Press Release 107/2013

A New Research Factory for Lithium-ion Batteries

KIT Starts Pilot Manufacturing of Novel Lithium-ion Cells and Develops Lower-cost Technologies for Mass Production
2013_107_Forschungsfabrik_fuer_Lithium-Ionen-Batterien_72dpi
On almost 1,500 square meters, the KIT develops new production methods for lower-cost and more efficient lithium-ion batteries. (Photo: Martin Lober, KIT)

A nationwide use of lithium-ion batteries in electric vehicles and stationary storage devices could be the key to a successful energy turnaround. A limited performance and efficiency, however, have so far been preventing these batteries from entering the market. The KIT now reacts by starting up a research factory for small series production of lithium-ion cells. The batteries that will be manufactured based on the new methods developed there will meet the enormous demands on product quality and efficiency.

 

„Eventually, this novel research infrastructure enables us to, at an early stage, evaluate, automate and make suitable for industrial use production processes that are still immature,” explains Professor Dr. Jürgen Fleischer who, with his team, is responsible for setting up the research factory and researching into production within the project “Competence E” at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT).

 

Both stationary storage devices and fast-charging vehicle batteries require low-cost and efficient lithium-ion cells. To obtain these, the research factory newly develops the necessary individual production steps. “We leave the path of conventional manufacture to develop completely new production and integration methods for lithium-ion cells,” Fleischer says.

 

New drying, coating and calendering techniques for electrode materials as well as new assembly methods for cells are developed together with the German mechanical engineering and industrial plant construction sector. With the M+W Group, a cooperation partner from Stuttgart, Germany, a new dry-room concept was implemented for manufacture of high-quality lithium-ion cells under extremely dry ambient conditions. The dew point, which is a measure of the dryness of the air, is almost -80°C. Such values are at the limit of what can be measured by hygrometers and, hence, set a new benchmark for the production of lithium batteries.

 

Dank des Trockenraums mit einem Taupunkt von fast -80 °C lassen sich hochwertige Batterien zusammenbauen. (Bild: KIT)
High-quality batteries can be assembled in the dry-room at a dew point of almost -80°C. (Photo: KIT)

 

“All interested companies creating value in Germany are invited to make use of the unique possibilities of our research factory,” says coordinator of the “Competence E” project, Dr. Andreas Gutsch. Cooperation may cover e.g., easy access to the production infrastructure, joint developments or contract research and development. The KIT-developed technologies will be tested in test runs and campaigns with larger series through to production maturity. In this way, economically promising production methods will be identified. KIT plans to offer licenses to eligible companies.

 

The manufacturing hall of almost 1,500 square meters is located on the premises of KIT’s Campus North. The first tools and equipment were procured in 2012 with the support of the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology. The batteries will mainly be applied in electric commercial vehicles and stationary storage systems for private households and industry. For these potential applications, first models have been made available already during setup of the research factory. The model of a stationary battery storage device caused a stir among experts at this year’s Hanover and Intersolar fairs. At the IAA fair in September, KIT will introduce the prototype of a battery-electric city bus.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

ls, 26.08.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseTxw6∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Kosta Schinarakis
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21165
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakisQrj6∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseAys3∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 107/2013

Forschungsfabrik für Lithium-Ionen-Batterien

KIT startet die Pilotfertigung für neuartige Lithium-Ionen-Zellen und entwickelt kostengünstigere Prozesstechnologien für den Massenmarkt
Auf fast 1500 Quadratmetern entwickelt das KIT neuartige  Produktionsverfahren für kostengünstigere und leistungsfähigere Lithium-Ionen-Batterien. (Foto: Martin Lober, KIT)
Auf fast 1500 Quadratmetern entwickelt das KIT neuartige Produktionsverfahren für kostengünstigere und leistungsfähigere Lithium-Ionen-Batterien. (Foto: Martin Lober, KIT)

Der flächendeckende Einsatz von Lithium-Ionen-Batterien in Elektrofahrzeugen und stationären Speichern könnte der Energiewende zum Durchbruch verhelfen. Fehlende Wirtschaftlichkeit und begrenzte Leistungsfähigkeit behindern aber derzeit noch den Markteintritt. Am KIT ist deshalb nun eine „Forschungsfabrik“ für die Kleinserien-Produktion von Lithium-Ionen-Zellen angelaufen, in der neue Produktionstechnologien entwickelt werden, die den enormen Ansprüchen an Produktqualität und Wirtschaftlichkeit genügen.

 

„Mit dieser neuartigen Forschungsinfrastruktur gehen wir jetzt daran, noch unreife Produktionsprozesse bereits in einem frühen Stadium zu validieren, zu automatisieren und damit industrietauglich zu machen“, erklärt Prof. Dr. Jürgen Fleischer, der mit seinem Team im Rahmen des Projekts Competence E am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) für den Aufbau der Forschungsfabrik und die Produktionsforschung verantwortlich ist.

 

Sowohl für stationäre Speicher als auch für schnellladefähige Fahrzeugbatterien müssen kostengünstige und leistungsfähige Lithium-Ionen-Zellen zum Einsatz kommen. In der Forschungsfabrik werden daher einzelne Fertigungsschritte für deren Herstellung vollständig neu entwickelt. „Wir verlassen jetzt den Pfad bisher bekannter Fertigungstechnologien und entwickeln völlig neue Produktions- und Integrationsverfahren für Lithium-Ionen-Zellen“, so Fleischer.

 

Neue Trocknungs-, Beschichtungs- und Kalandriertechniken für Elektrodenmaterialien sowie neue Assemblierungsverfahren für Zellen werden gemeinsam mit dem deutschen Maschinen- und Anlagenbau entwickelt. So wurde mit dem Kooperationspartner M+W Group in Stuttgart ein neuartiges Trockenraumkonzept umgesetzt, mit dem Lithium-Ionen-Zellen unter extrem trockenen Umgebungsbedingungen gebaut werden können. Dies kommt direkt der Qualität der Zellen zugute. Der Taupunkt, der ein Maß für die Trockenheit der Luft ist, liegt mit fast -80 °C an der Grenze der Luftfeuchtemessgeräte und setzt damit eine neue Bestmarke in der Fertigung von Lithium-Batterien.

 

Dank des Trockenraums mit einem Taupunkt von fast -80 °C lassen sich hochwertige Batterien zusammenbauen. (Bild: KIT)
Dank des Trockenraums mit einem Taupunkt von fast -80 °C lassen sich hochwertige Batterien zusammenbauen. (Bild: KIT)

 

„Ab sofort sind alle interessierten Unternehmen mit Wertschöpfung in Deutschland eingeladen, die einzigartigen Möglichkeiten dieser Forschungsfabrik zu nutzen“, erklärt Dr. Andreas Gutsch, der das Projekt Competence E koordiniert. Die Palette der Kooperationsmöglichkeiten reicht vom einfachen Zugang zur Produktionsinfrastruktur über gemeinsame Entwicklungen bis zu Auftragsforschung und –entwicklung. Die vom KIT selbst entwickelten Technologien werden anhand von Testläufen und Kampagnen in größeren Stückzahlen bis zur Produktionsreife getestet. So können wirtschaftlich vielversprechende Produktionsverfahren identifiziert werden, für die das KIT dann allen in Frage kommenden Unternehmen Lizenzen anbietet.

 

Die nahezu 1.500 Quadratmeter große Produktionshalle befindet sich auf dem Gelände des Campus Nord des KIT. Die Beschaffung der ersten Anlagentechnik erfolgte mit Förderung durch das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft (BMWi) bereits im Jahr 2012. Im Hinblick auf die Einsatzfelder der Batterien stehen elektrische Nutzfahrzeuge sowie stationäre Speicher für den Privathaushalt und die Industrie im Fokus. Für diese Einsatzfelder wurden parallel zum Aufbau der Forschungsfabrik schon erste Demonstratoren aufgebaut. Das Produktmuster eines stationären Batteriespeichers sorgte auf der Hannover-Messe und der Intersolar in diesem Jahr für Aufsehen in der Fachwelt. Im September wird das KIT auf der IAA in Frankfurt einen batterieelektrischen Stadtbus als Prototypen vorstellen.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

ls, 26.08.2013

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: pressePzb9∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.