Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 125/2013

YIN Day 2013: Network Celebrates 5th Anniversary

Young Investigator Network (YIN) Is Platform and Democratic Representation of Young Scientists at KIT – Podium Discussion on Careers in the German Science System
2013_125_YIN-Day_2013_Netzwerk_feiert_fuenfjaehriges_Bestehen_72dpi
Networking, representation of interests, and advanced training of the members are offered by the Young Investigator Network (YIN) at KIT. (Graphics: modus: medien + kommunikation)

Since 2008, the Young Investigator Network (YIN) has been representing excellent young scientists at KIT and supporting their networking and advanced training. YIN members are responsible for research projects, manage working groups, and teach at KIT. The 5th anniversary of YIN will be celebrated on Saturday, October 12, 14 hrs, at the Audimax on KIT Campus South. The podium discussion with prominent representatives of science and industry will focus on careers in the German science system. Representatives of the media are cordially invited to come to the YIN Day 2013.


The keynote speech will be made by YIN alumna Professor Katja Schmitz, Head of the Biochemistry Working Group of TU Darmstadt. She will speak about “Molecular Tools for the Manipulation of Leukocytes.” Subsequent podium discussion will focus on “Karrieren im Dschungel des deutschen Wissenschaftssystems” (careers in the jungle of the German science system). The discussion participants will be KIT President Professor Holger Hanselka, President of the German Rectors’ Conference Professor Horst Hippler, KIT Vice President for Research and Information Professor Detlef Löhe, Max Planck Director and Nobel Prize winner Professor Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard, and Wilfried Porth, Member of the Board of Management, Human Resources, and Director of Labor Relations of Daimler AG.

 

KIT wishes to attract top-class young researchers, above all in the areas of engineering and natural sciences, from all over the world and to offer them excellent working conditions. As a central instrument to promote young scientists at KIT, the Young Investigator Network (YIN) was established in 2008. Presently, it has 59 members. This self-administrated organization is to give the young scientists a platform to represent their interests to the KIT board and other bodies as well as to political institutions and the public and to promote their networking and further personal development.

 

YIN members have access to a comprehensive advanced training program qualifying them for executive posts in research, education or industry. This includes workshops on university education, project management, staff management, and other issues as well as a comprehensive coaching and mentoring program designed by YIN together with the Staff Development Service Unit of KIT.

 

The YIN members are responsible for research projects funded by third parties in various areas, often in cooperation with industry partners. As they head working groups, they also are responsible for staff. In addition, they make major contributions to education at KIT. YIN is unique in Germany and meanwhile has become one of the distinctive features of KIT.

 

The YIN Day 2013 will take place under the auspices of the former KIT President Professor Eberhard Umbach and the Baden-Württemberg Minister of Science Theresia Bauer.

 

Program of the YIN Day 2013
Saturday, October 12, 14 to 17 hrs, KIT Campus South,
Audimax

 

Welcome and Presentation
Heike Mund, radio and TV presenter, TV author, lecturer at the
Institute of Journalism of TU Dortmund

 

Welcome Addresses
Professor Holger Hanselka, President of KIT
Dr. Frank Mentrup, Lord Mayor of the City of Karlsruhe

Five Years Young Investigator Network: Past and Future
YIN spokespersons: Dr. Bastian Rapp and Dr. Katja Träumner

 

Keynote Speech:
“Molecular Tools for the Manipulation of Leukocytes”
Professor Katja Schmitz, YIN alumna and Head of the Biochemistry Working Group of TU Darmstadt

 


Award of Certificate

Dr. Elke Luise Barnstedt, KIT Vice President for Human Resources and Law

 

Podium Discussion:
“Karrieren im Dschungel des deutschen Wissenschaftssystems”
Professor Holger Hanselka, President of KIT
Professor Horst Hippler, President of the German Rectors’
Conference
Professor Detlef Löhe, KIT Vice President for Research and
Information
Professor Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard, Max Planck Director and Nobel Prize Winner
Wilfried Porth, Member of the Board of Management, Human Resources, and Director of Labor Relations of Daimler AG

 

Reception

 

Musical program by the band Belém+


Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) pools its three core tasks of research, higher education, and innovation in a mission. With about 9,300 employees and 25,000 students, KIT is one of the big institutions of research and higher education in natural sciences and engineering in Europe.

KIT – The Research University in the Helmholtz Association

or, 08.10.2013

For further information, please contact:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Phone: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneJvw8∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseIhi0∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 125/2013

YIN-Day 2013: Netzwerk feiert fünfjähriges Bestehen

Young Investigator Network (YIN) bietet Plattform und demokratische Vertretung für wissenschaftlichen Führungskräftenachwuchs am KIT – Podiumsdiskussion zu Karrieren im deutschen Wissenschaftssystem
Vernetzung, Interessenvertretung und Weiterbildung der Mitglieder gehören zu den Aufgaben des Young Investigator Network (YIN) am KIT. (Grafik: modus: medien + kommunikation)
Vernetzung, Interessenvertretung und Weiterbildung der Mitglieder gehören zu den Aufgaben des Young Investigator Network (YIN) am KIT. (Grafik: modus: medien + kommunikation)

Seit 2008 vertritt das Young Investigator Network (YIN) herausragende Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler am KIT, fördert ihre Vernetzung und Weiterbildung. YIN-Mitglieder verantworten Forschungsprojekte, leiten Arbeitsgruppen und tragen zur Lehre am KIT bei. Sein fünfjähriges Bestehen feiert YIN mit einem Festakt am Samstag, 12. Oktober, ab 14 Uhr im Audimax am KIT-Campus Süd. Thema einer Podiumsdiskussion mit prominenten Vertretern aus Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft sind Karrieren im deutschen Wissenschaftssystem.

 

Den Festvortrag hält die YIN-Alumna Professorin Katja Schmitz, Leiterin des Fachgebiets Biochemie der TU Darmstadt, über „Molekulare Werkzeuge zur Manipulation von Leukozyten“. Die anschließend Podiumsdiskussion widmet sich dem Thema „Karrieren im Dschungel des deutschen Wissenschaftssystems“. Teilnehmer sind der KIT-Präsident Professor Holger Hanselka, der Präsident der Hochschulrektorenkonferenz, Professor Horst Hippler, der KIT-Vizepräsident für Forschung und Information, Professor Detlef Löhe, die Max-Planck-Direktorin und Nobelpreisträgerin Professorin Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard sowie Wilfried Porth, Vorstandsmitglied für Personal und Arbeitsdirektor der Daimler AG.

 

Das KIT verfolgt das Ziel, hochkarätige Nachwuchsforscher, vor allem in technik- und naturwissenschaftlichen Bereichen, aus aller Welt nach Karlsruhe zu holen und ihnen attraktive Arbeitsbedingungen zu bieten. Als zentrales Instrument zur Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Führungskräftenachwuchses am KIT entstand 2008 das Young Investigator Network (YIN), das zurzeit 59 Mitglieder hat. Die Aufgaben dieser selbst verwalteten Organisation bestehen darin, den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchsführungskräften eine Plattform zu bieten, ihre Interessen gegenüber dem KIT-Vorstand und anderen Gremien, aber auch gegenüber politischen Institutionen sowie gegenüber der Öffentlichkeit zu vertreten, ihre Vernetzung und ihre persönliche Weiterentwicklung zu fördern.

 

YIN-Mitgliedern steht ein umfangreiches Weiterbildungsprogramm offen, das sie für Führungsaufgaben in Forschung und Lehre oder in der Industrie qualifiziert. Dazu gehören Workshops zu Hochschullehre, Projektmanagement, Personalführung und weiteren Themen, aber auch ein umfangreiches Coaching- und Mentoring-Programm, das YIN gemeinsam mit der Personalentwicklung des KIT konzipiert hat.

 

Die Mitglieder des YIN verantworten eigenständige drittmittelgeförderte Forschungsprojekte auf den unterschiedlichsten Gebieten, häufig in Kooperation mit Industriepartnern. Als Leiter von Arbeitsgruppen tragen sie Personalverantwortung. Darüber hinaus leisten sie erhebliche Beiträge zur Lehre am KIT. Das YIN ist einzigartig in Deutschland und gilt mittlerweile als eines der Markenzeichen des KIT.

 

Der YIN-Day 2013 steht unter der Schirmherrschaft des ehemaligen KIT-Präsidenten Professor Eberhard Umbach und der baden-württembergischen Wissenschaftsministerin Theresia Bauer.

 

Programm YIN-Day 2013
Samstag, 12. Oktober, 14 bis 17 Uhr, KIT Campus Süd, Audimax

 

Begrüßung und Moderation
Heike Mund, Radioredakteurin, Moderatorin, Fernsehautorin, Lehrbeauftragte und Dozentin am Institut für Journalistik der TU Dortmund

 

Grußworte
Professor Holger Hanselka, Präsident des KIT
Dr. Frank Mentrup, Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Karlsruhe

 

Fünf Jahre Young Investigator Network: Rück- und Ausblick
YIN-Sprecher: Dr. Bastian Rapp und Dr. Katja Träumner

 

Festvortrag:
„Molekulare Werkzeuge zur Manipulation von Leukozyten“
Professorin Katja Schmitz, YIN-Alumna und
Leiterin des Fachgebiets Biochemie der TU Darmstadt

 

Zertifikatsverleihung
Dr. Elke Luise Barnstedt, KIT-Vizepräsidentin für Personal und Recht

 

Podiumsdiskussion:
„Karrieren im Dschungel des deutschen Wissenschaftssystems“

Professor Holger Hanselka, Präsident des KIT
Professor Horst Hippler, Präsident der Hochschulrektorenkonferenz
Professor Detlef Löhe, KIT-Vizepräsident für Forschung und Information
Professorin Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard, Max-Planck-Direktorin und Nobelpreisträgerin
Wilfried Porth, Vorstandsmitglied für Personal und Arbeitsdirektor der Daimler AG

Anschließend Empfang

Musikalische Untermalung durch die Band Belém+

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

or, 08.10.2013

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneSus5∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseIsq4∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.