Press Release 095/2013

Efficient Lightweight Motors for Electric Vehicles

In Cooperation with Four Companies, KIT Develops Flexible Technologies for the Series Production of Lightweight Electric Motors under the “ProLeMo” Project

Large-scale implementation of electric mobility requires low-cost and flexible production of efficient electric drives. New lightweight construction concepts may reduce vehicle weight and, hence, energy consumption during acceleration. While lightweight construction of the car body has meanwhile become state of the art, future work will focus on reducing the weight of electric motors. Development of technologies for series production is the objective of the “ProLeMo” project, in which Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is one of the partners.


Stationary electric motors currently reach a high efficiency of up to 95%. Flexible series production of parts and models of electric motors, however, still is a big challenge in production technology. In addition, the ratio between motor power and motor weight – the power to weight ratio – is to be increased in order to reduce the weight of the complete vehicle. “For this purpose, new materials have to be integrated in the motors. Moreover, production of motor components has to be simplified,” Manuel Peter from KIT’s Institute of Production Science (wbk) explains. To master these challenges, the ProLeMo project partners from industry and science pursue a holistic and integrated interdisciplinary approach.

 

Under ProLeMo, the Institute of Production Science studies solutions for the use of fiber-reinforced plastics in the electric motor. Within the next three years, the scientists will establish the process chain needed for the production of a demonstrator. It is planned to produce the rotor, stator, and housing with integrating cooling. The Institute of Vehicle System Technology (FAST) will develop components made of fiber composites. Use of modern simulation tools will guarantee that these components will meet the operation requirements.

 

The project partners possess the expertise required for the project. The project is coordinated by WITTENSTEIN cyber motor GmbH, a company specialized in the development and manufacture of permanently excited high-performance synchronous motors. In the area of injection molding technology, ARBURG GmbH + Co KG will work on alternative materials for motor components to be produced by injection molding. Cutting and fiber deposition work will be performed using the lasers and milling machines of the INDEX-Werke GmbH & Co. KG Hahn & Tessky. Aumann GmbH is responsible for the development of the process and machines to manufacture the coils required. On the part of research, the Institute of Production Science (wbk) and the Institute of Vehicle System Technology (FAST) of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) support the project that has a duration of three years.


The research project in the total amount of EUR 3.3 million is financed by the Federal Ministry of Economics (BMWi) providing EUR 1.7 million. The project is managed by the German Aerospace Center (DLR).


More information can be found at www.prolemo.de


The Mobility Systems Center pools KIT activities relating to vehicle technology. Presently, 40 KIT institutes with about 800 employees are working on methodological and technical fundamentals for tomorrow’s vehicles. It is their objective to develop concepts, technologies, methods, and processes for future mobility considering the complex interactions of vehicle, driver, traffic, and society.


Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 11.07.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehne does-not-exist.kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 095/2013

Effiziente Leichtbaumotoren für Elektrofahrzeuge

Im Verbundprojekt „ProLeMo“ entwickeln vier Unternehmen und das KIT flexible Produktiontechnologien für die Serienproduktion von Leichtbauelektromotoren

Zur flächendeckenden Realisierung der Elektromobilität ist die kostengünstige und flexible Produktion effizienter elektrischer Antriebstechnik integraler Bestandteil. Unter anderem können neue Leichtbaukonzepte das Fahrzeuggewicht senken und somit den Energieverbrauch beim Beschleunigen reduzieren. Neben den bisherigen Leichtbaubereichen, wie der Karosserie, wird es künftig auch um die Gewichtsoptimierung des Elektromotors gehen. Serienfähige Produktionstechnologien zu entwickeln, ist Ziel des Projektes „ProLeMo“, an dem das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) beteiligt ist.


Während derzeitige stationäre Elektromotoren bereits einen hohen Wirkungsgrad von bis zu 95 Prozent aufweisen, ist die Realisierung einer stückzahl- und variantenflexiblen Serienproduktion noch eine große Herausforderung für die Produktionstechnik. Gleichzeitig geht es darum, das Verhältnis von Motorleistung zu Motorgewicht – das Leistungsgewicht – zu steigern und so zur Reduzierung des Fahrzeuggewichts beizutragen. „Hierzu müssen einerseits neue Werkstoffe in die Motoren integriert werden und andererseits muss eine vereinfachte Fertigung für die Motorkomponenten erreicht werden“, erläutert Manuel Peter vom wbk Institut für Produktionstechnik am KIT. Zur Lösung dieser Herausforderungen setzt das Verbundprojekt ProLeMo mit Partnern aus Unternehmen und Wissenschaft auf einen ganzheitlichen und umfangreichen Ansatz der interdisziplinären Bearbeitung. Ziel ist die Steigerung des Leistungsgewichts von Elektromotoren bei einer gleichzeitigen Vereinfachung der Fertigungsprozesse.


Das wbk untersucht in ProLeMo Lösungen für den Einsatz von faserverstärktem Kunststoff im Elektromotor. In den kommenden drei Jahren bauen die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler die dazu notwendige Prozesskette zur Fertigung eines Demonstrators auf. Dadurch sollen die betrachteten Motorkomponenten Rotor, Stator und Gehäuse mit integrierter Kühlung hergestellt werden können. Das Institut für Fahrzeugsystemtechnik (FAST) entwickelt die Bauteile aus Faserverbundwerkstoffen, und stellt durch den Einsatz moderner Simulationswerkzeuge sicher, dass sie den Anforderungen gewachsen sind.


Im Projekt decken die beteiligten Partner alle dazu benötigten Kompetenzen ab. Verbundkoordinator ist das Unternehmen WITTENSTEIN cyber motor GmbH, das auf die Entwicklung und Fertigung von permanenterregten Hochleistungs-Synchronmotoren spezialisiert ist. Im Bereich der Spritzgießtechnik arbeitet die ARBURG GmbH + Co KG an der Verwendung alternativer, spritzgießbarer Werkstoffe für Motorkomponenten mit. Für Zerspanungsaufgaben sowie die Faserablage sind die INDEX-Werke GmbH & Co. KG Hahn & Tessky im Bereich der Drehmaschinen und Dreh-Fräs-Zentren am Projekt beteiligt. Die Prozess- und Maschinenentwicklung zur Fertigung der benötigten Spulen übernimmt die Aumann GmbH. Forschungsseitig unterstützt das Institut für Produktionstechnik (wbk) und das Institut für Fahrzeugsystemtechnik (FAST) des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) das auf drei Jahre ausgelegte Projekt.


Gefördert wird das Forschungsprojekt mit einem Gesamtvolumen von 3,3 Millionen Euro vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft (BMWi) mit 1,7 Millionen Euro. Projektträger ist das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR).


Nähere Informationen finden Sie unter www.prolemo.de


Das Zentrum Mobilitätssysteme bündelt die fahrzeugtechnischen Aktivitäten des KIT: An den methodischen und technologischen Grundlagen für die Fahrzeuge der Zukunft arbeiten derzeit knapp 40 Institute mit rund 800 Mitarbeitern. Ziel ist es, Konzepte, Technologien, Methoden und Prozesse für die Mobilität der Zukunft zu erarbeiten. Die Wissenschaftler berücksichtigen dabei das komplexe Zusammenspiel von Fahrzeug, Fahrer, Verkehr, Infrastruktur und Gesellschaft. 


Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 500 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

le, 11.07.2013

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
margarete lehneUgl0∂kit edu