Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 040/2014

Less Accidents Thanks to Smart Vehicles

KIT Coordinates New Priority Programme “Cooperatively Interacting Automobiles” Funded by the German Research Foundation – Autonomous Driving Combined with Vehicle Communication
2014_040_Weniger_Unfaelle_dank_mitdenkender_Fahrzeuge_72dpi
Planned behavior of an automatic vehicle. (Photo: mrt, KIT/FZI)

Nearly 44 million private cars are registered in Germany. Indi-vidual mobility is considered an element of the quality of life by many people. However, 300,000 traffic accidents with many casualties occur every year. Autonomously driving vehicles that coordinate their activities with the help of sensors are to enhance the safety of road traffic in the future. The new priority programme “Cooperatively Interacting Automobiles” funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG) will now pool the work of various research institutions in this area. This programme is coordinated by Professor Christoph Stiller, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT).

 

The negative aspects of individual mobility do not only include nu-merous traffic accidents, but also environmental pollution by noise and exhaust gases, high fuel consumption, and traffic jams. Moreo-ver, demographic change calls for maintaining the mobility of elderly people. After having lost their fitness to drive, they are frequently dependent on inadequate public passenger transport systems or support by social services.

 

“Recent developments in the automotive sector open up options for solving these problems,” Professor Christoph Stiller, Head of KIT’s Institute of Measurement and Control (mrt), says. All over the world, research groups are developing automatic vehicles, also at the KIT. “Using sensors and digital maps, they create a model of the vehicle environment and can plan and realize appropriate driving maneuvers also in complex and safety-critical situations, much quicker than it can be done by a driver.“ Moreover, the technology for communi-cation of vehicles with each other and with the infrastructure ad-vances rapidly. The corresponding systems (Car2X communication systems) may be expected to be part of the standard equipment of cars in a few years from now. “Cooperatively interacting automobiles have the potential to increase traffic safety, to improve traffic flow, and to reduce environmental pollution and fuel consumption. Hence, they are of considerable relevance not only from the scientific point of view, but also from the society’s perspective,” Stiller explains.

 

The DFG priority programme “Cooperatively Interacting Automo-biles” will bundle these separate developments in an interdisciplinary manner and establish the scientific basis for an entirely novel type of automatic cooperative traffic. Automatic coordination of the vehicles with each other is to ensure planning and safe execution of vehicle movements within milliseconds even in critical situations. Drivers would not be able to do so due to their limited communication and reaction capacities. Wireless communication will allow for driving maneuvers on smallest space with a far-reaching perception range for information and communication systems of other vehicles.

 

In total, the DFG has adopted 16 new priority programmes to study basic scientific problems in highly relevant or emerging research areas in the next years. The new priority programmes to be funded were selected from a total number of 72 concepts by the Senate of the largest research funding and central self-administration organi-zation for science in Germany at the spring meeting in Bonn in late March this year. Work under the priority programmes will start in 2015.

 

 More information:

http://www.dfg.de/service/presse/pressemitteilungen/2014/pressemitteilung_nr

 

The Mobility Systems Center pools KIT activities relating to vehicle technology. Presently, 40 KIT institutes with about 800 employees are working on methodological and technical fun-damentals for tomorrow’s vehicles. It is their objective to de-velop concepts, technologies, methods, and processes for future mobility considering the complex interactions of vehicle, driver, traffic, and society.

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 02.04.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseDkr4∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneKfp2∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be downloaded under www.kit.edu or requested by mail topresseNgw7∂kit edu or phone +49 721 608-4 7414. The photo may be used in the context given above exclusively.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Presseinformation 040/2014

Weniger Unfälle dank „mitdenkender“ Fahrzeuge

KIT koordiniert neues Schwerpunktprogramm „Kooperativ interagierende Automobile“ der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft – Verknüpfung der Forschung zum automatischen Fahren und zur Kommunikation zwischen Fahrzeugen
Verhaltensplan eines automatischen Automobils (Abb.: mrt, KIT/FZI)
Verhaltensplan eines automatischen Automobils (Abb.: mrt, KIT/FZI)

Fast 44 Millionen Pkws sind in Deutschland zugelassen – die individuelle Mobilität ist für viele Teil der Lebensqualität. Dem gegenüber stehen pro Jahr 300.000 Verkehrsunfälle mit Toten und Verletzten. Selbstständig fahrende Autos, die sich über Sensoren untereinander abstimmen, sollen in Zukunft für mehr Sicherheit im Straßenverkehr sorgen. Die Aktivitäten verschiedener Forschungseinrichtungen auf diesem Gebiet zu bündeln, ist Ziel des neuen Schwerpunktprogramms „Kooperativ interagierende Automobile“ der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), das Professor Christoph Stiller vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) koordiniert.

 

Zur Kehrseite individueller Mobilität zählen neben den zahlreichen Verkehrsunfällen auch Umweltbelastung durch Lärm und Abgase, hoher Kraftstoffverbrauch und Staus. Gleichzeitig geht es vor dem Hintergrund des demografischen Wandels auch darum, die Mobilität älterer Menschen zu erhalten, die nach dem Verlust ihrer Fahrtauglichkeit häufig auf unzureichenden öffentlichen Personenverkehr oder die Unterstützung durch soziale Dienste angewiesen sind.

 

„Die jüngsten Entwicklungen im Automobilbereich eröffnen hier Lösungsmöglichkeiten“, sagt Professor Christoph Stiller, der am KIT das Institut für Mess- und Regelungstechnik (mrt) leitet. Forschergruppen weltweit entwickelten automatische Fahrzeuge – auch am KIT. „Über Sensoren und digitale Karten erstellen sie ein aktuelles Modell des Fahrzeugumfelds und können so auch in komplexen und sicherheitskritischen Situationen geeignete Fahrmanöver planen und umsetzen – viel schneller, als es ein Fahrer könnte.“ Zudem schreite die Technik für die Kommunikation zwischen Fahrzeugen und mit der Infrastruktur rasant voran, sodass entsprechende Systeme (Car2X-Kommunikationssysteme) in einigen Jahren als Regelausrüstung in Automobilen zu erwarten seien. „Kooperative interagierende Automobile haben das Potenzial, die Verkehrssicherheit zu erhöhen, den Verkehrsfluss zu verbessern und gleichzeitig die Umweltbelastung und den Kraftstoffverbrauch zu reduzieren. Damit haben sie nicht nur in wissenschaftlicher Hinsicht große Bedeutung – sondern auch aus gesellschaftlicher Perspektive“, so Stiller.

 

Das DFG-Schwerpunktprogramm „Kooperativ interagierende Automobile“ wird diese unabhängigen Entwicklungen interdisziplinär verknüpfen und soll dadurch die wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen für eine völlig neuartige Form automatisiert kooperativen Verkehrs schaffen. Ziel ist, dass durch die Abstimmung der Fahrzeuge untereinander die Bewegungen der Fahrzeuge selbst in sicherheitskritischen Situationen innerhalb von Millisekunden geplant und sicher ausgeführt werden, in denen Autofahrer aufgrund ihres eingeschränkten Kommunikations- und Reaktionsvermögens dazu nicht in der Lage wären. Gleichzeitig erlaubt die drahtlose Kommunikation Fahrmanöver bei weitreichendem Wahrnehmungshorizont für die Informations- und Kommunikationssysteme anderer Fahrzeuge und auf erheblich engerem Raum.

 

Insgesamt richtet die DFG 16 neue Schwerpunktprogramme (SPP) ein, in denen in den kommenden Jahren grundlegende wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen in besonders aktuellen oder sich gerade bildenden Forschungsgebieten untersucht werden sollen. Die neuen SPP wurden Ende März vom Senat der größten Forschungsförderorganisation und zentralen Selbstverwaltungsorganisation für die Wissenschaft in Deutschland auf dessen Frühjahrssitzung in Bonn aus insgesamt 72 Konzepten ausgewählt. Ihre Arbeit nehmen sie 2015 auf.

 

Nähere Informationen:

http://www.dfg.de/service/presse/pressemitteilungen/2014/pressemitteilung_nr_10/index.html

 

Das Zentrum Mobilitätssysteme bündelt die fahrzeugtechnischen Aktivitäten des KIT: An den methodischen und technologischen Grundlagen für die Fahrzeuge der Zukunft arbeiten derzeit knapp 40 Institute mit rund 800 Mitarbeitern. Ziel ist es, Konzepte, Technologien, Methoden und Prozesse für die Mobilität der Zukunft zu erarbeiten. Die Wissenschaftler berücksichtigen dabei das komplexe Zusammenspiel von Fahrzeug, Fahrer, Verkehr, Infrastruktur und Gesellschaft.

 

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

le, 02.04.2014
Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseYvy8∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin

Tel.: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Kontakt für diese Presseinformation:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
margarete lehneGxq3∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseOzq6∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.