Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 010/2014

KIT Runs Central High-performance Computing System for State Universities

“bwUniCluster“ Central High-performance Computing System Started Operation at KIT – Easy Access for Universities and Colleges in Baden-Württemberg
2014_010_KIT_betreibt_zentrales_Hochleistungsrechner-System_der_Landesuniversitaeten_72dpi
The “bwUniCluster” at KIT supplies the universities and colleges in Baden-Württemberg with high-performance computing capacities. (Photo: KIT)

Today (January 27, 2014), the high-performance computing system “bwUniCluster” takes up operation at KIT. It is the first central system supplying the Baden-Württemberg universities and colleges with high-performance computing capacities. Its capacity of 176 teraflops/s corresponds to that of 5000 high-end PCs connected by broadband technology. The computing system is part of the “bwHPC” Baden-Württemberg state concept for high- and highest-performance computing in research and education.

 

To account for the increasing significance of scientific computing in research and education, scientific institutions are dependent on latest infrastructure facilities. For this reason, universities and other institutions in Baden-Württemberg jointly developed concepts for the cooperative supply and use of resources and services to support the state’s scientists and students in the best possible way. “The bwUniCluster is part of this state concept and replaces or complements local high-performance computing resources of state universities. Work can be shared and efficiency is enhanced,” explains Dr. Holger Marten, Head of the Scientific Computing and Simulation Section of the Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC).

 

Der „bwUniCluster“ am KIT stellt zentrale Hochleistungsrechnerkapazität für die Universitäten und Hochschulen in Baden-Württemberg bereit. (Bild: KIT)
The “bwUniCluster“ at KIT supplies the universities and colleges in Baden-Württemberg with high-performance computing capacities. (Photo: KIT)

 

The massively parallel “bwUniCluster” (Baden-Württemberg University Cluster) system with a theoretical maximum capacity of 176 teraflops/s, corresponding to 176 trillion computing operations per second, can also be accessed by state universities and colleges that are not yet involved in the program and by cooperative ventures with industry against payment. The investment costs amount to about EUR 4 million. As in case of operation costs, 50% are borne by the state of Baden-Württemberg and 50% by the nine state universities. Under the “bwIDM” innovative identity management project coordinated by the SCC, scientists are granted very easy and secure access independently of their location. Moreover, the state funds a bwHPC support project for the use of high-performance computing systems by the scientists. Science-adequate use and further development of the systems is controlled by a state committee consisting of representatives of all universities involved.

 

The “bwHPC” state concept was found to be of innovative character and supraregional importance and recommended for funding by the German Research Foundation (DFG). It is considered a model concept for Germany. “bwHPC” covers the funding of high-performance computing (HPC) with variable capacities and competence centers on all levels. Within the framework of the concept, it is planned to extend the high-performance computing center in Stuttgart, to grant broad user groups of state universities access to the high-performance computing systems at KIT, and to establish special, dedicated computing clusters at universities and research institutions of the state. The “bwUniCluster” at KIT’s Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) represents the central HPC supply system for scientists in Baden-Württemberg.

 

Further information (in German) on bwUniCluster can be found at: http://www.scc.kit.edu/dienste/9237.php

 

For further information, please contact:
Ursula Scheller, SCC, Phone: +49 721 608-44865, Fax: +49 721 32550, E-Mail:ursula schellerQgl8∂kit edu

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

us, 27.01.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseLxk7∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Kosta Schinarakis
Redakteur/Pressereferent
Phone: +49 721 608-21165
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakisTqr4∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseKpd1∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 010/2014

KIT betreibt zentrales Hochleistungsrechner-System der Landesuniversitäten

Grundversorgungssystem für das Hochleistungsrechnen „bwUniCluster“ am KIT gestartet – einfacher Zugang für Universitäten und Hochschulen in Baden-Württemberg
Der „bwUniCluster“ am KIT stellt zentrale Hochleistungsrechnerkapazität für die Universitäten und Hochschulen in Baden-Württemberg bereit. (Bild: KIT)
Der „bwUniCluster“ am KIT stellt zentrale Hochleistungsrechnerkapazität für die Universitäten und Hochschulen in Baden-Württemberg bereit. (Bild: KIT)

Das Hochleistungsrechner-System „bwUniCluster“ geht heute (27. Januar 2014) am KIT in Betrieb. Er ist das erste zentrale System für eine flächendeckende Grundversorgung der baden-württembergischen Universitäten und Hochschulen mit Hochleistungsrechnerkapazität. Seine Rechenleistung von 176 Tera-Flop/s entspricht der von 5.000 breitbandig miteinander vernetzten High-End-PCs. Der Rechner ist Teil des baden-württembergischen Landeskonzepts „bwHPC“ für das Hoch- und Höchstleistungsrechnen in Forschung und Lehre. 

 

Um der zunehmenden Bedeutung des wissenschaftlichen Rechnens in Forschung und Lehre begegnen zu können, sind wissenschaftliche Institutionen auf modernste Infrastrukturen angewiesen. Die Universitäten und weitere Einrichtungen des Landes haben daher gemeinschaftlich Konzepte entwickelt, die auf dem Prinzip einer kooperativen Bereitstellung und Nutzung von Ressourcen und Diensten basieren, um so Wissenschaftler und Studierende im Land bestmöglich unterstützen zu können. „Der bwUniCluster als Teil der landesweiten Konzeption ersetzt bzw. ergänzt die lokalen Hochleistungsrechner-Ressourcen an den Landesuniversitäten und ermöglicht so ein arbeitsteiliges und effizienteres Vorgehen“, erklärt Dr. Holger Marten, Abteilungsleiter am Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) für Wissenschaftliches Rechnen und Simulation.

 

Der „bwUniCluster“ am KIT stellt zentrale Hochleistungsrechnerkapazität für die Universitäten und Hochschulen in Baden-Württemberg bereit. (Bild: KIT)
Der „bwUniCluster“ am KIT stellt zentrale Hochleistungsrechnerkapazität für die Universitäten und Hochschulen in Baden-Württemberg bereit. (Bild: KIT)

 

Das massiv parallele System „bwUniCluster“ (baden-württembergischer Universitäts-Cluster) mit einer theoretischen Spitzenleistung von 176 Tera-Flop/s, das sind 176 Billionen Rechenoperationen in der Sekunde, steht auch weiteren, noch nicht beteiligten Landeshochschulen sowie für Kooperationen mit der Industrie gegen Kostenbeteiligung zur Verfügung. Die Investitionskosten betragen rund 4 Millionen Euro und werden so wie die Betriebskosten je hälftig vom Land und den neun Landesuniversitäten getragen. Auf der Grundlage des vom SCC koordinierten, innovativen Identitätsmanagement-Projekts „bwIDM“ bietet es den Wissenschaftlern unabhängig vom Standort einen höchst einfachen und sicheren Zugang wie bei einem System vor Ort. Zudem fördert das Land ein bwHPC-Begleitprojekt, das die Wissenschaftler bei der Nutzung der Hochleistungsrechensysteme unterstützt. Die wissenschaftsadäquate Nutzung und Fortentwicklung der Systeme wird durch einen landesweiten Ausschuss gesteuert, in den alle beteiligten Hochschulen Wissenschaftsvertreter entsendet haben.

 

Das Landeskonzept „bwHPC“, das von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) als innovativ und überregional wegweisend begutachtet und zur Förderung empfohlen wurde, gilt deutschlandweit als vorbildlich. „bwHPC“ umfasst die Förderung des Hoch- und Höchstleistungsrechnens (High Performance Computing, HPC) mit unterschiedlichen Leistungsklassen und Kompetenzzentren auf allen Ebenen: vom Ausbau des Stuttgarter Höchstleistungsrechenzentrums über einen Zugang für breite Nutzerschichten der Landeshochschulen zu den Hochleistungssystemen des KIT bis hin zu speziellen, fachgebundenen Rechen-Clustern an Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen des Landes. Der „bwUniCluster“ am Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) des KIT bildet dabei das zentrale HPC-Grundversorgungssystem für die Wissenschaftler in Baden-Württemberg.

 

Weitere Informationen zum bwUniCluster: http://www.scc.kit.edu/dienste/9237.php

 

Weiterer Kontakt:
Ursula Scheller, SCC, Tel.: +49 721 608-44865, Fax: +49 721 32550, E-Mail: ursula schellerCsr0∂kit edu

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

us, 27.01.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseCch8∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.