Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 110/2013

IAA: Modular Battery Concept for Short-distance Traffic

At the IAA International Motor Show, KIT Presents Innovations for Electric Mobility – Modular Battery Concept for Efficient Operation of an Electric Bus
2013_110_IAA_-_modulares_Batteriekonzept_fuer_den_Nahverkehr_72dpi
Modular batteries (orange) can be integrated easily in the free space of the vehicle. (Figure: KIT)

Electric mobility may be economically efficient today. Battery-based electric drives can be applied efficiently in urban buses, for instance. Frequent acceleration and slow-down processes as well as a high utilization rate in short-distance traffic make their use profitable even when considering current battery costs. At the IAA International Motor Show in Frankfurt, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) will present an e-city bus demonstrator to illustrate the concept (Hall 3.1, D13).

 

The key modules of the demonstrator are a drive train with a high-torque electric motor, a high-voltage network, a battery management system, and a novel modular battery system with lithium-ion cells made in Germany. At the IAA, the demonstrator developed for drive tests will present options for the design of the electric drive train of buses.

 

Using the demonstrator, the innovation potential of KIT’s research results can be validated and interaction of the components can be analyzed experimentally under the simulated operating conditions. “In this way, the demonstrator contributes to the further development of electric mobility,” Andreas Gutsch, coordinator of the Competence E project at KIT, explains.

 

The battery system consists of flat modules that can be stacked to reach the dimensions and electric characteristics desired. Various spaces in the different types of vehicles can be used for accommodating the energy storage system. The battery management system and drive control developed for the KIT demonstrator allow for driving operation taking into account the current performance limits of the system and its components.

 

“Energy efficiency of an electric bus can be increased by an adequate selection of components already,” says Martin Gießler, Head of the demonstrator development project. “Of course, an anticipatory operation and recuperation strategy plays an important role.” By means of recuperation, braking energy is converted into electrical energy again. The drive consists of a low-torque engine supplying a high driving torque for the vehicle. The engine is connected directly with the differential gear of the rear axle. It decreases the gear reduction to be implemented and, hence, ensures a high efficiency of torque transmission.

 

The e-city bus demonstrator development project was funded by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology.

 

KIT’s digital press kit relating to the IAA can be found at http://www.pkm.kit.edu/iaa2013.php

 

The Competence E project covers all research aspects from the battery material to the electric drive in a way that is unique in Germany. With an open technology platform for battery-electric vehicle drives and stationary energy storage systems, the systemic approach is aimed at developing industrially applicable solutions and their production methods. Thanks to integration along the chain of values added, battery systems with an energy density of 250 watt-hours / kg are to be manufactured at costs of EUR 250 per kilowatt-hour by 2018. This will be an important step towards the energy turnaround and reaching climate protection objectives: Increased storage capacity of stationary storage systems to compensate the fluctuation of renewable energy and enhanced range of electric vehicles for increased acceptance.

 

Find more on the Competence E project at: http://www.competence-e.kit.edu/

 

The Mobility Systems Center pools KIT activities relating to vehicle technology. Presently, 40 KIT institutes with about 800 employees are working on methodological and technical fundamentals for tomorrow’s vehicles. It is their objective to develop concepts, technologies, methods, and processes for future mobility considering the complex interactions of vehicle, driver, traffic, and society.


Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

kes, 02.09.2013

For further information, please contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
PKM, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseKdx7∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 110/2013

IAA: modulares Batteriekonzept für den Nahverkehr

Auf der Internationalen Automobilausstellung IAA stellt das KIT Innovationen für die Elektromobilität vor – modulares Batteriekonzept für die wirtschaftliche Anwendung in einem Elektrobus
Die modularen Batterien (orange) lassen sich einfach in die Freiräume der Fahrzeugstruktur integrieren. (Bild: KIT)
Die modularen Batterien (orange) lassen sich einfach in die Freiräume der Fahrzeugstruktur integrieren. (Bild: KIT)

Elektromobilität kann heute schon wirtschaftlich sein. So sind Stadtbusse ein wirtschaftlich sinnvoller Anwendungsbereich für den batterie-elektrischen Antrieb. Häufiges Anfahren und Bremsen sowie eine hohe Auslastung im Nahverkehr ermöglichen den profitablen Einsatz schon zu heutigen Batteriekosten. Anhand eines E-City-Bus-Demonstrators stellt das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) auf der Internationalen Automobilausstellung IAA in Frankfurt das Konzept vor (Halle 3.1, D13).

 

Zentrale Bausteine des Demonstrators sind ein Fahrantrieb mit drehmomentstarkem Elektromotor, ein Hochvoltnetz, ein Batterie-Management-System und ein neuartiges Konzept von modularen Batteriesystemen mit Lithium-Ionen-Zellen „Made in Germany“. Anhand des für Fahrversuche entwickelten Demonstrators werden auf der IAA die Möglichkeiten zur sinnvollen Gestaltung des elektrischen Antriebssystems für Elektrobusse vorgestellt.

 

Der Demonstrator ermöglicht die Validierung des Innovationspotenzials der Forschungsergebnisse des KIT und die experimentelle Analyse des Zusammenspiels der einzelnen Komponenten unter simulierten Betriebsbedingungen. „Der Demonstrator leistet damit einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Weiterentwicklung der Elektromobilität“, erklärt Andreas Gutsch, Koordinator des Projekts Competence E am KIT.

 

Das Batteriesystem besteht aus flachen Modulen, die ein - in seinen Abmessungen und seinen elektrischen Kenngrößen - skalierbaren Batterieaufbau ermöglichen. Damit können zum Aufbau eines bedarfsgerechten Energiespeichers unterschiedlichste Bauräume in den verschiedensten Fahrzeugtypen genutzt werden. Das für den Demonstrator am KIT entwickelte Batterie-Management-System und die realisierte Antriebssteuerung erlauben den Fahrbetrieb unter Berücksichtigung der aktuellen Leistungsgrenzen des Systems und seiner Komponenten.

 

„Das gewählte Antriebskonzept zeigt, dass die Energieeffizienz eines E-Busses bereits durch die Komponentenauswahl erhöht werden kann“, so Martin Gießler, Leiter des Entwicklungsprojekts für den Demonstrator. „Dabei spielt natürlich auch die Realisierung einer vorausschauenden Betriebs- und Rekuperationsstrategie eine wichtige Rolle“. Durch Rekuperation kann Bremsenergie wieder in elektrische Energie umgewandelt werden. Der Antrieb besteht aus einem niedrig drehenden Zentralmotor, der ein hohes Antriebsmoment für das Fahrzeug liefert. Der Motor ist direkt mit dem Differentialgetriebe der Hinterachse verbunden. Durch den gewählten Motor wurde die zu implementierende Untersetzung reduziert und so ein hoher Wirkungsgrad in der Drehmomenten-Übertragung erzielt.

 

Das Projekt zum Aufbau des E-City Bus Demonstrators wurde gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie.

 

Die digitale Pressemappe des KIT zur IAA finden Sie unter http://www.pkm.kit.edu/iaa2013.php

 

Das Projekt Competence E vereint alle Forschungsaspekte vom Batteriematerial bis zum elektrischen Antrieb auf eine deutschlandweit einzigartige Weise. Mit einer offenen Technologieplattform für batterieelektrische Fahrzeugantriebs- und stationäre Energiespeichersysteme zielt der systemische Ansatz auf industriell anwendbare Lösungen und deren Produktionsverfahren ab. Dank der Integration entlang der Wert¬schöpfungskette soll das ehrgeizige Ziel angegangen werden, bis 2018 Batteriesysteme zu fertigen, die eine Energiedichte von 250 Wattstunden pro Kilogramm bei Kosten von 250 Euro pro Kilowattstunde aufweisen. Damit wird ein wichtiger Schritt in Richtung Energiewende und Klimaschutzziele umgesetzt: eine erhöhte Speicherfähigkeit für stationäre Speicher zum Ausgleich der Fluktuation von erneuerbaren Energien sowie eine Verlängerung der Reichweite von Elektrofahrzeugen zur Erhöhung der Akzeptanz.

 

Mehr zum Projekt Competence E unter: http://www.competence-e.kit.edu/

 

Das Zentrum Mobilitätssysteme bündelt die fahrzeugtechnischen Aktivitäten des KIT: An den methodischen und technologischen Grundlagen für die Fahrzeuge der Zukunft arbeiten derzeit knapp 40 Institute mit rund 800 Mitarbeitern. Ziel ist es, Konzepte, Technologien, Methoden und Prozesse für die Mobilität der Zukunft zu erarbeiten. Die Wissenschaftler berücksichtigen dabei das komplexe Zusammenspiel von Fahrzeug, Fahrer, Verkehr, Infrastruktur und Gesellschaft.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

kes, 02.09.2013

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: pressePvq5∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.