Press Release 144/2013

After the Typhoon: Help for the City of Tacloban

Fund-raising Event at KIT: Donations for the Reconstruction of Tacloban College - Scientific Presentations on Tropical Cyclones and Damage Analyses

The super-typhoon Haiyan caused severe damage on the Philippines. Among the most affected regions is the island of Leyte with the city of Tacloban and its more than 220,000 inhabitants. At a fund-raising event on Tuesday, November 19, 2013, 19.30 hrs on KIT Campus South (Redtenbacher-Hörsaal, building 10.91), KIT scientists will provide information on facts of the disaster, on the formation of tropical cyclones, and damage analysis. Interested citizens are cordially invited. During the event organized by the KIT Climate and Environment Center, funds will be raised for the reconstruction of the University of the Philippines Visayas – Tacloban College.

 

“At the moment, local emergency relief is of highest priority,” says geographer Jürgen Christmann. Before he started to work at the KIT Institute of Geography and Geoecology/WWF Institute for Floodplains Ecology, he spent five years as a consultant for geographic information systems and remote sounding at a university in Tacloban. “Immediately afterwards, however, infrastructure will have to be restored. This will also include rapid reconstruction of education institutions. Here, we want to help.” At the event, Christmann will speak about the susceptibility of the Philippines to disasters and about his personal relationship to the country and the people. “Natural disasters, such as floods and storms, turn into a hazard as soon as humans and their goods are affected. The risk for a region among others depends on its geographical exposure and its vulnerability.”

 

In addition, meteorologist Bernhard Mühr from the KIT Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research will speak about tropical cyclones and answer the question whether such weather events are also possible in Europe. “Haiyan was the fourth strongest tropical cyclone ever observed – and the strongest ever hitting land. Mean wind speeds were in the range of 300 km per hour,” Mühr says. “The Philippines are located in a region with a very high risk of cyclones: Every year, the archipelago is affected by an average of nine tropical storms or typhoons.”

 

On behalf of the Center for Disaster Management and Risk Re-duction Technology (CEDIM), an interdisciplinary research institution of the Helmholtz Centre Potsdam – German Research Centre for Geosciences (GFZ) and Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) in the area of disaster management, James Daniell will give an overview of the damage caused by typhoon Haiyan: “14 million people are affected by the storm, these are far more people than the population of Baden-Württemberg. The typhoon caused more than 4000 dead people. One million buildings were destroyed or damaged. Presumably, the damage will total more than EUR 10 billion,” Daniell says referring to first estimates of CEDIM.

 

Jürgen Bordt, Head of the district fire department, will provide information on disaster management in Karlsruhe and give advice for individual arrangements.

 

At the event organized by the KIT Climate and Environment Center, funds will be raised for the reconstruction of Tacloban College:

 

BW-Bank Karlsruhe
Account: 7 495 500 149
Bank Code Number (BLZ): 600 501 01
Reference:
PSP 2000 666 666
Uni Tacloban


The Program

Start: 19.30 hrs

 

 

Disaster Management in the District of Karlsruhe

Jürgen Bordt, Karlsruhe District Administration

 

 

Tropical Cyclones

Bernhard Mühr, Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research, KIT

 

 

Damage Analysis Relating to Typhoon Haiyan

James Daniell, Center for Disaster Management and Risk Reduction Technology (CEDIM), KIT

 

 

Tacloban before and after Haiyan
Jürgen Christmann, Institute of Geography and Geoecology/WWF Institute for Floodplains Ecology, KIT

 

 

The KIT Climate and Environment Center develops strategies and technologies to secure the natural bases of life. For this purpose, 660 employees of 32 institutes produce fundamental and application-oriented knowledge relating to climate and environmental change. It is not only aimed at eliminating the causes of environmental problems, but increasingly at adapting to changed conditions.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 15.11.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehne does-not-exist.kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 144/2013

Nach dem Taifun: Hilfe für die Stadt Tacloban

Benefizveranstaltung am KIT: Spenden für den Wiederaufbau der Universität in Tacloban – wissenschaftliche Vorträge zu tropischen Wirbelstürmen und Schadensanalysen

Der Super-Taifun Haiyan hat schwere Schäden auf den Philippinen verursacht. Zu den am stärksten betroffenen Regionen zählt die Insel Leyte mit der Großstadt Tacloban, in der mehr als 220.000 Menschen leben. Über Fakten zur Katastrophe – vom Entstehen von Wirbelstürmen bis zur Schadensanalyse – informieren Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des KIT bei einer Benefiz-Veranstaltung am Dienstag, 19.11.2013, um 19.30 Uhr am KIT-Campus Süd (Redtenbacher-Hörsaal, Geb. 10.91), zu der interessierte Bürgerinnen und Bürger herzlich eingeladen sind. Bei der Veranstaltung, die das KIT-Zentrum Klima und Umwelt organisiert, wird um Spendengelder für den Wiederaufbau der Universität in Tacloban (University of the Philippines Visayas – Tacloban College) gebeten.

 

Derzeit hat die Nothilfe vor Ort oberste Priorität“, sagt der Geograph Jürgen Christmann, der vor seinem Wechsel ans Institut für Geographie und Geoökologie/WWF-Auen-Institut des KIT fünf Jahre als Berater für Geographische Informationssysteme und Fernerkundung an einer Universität in Tacloban arbeitete. „Danach muss aber unmittelbar die Wiederherstellung der Infrastruktur erfolgen, dazu zählt auch der möglichst rasche Wiederaufbau der Bildungseinrichtungen – dabei wollen wir helfen.“ Bei der Veranstaltung berichtet Christmann in einem Bildervortrag über die Katastrophenanfälligkeit der Philippinen – und über seine persönliche Verbundenheit mit Land und Leuten. „Naturereignisse wie Überschwemmungen und Stürme werden zu einer Gefahr, wenn sie den Menschen und seine Güter treffen. Daraus ergibt sich das Risiko, das unter anderem von der geographischen Ausrichtung einer Region (Exposition) und ihrer Verletzlichkeit (Vulnerabilität) abhängt.“

 

Darüber hinaus stellt der Meteorologe Bernhard Mühr vom Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung des KIT das Thema tropische Wirbelstürme vor und beantwortet die Frage, ob solche Wetterereignisse auch in Europa möglich sind. „Haiyan war der viertstärkste jemals beobachtete tropische Wirbelsturm – und der stärkste, der je auf Land traf. Dabei gab es mittlere Windgeschwindigkeiten um 300 Stundenkilometer“, so Mühr. „Die Philippinen liegen in einer besonders von Wirbelstürmen gefährdeten Region der Welt: Jedes Jahr treffen durchschnittlich neun Tropenstürme oder Taifune auf das Inselarchipel.“

 

Für das Center for Disaster Management and Risk Reduction Technology (CEDIM), eine interdisziplinäre Forschungseinrichtung des Helmholtz-Zentrums Potsdam Deutsches Geoforschungszentrum (GFZ) und des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) im Bereich des Katastrophenmanagements, gibt James Daniell einen Überblick über die Schäden, die der Taifun Haiyan verursacht hat: „14 Millionen Menschen sind von dem Sturm betroffen, das sind deutlich mehr Menschen als in Baden-Württemberg leben. Es gab mehr als 4.000 Tote, eine Million Gebäude sind zerstört oder beschädigt, insgesamt liegen die Schäden voraussichtlich bei mehr als 10 Milliarden Euro“, sagt Daniell zu den ersten Schätzungen des CEDIM am KIT.

 

Über den Katastrophenschutz in Karlsruhe wird Kreisbrandmeister Jürgen Bordt in einem Kurzvortrag informieren, in dem er auch Tipps zur Eigenvorsorge gibt.

 

Bei der Veranstaltung, die das KIT-Zentrum Klima und Umwelt organisiert, wird um Spendengelder für den Wiederaufbau des Tacloban College gebeten.

Spenden hierfür können auch auf folgendes Konto eingezahlt werden:

Empfänger: Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
BW-Bank Karlsruhe
Konto: 7 495 500 149
BLZ: 600 501 01
Verwendungszweck (bitte unbedingt angeben):
PSP 2000 666 666 Uni Tacloban

Im Falle einer Spende über 200 Euro wenden Sie sich bitte per E-Mail an Sabrina Colombo, um eine Spendenbestätigung zu erhalten. Nur Privatspenden möglich.

 

Das Vortragsprogramm
Beginn: 19.30 Uhr

 

Katastrophenschutz im Landkreis Karlsruhe
Jürgen Bordt, Landratsamt Karlsruhe

 

Tropische Wirbelstürme
Bernhard Mühr, Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung, KIT

 

Schadensanalyse für den Taifun Haiyan
James Daniell, Center for Disaster Management and Risk Reduction Technology (CEDIM), KIT

 

Tacloban vor und nach Haiyan
Jürgen Christmann, Institut für Geographie und Geoökologie/WWF-Auen-Institut, KIT

 

Das KIT-Zentrum Klima und Umwelt entwickelt Strategien und Technologien zur Sicherung der natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen: Dafür erarbeiten 660 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter aus 32 Instituten Grundlagen- und Anwendungswissen zum Klima- und Umweltwandel. Dabei geht es nicht nur um die Beseitigung der Ursachen von Umweltproblemen, sondern zunehmend um die Anpassung an veränderte Verhältnisse.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

le, 15.11.2013

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneImi1∂kit edu