Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 016/2014

Energy Bet: Wash in the Night and Win

”Bet and Energy“: Gamification Concept of KIT and TUM Scientists Wins International Competition – Further Development at a Workshop in the Silicon Valley
2014_016_Energie-Wette_-_Nachts_waschen_und_gewinnen_72dpi
”Bet and Energy” links the mobile games world with the energy system. (Figure: Yong Ding, KIT)

Sports bets were yesterday. In the future, bets will be made with utilities on the electricity bill. Saving power production costs in an indirect and playful manner is the idea of three young scientists from Karlsruhe and Munich. Martin Alexander Neumann and Yong Ding, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), and Georg Hackenberg, Technische Universität München (TUM), jointly developed the social game “Bet and Energy”. The system supported by intelligent electricity meters is not only intended to be fun, but to help households and utilities save electricity. With this concept, the team has now won the SAP “Utility of Tomorrow Innovation Contest”.

 

Using elements typical of a game in a context that has nothing to do with games is referred to as “gamification.” “Bet and Energy” is based on this principle. Whoever reduces the production costs of the utilities by an adapted personal behavior can reduce the electricity bill. In bets, consumers agree with their utilities not to do the laundry during the day or not to watch TV in the evening, for instance. In this way, private persons are given an incentive not to use less energy, but to consume it at unusual times. Consumers are encouraged to do the so-called “load shifting”. “Our system offers a clear value added for all parties involved. Energy costs are an important factor for every household and every company. Changes of behavior of many people in a region may reduce the energy production costs of their utility. In return, the utility can pass these cost reductions on to the consumers when billing electricity costs at the end of the month,” Martin Alexander Neumann and Yong Ding of the TECO Research Group at the KIT Institute of Telematics explain. To establish the system on the market, however, smart electricity meters will have to be applied routinely. With their help only can it be determined when the time of consumption is most favorable and how much electricity can be saved.

 

International Success for “Bet and Energy”

This idea has now won the “Utility of Tomorrow Innovation Contest” of SAP. In this international competition, the team won over 60 other pre-selected proposals. All teams had to submit their ideas of mobile applications for future energy supply in various categories. As one of five winner teams, the group will now participate in a SAP workshop of one week duration in the USA. There, the idea shall be analyzed for feasibility in more detail and a first prototype shall be developed.

 

Cooperation of the three scientists from Karlsruhe and Munich started in the Software Campus project funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). Under that project, young scientists were to be trained to become tomorrow’s IT executives through advanced training programs and cooperation with industry.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

ses, 06.02.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseVpo1∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Sebastian Schäfer
Fakultät für Informatik – Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Tel.: +49 721 608-44344
Fax: +49 721 608-4177
E-Mail:sebastian schaeferZyn7∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseZov3∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 016/2014

Energie-Wette: Nachts waschen und gewinnen

„Bet and Energy“: Karlsruher und Münchener Forscher gewinnen mit ihrem Gamification-Konzept einen internationalen Ideenwettbewerb – Weiterentwicklung bei einem Workshop im Silicon Valley
„Bet and Energy“ verbindet mobile Spielewelt mit dem Energiesystem (Abb.: Yong Ding, KIT)
„Bet and Energy“ verbindet mobile Spielewelt mit dem Energiesystem (Abb.: Yong Ding, KIT)

Sportwetten waren gestern. In Zukunft wird mit Energieerzeugern um die Stromrechnung gewettet. Indirekt und spielerisch Stromproduktionskosten einzusparen, ist die Idee von drei jungen Wissenschaftlern aus Karlsruhe und München. Martin Alexander Neumann und Yong Ding vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) sowie Georg Hackenberg von der Technischen Universität München haben gemeinsam das Social Game „Bet and Energy“ entwickelt. Das von intelligenten Stromzählern gestützte System soll nicht nur Spaß, sondern Haushalten und Energieerzeugern auch eine hohe Ersparnis bringen. Für dieses Konzept hat die Gruppe nun den SAP „Utility of Tomorrow Innovation Contest“ gewonnen.

 

Spieltypische Elemente in einen Zusammenhang einbringen, der zunächst nichts mit Spielen zu tun hat – das versteht man unter „Gamification“. „Bet and Energy“ hat dieses Prinzip umgesetzt: Wer die Produktionskosten der Energieversorger durch angepasstes persönliches Verhalten verringert, der kann auf der Stromrechnung sparen. In Wetten vereinbaren Verbraucher dazu mit ihren Energieversorgern beispielsweise, tagsüber nicht zu waschen oder abends kein Fernsehen zu schauen. So sollen Privatpersonen einen Anreiz erhalten, nicht weniger Energie, aber diese zu einer untypischen Zeit zu verbrauchen, also das sogenannte „Load Shifting“ zu betreiben. „Unser System bietet für alle Beteiligten einen klaren Mehrwert. Die Energiekosten sind für jeden Haushalt und jede Firma ein wichtiger Faktor. Die Verhaltensveränderungen vieler Menschen in einer Region können in Summe die Energieerzeugungskosten beim Versorger reduzieren. Im Gegenzug kann der Versorger diese Einsparungen an die Verbraucher beispielsweise am Monatsende in einer Zwischenabrechnung weitergeben“, erklären Martin Alexander Neumann und Yong Ding von der Forschungsgruppe TECO am Institut für Telematik des KIT. Um das System auf dem Markt zu etablieren, so die Wissenschaftler, müssten sich aber zunächst intelligente Stromzähler im Alltag durchsetzen. Nur so könne letztlich ermittelt werden, wann die Verbrauchszeit am günstigsten ist und wie viel Strom eingespart werden konnte.

 

Internationaler Erfolg für „Bet and Energy“

Diese Idee wurde nun mit dem Sieg im „Utility of Tomorrow Innovation Contest“ von SAP belohnt. Die Gruppe konnte sich im internationalen Wettbewerb nach einer Vorauswahl gegen 60 weitere Einreichungen erfolgreich durchsetzen. Alle Teams mussten in verschiedenen Kategorien ihre Ideen für mobile Anwendungen für die Energieversorgung der Zukunft einreichen. Als eines von insgesamt fünf Siegerteams nimmt die Gruppe an einem einwöchigen Workshop bei SAP in den USA teil. Dort soll die Idee genauer auf ihre Machbarkeit analysiert und ein erster Prototyp entwickelt werden.

 

Die Zusammenarbeit der drei Wissenschaftler aus Karlsruhe und München kam durch das vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderte Projekt Software Campus zustande. Hier sollen junge Wissenschaftler durch Weiterbildungsprogramme und Kooperationen mit Wirtschaftsunternehmen zu den IT-Führungskräften von morgen ausgebildet werden.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

ses, 06.02.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Sebastian Schäfer
Fakultät für Informatik – Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Tel.: +49 721 608-44344
Fax: +49 721 608-4177
E-Mail: sebastian schaeferJbu3∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseYlx5∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.