Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 033/2014

KIT Climate Researchers on Polarstern Expedition

Scientists of the KIT Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research Measure the Concentration of Greenhouse Gases above the Atlantic Ocean
2014_033_KIT-Klimaforscher_auf_Polarstern-Expedition_72dpi
“Floating large-scale laboratory”: The Polarstern research vessel (Photo: Folke Mehrtens, Alfred Wegener Institute).

Using specially developed spectrometers, KIT climate re-searchers on board of the Polarstern will study the concentration of carbon dioxide and methane in the Earth’s atmosphere. The measurements made during the five-week trip from Capetown to Bremerhaven are to enhance the informative value of satellite data about the concentration of these greenhouse gases. The PS83 Atlantic expedition on the “floating large-scale laboratory” is planned to start on March 07 and to take presumably until April 13. 

 

“It is a major objective of our measurement campaign to compare the data measured with respect to the north-south distribution of the methane and carbon dioxide concentration above the Atlantic ocean with satellite observations,” Dr. André Butz, Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research (IMF-ASF), says. The measurements on board of the Polarstern are executed by the KIT scientists in coop-eration with the Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research, Leipzig, and the OCEANET research project focusing on mass and energy transfer between the ocean and the atmosphere. The RemoteC (remote sensing of greenhouse gases for modeling the carbon cy-cle) research group of KIT has developed special greenhouse gas spectrometers suited for operation on a ship. “The interaction of the highly precise measurement with the mobility of the instruments was in the focus of the RemoteC project started in 2011,” Butz empha-sizes. The research project will be completed in 2015 and is aimed at better understanding the natural processes of the carbon and methane cycle. “These mechanisms determine which fraction of anthropogenic emissions remains in the atmosphere for how long and, hence, contributes to climate change,” Butz explains. As me-thane and carbon dioxide contribute significantly to the warming of the Earth’s surface and atmosphere, detailed findings with respect to their distribution are of crucial importance to climate research.

 

The data measured during the expedition will be compared with those measured by the Japanese Greenhouse Gases Observing Satellite (GOSAT) from space. Scientists hope that comparison of onboard measurements with the satellite information obtained from reflection of short-wave infrared radiation by the Earth and the at-mosphere will enhance the accuracy of the interpretation of satellite data.

 

The German Research Foundation (DFG) funds the mission under the RemoteC project headed by the physicist Butz: Meteorologists and physicists of KIT cooperate in globally determining by ground- and satellite-based remote sensing where greenhouse gas sources are located and when and where high methane and carbon dioxide concentrations are absorbed by natural processes. While numerous ground-based measurement stations are installed on land, hardly any data have been measured above the ocean so far.

 

The Polarstern is operated by the Alfred Wegener Institute, Helm-holtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research. Since 1982, the Polar-stern has completed more than 50 expeditions to the Arctic and Antarctic. The current expedition ANT-XXIX/10 (PS83) represents the last stage of the 30th expedition to the Antarctic. The ship was specially designed for work in the polar seas and presently is one of the highest-performing polar research vessels in the world. The Polarstern is owned by the Federal Republic of Germany, repre-sented by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. The Polarstern spends almost 310 days a year at sea. In the northern summer, the vessel usually sails to and around Arctic waters, while the southern summer is spent in the Antarctic. During this, it sup-plies the German polar research station Neumayer III in the Antarctic. The ship has a crew of at most 44 and offers work facilities for another 50 scientists and technicians. Upon arrival at Bremerhaven, the Polarstern will be overhauled at the dockyard and start to the Arctic in the direction of Spitzbergen again from May 15.

 

Click here for the route of the Polarstern on the internet: http://www.awi.de/de/infrastruktur/schiffe/polarstern/wo_ist_polarstern/

 

The KIT Climate and Environment Center develops strategies and technologies to secure the natural bases of life. For this purpose, 660 employees of 32 institutes produce fundamental and application-oriented knowledge relating to climate and en-vironmental change. It is not only aimed at eliminating the causes of environmental problems, but increasingly at adapting to changed conditions.

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 26,000 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

af, 06.03.2014

For further information, please contact:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneJnd4∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseAzq0∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 033/2014

KIT-Klimaforscher auf Polarstern-Expedition

Wissenschaftler des KIT-Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung messen auf dem Forschungsschiff die Konzentration von Treibhausgasen über dem Atlantik.
„Schwimmendes Großlabor“: das Forschungsschiff Polarstern (Foto: Folke Mehrtens, Alfred-Wegener-Institut)
„Schwimmendes Großlabor“: das Forschungsschiff Polarstern (Foto: Folke Mehrtens, Alfred-Wegener-Institut)

Mit eigens entwickelten Spektrometern untersuchen Klimaforscher des KIT auf der Polarstern die Konzentration von Kohlendioxid und Methan in der Erdatmosphäre. Ihre Messungen während der fünfwöchigen Fahrt von Kapstadt nach Bremerhaven sollen unter anderem die Aussagekraft von Satellitendaten über die Konzentration dieser Treibhausgase erhöhen. Die Atlantik-Expedition PS83 auf dem „schwimmenden Großlabor“ soll am 7. März beginnen und bis voraussichtlich 13. April dauern. 

 

„Ein wesentliches Ziel unserer Messkampagne ist es, die Daten zur Nord-Süd-Verteilung der Methan- und Kohlendioxid-Konzentration über dem Atlantik mit der Satellitenbeobachtung zu vergleichen“, sagt Dr. André Butz vom Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung (IMK-ASF). Ihre Messungen an Bord der Polarstern unternehmen die Karlsruher Forscher in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Leibniz-Institut für Troposphärenforschung in Leipzig und dem Forschungsprojekt OCEANET, das sich mit dem Stoff- und Energieaustausch zwischen Ozean und Atmosphäre beschäftigt. Die KIT-Forschungsgruppe RemoteC (Fernerkundung von Treibhausgasen zur Modellierung des Kohlenstoffkreislaufs) hat dafür spezielle Treibhausgas-Spektrometer entwickelt, die sich für den Einsatz auf einem Schiff eignen. „Das Zusammenspiel von hochgenauer Messung und Mobilität der Instrumente war ein Forschungsschwerpunkt des 2011 begonnenen Projekts RemoteC“, betont Butz. Bis 2015 läuft das Forschungsprojekt mit dem Ziel, die natürlichen Prozesse des Kohlenstoff- und Methankreislaufs besser zu verstehen. „Diese Mechanismen bestimmen, welcher Anteil der menschlich bedingten Emissionen wie lange in der Atmosphäre verbleibt und damit zum Klimawandel beiträgt“, erläutert Butz. Da Methan und Kohlendioxid wesentlich zur Erwärmung von Erdoberfläche und Atmosphäre beitragen, ist der detaillierte Aufschluss über ihre Verteilung eine zentrale Herausforderung der Klimaforschung.

 

Abgeglichen werden die Daten bei der Expedition mit denen, die der japanische Greenhouse Gases Observing Satellite (GOSAT) aus dem Weltraum misst. Aus der Zusammenschau der an Bord gemachten Messungen mit den Informationen, die der Satellit über die von der Erde und der Atmosphäre zurückgestreute kurzwellige Infrarotstrahlung liefert, erhoffen sich die Wissenschaftler eine höhere Genauigkeit in der Interpretation der Satellitendaten.

 

Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) fördert das Vorhaben im Zuge des Projekts RemoteC, das der Physiker Butz leitet: Meteorologen und Physiker des KIT arbeiten gemeinsam daran, mit Hilfe boden- und satellitengestützter Fernerkundungen global zu bestimmen, wo sich Treibhausgas-Quellen befinden, und wann und wo durch natürliche Prozesse besonders viel Methan und Kohlendioxid absorbiert wird. Während an Land zahlreiche Bodenmessstationen installiert sind, gab es bislang kaum über dem Ozean erhobene Daten.

 

Betreiber der Polarstern ist das Alfred-Wegener-Institut Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar- und Meeresforschung. Seit 1982 hat die Polarstern über fünfzig Expeditionen in Arktis und Antarktis abgeschlossen. Die jetzige Expedition ANT-XXIX/10 (PS 83) ist der letzte Fahrtabschnitt der dreißigsten Antarktis-Expedition. Das Schiff wurde eigens für die Arbeit in den Polarmeeren konzipiert und ist gegenwärtig eines der leistungsfähigsten Polarforschungsschiffe der Welt. Die Polarstern ist im Besitz der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, vertreten durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung. An nahezu 310 Tagen im Jahr ist sie auf See. Gewöhnlich bereist sie im Nordsommer die arktischen Gewässer und im Südsommer die Antarktis. Dabei versorgt sie auch die deutsche Polarforschungsstation Neumayer III in der Antarktis. Das Schiff hat eine Besatzung von maximal 44 Personen und bietet zusätzlich Arbeitsmöglichkeiten für 50 Wissenschaftler und Techniker. Nach ihrer Ankunft in Bremerhaven wird die Polarstern in der Werft überholt, um ab 15. Mai wieder Richtung Spitzbergen in die Arktis aufbrechen zu können.

 

Die Route der Polarstern im Internet unter: http://www.awi.de/de/infrastruktur/schiffe/polarstern/wo_ist_polarstern/

 

Das KIT-Zentrum Klima und Umwelt entwickelt Strategien und Technologien zur Sicherung der natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen: Dafür erarbeiten 660 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter aus 32 Instituten Grundlagen- und Anwendungswissen zum Klima- und Umweltwandel. Dabei geht es nicht nur um die Beseitigung der Ursachen von Umweltproblemen, sondern zunehmend um die Anpassung an veränderte Verhältnisse.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

af, 06.03.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneIaa1∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseAxw9∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.