Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 035/2014

New Technologies – And Always Keeping an Eye on Society

2014 Annual Reception of KIT Focused on Interactions of Man and Technology
2014_035_Neue_Technologien_-_die_Gesellschaft_immer_im_Blick_1_72dpi(1)
Panel discussion “Reflecting Technology – Shaping Society:” Markus Brock discussed with Ulla Burchardt, Professor Tanja Schultz, Dr. Stephan Fischer, Christoph Winterhalter, and Professor Armin Grunwald (from left to right; Photo: Sandra Göttisheim).

Autonomous vehicles, silent communication, and automatic simultaneous translation: Scientists of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) develop innovations to support everyday life and enhance the quality of life. And they always keep an eye on their relevance to and their impacts on society. Research relating to the topic of man and technology was in the focus of the fifth Annual Reception of KIT that took place yesterday evening at the Gartenhalle of the Karlsruhe Congress Center.

 

“Ideally, new technologies serve society and allow for a better life,” said the President of KIT, Professor Holger Hanselka, at the event. “The interactions between man and technology, however, have long since become rather complex. To optimally solve societal problems in science, cooperation of first-class scientists of various disciplines is required. It is our declared objective to concentrate on our research strengths, e.g. in the areas of energy, mobility, and information and communication technologies, and to combine them smartly for the transformation of our energy system. Also in other areas, such as environmental research, we will further sharpen our research profile.”

 

Der Präsident des KIT, Professor Holger Hanselka (Foto: Sandra Göttisheim)
The President of KIT, Professor Holger Hanselka (Photo: Sandra Göttisheim).

 

Hanselka added that nowadays, it is more important than ever to consider the consequences of technical developments for society. He emphasized that the KIT Humans and Technology Center ana-lyzes these important issues for the future. Here, 420 scientists of various disciplines, from engineering to natural sciences to the hu-manities, pool their competences. “This is the only way to master the challenges.”

 

For the KIT, the Presidential Committee has formulated a ten-step program: The first step was the implementation of a clear organiza-tional structure for the entire KIT as a basis of strategic further de-velopment. Hanselka added that also research-based teaching at all KIT locations will gain importance. “It will be strategically important to optimally position the KIT for international competition.”

 

Technology assessment has a long tradition at the KIT: The Office for Technology Assessment with the German Parliament (TAB) has been run by KIT’s Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis (ITAS) since 1990. This office has become one of the most renowned technology assessment institutions worldwide.

 

Assessment of potential impacts and imponderabilities of technical developments by the TAB, from the internet of things to the com-plete blackout, also was in the focus of the keynote speech “Mensch, Maschine! Innovation braucht mehr als Technik” (Man and Machine! Innovation Needs More than Technology) by Ulla Bur-chardt, contract lecturer of TU Dortmund and long-time chairperson of the Commission for Education, Research, and Technology As-sessment of the German Parliament. “Technology developments as such are neither good nor bad. Whether they can be turned into innovations depends not only on developers and engineers, but also on whether customers and citizens see a benefit or a risk,” Burchardt said.

 

Are robots a help in the care of the elderly or are they inhuman? Can we do without a good educational background just because of Google? What are the objectives and impacts of Industry 4.0? Po-tential consequences of new technologies were discussed by pre-senter Markus Brock and the participants in the panel discussion “Reflecting Technology – Shaping Society”. These were experts from industry and science, namely, Christoph Winterhalter, Head of Product Group PLC & Automation of the ABB Group and Member of the Board of the VDI/VDE Society for Measurement and Automation, Dr. Stephan Fischer, Senior Vice President TIP Strategic Innovation of SAP AG and spokesman of the software excellence cluster , KIT Professor Tanja Schultz, Head of the Cognitive Systems Lab of KIT and Google Research Award winner, and Professor Armin Grunwald, Head of the KIT Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis (ITAS).

 

During the Annual Reception, President Holger Hanselka handed over the KIT Innovation Awards. The first prize in the category of Competition of Ideas was won by Dr. Ute Schepers and Professor Stefan Bräse. With their project for the early recognition of malign melanoms, they won over 40 competitors. Professor Steffen Grohmann, Andreas Janzen, and Andreas Ebersoldt were granted the Transfer Project Special Award.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le-lg, 21.03.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseCvr1∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneOeh1∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseEfb0∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 035/2014

Neue Technologien - die Gesellschaft immer im Blick

KIT-Jahresempfang 2014 zu Wechselwirkungen zwischen Mensch und Technik
Talk-Runde „Technik reflektieren – Gesellschaft gestalten“: Moderator Markus Brock diskutierte mit Ulla Burchardt, Prof. Tanja Schultz, Dr. Stephan Fischer, Christoph Winterhalter, und Prof. Armin Grunwald (v.l.n.r.; Foto: Sandra Göttisheim).
Talk-Runde „Technik reflektieren – Gesellschaft gestalten“: Moderator Markus Brock diskutierte mit Ulla Burchardt, Prof. Tanja Schultz, Dr. Stephan Fischer, Christoph Winterhalter, und Prof. Armin Grunwald (v.l.n.r.; Foto: Sandra Göttisheim).

Autonome Fahrzeuge, lautlose Kommunikation und automatische, simultane Übersetzung: Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) entwickeln Innovationen, die im Alltag unterstützen und die Lebensqualität erhöhen. Die Bedeutung für und die Auswirkungen auf die Gesellschaft behalten sie dabei stets im Blick: Die Forschung rund um den Themenkomplex Mensch und Technik stand im Mittelpunkt des fünften KIT-Jahresempfangs, der gestern Abend in der Gartenhalle des Karlsruher Kongresszentrums stattfand.

 

„Idealerweise dienen neue Technologien der Gesellschaft und ermöglichen ein immer besseres Leben“, sagte der Präsident des KIT, Professor Holger Hanselka bei der Veranstaltung. „Die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Mensch und Technik sind aber längst sehr komplex geworden. Um die gesellschaftlichen Fragestellungen möglichst gut zu lösen, brauchen wir in der Wissenschaft die Zusammenarbeit erstklassiger Forscherinnen und Forscher aus den unterschiedlichsten Disziplinen. Unser erklärtes Ziel ist es, unsere Forschungsstärken, beispielsweise im Themenfeld Energie, Mobilität sowie Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien zu fokussieren und geschickt zu kombinieren, gerade mit Blick auf die Energiewende. Auch in anderen Bereichen wie etwa der Umweltforschung werden wir unser Forschungsprofil noch weiter schärfen.“

 

Der Präsident des KIT, Professor Holger Hanselka (Foto: Sandra Göttisheim)
Der Präsident des KIT, Professor Holger Hanselka (Foto: Sandra Göttisheim)

 

Zudem sei es heute wichtiger denn je, die Konsequenzen der technologischen Entwicklungen für die Gesellschaft zu betrachten. Das KIT-Zentrum Mensch und Technik, in dem 420 Wissenschaftler verschiedener Fachrichtungen von den Ingenieur- über die Natur- bis hin zu den Geisteswissenschaften ihre Kompetenzen bündeln, stelle sich wichtigen Zukunftsfragen, betont Hanselka. „Nur so lassen sich die Herausforderungen meistern.“

 

Für das KIT hat das Präsidium einen 10-Punkte-Plan formuliert: Erster Schritt war die Umsetzung einer klaren Organisationsstruktur für das gesamte KIT als Baustein der strategischen Weiterentwicklung. Auch die forschungsorientierte Lehre an allen KIT-Standorten werde noch weiter an Bedeutung gewinnen, sagte Hanselka. „Das KIT für den internationalen Wettbewerb optimal aufzustellen, wird ein strategisches Element sein.“

 

Die Technikfolgenabschätzung hat am KIT Tradition: Mit dem Büro für Technikfolgenabschätzung beim Deutschen Bundestag (TAB), welches das Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS) des KIT bereits seit 1990 betreibt, hat sich hier eine der weltweit renommiertesten Einrichtungen der Technikfolgenabschätzung etabliert.

 

Die Bewertung möglicher Konsequenzen und Unwägbarkeiten technischer Entwicklungen durch das TAB – vom Internet der Dinge bis zum Blackout bei flächendeckendem Stromausfall – stand auch im Mittelpunkt des Impulsvortrags „Mensch, Maschine! Innovation braucht mehr als Technik“ von Ulla Burchardt, Lehrbeauftragte an der TU Dortmund und langjährige Vorsitzende des Ausschusses für Bildung, Forschung und Technikfolgenabschätzung im Deutschen Bundestag. „Technikentwicklungen an sich sind weder gut noch schlecht. Ob daraus Innovationen werden, hängt nicht nur von Entwicklern und Ingenieuren ab, sondern ob Kunden und Bürger einen Nutzen erkennen – oder ein Risiko“, so Burchardt.

 

Sind Roboter in der Altenpflege hilfreich – oder unmenschlich? Können wir dank Google auf Allgemeinbildung verzichten? Welches sind die Ziele und Folgen der Industrie 4.0? Über mögliche Konsequenzen neuer Technologien diskutierte Moderator Markus Brock in der Talk-Runde „Technik reflektieren – Gesellschaft gestalten“ mit Expertinnen und Experten aus Industrie und Wissenschaft: Christoph Winterhalter, Head of Product Group PLC & Automation des ABB Konzerns und Vorstandsmitglied der VDI/VDE Gesellschaft für Mess- und Automatisierungstechnik, Dr. Stephan Fischer, Senior Vice President TIP Strategic Innovation der SAP AG und Sprecher des Software Spitzen-Clusters, und vom KIT Professorin Tanja Schultz, Leiterin des Cognitive Systems Lab am KIT und Google Research Award-Preisträgerin, sowie Professor Armin Grunwald Leiter des Instituts für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS).

 

Präsident Holger Hanselka zeichnete beim Jahresempfang die Gewinner des KIT-Innovationswettbewerbs aus: Den ersten Platz in der Kategorie Ideenwettbewerb belegten Dr. Ute Schepers und Professor Stefan Bräse. Mit ihrem Projekt zur Früherkennung maligner Melanome setzten sie sich gegen 40 Konkurrenten durch. Professor Steffen Grohmann erhielt gemeinsam mit Andreas Janzen und Andreas Ebersoldt den Sonderpreis Transferprojekte.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

le-lg, 21.03.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneAxm5∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseBex4∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.