Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 011/2014

KIT Runs Biggest German University Cloud

“bwSync&Share“ Online Memory Service Can now Be Accessed by about 450,000 Members of Universities and Colleges in Baden-Württemberg

The Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) has started operation of the online memory service “bwSync&Share” for the synchronization and sharing of documents. The state-wide ser-vice is available cost-free to about 350,000 students and 100,000 employees of all universities in Baden-Württemberg and, hence, represents the biggest university cloud in Germany. Every user can now access about ten gigabytes of memory capacity at his workplace and via mobile devices. The memory service is funded by the State Ministry of Science, Research, and the Arts.

 

To cope with current research tasks, scientists of various institutions are forced to increasingly cooperate. Consequently, there is an increasing demand for tools supporting such a cooperation. Joint processing and easy, secure, and flexible exchange of documents among universities are indispensable.

 

”bwSync&Share“ is a memory service developed by KIT’s Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) in cooperation with the Power Folder company. The service is to provide for the exchange of data among various users, computers, and mobile end devices. Research re-sults, homework, photos or videos can be stored, shared, and syn-chronized. Access takes place via desktop systems, smartphones, tablets, or web interfaces. This ensures maximum comfort for the user. In the starting phase, 500 terabytes will be supplied for “bwSync&Share” in Karlsruhe. The memory capacity per user is limited to ten gigabytes.

 

“In contrast to other known services like “Dropbox” or “Google Drive”, the data are not stored at server locations abroad, but at KIT’s Large-scale Data Facility. Hence, the service is subject to German law. Employees and students of universities and colleges in Baden-Württemberg do no longer have to trust external cloud services, but can cooperate easily and safely via this state-wide service,” Nico Schlitter, head of the project at SCC, explains.

 

The data of the bwSync&Share users are stored at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and, hence, are subject to Germany law. Communication between the end devices of the users and the central memory systems is encoded. Data access is restricted to the user supplying the data and other users authorized by him.

 

Use of “bwSync&Share” is cost-free for members of the state uni-versities and colleges. Members of other institutions can also use the service, but do not possess a personal memory space.

 

For access to the service and further information, click https://bwSyncAndShare.lsdf.kit.edu

 

For further information, please contact:

Ursula Scheller, SCC, Tel.: +49 721 608-44865, Fax: +49 721 32550, E-Mail: ursula schellerNfh3∂kit edu

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

us/kes, 03.02.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseNbs9∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Kosta Schinarakis
Redakteur/Pressereferent
Phone: +49 721 608-21165
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakisJiq2∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 011/2014

KIT betreibt größte deutsche Hochschul-Cloud

Online-Speicherdienst „bwSync&Share“ für rund 450.000 Mitglieder der baden-württembergischen Universitäten und Hochschulen gestartet

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) hat den Online-Speicherdienst „bwSync&Share“ zum einfachen Synchronisieren und Teilen von Dokumenten in Betrieb genommen. Der landesweite Dienst steht rund 350.000 Studierenden und 100.000 Beschäftigten aller Hochschuleinrichtungen in Baden-Württemberg kostenfrei zur Verfügung und bildet die bundesweit größte Hochschul-Cloud. Jeder Nutzer kann nun am Arbeitsplatz und mobil auf rund 10 Gigabyte Speicherplatz zugreifen. Der Speicherdienst wird vom Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst getragen.

 

Um in der aktuellen Forschungslandschaft bestehen zu können, müssen sich Wissenschaftler zunehmend einrichtungsübergreifend organisieren und kooperieren. Mit dieser Entwicklung steigt auch der Bedarf an geeigneten Werkzeugen, die eine solche Zusammenarbeit unterstützen. Die gemeinsame Bearbeitung und der einfache, sichere und flexible Austausch von Dokumenten - auch über Hochschulgrenzen hinweg - ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung.

 

Mit „bwSync&Share“ wurde am Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) des KIT in Zusammenarbeit mit der Firma Power Folder ein Speicherdienst entwickelt, der den Austausch von Daten zwischen verschiedenen Benutzern, Computern und mobilen Endgeräten ermöglicht. Forschungsergebnisse, Hausarbeiten, Bilder oder Videos können gespeichert, geteilt und synchronisiert werden. Der Zugriff erfolgt dabei über Desktop-Systeme, Smartphones, Tablets oder plattformübergreifend über eine Web-Schnittstelle und bietet dem Nutzer so größtmöglichen Komfort. In der Startphase stehen für „bwSync&Share“ in Karlsruhe zunächst 500 Terabyte bereit. Der Speicherplatz pro Nutzer ist auf 10 Gigabyte beschränkt.

 

„Im Gegensatz zu anderen bekannten Angeboten wie ‚Dropbox‘ oder ‚Google Drive‘ werden die Daten nicht an ausländischen Serverstandorten, sondern an der Large Scale Data Facilitiy des KIT und damit im deutschen Rechtsraum gespeichert. Beschäftigte und Studierende der baden-württembergischen Universitäten und Hochschulen müssen sich also nicht mehr externen Cloud-Diensten anvertrauen, sondern können über diesen landesweiten Dienst einfach und sicher kooperieren“, erklärt Nico Schlitter, Projektleiter im SCC.

 

Die Daten der bwSync&Share-Nutzer werden am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), also im deutschen Rechtsraum, gespeichert. Die Kommunikation zwischen den Endgeräten der Nutzer und den zentralen Speichersystemen erfolgt verschlüsselt. Der Datenzugriff ist beschränkt auf den die Daten bereitstellenden Nutzer und vom ihm autorisierte weitere Nutzer.

 

Die Nutzung von „bwSync&Share“ ist für Mitglieder der Landesuniversitäten und -hochschulen kostenfrei. Angehörige anderer Einrichtungen können den Dienst ebenfalls in Anspruch nehmen - ohne jedoch über einen persönlichen Speicherplatz zu verfügen.

 

Zugang zum Dienst und weitere Informationen: https://bwSyncAndShare.lsdf.kit.edu

 

 

Weiterer Kontakt:

Ursula Scheller, SCC, Tel.: +49 721 608-44865, Fax: +49 721 32550, E-Mail: ursula schellerAxm3∂kit edu

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

us/kes, 03.02.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu