Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 132/2013

Urban Underground Holds Sustainable Energy

Groundwater Aquifers in Conurbations Hold Geothermal Energy – Researchers Develop Model of Heat Flux into the Underground
Where does the heat in the underground of large cities come from?  Researchers analyzed various factors. (Graphics: AGW/KIT)
Where does the heat in the underground of large cities come from? Researchers analyzed various factors. (Graphics: AGW/KIT)

Vast energy sources are slumbering below big cities. Sustainable energies for heating in winter and cooling in summer may be extracted from heated groundwater aquifers. Researchers from KIT and ETH Zurich developed an analytical heat flux model and found that increasing heat in the underground is mainly caused by an increase in surface temperatures and heat release from buildings. Work of the scientists is now reported in the renowned journal “Environmental Science and Technology” (DOI: 10.1021/es401546u).

 

Temperatures in big cities are far above those in the surrounding rural area: Dense settlement, surface sealing, industry, traffic, and lacking vegetation cause an urban microclimate with increased temperatures in the atmosphere. Temperature anomalies also develop in the underground. They spread laterally and vertically. In the past decades, groundwater in conurbations heated up considerably. “In Karlsruhe, the average heat flux density into subsurface aquifers was 759 milliwatts per square meter in 1977. In 2011, a heat flux density of 828 milliwatts per square meter was reached,” says Junior Professor Philipp Blum, Head of the Engineering Geology Division of the KIT Institute of Applied Geosciences (AGW). “This amount of heat corresponds to 1 petajoule per year and would suffice to supply at least 18,000 households in Karlsruhe with heat.“

 

In cooperation with Kathrin Menberg and Axel Schaffitel from KIT and Dr. Peter Bayer from ETH Zurich, Philipp Blum also studied the origin of heat in the underground of conurbations. The scientists developed an analytical heat flux model to examine factors, such as the increase in temperatures of sealed surfaces, heat release from buildings, sewage ducts, and underground district heating networks as well as discharge of thermal waste water. By modeling anthropogenic heat fluxes into the underground of the city of Karlsruhe, the researchers determined long-term trends of heat flux processes. They found that the increased surface temperature and heat release from buildings in particular are responsible for the increase in temperatures in the subsurface area.

 

The energy from close-to-surface groundwater aquifers might be used for heating in winter and cooling in summer via geothermal heat pumps and groundwater heat pumps. Use of this geothermal potential would not only cover part of the growing demand for energy, but also reduce the emission of greenhouse gases, which would counteract heating of the cities.

 

Kathrin Menberg, Philipp Blum, Axel Schaffitel, and Peter Bayer: Long-Term Evolution of Anthropogenic Heat Fluxes into a Subsurface Urban Heat Island. Environmental Science and Technology, 2013, 47 (17), pp 9747–9755. DOI: 10.1021/es401546u.

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is one of Europe’s leading energy research establishments. Research, education, and innovation at KIT foster the energy turnaround and reorganization of the energy system in Germany. For this, KIT links excellent competences in engineering and science with know-how in economics, the humanities, and social science as well as law. The activities of the KIT Energy Center are organized in seven topics: Energy conversion, renewable energies, energy storage and distribution, efficient energy use, fusion technology, nuclear power and safety, and energy systems analysis. Clear priorities lie in the areas of energy efficiency and renewable energies, energy storage technologies and grids, electric mobility, and enhanced international cooperation in research.

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

or, 18.10.2013

For further information, please contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
PKM, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseEcm7∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 132/2013

Städtischer Untergrund birgt nachhaltige Energie

Grundwasserschichten in urbanen Ballungsräumen bergen geothermisches Potenzial – Forscher entwickeln Modell des Wärmestroms in den Untergrund
Woher kommt die Wärme im Untergrund von großen Städten? Forscher des KIT und der ETH Zürich haben verschiedene Faktoren untersucht.
Woher kommt die Wärme im Untergrund von großen Städten? Forscher des KIT und der ETH Zürich haben verschiedene Faktoren untersucht. (Grafik: AGW/KIT)

Unter großen Städten schlummern enorme Energiequellen: Aus erwärmten Grundwasserschichten ließe sich nachhaltige Energie zum Heizen im Winter und Kühlen im Sommer gewinnen. Forscher des KIT und der ETH Zürich haben ein analytisches Wärmestrom-Modell entwickelt und festgestellt, dass Wärmezunahmen im Untergrund vor allem durch Anstieg der Oberflächentemperaturen und Wärmeabgabe von Gebäuden bedingt sind. Ihre Arbeit präsentieren die Wissenschaftler im renommierten Journal „Environmental Science and Technology“. (DOI: 10.1021/es401546u)

Die Temperaturen in Großstädten liegen deutlich über denen im ländlichen Umland: Dichte Besiedlung, Flächenversiegelung, Industrie, Verkehr und fehlende Vegetation führen zu einem urbanen Mikroklima mit erhöhten Temperaturen in der Atmosphäre. Aber auch im Untergrund entstehen Temperaturanomalien, die sich lateral und vertikal ausbreiten. Das Grundwasser in urbanen Ballungsräumen hat sich in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten deutlich erwärmt. „In Karlsruhe betrug die durchschnittliche Wärmestromdichte in die oberflächennahen Grundwasserschichten im Jahr 1977 noch 759 Milliwatt pro Quadratmeter. Im Jahr 2011 waren es bereits 828 Milliwatt pro Quadratmeter“, berichtet Juniorprofessor Philipp Blum, Leiter der Abteilung Ingenieurgeologie des Instituts für Angewandte Geowissenschaften (AGW) des KIT. „Diese Wärmemenge entspricht einem Petajoule pro Jahr, somit könnte man mindestens 18.000 Haushalte in Karlsruhe nachhaltig mit Wärme versorgen.“

Woher die Wärme im Untergrund von Städten genau kommt, hat Philipp Blum gemeinsam mit Kathrin Menberg und Axel Schaffitel vom KIT sowie Dr. Peter Bayer von der ETH Zürich untersucht. Die Wissenschaftler entwickelten ein analytisches Wärmestrom-Modell, um mögliche Faktoren wie Anstieg der Oberflächentemperaturen von versiegelten Flächen, Wärmeabgabe von Gebäuden, Abwasserkanälen und unterirdischen Fernwärmenetzen sowie der Einleitung von Kühlwässern zu untersuchen. Indem sie die vom Menschen verursachten Wärmeströme in den Untergrund der Stadt Karlsruhe modellierten, ermittelten die Forscher langfristige Trends der Wärmestromprozesse. Dabei ergab sich, dass vor allem die erhöhten Oberflächentemperaturen und die Wärmeabgabe von Gebäuden für den Wärmeanstieg im Untergrund verantwortlich sind.

Die Energie aus oberflächennahen Grundwasserschichten ließe sich beispielsweise mithilfe von Erdwärme- und Grundwasserwärme-pumpen zum Heizen im Winter und zum Kühlen im Sommer einsetzen. Würde dieses geothermische Potenzial genutzt, ließe sich damit nicht nur ein Teil des wachsenden Energiebedarfs decken, sondern auch die Emission von Treibhausgasen reduzieren, was wiederum der Erwärmung der Städte entgegenwirken würde.

Kathrin Menberg, Philipp Blum, Axel Schaffitel, and Peter Bayer: Long-Term Evolution of Anthropogenic Heat Fluxes into a Subsurface Urban Heat Island. Environmental Science and Technology, 2013, 47 (17), pp 9747–9755. DOI: 10.1021/es401546u.

In der Energieforschung ist das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) eine der europaweit führenden Einrichtungen. Das KIT unterstützt die Energiewende und den Umbau des Energie-systems in Deutschland durch seine Aktivitäten in Forschung, Lehre und Innovation. Hier verbindet das KIT exzellente technik- und naturwissenschaftliche Kompetenzen mit wirtschafts-, geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichem sowie rechtswissenschaftlichem Fachwissen. Die Arbeit des KIT-Zentrums Energie gliedert sich in sieben Topics: Energieumwandlung, erneuerbare Energien, Energiespeicherung und Energieverteilung, effiziente Energienutzung, Fusionstechnologie, Kernenergie und Sicherheit sowie Energiesystemanalyse. Klare Prioritäten liegen in den Bereichen Energieeffizienz und erneuerbare Energien, Energiespeicher und Netze, Elektromobilität sowie dem Ausbau der internationalen Forschungszusammenarbeit.

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26 000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

or, 18.10.2013

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseZul2∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.