Press Release 153/2013

Hertz: 125 Years “Propagation of Electric Action“

In December 1888, Heinrich Hertz Published the Paper on the Identity of Light and Electromagnetic Waves – Ceremony at KIT – Commemorative Coin and Stamp Issued
2013_153_Hertz_-_125_Jahre_Ueber_Strahlen_elektrischer_Kraft_72dpi
Between 1885 and 1889, Heinrich Hertz worked in Karlsruhe and for the first time proved electromagnetic waves. (Photo: KIT Archiv/T.Gerken)

Doing mobile phone calls, checking electronic mails while being away, listening to the news in the car: Mobile communication at any time and place is part of our everyday life. It is based on a physical effect discovered by Heinrich Hertz in Karlsruhe in 1886. Hertz presented it to the world in 1888, exactly 125 years ago: The electromagnetic wave.

 

“Heinrich Hertz was an outstanding researcher of his time,” Professor Holger Hanselka, President of KIT, says. “For his discovery, Hertz interlinked research areas and laid the foundation for a scientific and industrial revolution. In the line of academic ancestors, Heinrich Hertz is a role model that has been influencing generations of researchers in Karlsruhe up to this date.”

 

On December 04, 2013, a ceremony at KIT will commemorate the discovery made by Hertz. The program will focus on the significance of Hertz for the development of technology at that time and today. On December 13, 1888, 125 years ago, Hertz presented the electromagnetic waves to the Royal Prussian Academy in Berlin under the title “Propagation of Electric Action”. KIT’s ceremony will be open to the public, admission will be free. Representatives of the media are cordially invited.

 

Ceremony:
“Heinrich Hertz – 125 Years Propagation of Electric Action”
on Wednesday, December 04, 2013, 18 hrs
Tulla-Hörsaal, building 11.40, Englerstraße 11;

KIT Campus South, Karlsruhe, Germany

 

For the program of the ceremony click: http://www.zak.kit.edu/hertz

 

“In the late 19th century, the search for electromagnetic waves was about equivalent to today’s search for the Higgs particle, dark matter or the neutrino mass,” Volker Krebs, retired professor at KIT and Chairman of the Heinrich Hertz Society, explains. The problem of fundamental research that was most fervently discussed by the experts was whether electromagnetic waves of finite wavelength exist. “With his measurements, Hertz confirmed the so-called near-effect theory and proved that electromagnetic effects propagate at the speed of light,” Krebs says. “This fundamental finding made 125 years ago is the basis of any mobile phone call and any radio transmission today.” Radio, television, mobile communication, and WLAN have their origin in the discovery made by Hertz.

 

For several weeks, Hertz conducted his experiments in a lecture hall of the then Technical University, today’s Heinrich Hertz Lecture Hall on KIT Campus South. He used a spark gap transmitter in an oscillating electromagnetic dipole. The receiver was a slotted wire ring, in which he always observed sparks when a spark-over occurred at the transmitter. On November 11, 1886, propagation of an electromagnetic wave was observed experimentally for the first time and Maxwell’s near-effect theory of electrodynamics was confirmed.

 

In further experiments with mirrors and standing waves, Hertz demonstrated later that he had generated waves with a wavelength of 30 to 100 centimeters and frequencies between 1000 and 300 MHz, respectively. The results of the two years of research in Karlsruhe and in particular the proof of the identity of light and electromagnetic waves were presented for the first time to the Royal Prussian Academy in Berlin and, hence, to the public on December 13, 1888. Hertz became the pioneer of high-frequency and radio technology that was then transferred to application by Guglielmo Marconi, Alexander Popov, and Ferdinand Braun. In the honor of Heinrich Hertz, the unit of frequency, Hertz, Hz, was established.

 

On the occasion of this year’s anniversary, the Federal Ministry of Finance (BMF) issued a 10-Euro commemorative coin to honor the discovery of electromagnetic waves. The coin shows the spark gap transmitter and the field lines of a Hertzian dipole. The edge of the coin bears the inscription “Licht ist eine elektrische Erscheinung” (light is an electric phenomenon). In addition, the BMF has issued a commemorative stamp “125 Jahre Strahlen elektrischer Kraft - Heinrich Hertz” (125 years propagation of electric action) that also shows the field lines of the Hertzian dipole.

 

“Karlsruhe was for Hertz the first step in his career,” Dr. Klaus Nippert, Head of the KIT Archive, says. In Karlsruhe, 28-year-old Hertz assumed his first post as ordinary professor between 1885 and 1889. Thus, he disposed of an adequate salary and was able to use the existing physics collection. Hertz’s predecessor in office had been Ferdinand Braun, Nobel Prize winner in 1909 and inventor of the cathode ray tube that was to be used widely as an oscilloscope and TV tube later on. “In Baden, Hertz married the daughter of a colleague and started a family,” Nippert knows. With his wife Elisabeth and his daughter Johanna, Heinrich Hertz left Karlsruhe after four years of work and moved to Bonn having refused appointments to Berlin, Gießen, and America. As early as in 1894, Hertz died at the age of 36 in Bonn from a sepsis. He was buried in Hamburg, his place of birth.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

kes, 28.11.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Kosta Schinarakis
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21165
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis does-not-exist.kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presse does-not-exist.kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseEfo2∂kit edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

Anleitung RSS-Feed einbinden

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 153/2013

Hertz: 125 Jahre „Über Strahlen elektrischer Kraft“

Im Dezember 1888 veröffentlichte Heinrich Hertz die Abhandlung über die Identität von Licht und elektromagnetischen Wellen – Festakt am KIT – Gedenkmünze und Briefmarke erschienen
Heinrich Hertz forschte und lehrte zwischen 1885 und 1889 in Karlsruhe und wies erstmals elektromagnetische Wellen nach. (Foto: KIT Archiv/T. Gerken)
Heinrich Hertz forschte und lehrte zwischen 1885 und 1889 in Karlsruhe und wies erstmals elektromagnetische Wellen nach. (Foto: KIT Archiv/T. Gerken)

Mit dem Handy telefonieren, mal eben E-Mails von unterwegs checken, im Auto die aktuellen Nachrichten hören: Die Kommunikation von unterwegs, zu jeder Zeit und an jedem Ort gehört zu unserem Alltag. Möglich macht es ein grundlegender physikalischer Effekt, den Heinrich Hertz in Karlsruhe im Jahre 1886 entdeckte und im Jahre 1888, vor genau 125 Jahren, der Welt vorstellte: die elektromagnetische Welle.

 

„Heinrich Hertz war eine herausragende Forscherpersönlichkeit seiner Zeit“, sagt Professor Holger Hanselka, Präsident des KIT. „Er hat mit seiner Entdeckung Forschungsgebiete verknüpft und den Grundstein zu einer wissenschaftlichen und industriellen Revolution gelegt. In der akademischen Ahnenreihe des KIT nimmt Heinrich Hertz eine besondere Vorbildfunktion ein, die bis heute Forschergenerationen in Karlsruhe prägt.“

 

Am 4. Dezember 2013 würdigt ein Festakt am KIT nun Hertz‘ Entdeckung. Das Programm wird einen Überblick über dessen Bedeutung für die Technikentwicklung damals und heute geben. Anlass ist das 125. Jubiläum der erstmaligen Vorstellung der elektromagnetischen Wellen bei der Königlich Preußischen Akademie in Berlin am 13. Dezember 1888 unter dem Titel „Über Strahlen elektrischer Kraft“. Der Festakt ist öffentlich und der Eintritt frei.

 

Festakt:

„Heinrich Hertz – 125 Jahre Strahlen elektrischer Kraft“

am Mittwoch, den 4. Dezember 2013, 18 Uhr

Tulla-Hörsaal, Geb. 11.40, Englerstraße 11;
KIT Campus-Süd, Karlsruhe

Mehr zum Programm des Festakts: http://www.zak.kit.edu/hertz

 

„Die Suche nach elektromagnetischen Wellen war für das ausgehende 19. Jahrhundert das, was für uns heute die Suche nach dem Higgs-Teilchen, der Dunklen Materie oder der Neutrinomasse ist“, erklärt Volker Krebs, emeritierter Professor am KIT und Vorsitzender der Heinrich-Hertz-Gesellschaft. Ob elektromagnetische Wellen mit endlicher Wellenlänge existieren, war zwischen den Experten die am heißest diskutierte Frage der Grundlagenforschung. „Mit seinen Messungen konnte Hertz die sogenannte Nahewirkungstheorie bestätigen und zeigen, dass sich elektromagnetische Effekte mit Lichtgeschwindigkeit ausbreiten“, sagt Krebs. „Diese zunächst anwendungsfreie Grundlagenerkenntnis vor 125 Jahren ist heute Basis jedes Handytelefonates und jeder Rundfunkübertragung.“ Funk, Radio, Fernsehen, Mobilfunk und WLAN finden in Hertz‘ Entdeckung ihren Ursprung.

 

Seine Experimente führte Hertz über mehrere Wochen in einem Hörsaal der damaligen Technischen Hochschule durch, dem heutigen Heinrich-Hertz-Hörsaal auf dem Campus Süd des KIT. Er nutzte als Sender eine Kugel-Funkenstrecke in einem schwingenden elektromagnetischen Dipol. Als Empfänger diente ein geschlitzter Drahtring, in dem er immer dann Funken beobachtete, wenn auch am Sender ein Überschlag stattfand. Damit war am 11. November 1886 erstmals die Ausbreitung einer elektromagnetischen Welle im Versuch beobachtet worden und damit die Maxwellsche Nahewirkungstheorie der Elektrodynamik bestätigt.

 

In weiteren Experimenten mit Spiegeln und stehenden Wellen konnte Hertz später zeigen, dass er Wellen mit einer Wellenlänge von 30 bis 100 Zentimetern und Frequenzen zwischen 1000 und 300 MHz erzeugt hatte. Die Ergebnisse seiner zweijährigen Forschungen in Karlsruhe, insbesondere der Nachweis der Identität von Licht und elektromagnetischen Wellen, wurden am 13. Dezember 1888 erstmals der Königlich Preußischen Akademie in Berlin und damit der Weltöffentlichkeit vorgestellt. Damit wurde Hertz zum Begründer der Hochfrequenz- und der Funktechnik, die nach ihm Guglielmo Marconi, Alexander Popow und Ferdinand Braun in die Anwendung brachten. Heinrich Hertz zu Ehren ist die Maßeinheit der Frequenz, das Hertz, Hz, benannt.

 

Zum Jubiläum in diesem Jahr gab das Bundesministerium für Finanzen (BMF) eine 10-Euro-Gedenkmünze zur Würdigung der Entdeckung der elektromagnetischen Wellen heraus. Darauf sieht man eine Kugelfunkenstrecke und die Feldlinien eines Hertzschen Dipols. Der Münzrand enthält die Inschrift „Licht ist eine elektrische Erscheinung“. Ferner hat das BMF ein Sonderpostwertzeichen "125 Jahre Strahlen elektrischer Kraft – Heinrich Hertz" herausgegeben, das ebenfalls das Feldlinienbild eines Hertzschen Dipols ziert.

 

„Karlsruhe war für Hertz die erste Sprosse in der Karriereleiter“, bemerkt Dr. Klaus Nippert, Leiter des KIT-Archivs. In Karlsruhe versah der 28-jährige Hertz zwischen 1885 und 1889 seine erste Stelle als ordentlicher Professor. Damit verfügte er über ein auskömmliches Gehalt und konnte auf die vorhandene physikalische Sammlung zurückgreifen. Hertz‘ Vorgänger im Amt war Ferdinand Braun, Nobelpreisträger 1909 und Erfinder der Kathodenstrahlröhre, die später als Oszilloskop und Fernsehröhre weite Verbreitung fand. „Privat gelang Hertz in Baden der Schritt aus der Junggesellenexistenz“, weiß Nippert. Er heiratete die Tochter eines Kollegen und gründete eine Familie. Mit seiner Frau Elisabeth und Tochter Johanna verließ Heinrich Hertz Karlsruhe nach vierjährigem Wirken in Richtung Bonn, nachdem er Berufungen nach Berlin, Gießen und Amerika abgelehnt hatte. Jedoch bereits im Jahre 1894 starb Hertz als 36-Jähriger in Bonn an einer Blutvergiftung. Seine letzte Ruhestätte fand er in seiner Geburtsstadt Hamburg.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

kes, 28.11.2013

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Redakteur/Pressereferent
Tel.: +49 721 608-21165
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail: schinarakisJwg1∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseIms3∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.