Press Release 120/2013

Herbert Fischer Receives Prize for Atmosphere Research

GeoUnion Honors Merits of KIT Climate Scientist by Granting the 2013 Johannes Georgi Prize
2013_120_Herbert_Fischer_erhaelt_Preis_fuer_Atmosphaerenforschung_72dpi
Professor Herbert Fischer, former Head of the KIT Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK). (Photo by: KIT)

Professor Herbert Fischer is granted the 2013 Johannes Georgi Prize for his pioneer work in atmosphere research. The prize is the highest German geosciences award. It is granted every three years by the GeoUnion Alfred Wegener Foundation, the organization of all geoscientific associations in Germany. Herbert Fischer, former Head of the KIT Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK), is considered one of the pioneers of remote sensing of atmospheric trace gases. They affect the earth’s radiation budget and, hence, the climate and ozone layer.

 

 

The prize in the amount of EUR 7000 was handed over to Professor Herbert Fischer at the “DACH 2013” meteorological conference in early September in Innsbruck. “His enormous perseverance and high commitment for more than four decades have contributed decisively to the high level and worldwide visibility of our discipline,” said Professor Johannes Orphal, Head of the Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research – Atmospheric Trace Gases and Remote Sensing (IMK-ASF) of KIT and scientific spokesperson of the KIT Climate and Environment Center, in his laudation.

 

 

Scientific work of Herbert Fischer focuses on dynamic and chemical processes as well as on the dispersion of electromagnetic radiation in the atmosphere. In particular, Fischer concentrates on remote sensing of trace substances, trace gases and aerosols, in the atmosphere. They contribute to the greenhouse effect on earth and influence the ozone layer. Herbert Fischer is deemed one of the pioneers of Fourier transform infrared spectrometry for atmospheric remote sensing worldwide. With the help of this technology, global concentration of trace gases in the atmosphere can be determined continuously. Among others, Fischer developed the MIPAS (Michelson Interferometer for Passive Atmospheric Sounding) instrument for use on the ground, on balloons, aircraft, and satellites.

 

 

“I am very happy about the scientific community honoring my work,” said Professor Fischer when he received the Georgi Prize. He will use the prize money for establishing a foundation within the German Meteorological Society (DMG) to support young scientists in the area of remote sensing.

 

 

Herbert Fischer, born in 1942 in Zweibrücken, studied physics at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU), Munich, where he was conferred his PhD and his post-doctoral lecture qualification in the field of meteorology. In 1986, he was appointed Head of the joint Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK) of the then Kernforschungszentrum Karlsruhe and Universität Karlsruhe. At IMK, he established the divisions of “Trace Gases in the Stratosphere” and “Remote Sensing of Atmospheric Parameters.” He assumed a number of national and international positions and honorary posts. Presently, he is Deputy Chairman of the German Meteorological Society, chairs the Reinhard Süring Foundation, and is Deputy Chairman of the Section of Geophysics/Meteorology of the National Academy Leopoldina.

 

The KIT Climate and Environment Center develops strategies and technologies to secure the natural bases of life. For this purpose, 660 employees of 32 institutes produce fundamental and application-oriented knowledge relating to climate and environmental change. It is not only aimed at eliminating the causes of environmental problems, but increasingly at adapting to changed conditions.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 27.09.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presse does-not-exist.kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseTnz9∂kit edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 120/2013

Herbert Fischer erhält Preis für Atmosphärenforschung

GeoUnion würdigt jahrzehntelange Verdienste des KIT-Klimawissenschaftlers mit dem Johannes-Georgi-Preis 2013
Professor Herbert Fischer, früherer Leiter des Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung (IMK) des KIT. (Foto: KIT)
Professor Herbert Fischer, früherer Leiter des Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung (IMK) des KIT. (Foto: KIT)

Für seine wegweisenden Arbeiten in der Atmosphärenforschung erhält Professor Herbert Fischer den Johannes-Georgi-Preis 2013. Der Preis gilt als höchste deutsche Auszeichnung in den Geowissenschaften. Verliehen wird er alle drei Jahre von der GeoUnion Alfred-Wegener-Stiftung, dem Dachverband aller geowissenschaftlichen Verbände in Deutschland. Herbert Fischer, früherer Leiter des Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung (IMK) des KIT, gilt als einer der Pioniere der Fernerkundung von atmosphärischen Spurenstoffen, die den Strahlungshaushalt der Erde und damit das Klima sowie die Ozonschicht beeinflussen.

 

Professor Herbert Fischer bekam den mit 7 000 Euro dotierten Preis im Rahmen der meteorologischen Fachtagung „DACH 2013“ Anfang September in Innsbruck überreicht. „Seine enorme Beharrlichkeit und sein großes Engagement seit mehr als vier Jahrzehnten haben wesentlich dazu beigetragen, dass unser gesamtes Fachgebiet heute so hoch entwickelt und weltweit sichtbar ist,“ sagte Professor Johannes Orphal, Leiter des Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung – Atmosphärische Spurengase und Fernerkundung (IMK-ASF) des KIT und wissenschaftlicher Sprecher des KIT-Zentrums Klima und Umwelt, in seiner Laudatio.

 

In seinen wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten befasst sich Herbert Fischer mit dynamischen und chemischen Prozessen sowie der Ausbreitung elektromagnetischer Strahlung in der Atmosphäre. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Fernerkundung von Spurenstoffen – Spurengasen und Aerosolen – in der Atmosphäre, die zum Treibhauseffekt auf der Erde beitragen und die Ozonschicht beeinflussen. Herbert Fischer gilt weltweit als einer der Pioniere der Fourier-Transformations-Infrarot-Spektrometrie zur Atmosphären-Fernerkundung. Mithilfe dieser Technologie lässt sich die globale Konzentration von Spurengasen in der Atmosphäre kontinuierlich bestimmen. Fischer entwickelte unter anderem das Instrument MIPAS (Michelson Interferometer for Passive Atmospheric Sounding) für den Einsatz am Boden, in Ballongondeln, Flugzeugen und Satelliten.

 

„Ich freue mich sehr, dass die wissenschaftliche Gemeinschaft meine Arbeiten würdigt“, sagte Professor Fischer anlässlich seiner Auszeichnung mit dem Georgi-Preis. Das Preisgeld soll in eine Stiftung einfließen, die Herbert Fischer bei der Deutschen Meteorologischen Gesellschaft (DMG) zur Förderung von Nachwuchsforschern auf dem Gebiet der Fernerkundung einrichten will.

 

Herbert Fischer, geboren 1942 in Zweibrücken, studierte Physik an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) in München, wo er auch promovierte und im Fach Meteorologie habilitierte. 1986 wurde er Leiter des gemeinsamen Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung (IMK) des damaligen Kernforschungszentrums Karlsruhe und der damaligen Universität Karlsruhe. Am IMK baute er die Bereiche „Spurenstoffe in der Stratosphäre” und „Fernerkundung atmosphärischer Parameter” auf. Herbert Fischer bekleidete zahlreiche nationale und internationale Positionen und Ehrenämter. Derzeit ist er Stellvertretender Vorsitzender der DMG, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Reinhard-Süring-Stiftung sowie Stellvertretender Obmann der Teilsektion Geophysik/Meteorologie der Nationalen Akademie Leopoldina.

 

Das KIT-Zentrum Klima und Umwelt entwickelt Strategien und Technologien zur Sicherung der natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen: Dafür erarbeiten 660 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter aus 32 Instituten Grundlagen- und Anwendungswissen zum Klima- und Umweltwandel. Dabei geht es nicht nur um die Beseitigung der Ursachen von Umweltproblemen, sondern zunehmend um die Anpassung an veränderte Verhältnisse.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 100 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

or, 27.09.2013
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseHqo4∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.