Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseSwv5∂kit edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 105/2013

Largest PV Facility for Own Consumption in Germany

KIT Installs Solar Modules of about 1 Megawatt Power / Research Cooperation with Module Manufacturer SOLARWATT / Additional Storage System Planned
2013_105_Groesste_Eigenverbrauchs-PV-Anlage_Deutschlands_72dpi
All the power generated by the photovoltaic facility will be used to cover KIT’s own consumption. (Photo: M. Lober/KIT)

Renewable energies and electric energy storage are central research topics of KIT. Now, KIT is transferring its theoretical findings into practice: KIT will build the largest photovoltaics facility for own consumption in Germany and produce energy from renewable sources for its own supply. In cooperation with the module manufacturer SOLARWATT, the new facility will also be used to study how service life and grid compatibility of photovoltaics systems can be enhanced.

 

“The photovoltaics facility for own consumption does not only represent a research project of KIT, it also marks the start of the energy turnaround for KIT’s own power supply,” says Professor Eberhard Umbach, President of KIT. “Moreover, this project makes sense from the economic point of view, as we are reducing our high power costs.”

 

“Modern photovoltaics modules based on German know-how are a stand-alone feature on the international market,” Detlef Neuhaus, Chief Executive Officer of SOLARWATT, says. “Joint research based on a facility of this size in cooperation with KIT enables us to maintain our knowledge lead.”

 

“It is a primary mission of KIT to develop viable technologies and accelerate commercialization,” explains Dr. Peter Fritz, Vice President for Research and Innovation at KIT. “Thanks to cooperation with SOLARWATT, we can demonstrate reasonable integration of photovoltaics in the overall system. This is indispensable for the success of the energy turnaround.”

 

The new photovoltaics facility for own consumption represents KIT’s investment in the future. Increasing energy costs presently are a big burden for all research institutions. This is particularly true for research using large-scale devices. This money is then lacking in the research budget for investments and staff. By using renewable energy sources, KIT can sustainably limit its power costs: In a first phase, photovoltaics modules of about 1 MW power will be installed and commissioned on the KIT premises by fall 2013. Over a period of one year, about 2% of KIT’s power consumption will be covered by this facility. In total, about EUR 1.5 million are invested. Annual costs for energy supply will be reduced by about EUR 200,000. The facility will have a service life of about 20 years.

 

“As a public research institution, we are not interested in competing with utilities,” emphasizes Dr. Olaf Wollersheim, who manages the first project phase at KIT. “The photovoltaics facility will not only be used to cover own power consumption, but also to conduct research.” In cooperation with SOLARWATT, a solar module field laboratory will be established. Solar modules of the latest state of the art will be installed, such as glass-glass modules, and studied with respect with their energy yield and aging behavior under real operation conditions. Research will also focus on how the angle of inclination and direction of the modules influences the production of solar power. It is aimed at developing regenerative energy systems of increased energy efficiency and longer service life of up to 30 years. Both will contribute to further reducing the costs of solar power.

 

“Photovoltaics only is one element of an entirely regenerative energy system for Germany, which stores electric power, supplies it in a need-tailored manner, and hence, reduces grid load,” explains project manager Wollersheim. Now, KIT possesses a unique infrastructure, in which novel electricity storage systems, intelligent power electronics, and system controls can be studied, developed together with German industry partners, and tested under real operation conditions.


Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is one of Europe’s leading energy research establishments. Research, education, and innovation at KIT foster the energy turnaround and reorganization of the energy system in Germany. KIT links excellent competences in engineering and science with know-how in economics, the humanities, and social science as well as law. The activities of the KIT Energy Center are organized in seven topics: Energy conversion, renewable energies, energy storage and distribution, efficient energy use, fusion technology, nuclear power and safety, and energy systems analysis. Clear priorities lie in the areas of energy efficiency and renewable energies, energy storage technologies and grids, electric mobility, and enhanced international cooperation in research.


Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

kes, 16.08.2013

Press contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
Redakteur/Pressereferent
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail: schinarakisJbv2∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseLwf9∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 105/2013

Größte Eigenverbrauchs-PV-Anlage Deutschlands

Das KIT installiert bis Herbst Solarmodule mit rund 1 Megawatt Leistung / Forschungskooperation mit Modulhersteller SOLARWATT / ergänzendes Speichersystem geplant
Der Strom aus der Photovoltaikanlage wird zu 100 Prozent im eigenen Netz des KIT verbraucht. (M. Lober/KIT)
Der Strom aus der Photovoltaikanlage wird zu 100 Prozent im eigenen Netz des KIT verbraucht. (M. Lober/KIT)

Erneuerbare Energien und elektrische Energiespeicherung bilden zentrale Forschungsthemen des KIT. Nun überführt das KIT die theoretischen Erkenntnisse auch in die Praxis: Mit der Errichtung der größten deutschen Eigenverbrauchs-Photovoltaik-Anlage erweitert das KIT seine eigene Energieversorgung um erneuerbare Energien. In Kooperation mit dem Modulhersteller SOLARWATT wird an der neuen Anlage auch erforscht, wie sich Lebensdauer und Netzkompatibilität der Photovoltaik steigern lassen.

 

„Mit der Photovoltaikanlage im Eigenverbrauch läutet das KIT im Sinne eines Forschungsprojekts die Energiewende auch für die eigene Stromversorgung ein“, sagt Prof. Eberhard Umbach, Präsident des KIT. „Zudem ist das Vorhaben auch betriebswirtschaftlich vorteilhaft, denn wir reduzieren unsere hohen Stromkosten.“

 

„Moderne Photovoltaikmodule mit deutschem Know-how sind ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal auf dem internationalen Markt“, sagt Detlef Neuhaus Geschäftsführer von SOLARWATT. „Die gemeinsame Forschung mit dem KIT an einer Anlage dieser Größe öffnet uns die Möglichkeit, den Wissensvorsprung zu halten.“

 

„Eine Kernaufgabe des KIT ist es, zukunftsweisende Technologien zu entwickeln und die Markteinführung zu beschleunigen“, erklärt Dr. Peter Fritz, Vize-Präsident für Forschung und Innovation am KIT. „Dank der Kooperation mit SOLARWATT können wir die sinnvolle Einbindung der Photovoltaik in ein Gesamtsystem demonstrieren; eine unabdingbare Voraussetzung für das Gelingen der Energiewende.“

 

Die neue Eigenbedarfs-Photovoltaikanlage stellt für das KIT eine Investition in die Zukunft dar. Steigende Energiekosten sind derzeit für alle Forschungseinrichtungen eine große Belastung, insbesondere für die Forschung mit Großgeräten. Dieses Geld fehlt dann im Forschungsbudget für Investitionen und Personal. Mit erneuerbarer Energie kann das KIT hingegen seine Stromkosten nachhaltig begrenzen: In einer ersten Phase werden im Herbst 2013 ca. 1 Megawatt Photovoltaikmodule auf dem KIT-Gelände installiert und in Betrieb genommen. Damit ließen sich im Verlauf eines Jahres etwa 2 Prozent des Strombedarfs des KIT decken. Insgesamt werden rund 1,5 Mio. Euro investiert. Dem steht eine jährliche Kostenersparnis von ca. 200.000 Euro gegenüber, bei einer Anlagenlebensdauer von ca. 20 Jahren.

 

„Als öffentliche Forschungseinrichtung haben wir kein Interesse, als Energieversorger tätig zu werden“, stellt Dr. Olaf Wollersheim klar, KIT-Projektleiter der ersten Projektphase. „Daher dient die Photovoltaikanlage der Eigenbedarfsstromversorgung, aber vor allem auch der Forschung.“ In Kooperation mit SOLARWATT wird im Rahmen der neuen Solaranlage auch ein Solarmodul-Freilandlabor eingerichtet. Dort werden Solarmodule neuester Technologien installiert, etwa Glas-Glas-Module und unter realen Einsatzbedingungen hinsichtlich Energieertrag und Alterungsverhalten untersucht. Auch wird erforscht, wie durch die Wahl von Neigungswinkel und Himmelsrichtung der Module, eine netzschonende Erzeugung des anfallenden Solarstroms erreicht werden kann. Ziel ist die Entwicklung regenerativer Energiesysteme mit höherer Energieeffizienz und verlängerter Nutzungsdauer von bis zu 30 Jahren. Beide Effekte werden zur weiteren Kostensenkung von Strom aus Photovoltaik beitragen.

 

„Die Photovoltaik ist nur der erste Baustein eines vollständig regenerativen Energiesystems für Deutschland, welches elektrische Energie speichert, bedarfsgerecht zur Verfügung stellt und damit die Netzbelastung reduziert“, erklärt Projektleiter Wollersheim. Nun verfügt das KIT über eine einzigartige Infrastruktur, in der neuartige elektrische Energiespeicher, intelligente Leistungselektronik und Systemsteuerung erforscht, mit deutschen Industriepartnern gemeinsam entwickelt und unter realen Betriebsbedingungen erprobt werden können.

 

In der Energieforschung ist das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) eine der europaweit führenden Einrichtungen. Das KIT unterstützt die Energiewende und den Umbau des Energiesystems in Deutschland durch seine Aktivitäten in Forschung, Lehre und Innovation. Hier verbindet das KIT exzellente technik- und naturwissenschaftliche Kompetenzen mit wirtschafts-, geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichem sowie rechtswissenschaftlichem Fachwissen. Die Arbeit des KIT-Zentrums Energie gliedert sich in sieben Topics: Energieumwandlung, erneuerbare Energien, Energiespeicherung und Energieverteilung, effiziente Energienutzung, Fusionstechnologie, Kernenergie und Sicherheit sowie Energiesystemanalyse. Klare Prioritäten liegen in den Bereichen Energieeffizienz und erneuerbare Energien, Energiespeicher und Netze, Elektromobilität sowie dem Ausbau der internationalen Forschungszusammenarbeit.

 

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

kes, 16.08.2013

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseGml3∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.