Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseDxu3∂kit edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 141/2013

cynora Is ”Falling Walls Science Startup of the Year“

KIT Spinoff Studies and Develops Organic Light-emitting Diodes
2013_141_cynora_ist_Falling_Walls_Science_Start-up_of_the_year_72dpi
Founder Tobias Grab presented cynora GmbH at the Falling Walls Conference in Berlin. (Photo: Jens Fahrenberg, KIT)

cynora GmbH, a spinoff of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), was proclaimed the science startup of the year 2013 at the International Falling Walls Conference in Berlin last weekend. Dr. Tobias Grab, the founder of the enterprise located at KIT’s high-tech incubator, had been nominated by KIT. Like the two co-founders of cynora GmbH, Dr. Thomas Baumann and Michael Bächle, Grab graduated at KIT. cynora GmbH studies and develops low-cost organic semiconductor materials for organic light-emitting diodes (OLED) and organic solar cells (OPV). As the winner of the competition, Tobias Grab presented the KIT spinoff at the Falling Walls Conference to the public and representatives of science, industry, and politics.

 

“The Falling Walls Conference focuses on scientific breakthroughs and developments having the potential to change the world. When a research-oriented KIT spinoff in the area of OLED as a key techno-logy wins the competition, this is a great success,” says Professor Detlef Löhe, KIT Vice President for Research and Information. He nominated cynora GmbH together with the Head of the Innovation Management Service Unit, Dr. Jens Fahrenberg.

 

Transparent foils for windows that illuminate the apartment during the night, foils charging the laptop or mobile phone when the sun is shining, flexible screens and self-luminous packagings – these are only some applications that will be possible in the future thanks to organic electronics. Instead of the very rare metal iridium that is applied in displays of mobile phones today, cynora GmbH uses copper for the production of light-emitting materials. “Copper is much more abundant. In certain areas, it is technically advantageous over the rare iridium,” cynora founder Tobias Grab says. “Moreover, iridium requires a very complex vacuum deposition process that is not needed when using copper. We have now found the key to printed flexible electronics – everything will light up in the future.” Grab relies on a new chemical design, in which an organic compound (ligand) surrounds the copper and displaces its electronic structure such that energy is emitted efficiently in the form of light.

 

In the “Falling Walls Venture” competition, Tobias Grab won over another 20 nominated companies. This event is part of the International Falling Walls Conference. As a tradition, it takes place in Berlin on the anniversary day of the fall of the Berlin wall on November 09. 20 international top researchers are invited to report about scientific breakthroughs in natural and social sciences and the humanities.

 

About cynora GmbH

cynora GmbH was established in 2003 and has been headed by a new management team since 2008. The company concentrates on studying novel organic semiconductors that may be applied as luminophores in organic light-emitting diodes (OLED). cynora covers the complete spectrum of material and component development, from the design of new functional molecules for organic light-emitting diodes to their manufacture at the laboratory to comprehensive testing of the materials to production of OLED components. The company presently has a young and dynamic team of 24 employees working on further increasing the efficiency and on improving cost-effective processing and service life of the OLED. The company owns more than 60 patent applications and is supported by experienced venture investors. Printing of optoelectronic components requires new, smart materials and concepts. Such components may be used in displays, packagings, light sources, design objects, and solar cells for energy production.

Further information: www.cynora.com

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 11.11.2013

Press contact:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneQih3∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseArc7∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 141/2013

cynora ist „Falling Walls Science Start-up of the year“

Das KIT-Spin-off überzeugt mit der Erforschung und Entwicklung organischer Leuchtdioden
Gründer Tobias Grab präsentierte die cynora GmbH bei der Falling Walls Conference in Berlin (Foto: Jens Fahrenberg, KIT)
Gründer Tobias Grab präsentierte die cynora GmbH bei der Falling Walls Conference in Berlin (Foto: Jens Fahrenberg, KIT)

Die cynora GmbH, eine Ausgründung am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), ist am Wochenende bei der internationalen Falling Walls Conference in Berlin als Science Start-up des Jahres 2013 ausgezeichnet worden. Das KIT hatte Dr. Tobias Grab, den Gründer des im Hightech-Inkubator des KIT ansässigen Unternehmens nominiert. Grab ist, wie die beiden Mitbegründer der cynora GmbH Dr. Thomas Baumann und Michael Bächle, KIT-Alumnus. Die cynora GmbH arbeitet an der Forschung und Entwicklung kostengünstiger organischer Halbleitermaterialien für organische Leuchtdioden (OLEDs) und organische Solarzellen (OPV). Als Gewinner des Wettbewerbs stellte Tobias Grab sein Start-up bei der Falling Walls Conference dem Publikum mit Spitzenvertretern aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik vor.

 

„Im Mittelpunkt der Falling Walls Conference stehen wissenschaftliche Durchbrüche und Entwicklungen, die das Potenzial haben, die Welt zu verändern. Dass hier eine forschungsorientierte Ausgründung aus dem KIT mit der Schlüsseltechnologie OLEDs überzeugt hat, ist ein großartiger Erfolg“, sagt der KIT-Vizepräsident für Forschung und Information Professor Detlef Löhe, der die cynora GmbH gemeinsam mit dem Leiter des KIT-Innovationsmanagements Dr. Jens Fahrenberg für die Auszeichnung nominiert hatte.

 

Transparente Folien für Fenster, die bei Nacht die Wohnung erhellen; Folien, die Laptop oder Handy aufladen, wenn die Sonne scheint; flexible Bildschirme und selbstleuchtende Verpackungen – das sind nur einige der Anwendungen, die dank organischer Elektronik in Zukunft möglich sind. Statt des heute in Displays von Mobiltelefonen eingesetzten sehr seltenen Metalls Iridium setzt die cynora GmbH Kupfer für die Produktion Licht abgebender Materialien ein. „Kupfer kommt sehr viel häufiger vor und bietet dadurch in bestimmten Bereichen technologische Vorteile gegenüber dem nur in Spuren vorhandenen Iridium“, so der Cynora-Gründer Tobias Grab. „Zudem können wir auf das beim Iridium erforderliche aufwendige Aufdampfverfahren verzichten. Wir haben damit den Schlüssel für druckbare, flexible Elektronik gefunden – in Zukunft kann alles leuchten.“ Grab setzt dabei auf eine neue chemische Bauweise, in der eine organische Verbindung (Ligand) das Kupfer umgibt und dessen elektronische Struktur so verschiebt, dass Energie effizient als Licht abgegeben werden kann.

 

Vergeben wurde die Auszeichnung beim “Falling Walls Venture”, Tobias Grab setzte sich hier gegen 20 weitere Nominierte durch. Diese Veranstaltung ist Teil der internationalen Falling Walls Konferenz, die traditionell am Jahrestag des Falls der Berliner Mauer am 9. November in Berlin stattfindet. Dabei berichten 20 internationale Spitzenforscher über wissenschaftliche Durchbrüche in den Natur-, Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften.

 

Über die cynora GmbH

Die cynora GmbH wurde 2003 gegründet und erhielt 2008 ein neues Management-Team. Das Unternehmen konzentriert sich auf die Erforschung neuartiger organischer Halbleiter, die durch ihre physikalischen Eigenschaften als emittierende Leuchtstoffe in organischen Leuchtdioden (OLEDs) Verwendung finden werden. Vom Design neuer Funktionsmoleküle für organische Leuchtdioden über deren Herstellung im Labor bis hin zur eingehenden Testung der Materialien durch Herstellung von OLED-Bauteilen deckt cynora das gesamte Spektrum der Material- und Bauteilentwicklung ab. Das Unternehmen besteht aus einem jungen, dynamischen Team von derzeit 24 Mitarbeitern, das unter anderem daran arbeitet, neben weiteren Effizienzsteigerungen die kosteneffektive Verarbeitung und Lebensdauer der OLEDs zu verbessern. Darüber hinaus ist das Unternehmen Eigentümer von über 60 Patentanmeldungen und wird von erfahrenen Wagniskapitalgebern unterstützt. Das Drucken von optoelektronischen Bauteilen erfordert neue, intelligente Materialien und Konzepte. Derartige Bauteile können als Displays, Verpackungen, Lichtquellen, Designobjekte und in der Energieerzeugung als Solarzellen zum Einsatz kommen.

Weitere Informationen unter: www.cynora.com

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

le, 11.11.2013

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneMrb2∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseQxc3∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.