studierte, hat in ihrer Masterarbeit „Fahrer- und fahrsituationsabhängige Bewertung unterschiedlicher Elektromotorkonzepte“ untersucht, wie stark der Gesamtwirkungsgrad des Antriebs vom verwendeten Motortyp abhängt. Ihr Ansatz: Wenn sich die Vorteile der verschiedenen Motortypen gezielt für verschiedene Fahranwendungen ausnutzen lassen, wäre nicht mehr der Spitzenwirkungsgrad oder die maximale Leistungsdichte bei der Wahl der Maschine entscheidend, sondern der Betriebsbereich. „Je nach Anwendung würde dann der Motortyp gewählt, der über die gesamte Betriebsdauer die höchste Effizienz erzielt und damit die beschränkte Energie der Batterie optimal ausnutzt“, erklärt die Ingenieurin. 

 

Lisa Braun hat verschiedene Elektromotorkonzepte für ausgesuchte, im Alltag vorkommende Fahrsituationen virtuell erprobt und verglichen: permanenterregte Synchronmaschinen (PSM), deren Rotor einen Permanentmagneten enthält, fremderregte Synchronmaschinen (FESM), bei denen das magnetische Rotorfeld durch elektrischen Strom erzeugt wird, und Asynchronmaschinen (ASM), bei denen im Unterschied zu den Synchronmaschinen das Verhältnis der Motorendrehzahl zur Frequenz der Versorgungsspannung nicht konstant, sondern vom Belastungszustand der Maschine abhängig ist. Derzeit werden die leichten, kompakten PSM in Elektrofahrzeugen am häufigsten eingesetzt. Sie besitzen den höchsten Spitzenwirkungsgrad. Bei den beiden anderen Typen fällt jedoch der Gesamtwirkungsgrad besonders bei höheren Drehzahlen höher aus.

 

Die Untersuchung von Lisa Braun ergab denn auch, dass die PSM vor allem innerorts und beim Rangieren deutlich effizienter ist als die FESM und die ASM. Mit zunehmender Geschwindigkeit sinkt allerdings der Wirkungsgrad der PSM, und der Wirkungsgrad der beiden anderen Typen steigt. Im hohen Drehzahlbereich dominieren die FESM und die ASM. Bei einer gesamten Messfahrt oder einem gemischten Fahrzyklus fallen die Abweichungen trotz dieser signifikanten Unterschiede allerdings gering aus. „Aus technischer Sicht ist demnach keine Maschine den anderen vorzuziehen, solange die genauen Betriebspunkte über die gesamte Lebensdauer der Maschinen nicht bekannt sind. Die Wahl des Maschinentyps kann somit nach anderen Kriterien erfolgen“, erläutert Lisa Braun.

 

Wie Brauns Arbeit zeigt, ist es denkbar, künftig über allgemeingültige Einzelsituationen persönliche Fahrprofile zu entwickeln, um die Auslegung der Fahrzeuge optimal an verschiedene Kundenanforderungen anzupassen. Lisa Braun erstellte ihre Masterarbeit am Elektrotechnischen Institut (ETI) des KIT bei Professor Martin Doppelbauer, der die Professur für Hybridelektrische Fahrzeuge (HEV) innehat. Derzeit ist sie Doktorandin bei Siemens und wird am Institut für Fahrzeugsystemtechnik (FAST) des KIT betreut.

 

Mit dem DRIVE-E-Studienpreis zeichnen das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung und die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft in diesem Jahr zum fünften Mal herausragende, innovative studentische Arbeiten zur Elektromobilität aus. Lisa Braun teilt sich den ersten Preis in der Kategorie „Diplom-, Magister-, Masterarbeiten“ mit Jonathan Jürgens, Absolvent der Leibniz Universität Hannover, beide erhalten ein Preisgeld von jeweils 4.500 Euro. Bei der feierlichen Preisverleihung gestern Abend, 3. April, in der Mercedes-Benz-Niederlassung Stuttgart hielt Dr. Dieter Zetsche, Vorsitzender des Vorstands der Daimler AG und Leiter Mercedes-Benz Cars, die Festrede über „Die automobile Energiewende: Status und Perspektiven der Elektromobilität“.

 

Das Zentrum Mobilitätssysteme bündelt die fahrzeugtechnischen Aktivitäten des KIT: An den methodischen und technologischen Grundlagen für die Fahrzeuge der Zukunft arbeiten derzeit knapp 40 Institute mit rund 800 Mitarbeitern. Ziel ist es, Konzepte, Technologien, Methoden und Prozesse für die Mobilität der Zukunft zu erarbeiten. Die Wissenschaftler berücksichtigen dabei das komplexe Zusammenspiel von Fahrzeug, Fahrer, Verkehr, Infrastruktur und Gesellschaft. 

 

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 500 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

or, 04.04.2014

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
margarete lehneBzq8∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseXqq3∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.