Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 034/2014

State Funds Hybrid Lightweight Construction Projects at KIT

Economically Efficient Production and Enhanced Stability – Cooperation with Industry

Two new hybrid lightweight construction projects at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) will be funded by the State of Baden-Württemberg: Under “HyPro”, the KIT Institute of Production Science and partners will develop an automatic process chain for the economically efficient production of hybrid components for use in automotive industry. The “KraSchwing” project, in which the KIT Institute of Vehicle System Technology (FAST) is involved, is aimed at enhancing the stability of structures under dynamic loading.

 

In total, the state government will fund five joint research projects on hybrid lightweight construction in Baden-Württemberg with about EUR 1.63 million. “The funded projects contribute decisively to the automa-tion of production processes or the joining of hybrid lightweight com-ponents. Enhanced cooperation of science and industry in innovation partnerships paves the way towards a rapid transfer of viable lightweight construction technologies from research to the industrial production of marketable products,” says the Minister of Science Theresia Bauer. “As resources and materials efficiency is gaining importance, lightweight construction plays an increasing role for the competitiveness of companies in the processing trade. As a leading location of lightweight construction industry, Baden-Württemberg has best prerequisites to profit from this development,” the Minister of Economics, Nils Schmid, emphasizes.

 

KIT President Professor Holger Hanselka underlines the enormous potential of hybrid lightweight construction for a number of industrial applications: “Thanks to lightweight construction, resources consump-tion can be reduced for a number of applications, from the vehicle to the industrial robot. This also reduces the weight and energy con-sumption,” Hanselka says. “The two newly funded projects underline KIT’s research competence and its importance as one of the leading innovation partners of industry.”

 

Hybrid lightweight construction is based on the use of composites consisting of various materials, such as metals and fiber-reinforced plastics, to combine the specific advantages of both materials in an optimum manner. The “HyPro” project (Technology developments along the RTM chain of values added for the economically efficient production of hybrid components) is coordinated by KIT’s Institute of Production Science. Partners are the Fraunhofer Institute for Chemical Technology (ICT) in Pfinztal near Karlsruhe and six industrial companies. The project is aimed at developing an automatic process chain for the economically efficient production of hybrid components that are increasingly applied in automotive engineering. Production is based on the so-called resin transfer molding (RTM) process: Fiber mats are inserted into a workpiece. Then, a liquid resin-hardener mixture is added for casting under pressure. Heat supply makes the resin react, as a result of which a solid body is formed. Under “HyPro”, the researchers study the individual stages of the RTM chain – layout, pre-forming, infiltration, and post-processing – and develop them further. The focus lies on pre-forming of the continuous filaments (textile semi-finished products) in combination with metallic elements. “Draping, positioning, and fixing of the fiber mats during pre-forming result in the basic structure of the component,” explains the Head of the “HyPro” project, Professor Jürgen Fleischer, who heads the Institute of Production Science of KIT. Another focus of the project are tool technologies for the infiltration of the pre-formed component with resin and on the sealing of the mold. Finally, the results will be validated using a demonstrator constructed by the project partner Porsche AG. The “HyPro” project is funded by the state of Baden-Württemberg with about EUR 400,000. The total project volume is about EUR 1.4 million.

 

With the framework of the “KraSchwing” project, the German Aerospace Center (DLR) in Stuttgart, the KIT Institute of Vehicle System Technology (FAST), and the Institute for Natural Sciences and Medi-cine (NMI), Reutlingen, together with six enterprises, are working on optimizing the technology for joining fiber-reinforced and metallic hybrid lightweight components. The project is aimed at improving the stability of both bonded and innovatively screwed structures under dynamic loading.

 

The call issued by the Ministry of Science, Research, and the Arts and the Ministry of Finance and Economics was won by five consortia of science and industry and is part of an extensive strategy to promote lightweight construction in Baden-Württemberg.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 10.03.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseKhc8∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu



The press release is available as a PDF file.

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Presseinformation 034/2014

Land fördert Projekte zum hybriden Leichtbau am KIT

Lösungen für wirtschaftliche Fertigung und höhere Belastbarkeit – Kooperationen mit Industrie

Zwei neue Projekte am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) zum hybriden Leichtbau werden vom Land Baden-Württemberg gefördert: In „HyPro“ entwickelt das wbk Institut für Produktionstechnik des KIT gemeinsam mit Partnern eine automatisierte Prozesskette zur wirtschaftlichen Fertigung von Hybridbauteilen, wie sie vor allem in der Automobilindustrie eingesetzt werden. Das Projekt „KraSchwing“, an dem das KIT-Institut für Fahrzeugsystemtechnik (FAST) beteiligt ist, zielt darauf, die Belastbarkeit von Strukturen bei schwingender Beanspruchung zu verbessern.

 

Insgesamt fördert die Landesregierung fünf Verbundforschungsprojekte zum hybriden Leichtbau in Baden-Württemberg mit rund 1,63 Millionen Euro. „Die geförderten Projekte leisten einen wesentlichen Forschungsbeitrag in der Automatisierung von Herstellungsverfahren oder in der Verbindungstechnik von hybriden Leichtbauteilen. Die verstärkte Zusammenarbeit von Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft in Innovationspartnerschaften ebnet dabei den Weg für den schnellen Transfer zukunftsweisender Leichtbautechnologien aus der Forschung in die industrielle Produktion marktfähiger Produkte“, sagt Wissenschaftsministerin Theresia Bauer. „Der Leichtbau spielt wegen der zunehmenden Bedeutung von Ressourcen- und Materialeffizienz für die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit von Unternehmen im Verarbeitenden Gewerbe eine immer größere Rolle. Als führender Leichtbau-Standort hat Baden-Württemberg beste Voraussetzungen, von dieser Entwicklung zu profitieren“, unterstreicht Wirtschaftsminister Nils Schmid.

 

KIT-Präsident Professor Holger Hanselka weist auf das enorme Potenzial des hybriden Leichtbaus für zahlreiche industrielle Anwendungen hin: „Der Leichtbau ermöglicht es, bei vielen Anwendungen – vom Fahrzeug bis zum Industrieroboter – Rohstoffe einzusparen und damit das Gewicht und den Energieverbrauch zu senken“, sagt Hanselka. „Mit den beiden neu geförderten Projekten unterstreicht das KIT seine Forschungskompetenz und seine Bedeutung als einer der führenden Innovationspartner der Wirtschaft.“

 

Beim hybriden Leichtbau werden Werkstoffverbunde eingesetzt, die aus verschiedenen Werkstoffen hergestellt oder gefügt sind, beispielsweise Metall und faserverstärkte Kunststoffe, um die materialspezifischen Vorteile optimal zu kombinieren. Im Projekt „HyPro – Technologie-Entwicklungen entlang der RTM-Wertschöpfungskette zur wirtschaftlichen Herstellung hybrider Bauteile“ ist das wbk Institut für Produktionstechnik des KIT federführend; Partner sind das Fraunhofer-Institut für Chemische Technologie (ICT) in Pfinztal bei Karlsruhe sowie sechs Industrieunternehmen. Ziel des Projekts ist, eine automatisierte Prozesskette zur wirtschaftlichen Fertigung von Hybridbauteilen, wie sie vor allem im Automobilbau zunehmend eingesetzt werden, zu entwickeln. Zugrunde liegt das sogenannte Resin Transfer Moulding (RTM) Verfahren: Fasermatten werden in ein Werkzeug eingelegt und mit einem flüssigen Harz-Härter-Gemisch unter Druck umgossen. Unter Wärmezufuhr reagiert das Harz aus, wodurch ein fester Körper entsteht. In „HyPro“ untersuchen die Forscher die einzelnen Schritte der RTM-Wertschöpfungskette – Zuschnitt, Preforming, Infiltration und Nachbearbeitung – und entwickeln sie weiter. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf dem Vorformen der Endlosfasern (textilen Halbzeuge) in Kombination mit metallischen Elementen. „Durch das Drapieren, Positionieren und Fixieren der Fasermatten beim Preforming entsteht die Grundstruktur des Bauteils“, erklärt „HyPro“-Projektleiter Professor Jürgen Fleischer, Leiter des wbk Instituts für Produktionstechnik des KIT. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt des Projekts sind Werkzeugtechnologien für die Infiltration des vorgeformten Bauteils mit Harz, besonders auf der Dichtungstechnik der Form. Abschließend werden die Ergebnisse anhand eines vom Projektpartner Porsche AG konstruierten Demonstrators validiert. Das Projekt „HyPro“ wird vom Land Baden-Württemberg mit knapp 400 000 Euro gefördert; das Gesamtvolumen beträgt rund 1,4 Millionen Euro.

 

Im Projekt „KraSchwing“ arbeiten das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) in Stuttgart, das Institut für Fahrzeugsystemtechnik (FAST) des KIT und das Naturwissenschaftliche und Medizinische Institut (NMI) in Reutlingen gemeinsam mit sechs Unternehmen daran, die Verbindungstechnik zwischen faserverstärkten und metallischen Hybrid-Leichtbauteilen zu optimieren. Ziel ist, besonders die Belastbarkeit sowohl von verklebten als auch von innovativ verschraubten Strukturen bei schwingender Beanspruchung zu verbessern.

 

Die Ausschreibung des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst sowie des Ministeriums für Finanzen und Wirtschaft, in der sich landesweit fünf Konsortien aus Forschung und Industrie durchgesetzt haben, ist Teil einer breit angelegten Strategie zur Förderung des Leichtbaus in Baden-Württemberg.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

or, 10.03.2014
Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
pressePta0∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin

Tel.: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu