Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 023/2014

Nature: Ultra-small and Ultra–fast Electro-optic Modulator

Nature Photonics Magazine Presents a World-record Micrometer-sized Converter of Electrical into Optical Signals / Future Energy-efficient Chip-to-chip Optical Communication Links
2014_023_Nature_-_kleinster_elektrooptischer_Wandler_der_Welt_72dpi
Due to the voltage applied, a beam of light (top left) is modulated by the digital bits (bottom right) of the converter (yellow). An electrical signal is converted into an optical signal. (Graphics: A. Melikyan/KIT)

Thanks to optical signals, mails and data can be transmitted rapidly around the globe. But also exchange of digital information between electronic chips may be accelerated and energy efficiency might be increased by using optical signals. However, this would require simple methods to switch from electrical to optical signals. In the Nature Photonics magazine, researchers now present a device of 29 µm in length, which converts signals at a rate of about 40 gigabits per second. It is the most compact high-speed phase modulator in the world. DOI: 10.1038/NPHOTON.2014.9.

 

“Conversion of electrical into optical signals happens closer to the processor,” Juerg Leuthold says. He coordinated the research project at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology and has meanwhile moved to the ETH Zurich. “As a result, speed gains are achieved and conduction losses can be prevented. This might reduce energy consumption of the growing information technology.”

 

The electro-optical converter consists of two parallel gold electrodes of about 29 µm in length, which is one third of the diameter of a human hair. The electrodes are separated by a gap of about one tenth of a micrometer in width. The voltage applied to the electrodes is synchronized with the digital data. The gap is filled with an electro-optical polymer, whose refraction index changes as a function of the applied voltage. “A continuous beam of light from the silicon waveguide excites electromagnetic surface waves, so-called surface plasmons (SP), in the gap,” Argishti Melikyan, KIT, first author of the publication, explains. “As a result of the voltage applied to the polymer, the phase of the SP is modulated. At the end of the device, the modulated SP enter the exit silicon waveguide in the form of a modulated beam of light. In this way, the data bits are encoded in the phase of the light.”

 

Their recent results revealed that the electro-optic modulator reliably converts data flows of about 40 gigabits per second. It uses the infrared light of 1480 – 1600 nanometers in wavelength usually encountered in the broadband glass fiber network. Even temperatures of up to 85°C do not cause any operation failures. The presented device is the most compact high-speed phase modulator in the world. It can be produced by well-established CMOS fabrication processes. Integration into current chip architectures is hence possible. “The device combines many advantages of other systems, such as a high modulation speed, compact design, and energy efficiency. In the future, plasmonic devices might be used for signal processing in the terahertz range,” says Christian Koos, spokesperson of KIT’s Helmholtz International Research School of Teratronics (HIRST), which focuses on merging photonic and electronic techniques for high-speed signal processing. ”Hundreds of plasmonic modulators might fit on a chip and data rates in the range of terabits per second might be reached.”

 

Presently, information and communication systems consume about 10 percent of the electricity in Germany. This includes computers and smartphones of individual users as well as servers at large computing centers. As data traffic grows exponentially, new approaches are required to increasing the capacity of such systems and reducing their energy consumption at the same time. Plasmonic components might be of decisive importance in this respect.

 

The present paper is part of the EU project NAVOLCHI, Nano Scale Disruptive Silicon-Plasmonic Platform for Chip-to-Chip Interconnection. This project is aimed at using the interaction of light and electrons in metal surfaces for the development of novel components for data transmission between chips. “Conventional electric chip-to-chip data transmission reaches its limits,” says the present project coordinator Manfred Kohl, KIT. “NAVOLCHI is about to overcome those limits using optical technology.” It is funded under the 7th Research Framework Programme of the EU and has a budget of EUR 3.4 million.

 

For more information on the NAVOLCHI project, click http://www.imt.kit.edu/projects/navolchi/

 

High-speed plasmonic phase modulators, A. Melikyan, L. Alloatti, A. Muslija, D. Hillerkuss, P. C. Schindler, J. Li, R. Palmer, D. Korn, S. Muehlbrandt, D. Van Thourhout, B. Chen, R. Dinu, M. Sommer, C. Koos, M. Kohl, W. Freude, and J. Leuthold, nature photonics AOP, DOI: 10.1038/NPHOTON.2014.9

http://www.nature.com/nphoton/index.html


Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

kes, 17.02.2014

For further information, please contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
PKM, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseQow0∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 023/2014

Nature: kleinster elektrooptischer Wandler der Welt

Baustein für energieeffiziente optische Kommunikation auf Platinen im Fachmagazin Nature Photonics vorgestellt / Mikrometergroßes Bauteil wandelt schnell elektrische in optische Signale um
Auf eine Lichtwelle (o .li.) prägt der Wandler (gelb) aufgrund der angelegten Spannung digitale Bits auf (u. re.).So werden elektrische zu optischen Signalen. (Grafik: A. Melikyan/KIT)
Auf eine Lichtwelle (o .li.) prägt der Wandler (gelb) aufgrund der angelegten Spannung digitale Bits auf (u. re.).So werden elektrische zu optischen Signalen. (Grafik: A. Melikyan/KIT)

Dank optischer Signale laufen Daten schnell um den Erdball. Aber auch zwischen elektronischen Chips könnten digitale Informationen optisch schneller und energieeffizienter ausgetauscht werden. Dazu bedarf es jedoch einfacher Methoden, um von elektrischen zu optischen Signalen zu wechseln. Im Fachmagazin Nature Photonics wurde nun ein Bauteil vorgestellt, das nur 29 Mikrometer lang ist und mit einer Rate von rund 40 Gigabit pro Sekunde Signale umwandelt. Damit ist er der kompakteste Hochgeschwindigkeits-Phasenmodulator der Welt. DOI: 10.1038/NPHOTON.2014.9

 

„Der Übergang vom elektrischen zum optischen Signal passiert immer näher am Prozessor“, sagt Jürg Leuthold, der die aktuelle Entwicklung am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie betreut hat und inzwischen an der ETH Zürich forscht. „Dadurch lassen sich Geschwindigkeitsvorteile erzielen, aber vor allem Leitungsverluste vermeiden. Dies wäre ein wichtiger Baustein, um den Energiebedarf der wachsenden Informationstechnologie zu dämpfen.“

 

Der elektrooptische Wandler besteht aus zwei parallelen Goldelektroden, die etwa 29 Mikrometer lang sind und durch einen etwa einen zehntel Mikrometer breiten Spalt getrennt sind. Der Aufbau ist also etwa so lang wie ein Drittel eines Haares breit ist und belegt Bruchteile der Querschnittsfläche eines Haares. An den Elektroden liegt eine Spannung an, die im Takt der digitalen Daten moduliert wird. Der Spalt ist mit einem elektro-optischen Kunststoff gefüllt, dessen Brechungsindex sich in Abhängigkeit von der Spannung verändert. Zwei Wellenleiter aus Silizium führen das Licht zum Spalt bzw. von ihm weg. „Ein kontinuierlicher Lichtstrahl aus dem Leiter regt im Spalt elektromagnetische Oberflächenwellen, sogenannte Oberflächen-Plasmonen an“, erklärt Argishti Melikyan vom KIT, Erstautor der Veröffentlichung. „Durch die am Kunststoff anliegende Spannung werden die Oberflächenwellen moduliert. Nach Durchlaufen des Spalts treten diese als modulierter Lichtstrahl in den abführenden Lichtwellenleiter ein. In der Phase des Lichts sind dann die Datenbits codiert.“

 

In zahlreichen Tests wurde gezeigt, dass der elektrooptische Wandler verlässlich Datenströme mit rund 40 Gigabit pro Sekunde umsetzt. Er nutzt das auch im Breitbandglasfasernetz übliche Infrarotlicht mit der Wellenlänge von 1480-1600 Nanometer und zeigt auch bei Temperaturen bis 85 Grad Celsius keine Betriebsabweichung. Der vorgestellte Wandler ist der kleinste und kompakteste Hochgeschwindigkeits-Phasenmodulator der Welt. Zudem lässt er sich mit weitverbreiteten CMOS-Verfahren aus der Mikroelektronik herstellen und damit leicht in aktuelle Chiparchitekturen integrieren. „Das Bauteil vereint viele positive Eigenschaften anderer Systeme, wie etwa eine hohe Modulationsgeschwindindigkeit, Kompaktheit und Energieeffizienz. Zukünftig könnten plasmonische Bauteile zur Signalverarbeitung im Terahertz-Bereich verwendet werden“, sagt Christian Koos vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, Sprecher der Helmholtz International Research School of Teratronics (HIRST), die sich am KIT mit der Fusion photonischer und elektronischer Verfahren zur ultraschnellen Signalverarbeitung befasst. „Plasmonische Wandler würden zu Hunderten auf einen Chip passen und Datenraten von einigen Terabit pro Sekunde ermöglichen.“

 

Derzeit werden in Deutschland rund 10 Prozent des Stromes durch Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien verbraucht, etwa durch Computer und Smartphones beim Nutzer, aber auch durch die Server in großen Rechenzentren. Da der Datenverkehr exponentiell anwächst, bedarf es neuer Ansätze, die den Durchsatz steigern und gleichzeitig den Energieverbrauch dämpfen. Plasmonische Bauteile könnten hier einen entscheidenden Beitrag liefern.

 

Der elektrooptische Wandler wurde im Rahmen des EU-Projekts NAVOLCHI, Nano Scale Disruptive Silicon-Plasmonic Platform for Chip-to-Chip Interconnection, entwickelt. Ziel ist es, die Interaktion von Licht und Elektronen in Metalloberflächen auszunutzen, um neuartige Bauteile für die Datenübertragung zwischen Chips zu entwickeln. „Die elektrische Chip-zu-Chip-Datenübertragung stößt an ihre Grenzen“, sagt Projektleiter Manfred Kohl vom KIT. „NAVOLCHI schickt sich an diese mit optischen Technologien zu überwinden.“ Das Projekt wird im siebten Forschungs-Rahmenprogram der EU gefördert und verfügt über ein Budget von 3,4 Millionen Euro.

 

Weitere Informationen zum Projekt NAVOLCHI: http://www.imt.kit.edu/projects/navolchi/

 

High-speed plasmonic phase modulators, A. Melikyan, L. Alloatti, A. Muslija, D. Hillerkuss, P. C. Schindler, J. Li, R. Palmer, D. Korn, S. Muehlbrandt, D. Van Thourhout, B. Chen, R. Dinu, M. Sommer, C. Koos, M. Kohl, W. Freude and J. Leuthold, nature photonics AOP, DOI: 10.1038/NPHOTON.2014.9
www.nature.com/nphoton/index.html

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

kes, 17.02.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseNml3∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.