Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 017/2014

KIT Spinoff Wins ”Prism Award 2014“

Nanoscribe is awarded for High-speed 3D Printers
2014_017_KIT-Ausgruendung_gewinnt_Oscar_der_Photonik_72_dpi
The Prism Award 2014 is awarded to Dr. Michael Thiel, Martin Hermatschweiler, Prof. Martin Wegener, and Dr. Wanyin Cui (from left to right, Nanoscribe)

Nanoscribe GmbH, a spinoff of the Karlsruhe Institute of Tech-nology (KIT), has won the renowned Prism Award 2014. It is granted annually by the International Society for Optics and Photonics SPIE for outstanding innovations in photonics. Na-noscribe has been granted the award for a printer based on 3D laser lithography. It is used to produce minute objects within shortest periods of time. The award was handed over yesterday evening at the Photonics West, the leading photonics conference and exhibition, in San Francisco.

 

Nanoscribe’s laser lithography systems are used to produce three-dimensional microstructures and nanostructures. In addition, the company develops customized photoresists. Nanoscribe, the first spinoff of KIT, was established in 2008 and has meanwhile become the market leader in 3D laser lithography. Leading research institu-tions and universities in Europe, Asia, Northern America, and Aus-tralia use instruments made by Nanoscribe for their research. More-over, industry is highly interested in the innovative technology. Na-noscribe has its office at the KIT High-tech Incubator on KIT’s Cam-pus North.

 

Nanoscribe was granted the Prism Award 2014 in the category of “Advanced Manufacturing” for the 3D printer “Photonic Professional GT” commercialized in 2013. This printer allows to produce smallest three-dimensional objects with details in the submicrometer range at highest resolution within shortest periods of time. Production of such microstructures is required in many areas, such as optics, medical technology, fluidics, electronics, and mechanics. The 3D printing process is based on direct laser writing by two-photon polymerization. A photosensitive material is exposed to ultra-short pulses of a strongly focused laser beam. Depending on the photoresist selected, the exposed or the non-exposed volume is removed only. Following a development bath, self-supporting micro- and nanostructures remain. The so-called galvo technology is applied to deflect the position of the laser focus in the area by a galvanic mirror system. The writing speed exceeds that of conventional concepts by a factor of 100.

 

Every year, the Prism Award is granted to the most innovative prod-ucts and concepts launched in the area of photonics in the previous year. Each of the nine award categories in 2014 acknowledges an outstanding contribution made in the technical or industrial sector. An international jury with renowned representatives of science and industry decides on the award winners. During the awards ceremony at the Photonics West in San Francisco, Nanoscribe’s CEO Martin Hermatschweiler said: “Our customers are university research insti-tutions all over the world. We are convinced that this award reflects our technical maturity also for industrial applications and that it will sharpen the awareness of 3D printing technology being the right process for the solution of many problems.”

 

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

or, 06.02.2014

For further information, please contact:

Nanoscribe GmbH
Anke Werner
Tel.: +49 721 608-28849
Fax: +49 721 608-28848
E-Mail: wernerHwn4∂nanoscribe de
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseZnf0∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 017/2014

KIT-Ausgründung gewinnt „Prism Award 2014“

Nanoscribe für Hochgeschwindigkeits-3D-Drucker ausgezeichnet
Verleihung des Prism Award 2014: Dr. Michael Thiel, Martin Hermatschweiler, Prof. Martin Wegener, Dr. Wanyin Cui (v.l.n.r., Nanoscribe)
Verleihung des Prism Award 2014: Dr. Michael Thiel, Martin Hermatschweiler, Prof. Martin Wegener, Dr. Wanyin Cui (v.l.n.r., Nanoscribe)

Nanoscribe GmbH, ein Spin-off des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT), hat den „Prism Award 2014“ erhalten. Mit dem renommierten Preis würdigt die internationale Gesellschaft für Optik und Photonik SPIE jedes Jahr herausragende Innovationen in der Photonik. Nanoscribe bekam die Auszeichnung für einen Drucker auf Basis der 3D-Laserlithografie, der winzige Objekte in kürzester Zeit fertigt. Der Preis wurde gestern Abend (Ortszeit) auf der Leitmesse „Photonics West“ in San Francisco überreicht.

 

Die Laserlithografiesysteme von Nanoscribe ermöglichen die Herstellung dreidimenstionaler Mikro- und Nanostrukturen. Darüber hinaus entwickelt das Unternehmen maßgeschneiderte Fotolacke. Nanocribe startete 2008 als erste Ausgründung aus dem KIT und hat sich inzwischen als Marktführer in der 3D-Laserlithografie etabliert. Führende Forschungseinrichtungen und Universitäten in Europa, Asien, Nordamerika und Australien setzen die Geräte für Forschungsarbeiten ein. Auch seitens der Industrie besteht großes Interesse an der innovativen Technologie. Nanoscribe ist im KIT-Hightech-Inkubator am KIT-Campus Nord angesiedelt.

 

Den „Prism Award 2014“ hat Nanoscribe in der Kategorie „Advanced Manufacturing“ für den 2013 eingeführten 3D-Drucker „Photonic Professional GT“ erhalten. Mit diesem lassen sich winzige dreidimensionale Objekte mit Details im Sub-Mikrometerbereich in kürzester Zeit und mit höchster Auflösung herstellen. Die Fertigung solcher Mikrobauteile ist in vielen verschiedenen Bereichen gefragt, beispielsweise in der Optik, Medizintechnik, Fluidik, Elektronik und Mechanik. Dem 3D-Druckverfahren liegt die Technik des direkten Laserschreibens auf Basis der Zwei-Photonen-Polymerisation zugrunde: Ein photosensitives Material wird mit ultrakurzen Impulsen eines stark fokussierten Laserstrahls belichtet. Abhängig von dem gewälten Fotolack löst sich nur das belichtete oder nur das unbelichtete Volumen. Nach einem Entwicklerbad bleiben freitragende Mikro- und Nanostrukturen stehen. Die sogenannte Galvotechnologie, welche die Position des Laserfokus durch ein galvanisches Spiegelsystem in der Fläche ablenkt, beschleunigt die Schreibgeschwindigkeit um das Hundertfache gegenüber üblichen Konzepten.

 

Der „Prism Award“ zeichnet jedes Jahr die innovativsten Produkte und Konzepte des Vorjahrs im Bereich der Photonik aus. Jede der neun Kategorien 2014 hebt einen Beitrag aus einem technischen oder industriellen Bereich hervor. Über die Auswahl entscheidet eine internationale Jury mit renommierten Vertretern aus Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft. Nanoscribe-Geschäftsführer Martin Hermatschweiler sagte bei der feierlichen Preisverleihung im Rahmen der „Photonics West“ in San Francisco: „Unsere derzeitigen Kunden sind zumeist universitäre Forschungseinrichtungen auf der ganzen Welt. Wir sind überzeugt, dass diese Auszeichnung unsere technologische Reife auch für industrielle Applikationen unterstreicht und das Bewusstsein schärft, dass die 3D-Drucktechnologie auch hier für viele Problemstellungen genau den richtigen Prozess bietet.“

 

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

or, 06.02.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Nanoscribe GmbH
Anke Werner
Tel.: +49 721 608-28849
Fax: +49 721 608-28848
E-Mail: wernerLud8∂nanoscribe de
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseZyr4∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.