Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 013/2014

KIT SC Ranks Third for the Marketing Award of Sports

Sustainable Sponsoring Concept for University Makes KIT Sports Club Win over Big Clubs and Companies in the Sports Sector
With its sponsoring concept, the sports club of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, KIT SC, and its partner “2bdifferent“ were on the podium for the 2014 marketing award of sports – together with the Bundesliga soccer clubs of Borussia Dortmund and 1. FC Köln. Yesterday evening (February 03, 2014), the awards were presented to the winners by the ESB (Europäische Sponsoring-Börse, European Sponsoring Market Place) in Düsseldorf. The concept of KIT SC focuses on cooperation with regional companies and environmentally compatible sports. With this concept, the club won over big companies like Sky Deutschland and PUMA.

 

“Being nominated for the marketing award together with so promi-nent representatives of German sports is a big success for KIT SC and shows that our club has developed successfully on and outside of the playing fields since its establishment in 2010,” says Professor Alexander Woll, first chairman of the KIT SC and sports scientist of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology.

 

The concept “One passion, one club, KIT SC: Nachhaltiges Spon-soring im Hochschulumfeld” (sustainable sponsoring at a university) focuses on cooperation with regional companies. “We offer reliable planning irrespective of success, rankings, promotion or relegation in sports. Both emotional and sports aspects are taken into ac-count,” says the sports director of KIT SC, Dr. Dietmar Blicker, who was one of the main drivers of the establishment of KIT’s sports club in 2010.

 

Contrary to classical sponsoring that frequently aims at promoting sales, KIT SC wishes to support networking of companies with each other and with the students. “The companies look for qualified young staff. In the sports club of KIT, they will find motivated, team-minded young people,” explains Marc Ringswald, marketing director of KIT SC. He developed the concept together with the partner “2bdifferent”, a supplier of sustainable communication services. Among the basic services offered by KIT SC to its sponsors is the participation in special network events. “Moreover, KIT SC stands for environmentally compatible sports. Together with our sponsors, we sensitize our members and fans,” Ringswalds adds. The club works on reducing CO2 emissions during league operation and on compensating the remaining emissions by joint environmental projects with partners. For example, the club plans to generate a mobility app, by means of which the fans are asked whether they come to KIT SC matches by bike, public passenger transport or by car. With its concept, the club has already attracted several partners, including a bank, an automobile manufacturer, and a climate protection agency for which the sustainable orientation of the club was of decisive importance.

 

In the first two rounds of the competition, the three finalists won over campaigns of Coca-Cola Zero, the Smartphone manufacturer HTC, PUMA, and Sky Deutschland. The concepts were assessed in the categories of innovation and trend, marketing success, and sustainability. The marketing award of sports is granted for the 11th time this year. In total, 19 companies and clubs participated in the competition. The awards ceremony took place on February 03, 2014 at the Sports Business Summit, the biggest European congress of the sports sector. The event was organized by ESB (Europäische Sponsoring Börse), a network of partners in the areas of sponsoring and events.

 

About the KIT Sports Club 2010

 

KIT SC is the sports club of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology. Operations of the club are based on the three pillars of competitive sports, recreational sports, and health promotion. As regards com-petitive sports, the club is presently active in the leagues of Ameri-can football, basketball, soccer, handball, judo, volleyball, tennis, and track-and -field as well as lacrosse. Other new and attractive types of sports are planned to extend the scope of activities in the future.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 04.02.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseNat1∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneXrr1∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Presseinformation 013/2014

KIT SC unter Top 3 beim Marketingpreis des Sports

Mit nachhaltigem Sponsoring im Hochschulumfeld setzt sich der Sport-Club des KIT gegen große Vereine und Unternehmen der Sportbranche durch
Mit seinem Sponsoringkonzept landete der Sport-Club des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie, kurz KIT SC, mit seinem Partner „2bdifferent“ beim Marketingpreis des Sports 2014 auf dem Siegertreppchen – zusammen mit den Fußball-Bundesligisten Borussia Dortmund und 1. FC Köln. Die ESB Europäische Sponsoring-Börse zeichnete die Gewinner gestern Abend (3. Februar 2014) in Düsseldorf aus. Der KIT SC setzt auf die Zusammenarbeit mit regionalen Unternehmen und umweltverträgliches Sporttreiben. Mit diesem Konzept ließ der Club auch große Unternehmen wie Sky Deutschland und PUMA hinter sich.

 

„Zusammen mit so prominenten Vertretern des deutschen Sports für den Marketingpreis nominiert zu sein, ist ein toller Erfolg für den KIT SC und ein Zeichen, dass sich der Club seit seiner Gründung 2010 nicht nur auf den Spielfeldern großartig entwickelt hat“, sagt Professor Alexander Woll, 1. Vorsitzender des KIT SC und Sportwissenschaftler am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie.

 

Ein besonderer Fokus des Konzepts „ONE PASSION, ONE CLUB, KIT SC: Nachhaltiges Sportsponsoring im Hochschulumfeld“ liegt auf der Ansprache regionaler Unternehmen. „Wir bieten ihnen verlässliche Planbarkeit, die unabhängig von sportlichen Erfolgen, Tabellenplätzen, Auf- oder Abstieg wirken – ohne dabei die emotionalen und sportlichen Aspekte außer Acht zu lassen“, so der sportliche Leiter des KIT SC, Dr. Dietmar Blicker, der im Jahr 2010 die Gründung des Sportclubs am KIT maßgeblich vorangetrieben hat.

 

Im Gegensatz zu klassischem, häufig auf Verkaufsförderung ausgerichtem Sponsoring, geht es beim KIT SC um die Vernetzung der Unternehmen untereinander und mit Studierenden. „Die Unternehmen suchen qualifizierte Nachwuchskräfte – und motivierte, teamfähige junge Menschen finden sie im Sportverein des KIT“, erläutert Marc Ringswald, Marketingleiter des KIT SC, der das Konzept mit dem Partner „2bdifferent“, einem Dienstleister für nachhaltige Kommunikationsstrategien, entwickelt hat. Zu den Basisleistungen für Sponsoren zählt deshalb etwa die Teilnahme an speziellen Netzwerkveranstaltungen. „Der KIT SC steht außerdem für umweltverträgliches Sporttreiben. Wir sensibilisieren hier auch zusammen mit den Sponsoren unsere Mitglieder und Fans“, so Ringswald. So arbeite der Club daran, den im laufenden Betrieb entstehenden CO2-Ausstoß zu verringern und die verbleibenden Emissionen in gemeinsamen Umweltprojekten mit Partnern zu kompensieren. Geplant sei etwa eine Mobilitäts-App, die Fans zu ihrer Anreise zu den KIT SC-Spielen – mit Fahrrad, öffentlichem Nahverkehr oder PKW – befragt. Mit seinem Konzept hat der Club bereits mehrere Partner gewonnen, darunter eine Bank, ein Autohersteller sowie eine Klimaschutzagentur, für die die nachhaltige Ausrichtung des Vereins entscheidend war.

 

Bereits in den ersten beiden Wettbewerbsrunden hatten sich die drei Finalisten gegen Kampagnen von Coca-Cola Zero, dem Smartphone-Hersteller HTC, PUMA und Sky Deutschland durchgesetzt. Die Jury bewertete die Projekte gleichwertig in den Kategorien Innovation & Trend, Marketingerfolg sowie Nachhaltigkeit. Der Marketingpreis des Sports wurde in diesem Jahr zum 11. Mal verliehen. Insgesamt hatten sich 19 Unternehmen und Vereine um den Marketingpreis des Sports beworben, der in diesem Jahr um 11. Mal vergeben wurde. Die Preisverleihung fand am 3. Februar 2014 beim Sports Business Summit, dem größten europäischen Kongress der Sportbranche, statt. Veranstalter ist die ESB Europäische Sponsoring Börse, ein Partnernetzwerk in den Bereichen Sponsoring und Event.

 

Über den KIT Sport-Club 2010 e.V.

Der KIT SC ist der Sportverein des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie. Die drei Säulen des Vereins bilden der Wettkampfsport, der Breitensport und die Gesundheitsförderung. Im Wettkampfsportbetrieb ist der Verein derzeit in den Sportarten American Football, Basketball, Fußball, Handball, Judo, Volleyball, Tennis, Leichtathletik sowie Lacrosse im Ligenbetrieb vertreten. Der KIT SC wird auch zukünftig die Heimat für weitere neue und attraktive Sportarten bilden.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

le, 04.02.2014
Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseZfj3∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin

Tel.: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Kontakt für diese Presseinformation:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneWmb0∂kit edu