Press Release 148/2013

KIT Wins Competition “Bestes Maschinenhaus 2013”

Department of Mechanical Engineering Is Granted VDMA University Prize for Excellent Education in Mechanical Engineering
2013_148_KIT_ist_Bestes_Maschinenhaus_2013_72dpi
Professor Albert Albers, Professor Carsten Proppe, and Professor Jürgen Fleischer were handed over the prize for the KIT Department of Mechanical Engineering in Berlin. (Photo: Dirk Laessig)

The KIT Department of Mechanical Engineering won the first prize in the Germany-wide university competition launched by the German Engineering Association (VDMA, Verband Deutscher Maschinen- und Anlagenbau e.V.). It now bears the title “Bestes Maschinenhaus 2013” (best machine house 2013). The prize in the amount of EUR 100,000 granted by VDMA is to acknowledge a convincing education concept that enhances the success of studies and ensures quality in education. For the final, six German departments and faculties of mechanical and electrical engineering were nominated. The prize ceremony took place yesterday evening, November 20, 2013, under the auspices of Federal Minister of Education Johanna Wanka in Berlin.

 

“The title “best machine house” is a great honor for the Department of Mechanical Engineering. It reflects the quality of education in mechanical engineering at KIT. The Department has developed and implemented excellent methods to ensure quality and success of our students,” KIT President Professor Holger Hanselka says.

 

“I am highly pleased that the KIT Department of Mechanical Engineering won this demanding competition. This shows that mechanical engineering in Karlsruhe attaches high priority to the education level as well as to the success of studies,” emphasizes Professor Alexander Wanner, KIT Vice President for Higher Education and Academic Affairs.

 

Dr. Reinhold Festge, President of VDMA, handed the prize over to the Dean of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Professor Jürgen Fleischer, and the Studies Dean, Professor Carsten Proppe. “I am very proud of our department. Thanks to our perfect teamwork, we succeeded in convincing the jury with our concept for quality assurance in education,” Jürgen Fleischer says.

 

In the opinion of the VDMA, the education concept of KIT is designed to follow the rules of quality management and contains a well-coordinated mix of measures. The needs of students and networked learning play an important role. An example is the MINT Kolleg Baden-Württemberg (course of lectures in mathematics, informatics, natural sciences, and engineering) that ensures individual study speeds. When students join a minimum number of hours per week in these lecture courses, they can extend their standard period of study and, hence, decelerate their studies. Together with the department, the KIT Quality Management regularly checks the effectiveness of the measures taken. In this way, a high quality of education is ensured sustainably in the long term, according to the VDMA. KIT’s education concept convinced the jury of 14 representatives of university institutions, companies, and associations. For the final, six faculties and departments of mechanical and electrical engineering had been nominated of a total of 23 applicants. Apart from KIT, these were the Technical University of Darmstadt, Stuttgart University, the University Bonn-Rhein-Sieg, the University of Offenburg, and FH Cologne/Campus Gummersbach. The competition is aimed at increasing the success of studies and reducing the drop-out rate in mechanical and electrical engineering. The prize money in the amount of EUR 100,000 will be used for the implementation of concrete measures at the Department.

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 21.11.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehne does-not-exist.kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presse does-not-exist.kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Projektleitung KIT Science Week

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseCqo2∂kit edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

Anleitung RSS-Feed einbinden

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 148/2013

KIT ist Sieger im Wettbewerb "Bestes Maschinenhaus 2013"

Die Fakultät für Maschinenbau erhält den VDMA-Hochschulpreis für herausragende Lehre im Maschinenbaustudium
 Nahmen die Auszeichung für die Fakukltät für Maschinenbau des KIT in Berlin  entgegen: Prof. Albert Albers, Prof. Carsten Proppe und Prof. Jürgen Fleischer  (Foto: Dirk Laessig)
Nahmen die Auszeichung für die Fakultät für Maschinenbau des KIT in Berlin entgegen: Prof. Albert Albers, Prof. Carsten Proppe und Prof. Jürgen Fleischer (Foto: Dirk Laessig)

Die Fakultät für Maschinenbau des KIT hat den ersten Preis im bundesweiten Hochschulwettbewerb des Verbands Deutscher Maschinen- und Anlagenbau e. V. (VDMA) gewonnen und trägt nun den Titel „Bestes Maschinenhaus 2013“. Mit dem Preis, der mit 100.000 Euro dotiert ist, zeichnet der VDMA ein überzeugendes Lehrkonzept aus, das den Studienerfolg steigert und die Qualität in der Lehre sicherstellt. Für das Finale waren sechs deutsche Fakultäten und Fachbereiche aus Maschinenbau und Elektrotechnik nominiert. Die Preisverleihung fand gestern Abend, 20. November 2013, unter der Schirmherrschaft von Bundesbildungsministerin Johanna Wanka in Berlin statt.

 

„Der Titel ‚Bestes Maschinenhaus‘ ist eine großartige Auszeichnung für die Fakultät für Maschinenbau. Er macht vor allem die Qualität der Lehre im Maschinenbau-Studium am KIT sichtbar. Die Fakultät hat ausgezeichnete Maßnahmen entwickelt und umgesetzt, welche diese Qualität sichern und zum Erfolg unserer Studentinnen und Studenten beitragen“sagt KIT-Präsident Professor Holger Hanselka.

 

„Ich freue mich, dass die Fakultät Maschinenbau am KIT sich in einem spannenden und kompetitiven Wettbewerb als Sieger durchsetzen konnte. Dies zeigt, dass der Maschinenbau in Karlsruhe einen hohen Wert sowohl auf das Niveau der Ausbildung als auch auf den Studienerfolg legt“, so Professor Alexander Wanner, Vizepräsident für Lehre und akademische Angelegenheiten am KIT.

 

Dr. Reinhold Festge, Präsident des VDMA, überreichte den Preis an den Dekan der Fakultät für Maschinenbau des KIT Professor Jürgen Fleischer und den Studiendekan Professor Carsten Proppe. „Ich bin sehr stolz auf unsere Fakultät. Dass wir die Jury mit unserem Konzept zur Qualitätssicherung in der Lehre überzeugt haben, ist vor allem dem perfekten Teamwork zu verdanken“, so Jürgen Fleischer.

 

Das Lehrkonzept des KIT folge konsequent den Regeln des Qualitätsmanagements und enthalte einen gut aufeinander abgestimmten Maßnahmenmix, so der VDMA. Dabei spielen die Bedürfnisse der Studierenden und vernetztes Lernen eine wichtige Rolle. Ein Beispiel dafür ist das MINT-Kolleg Baden-Württemberg, das individuelle Geschwindigkeiten beim Studium ermöglicht. Belegen Studierende eine Mindestzahl an Semesterwochenstunden in MINT-Kursen, können sie ihre Regelstudienzeit verlängern und damit ihr Studium entschleunigen. Das KIT-Qualitätsmanagementüberprüft gemeinsam mit der Fakultät die Wirksamkeit der Maßnahmen regelmäßig. Damit gelinge es, so der VDMA, eine hohe Lehrqualität langfristig und nachhaltig sicherzustellen. Mit seinem Lehrkonzept überzeugte das KIT die Jury mit 14 Vertretern aus Hochschulinstitutionen, Unternehmen und Verbänden. Für das Finale hatte sie aus 23 Bewerbungen sechs Fakultäten und Fachbereiche aus Maschinenbau und Elektrotechnik nominiert. Neben dem KIT waren dies die Technische Universität Darmstadt, die Universität Stuttgart, Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg, die Hochschule Offenburg und die FH Köln/Campus Gummersbach. Ziel des Wettbewerbs ist es, den Studienerfolg zu erhöhen und die Abbruchquoten im Maschinenbau- und Elektrotechnikstudium zu senken. Die 100.000 Euro Preisgeld fließen in die Umsetzung konkreter Maßnahmen an der Fakultät.

 

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

le, 21.11.2013

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
margarete lehneFxz8∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseAll2∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.