Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 103/2013

HIGH-TOOL Optimizes European Transport Planning

KIT Coordinates Development of a Strategic Transport Model – Project Is Funded by EU with about EUR 2.5 Million
2013_103_HIGH-TOOL_optimiert_europaeische_Verkehrsplanung72dpi(3)
The input and output indicators of HIGH-TOOL are based on the “White Paper on Transport“ and other important European strategy documents. (Photo: R. Török/KIT)

Scientific competence supports politicians in making sustainable transport planning decisions: Within the framework of the HIGH-TOOL project coordinated by KIT, researchers develop a model to estimate impacts of political decisions on transport, economy, society, and the environment until the year of 2050. The project of three years’ duration is funded by the European Union with about EUR 2.5 million. Eight partners from five countries are involved in the research project.

 

How does the development of energy costs influence the market shares of road transport and railway transport? Will the Europe-wide introduction of motorway charges for private cars reduce carbon dioxide emissions? Decisions made in the transport sector have impacts for many decades. It is therefore important to plan measures over a long term and to estimate the impacts at an early point of time. This is done with the help of models that reproduce the impacts of transport policy measures on the computer. Such a model is now developed by scientists under the European project HIGH-TOOL (Strategic high-level transport model). In this way, the Directorate General for Mobility and Transport (DG MOVE) of the European Commission will be provided with a quantitative tool to assess the impacts of political measures on transport, economy, society, and the environment in the long term.

 

The project of eight partners from Germany, the Netherlands, Belgium, Spain, and Hungary is coordinated by the Network Economy Division of the KIT Institute for Economic Policy Research (ECON). HIGH-TOOL is funded by the European Union under the 7th Research Framework Programme with a total of EUR 2.5 million. The project of three years’ duration started this spring.

 

“The prognosis horizon of HIGH-TOOL is the year 2050,” explains project coordinator Dr. Eckhard Szimba, Section Head of the Network Economy Division of ECON. The EU plans to reduce emissions in the transport sector by 60% until 2050. Other strategic objectives are the creation of a single European transport area, further increase of transport safety, and the promotion of innovations in the transport sector. These goals are defined in the “2011 White Paper on Transport” and in the “Roadmap for Moving to a Low-carbon Economy in 2050”. They are the basis of the input and output indicators of HIGH-TOOL. The model is to help pre-select political options. The options selected will then be evaluated with the help of more detailed models.

 

HIGH-TOOL is supplied as an open-source model and shall also be used by non-experts. The tool will consist of the modules of transport offers, transport demand, demography, and economy and of several assessment modules. “Apart from its coordinating role, KIT is involved in all areas of development,” Project Coordinator Szimba says. In addition, KIT is responsible for the module considering passenger transport demands. The model is developed successively in close cooperation with future users. In an extensive validation phase, quality of the results, robustness, accuracy, and consistency of the prognosis, and user friendliness will be tested. The development of HIGH-TOOL is accompanied by a scientific advisory board of experts in transport policy, transport modeling, and the assessment of transport policies.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 13.08.2013
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseTtz4∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Kosta Schinarakis
Redakteur/Pressereferent
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakisBhp7∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseZbc2∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Projektleitung KIT Science Week

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseYil9∂kit edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

Anleitung RSS-Feed einbinden

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 103/2013

HIGH-TOOL optimiert europäische Verkehrsplanung

KIT koordiniert die Entwicklung eines strategischen Verkehrsmodells – EU fördert das Projekt mit rund 2,5 Millionen Euro
Auf dem „Weißbuch Verkehr“ und weiteren wichtigen europäischen Strategiedokumenten basieren die Input- und Output-Indikatoren von HIGH-TOOL. (Foto: R. Török/KIT)
Auf dem „Weißbuch Verkehr“ und weiteren wichtigen europäischen Strategiedokumenten basieren die Input- und Output-Indikatoren von HIGH-TOOL. (Foto: R. Török/KIT)

Wissenschaftliche Kompetenz unterstützt die Politik bei Entscheidungen für eine nachhaltige Verkehrsplanung: In dem vom KIT koordinierten Projekt HIGH-TOOL entwickeln Forscher ein Modell, mit dem sich die Wirkungen von politischen Maßnahmen auf Verkehr, Wirtschaft, Gesellschaft und Umwelt bis zum Jahr 2050 abschätzen lassen. Die Europäische Union fördert das auf drei Jahre angelegte Vorhaben mit insgesamt rund 2,5 Millionen Euro. An dem Forschungsvorhaben sind acht Partner aus fünf Ländern beteiligt.

 

Wie beeinflusst die Entwicklung der Energiepreise den Marktanteil von Straße und Schiene? Verringert die Einführung einer europaweiten Pkw-Maut auf Autobahnen die Kohlendioxid-Emissionen? Entscheidungen im Verkehrssektor wirken sich über Jahrzehnte aus. Umso wichtiger ist es, Maßnahmen langfristig zu planen und die Folgen frühzeitig abzuschätzen. Dabei helfen Modelle, die Wirkungsmechanismen verkehrspolitischer Maßnahmen im Computer abbilden. Ein solches Modell entwickeln Wissenschaftler im europäischen Projekt HIGH-TOOL (Strategic high-level transport model). Ziel ist, der Generaldirektion Mobilität und Verkehr (GD MOVE) der Europäischen Kommission ein quantitatives Instrument zur Verfügung zu stellen, um die Wirkungen von politischen Maßnahmen auf Verkehr, Wirtschaft, Gesellschaft und Umwelt langfristig abzuschätzen.

 

Der Bereich Netzwerkökonomie am Institut für Volkswirtschaftslehre (ECON) des KIT koordiniert das Projekt, an dem insgesamt acht Partner aus Deutschland, den Niederlanden, Belgien, Spanien und Ungarn beteiligt sind. Die Europäische Union fördert HIGH-TOOL im 7. Forschungsrahmenprogramm mit insgesamt rund 2,5 Millionen Euro. Im Frühjahr dieses Jahres ist das auf drei Jahre angelegte Projekt gestartet.

 

„Prognosehorizont von HIGH-TOOL ist das Jahr 2050“, erklärt Projektkoordinator Dr. Eckhard Szimba, Gruppenleiter im Bereich Netzwerkökonomie am ECON des KIT. Bis 2050 will die EU die Emissionen im Verkehrssektor um 60 Prozent verringern. Weitere strategische Ziele sind, einen einheitlichen europäischen Verkehrsraum zu schaffen, die Verkehrssicherheit weiter zu erhöhen sowie Innovationen im Verkehrsbereich zu fördern. Im „Weißbuch Verkehr 2011“ sowie in der „Roadmap for moving to a low-carbon economy in 2050“ sind die Ziele festgeschrieben; darauf basieren die Input- und Output-Indikatoren von HIGH-TOOL. Das Modell soll dazu dienen, eine Vorauswahl aus verschiedenen politischen Optionen zu treffen. Die ausgewählten Optionen werden dann mithilfe von detaillierteren Modellen evaluiert.

 

HIGH-TOOL wird als Open-Source-Modell bereitgestellt und soll auch für Nichtexperten bedienbar sein. Das Tool wird aus mehreren Modulen zu Verkehrsangebot, Verkehrsnachfrage, Demografie und Wirtschaft sowie verschiedenen Bewertungsmodulen aufgebaut.. „Neben der Rolle als Koordinator ist das KIT in alle Bereiche der Entwicklung involviert“, berichtet Projektkoordinator Szimba. Darüber hinaus zeichnet das KIT für das Modul zur Nachfrage im Personenverkehr verantwortlich. Das Modell wird sukzessive und in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den künftigen Nutzern entwickelt. In einer umfangreichen Validierungsphase werden die Qualität der Ergebnisse, die Vorhersagerobustheit, -genauigkeit und -konsistenz sowie die Benutzerfreundlichkeit getestet. Ein wissenschaftlicher Beirat von Experten der Verkehrspolitik, Verkehrsmodellierung und Bewertung von Verkehrspolitiken begleitet die Entwicklung von HIGH-TOOL.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

or, 13.08.2013

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Redakteur/Pressereferent
Tel.: +49 721 608-21165
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail: schinarakisTtw9∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
pressePvh7∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.