Press Release 106/2013

Anna Lindh Foundation Presents Itself at Schloss Bellevue

KIT’s ZAK | Center for Applied Cultural Science and Studium Generale Presents German Network at Citizens Party of Federal President Joachim Gauck – Focus on Diversity of the Mediterranean
2013_106_Anna_Lindh_Stiftung_stellt_sich_im_Schloss_Bellevue_vor_72dpi
Summer party of the Federal President: ZAK will present the activities of the German Anna Lindh Network. (Photo: Federal Government / Henning Schacht)

Overcoming stereotypes, strengthening civil society, and promoting cultural diversity: The Anna Lindh Foundation supports the dialog of cultures in the Euro-Mediterranean area. As one of 24 selected organizations, it will present its work at the Citizens Party of the Federal President on August 30 and 31 in Berlin. The ZAK | Center for Applied Science and Studium Generale at KIT coordinates the Network together with the Goethe-Institut e.V. and has compiled an interesting program.

 

The enriching diversity of the Mediterranean area and the associated current challenges are in the focus of the program of the Anna Lindh Foundation at the Citizens Party of Federal President Joachim Gauck: “And instrument treasure chest of the Mediterranean for children, enthralling tales of Arab poets, interactive performances, mini workshops or video installations show how fascinating “Euromed”, that is the European-Mediterranean area, may be and how diverse the network is,” the Director of ZAK, Professor Caroline Y. Robertson-von Trotha, says.

 

On the main stage of the Citizens Party, the SPD politician Dr. Lale Akgün, the professional boxer and double world champion Rola El-Halabi, and other others will discuss about interculturality, identity, and limits of tolerance. This panel discussion on “Migration - integration – racism: Old and new challenges” was conceived by Professor Robertson-von Trotha and will take place on August 31.

 

The Citizens Party of the Federal President on August 30 and 31, 2013 will kick off this year’s Common Action. The Common Action is a German-wide series of events of the German Anna Lindh Network presenting the potential of the Mediterranean area in several German cities for some months. In 2013, the events will focus on the subject of “Gelebte Vielfalt – und ihre Grenzen” (Lived Diversity – and Its Limits).

 

Program and further information: www.zak.kit.edu.

 

About the Anna Lindh Foundation

The Anna Lindh Foundation named after the murdered Swedish politician was established in Alexandria in 2005. The foundation considers itself a network of networks. Meanwhile, it has more than 4000 member organizations in 43 member states. The German network has about 150 members. Among them are associations, foundations, institutes or media working in the areas of arts and culture, migration, inter-religious dialog, youth work, and political education in cooperation with partners from the Mediterranean area. The German network consists of the three clusters of “Arts and Culture”, “Migration”, and “Science”, the latter being a new cluster initiated by ZAK. These clusters are joined by members pursuing the objectives of the foundation from specific perspectives. In general, the clusters are open to all members. International exchange is promoted by concrete projects and the annual network meeting.

 

Since 2006, ZAK has been member of the German network of the Anna Lindh Foundation. In March 2012, Professor Dr. Caroline Y. Robertson-von Trotha and Swenja Zaremba were elected new coordinators of the network. Mirjam Gruhler has been working in the coordination team for some months now.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

am, 22.08.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Anna Moosmüller
ZAK | Zentrum für Angewandte Kulturwissenschaft und Studium Generale
Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Tel.: +49 721 608-48027
Fax: +49 721 608-44811
E-Mail:anna moosmueller does-not-exist.kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseNjv2∂kit edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

Anleitung RSS-Feed einbinden

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 106/2013

Anna Lindh Stiftung stellt sich im Schloss Bellevue vor

Das ZAK | Zentrum für Angewandte Kulturwissenschaft und Studium Generale am KIT stellt das deutsche Netzwerk beim Fest des Bundespräsidenten Joachim Gauck vor – Vielfalt des Mittelmeerraums im Fokus.
Sommerfest beim Bundespräsidenten: Das ZAK stellt die Aktivitäten des deutschen Anna Lindh Netzwerks vor (Foto: Bundesregierung / Henning Schacht)
Sommerfest beim Bundespräsidenten: Das ZAK stellt die Aktivitäten des deutschen Anna Lindh Netzwerks vor (Foto: Bundesregierung / Henning Schacht)

Stereotypen überwinden, die Zivilgesellschaft stärken und kulturelle Vielfalt fördern: Die Anna Lindh Stiftung setzt sich für den Dialog der Kulturen im euro-mediterranen Raum ein. Als eine von 24 ausgewählten Organisationen präsentiert sie ihre Arbeit beim Bürgerfest des Bundespräsidenten am 30. und 31. August in Berlin. Das ZAK | Zentrum für Angewandte Kulturwissenschaft und Studium Generale am KIT, das derzeit gemeinsam mit dem Goethe-Institut e.V. das Netzwerk koordiniert, hat ein vielseitiges Programm zusammengestellt.

 

Die bereichernde Vielfalt des Mittelmeerraums sowie seine aktuellen Herausforderungen stehen im Fokus des Programms der Anna Lindh Stiftung beim Bürgerfest des Bundespräsidenten Joachim Gauck: „Eine Instrumentenschatzkiste des Mittelmeers für Kinder, fesselnde Erzählungen arabischer Dichter, interaktive Performances, Mini-Workshops oder Video-Installationen zeigen, wie faszinierend ‚Euromed‘, also der europäisch-mediterrane Raum, sein kann und wie vielseitig das Netzwerk selbst ist“, so die Direktorin des ZAK, Professorin Caroline Y. Robertson-von Trotha.

 

Auf der Hauptbühne des Bürgerfestes diskutieren in einer von Professorin Robertson-von Trotha konzipierten Talk-Runde zum Thema „Migration – Integration – Rassismus: alte und neue Herausforderungen“, am 31. August unter anderem die SPD-Politikerin Dr. Lale Akgün und die Profiboxerin und Doppelweltmeisterin Rola El-Halabi über Interkulturalität, Identitäten und Grenzen der Toleranz.

 

Das Bürgerfest des Bundespräsidenten am 30. und 31. August 2013 bildet den Auftakt der diesjährigen Common Action. Die Common Action ist eine bundesweite Veranstaltungsreihe des deutschen Anna Lindh Netzwerks, die für einige Monate das Potential des Mittelmeerraums in verschiedenen deutschen Städten präsentiert. 2013 steht das Thema „Gelebte Vielfalt – und ihre Grenzen“ im Fokus der Veranstaltungen.

 

Programm und weitere Informationen: www.zak.kit.edu

 

Über die Anna Lindh Stiftung

 Die Anna Lindh Stiftung, benannt nach der ermordeten schwedischen Politikerin, wurde 2005 in Alexandria gegründet. Die Stiftung versteht sich als ein Netzwerk der Netzwerke, in dem mittlerweile über 4.000 Mitgliedsorganisationen in 43 Mitgliedstaaten zusammengeschlossen sind. Das deutsche Netzwerk umfasst etwa 150 Mitglieder: Darunter finden sich Vereine, Stiftungen, Institute oder Medien, die in den Bereichen Kunst und Kultur, Migration, interreligiöser Dialog, Jugendarbeit und politische Bildung mit Partnern aus dem Mittelmeerraum arbeiten. Innerhalb des deutschen Netzwerks gibt es drei Cluster – „Kunst und Kultur“, „Migration“ sowie das neue vom ZAK initiierte Cluster „Wissenschaft“. In diesen Clustern haben sich Mitglieder zusammengeschlossen, welche die Ziele der Stiftung aus spezifischen Perspektiven heraus verfolgen. Die Cluster stehen grundsätzlich allen Mitgliedern offen. Ein internationaler Austausch wird durch konkrete Projekte und das jährlich stattfindende Gesamtnetzwerktreffen gefördert.

Seit 2006 ist das ZAK Mitglied im deutschen Netzwerk der Anna Lindh Stiftung. Im März 2012 wurden Prof. Dr. Caroline Y. Robertson-von Trotha und Swenja Zaremba zu den neuen Koordinatorinnen des Netzwerks gewählt. Seit einigen Monaten verstärkt zudem Mirjam Gruhler das Koordinationsteam.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

am, 22.08.2013

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Anna Moosmüller
ZAK | Zentrum für Angewandte Kulturwissenschaft und Studium Generale
Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Tel.: +49 721 608-48027
Fax: +49 721 608-44811
E-Mail: anna moosmuellerKhy9∂kit edu