Press Release 089/2013

2013 Bertha Benz Prize Goes to Engineer from KIT

The Daimler and Benz Foundation Honors Dr. Friederike Brendel for Her Interdisciplinary Research into Radio Transmission Technologies
2013_089_Berta_Benz_Preis_2013_fuer_Ingenieurin_des_KIT_72dpi
Dr. Friederike Brendel. (Photo: Böhme/Daimler and Benz Foundation)

For her path-breaking work on radio transmission technologies, Dr. Friederike Brendel is granted the 2013 Bertha Benz Prize. The young engineer wrote her Ph. D. thesis on glass fiber-based high-frequency transmission systems in the millimeter wave range at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Based on her results, the data rate transmitted can be multiplied and rapid low-cost ports can be developed. Every year, this prize of the Daimler and Benz Foundation goes to an excellent Ph. D. thesis written by a young female engineer. The prize is endowed with EUR 10,000. It will be presented today, Thursday, July 04, at the Bertha Benz Lecture in Heidelberg.

 

The Ph. D. thesis “Millimeter Wave Radio-over-fiber Links Based on Mode-locked Laser Diodes” of Friederike Brendel spans several disciplines. She defended her thesis on January 23 this year at KIT’s Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Elektronik. Her work was embedded in a German-French Ph. D. project with the Institut Polytechnique de Grenoble. Today, the engineer works as a product manager with HBC-radiomatic GmbH, a manufacturer of radio systems, at Crailsheim. The Bertha Benz Prize of the Daimler and Benz Foundation is to acknowledge the path-breaking contribution of young female researchers to engineering sciences. The prize is named after Bertha Benz, whose technical expertise and entrepreneurial spirit decisively contributed to the public acceptance of the automobile.

 

Friederike Brendel’s Ph. D. thesis covers the transmission of radio signals in the millimeter wave range via glass fibers. Her research was motivated by constantly increasing requirements on communication in terms of maximum comfort and minimum impacts of radio signals on man’s living environment. “My scientific studies were aimed at reaching rapid and stable signal transmission and at increasing the data rate by several factors. On the other hand, it appeared desirable to restrict the radio range, i.e. to single rooms within an apartment,” Brendel explains. The development of inexpensive and rapid ports is now considered feasible by the young engineer.

 

Brendel’s work focuses on double signal conversion. Originally electric millimeter wave signals are converted into light information that is transmitted by optical fibers. At the output, this light information is made available in the form of analog millimeter waves again. For this purpose, the complete system has to be analyzed first. Then, the individual components, such as laser diodes or photodetectors, have to be characterized. The communication or transmission chain also requires the investigation of so-called modulation techniques, i.e. application of the high-frequency signals to be transmitted to the optical carrier signal, as well as studies of propagation effects via glass fibers networks. Stability of the modified and transported signal is of crucial importance.

 

In his opinion on Friederike Brendel’s Ph. D. thesis, Professor Thomas Zwick, Head of the Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Elektronik, writes: “The thesis spans several disciplines and covers classical high-frequency systems technology as well as laser physics, optical communication technology, telecommunications engineering, and areas of control technology. It was the major achievement of Mrs. Brendel to develop a comprehensive understanding of these areas, as the communication system studied by her is influenced by every individual component. The innovative signal stabilization solution developed by her reflects her analytical creativity. The respective patent application was filed in January 2012.”

 

About the Daimler and Benz Foundation

Stimuli for knowledge – the Daimler and Benz Foundation supports knowledge generation processes by specific stimuli. It concentrates on the support of young scientists, interdisciplinary cooperation projects, and research projects in various scientific disciplines. The present annual funding volume is about 3 million Euros. With assets in the amount of EUR 125 million, the operative foundation is one of the largest science-supporting foundations in Germany.

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 04.07.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehne does-not-exist.kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presse does-not-exist.kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 089/2013

Bertha Benz-Preis 2013 für Ingenieurin aus dem KIT

Daimler und Benz Stiftung zeichnet Dr. Friederike Brendel für fachgebietsübergreifende Forschung zu Funkübertragungstechniken aus
Dr. Friederike Brendel (Foto: Böhme/Daimler und Benz Stiftung)
Dr. Friederike Brendel (Foto: Böhme/Daimler und Benz Stiftung)

Für ihre wegweisende Arbeit zu Funkübertragungstechniken erhält Dr. Friederike Brendel den Bertha Benz-Preis 2013. Die junge Ingenieurin fertigte ihre Dissertation über glasfaserbasierte Hochfrequenz-Übertragungssysteme im Millimeterwellenbereich am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) an. Ihre Ergebnisse ermöglichen, die übertragene Datenrate zu vervielfachen und schnelle wie kostengünstige Netzzugänge zu entwickeln. Mit dem Preis zeichnet die Daimler und Benz Stiftung jedes Jahr die herausragende Promotion einer jungen Ingenieurin aus. Der Preis ist mit 10.000 Euro dotiert. Überreicht wird er am heutigen Donnerstag, 4. Juli, bei der Bertha Benz-Vorlesung in Heidelberg.

 

In ihrer Dissertation „Millimeter Wave Radio-over-Fiber Links based on Mode-Locked Laser Diodes“ hat Friederike Brendel einen weiten Bogen zwischen mehreren Fachgebieten gespannt. Ihre Forschungsarbeit wurde am 23. Januar dieses Jahres am Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Elektronik des KIT verteidigt und entstand im Rahmen eines deutsch-französischen Promotionsprojektes mit dem Institut Polytechnique de Grenoble. Die Ingenieurin arbeitet heute als Produktmanagerin bei HBC-radiomatic GmbH, einem Hersteller von Funksystemen, in Crailsheim. Mit dem Bertha Benz-Preis würdigt die Daimler und Benz Stiftung den wegweisenden Beitrag einer Nachwuchsforscherin zu den Ingenieurwissenschaften. Die Auszeichnung erinnert an die Pionierleistung von Bertha Benz, die mit technischem Sachverstand und Unternehmergeist entscheidend dazu beitrug, dass sich das Automobil durchsetzte.

 

Friederike Brendel befasste sich in ihrer Doktorarbeit mit der Übertragung von Funksignalen im Millimeterwellenbereich über Glasfasern. Hintergrund ihrer Forschung sind stetig steigende Anforderungen an die Kommunikation: Gefragt sind maximaler Komfort und möglichst geringe Belastung des menschlichen Lebensumfelds durch Funksignale. „In meinen wissenschaftlichen Untersuchungen ging es mir zum einen darum, möglichst schnelle und stabile Signalübertragungen zu erreichen, also die Datenrate um ein Vielfaches zu steigern. Zum anderen erschien es mir wünschenswert, die Funkreichweiten eng zu begrenzen, etwa auf einzelne Räume innerhalb einer Wohnung“, erklärt Brendel. Als praktische Anwendung ihrer Forschung sieht die junge Ingenieurin die Möglichkeit, kostengünstige und extrem schnelle Netzzugänge zu entwickeln.

 

Im Zentrum von Brendels Arbeit stand die doppelte Signalwandlung: Ursprünglich elektrische Millimeterwellensignale werden in Lichtinformation umgewandelt; diese wird über Lichtleiter transportiert. Im Ausgangsbereich wird die Lichtinformation dann wieder in Form analoger Millimeterwellen verfügbar gemacht. Dazu ist es erforderlich, zunächst das Gesamtsystem grundlegend zu analysieren, dann die einzelnen Komponenten, beispielsweise Laserdioden oder Photodetektoren, eingehend zu charakterisieren. Diese Kommunikations- oder auch Übertragungskette verlangt zudem die Untersuchung von sogenannten Modulationstechniken, also das Aufbringen der zu transportierenden hochfrequenten Signale auf das optische Trägersignal, sowie das Studium der Ausbreitungseffekte über Glasfasernetze. Von grundlegender Bedeutung ist bei allen solchen Systemen aber die Stabilität des modifizierten und transportierten Signals.

 

In einem Gutachten zu Friederike Brendels Dissertation heißt es: „Die Arbeit spannt einen weiten Bogen zwischen mehreren Fachgebieten wie klassischer Hochfrequenz-Systemtechnik, Laserphysik, optischer Kommunikationstechnik, Nachrichtentechnik sowie Teilgebieten der Regelungstechnik. Eine ganz wesentliche Leistung von Frau Brendel war es daher, ein umfassendes Verständnis in diesen Bereichen zu entwickeln, da das von ihr untersuchte Kommunikationssystem von jeder einzelnen Komponente maßgeblich beeinflusst wird. Insbesondere die von ihr entwickelte innovative Lösung zur Signalstabilisierung ist Zeugnis ihrer analytischen Kreativität und wurde im Januar 2012 als Patent eingereicht.“

 

Über die Daimler und Benz Stiftung
Impulse für Wissen – die Daimler und Benz Stiftung verstärkt Prozesse der Wissensgenerierung mithilfe zielgerichteter Stimuli. Sie konzentriert sich auf die Förderung junger Wissenschaftler, fachübergreifende Kooperationen sowie Forschungsinhalte aus unterschiedlichen wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen. Ihr jährlicher Förderaufwand beträgt derzeit etwa drei Millionen Euro. Mit einem Vermögen von rund 125 Millionen Euro zählt die operativ tätige Stiftung zu den größten wissenschaftsfördernden Stiftungen Deutschlands.

 

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

or, 04.07.2013

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneQbh2∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseXmg8∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.