Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 037/2014

ALMA Facilitates Programming

First Demonstration of New Tool Chain for Embedded Multi-core Processors at the DATE 2014 Conference in Dresden
Under the ALMA EU project, researchers develop a new integrated tool chain for the simple programming of software for multi-core processors. The project is coordinated by the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). At the DATE 2014 conference taking place in Dresden until March 28, the consortium now demonstrates automatic parallelization of software with the ALMA tool chain at booth EP 6. The tool chain facilitates programming from a high abstraction level and is suited for various hardware architectures.

 

An increasing number of electronic products, such as personal com-puters, smartphones, and cameras, are equipped with multi-core pro-cessors. Several processor cores are integrated on one chip. As a result of this integration, space and energy needed are minimized and computing capacity is increased. However, the capacity also depends on how well the software is parallelized, i.e., how homogeneously calculations are distributed to processor cores. So far, programming of applications for embedded multi-core systems has been associated with a high time and cost expenditure. Highly specialized knowledge has been required, as the number of processor cores increases continuously and architectures become increasingly complex.

 

The ALMA consortium coordinated by Professor Jürgen Becker, Head of the Institute for Information Processing Technology (ITIV) of KIT, has now developed a tool chain that considerably facilitates the work of programmers. It hides the complexity of the hardware architecture and, at the same time, generates a parallel program code optimized for multi-core processors. For this purpose, it uses an abstract de-scription language (ADL) to define the target architecture. The tool chain implements algorithms for parallelization and optimization of a group of multi-core architectures. Among others, the ALMA consorti-um has developed ADL descriptions for the KAHRISMA reconfigura-ble multi-core architecture developed by KIT.

 

“At the DATE 2014 conference, we will demonstrate programming with the ALMA tool chain from the front-end software to a multi-core simu-lator,” explains computer scientist Timo Stripf of KIT’s ITIV. An appli-cation for image processing will be used as an example of a front-end software. The ALMA project concentrates on the areas of image processing / object recognition as well as mobile communication, but it is also relevant to many other applications. The new tool chain reduces both development time and costs.

 

ALMA (Greek for “jump”) stands for “ALgorithm Parallelization for Multi-core Architectures.” The project started in September 2011 and is scheduled for three years. ALMA is funded with about EUR 3.2 million by the EU under the 7th Framework Programme. Seven partners of research and industry cooperate in the consortium: Apart from the KIT, the Fraunhofer Institute of Optronics, System Technologies and Image Exploitation (IOSB) in Karlsruhe and Ett-lingen, the University of Rennes 1 (France), the University of Peloponnese and the Techno-logical Educational Institute of Western Greece (both Greece) as well as Recore Systems B.V. (the Netherlands) and Intracom Telecom (Greece) are involved in ALMA. The project strengthens the position of Europe on the worldwide market of tool chains for software devel-opment for multi-core systems.

 

The DATE (Design, Automation & Test in Europe) conference taking place in Dresden from March 24 to 28, 2014, is the largest conference for design automation of electronic systems worldwide.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 25.03.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
pressePhz4∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehnePog1∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 037/2014

ALMA erleichtert das Programmieren

Erste Demonstration der neuen Werkzeugkette für eingebettete Mehrkernprozessoren auf der Konferenz DATE 2014 in Dresden
Eine neue durchgehende Werkzeugkette zum einfachen Programmieren von Software für Mehrkernprozessoren entwickeln Forscher in dem EU-Projekt ALMA. Die Koordination liegt beim Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Bei der Konferenz DATE 2014, die bis 28. März in Dresden läuft, demonstriert das Konsortium am Stand EP 6 erstmals die automatische Parallelisierung von Software mit der ALMA Toolchain. Diese ermöglicht das Programmieren von einer hohen Abstraktionsebene aus und eignet sich für verschiedene Hardware-Architekturen.

 

Immer mehr Elektronikprodukte, wie Personal Computer, Smartphones und Kameras, sind mit Multicore-Prozessoren ausgestattet: Mehrere Prozessorkerne sind auf einem Chip integriert. Dadurch lassen sich Platz und Energie sparen sowie vor allem die Rechenleistung erhöhen. Die Leistung hängt allerdings auch davon ab, wie gut die Software parallelisiert ist, das heißt, wie gleichmäßig sie die Berechnungen auf die Prozessorkerne verteilt. Bis jetzt erfordert das Programmieren von Anwendungen für eingebettete Multicore-Systeme einen hohen Zeit- und Kostenaufwand sowie hoch spezialisierte Kenntnisse, zumal die Zahl der Prozessorkerne stetig steigt und die Architekturen immer komplexer werden.

 

Das ALMA Konsortium unter der Koordination von Professor Jürgen Becker, Leiter des Instituts für Technik der Informationsverarbeitung (ITIV) des KIT, hat eine Toolchain entwickelt, die dem Programmierer die Arbeit erheblich erleichtert: Sie verbirgt die Komplexität der Hardware-Architektur und erzeugt zugleich einen parallelen Programm-Code, der für Mehrkernprozessoren optimiert ist. Dabei verwendet sie eine ab¬strakte Beschreibungssprache (ADL – abstract description language), um die Zielarchitektur zu definieren. Die Werkzeugkette implementiert Algorithmen zur Parallelisierung und Optimierung für eine ganze Gruppe von Mehrkern-Architekturen. Unter anderem entwickelte das ALMA Konsortium ADL-Beschreibungen für die am KIT entwickelte rekonfigurierbare Multicore-Architektur KAHRISMA.

 

„Bei der DATE 2014 demonstrieren wir das Programmieren mit der ALMA Toolchain durchgehend von der Front-End-Software bis hin zu einem Multicore-Simulator“, erklärt der Informatiker Timo Stripf vom ITIV des KIT. Als Beispiel für eine Front-End-Software dient eine Anwendung zur Bildverarbeitung. Das Projekt ALMA konzentiert sich auf die Bereiche Bildverarbeitung/Objekterkennung sowie mobile Kommunikation, ist jedoch darüber hinaus für viele weitere Anwendungen relevant. Die neue Toolchain verkürzt die Entwicklungszeit und senkt die Kosten.

 

ALMA (griechisch „Sprung“) steht für „ALgorithm parallelization for Multicore Architectures“. Das Projekt startete im September 2011 und ist auf drei Jahre angelegt. Die EU fördert ALMA im 7. Rahmenprogramm mit rund 3,2 Millionen Euro. Im ALMA Konsortium arbeiten sieben Partner aus Forschung und Industrie zusammen: Neben dem KIT sind das Fraunhofer-Institut für Optronik, Systemtechnik und Bildauswertung (IOSB) in Karlsruhe und Ettlingen, die Universität Rennes 1 (Frankreich), die Universität Peloponnes und das Technological Educational Institute of Western Greece (beide Griechenland) sowie Recore Systems B.V. (Niederlande) und Intracom Telecom (Griechenland) an ALMA beteiligt. Das Projekt stärkt die Position von Europa auf dem weltweiten Markt der Toolchains zur Softwareentwicklung für Multicore-Systeme.

 

Die DATE (Design, Automation & Test in Europe) vom 24. bis 28. März 2014 in Dresden ist die weltweit größte Konferenz zur Entwurfsautomatisierung elektronischer Systeme.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26 000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

or, 25.03.2014

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
margarete lehneSis8∂kit edu