Press Release 104/2013

EUR 27.4 Million for Materials Science Center at KIT

State and Federation Finance New Building of 4500 Square Meters on Campus South – Research to Focus on Materials for Future Energy Systems
2013_104_27.4_Millionen_Euro_fuer_Materialwissenschaftliches_Zentrum_am_KIT_72dpi(1)
The new building will have an energy-efficient building shell. (Figure: VALENTYNARCHITEKTEN GmbH)

The Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Finance and Economics approved of the new building of the Materials Science Center for Energy Systems at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). The building costs of EUR 27.4 million will be shared equally between the Federal Republic of Germany and the State of Baden-Württemberg. The funds have been granted under a competition launched by the State Ministry of Science, Research, and the Arts to promote innovative future technologies in the state. The Materials Science Center for Energy Systems (MZE) will focus in particular on materials for future energy supply. Particular attention will be paid to rechargeable battery systems and printed solar cells.

 

“Development of the next-generation energy system is a central concern of KIT’s research. Many problems associated with the transformation of the energy system will only be solved by materials sciences,” KIT President Professor Eberhard Umbach says. “That is why we gratefully acknowledge support by the state and the federation for the establishment of the Materials Science Center for Energy Systems at KIT.”

 

“At the MZE, we want to study the complete process chain from the molecule to the component,” says Professor Michael J. Hoffmann, coordinator of the MZE. MZE research will focus on printed organic solar cells and batteries of high energy density based on nanostructured materials. Chemists, physicists, materials researchers, and process engineers will cooperate not only to develop new materials. They will also design appropriate processes to produce these materials efficiently on a large scale and use them in energy systems. All in all, 17 chairs from five KIT departments will be involved in the MZE research activities.

 

“Building of the MZE will strengthen Karlsruhe as a location of research,“ State Minister of Finance, Nils Schmid, emphasized in Stuttgart today. The total costs in the amount of EUR 27.4 million will be financed at an equal ratio from state funds under the Zu-kunftsoffensive IV program and from federal supraregional funds to promote research. The building will have a usable area of about 4500 square meters and accommodate research groups, laboratories, office rooms. It will be built on the state-owned area behind the Audimax on KIT Campus South. In 2011, architects were invited to compete for the new project. The design that won will now be realized. The new building will have an energy-efficient building shell and efficient installations. Construction will be completed in 2015.

 

Two other materials science centers will be built on the premises of the universities of Heidelberg and Freiburg.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, kes, 15.08.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehne does-not-exist.kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presse does-not-exist.kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Presseinformation 104/2013

27,4 Millionen Euro für Materialwissenschaftliches Zentrum am KIT

Land und Bund finanzieren neues Gebäude mit 4.500 Quadratmetern auf dem Campus Süd –Materialien für künftige Energiesysteme stehen im Mittelpunkt der Forschung
Der Neubau sieht unter anderem eine energieeffiziente Gebäudehülle vor (Abbildung: VALENTYNARCHITEKTEN GmbH)
Der Neubau sieht unter anderem eine energieeffiziente Gebäudehülle vor (Abbildung: VALENTYNARCHITEKTEN GmbH)

Das Ministerium für Finanzen und Wirtschaft Baden-Württemberg hat die Freigabe für den Neubau des Materialwissenschaftlichen Zentrums für Energiesysteme am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) erteilt. Der Neubau für 27,4 Millionen Euro wird jeweils zur Hälfte aus Landes- und Bundesmitteln finanziert. Ausgelobt wurden diese Mittel im Rahmen eines Wettbewerbs des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst, um innovative Zukunftstechnologien im Land zu stärken. Das Materialwissenschaftliche Zentrum für Energiesysteme (MZE) wird insbesondere zu Materialien für die künftige Energieversorgung forschen. Schwerpunkte sind etwa wiederaufladbare Batteriesysteme und druckbare Solarzellen.

 

„Die Entwicklung des Energiesystems der Zukunft ist ein zentrales Anliegen der Forschung am KIT. Zur Lösung vieler Fragen, vor die uns die Energiewende stellt, werden die Materialwissenschaften entscheidend beitragen“, so KIT-Präsident Professor Eberhard Umbach. „Deshalb freuen wir uns über die große Unterstützung von Land und Bund beim Aufbau des Materialwissenschaftlichen Zentrums für Energiesysteme am KIT.“

 

„Im MZE wollen wir die komplette Prozesskette vom Molekül bis zum Bauteil betrachten“, sagt Professor Michael J. Hoffmann, Koordinator des MZE. Die beiden Forschungsschwerpunkte des MZE liegen auf druckbaren, organischen Solarzellen und Batterien mit hoher Energiedichte auf Basis von nanostrukturierten Materialien. Dabei arbeiten Chemiker, Physiker, Materialwissenschaftler und Verfahrenstechniker zusammen, um nicht nur neue Materialen zu entwickeln, sondern auch die passenden Verfahren, um diese wirtschaftlich im großen Maßstab herzustellen und in Energiesystemen einzusetzen. Insgesamt werden 17 Lehrstühle aus fünf Fakultäten des KIT an der Forschung am MZE involviert sein.

 

„Mit dem Neubau des MZE stärken wir den Forschungsstandort Karlsruhe“, erklärte Finanzminister Nils Schmid heute in Stuttgart zur Baufreigabe. Der Bau für insgesamt 27,4 Millionen Euro wird zur Hälfte mit Landesmitteln der Zukunftsoffensive IV und zur anderen Hälfte mit Mitteln der überregionalen Forschungsförderung des Bundes finanziert. Das Gebäude mit rund 4.500 Quadratmetern Nutzfläche bietet Platz für Forschungsgruppen, Labore und Büroräume auf dem landeseigenen Gelände hinter dem Audimax auf dem Campus Süd des KIT. 2011 wurde ein Architektenwettbewerb für das Neubauprojekt durchgeführt, dessen Siegerentwurf nun umgesetzt wird. Der Neubau sieht eine energieeffiziente Gebäudehülle und effiziente Anlagentechnik vor. Das Gebäude soll im Jahr 2015 fertig gestellt werden.

 

Zwei weitere materialwissenschaftliche Zentren entstehen an der Universität Heidelberg und an der Universität Freiburg.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

le, kes, 15.08.2013
Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseGrn3∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin

Tel.: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Kontakt für diese Presseinformation:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
margarete lehneYgn1∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseUxi8∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.