Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 087/2013

Schrödinger Prize for Work on Nitrous Oxide Emissions

Five Ecosystems-climate Researchers around Professor Klaus Butterbach-Bahl from KIT Are Honored for Outstanding Interdisciplinary Research
2013_087_Schroedinger-Preis_fuer_Arbeit_ueber_Lachgasemissionen72dpi
Large-area grazing reduces nitrous oxide emission from steppes into the atmosphere, according to a long-term study of the researchers. The photo shows a sheep-run in Inner Mongolia / China. (Photo: Benjamin Wolf)

Five researchers around Professor Klaus Butterbach-Bahl from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) are granted the 2013 Stifterverband Science Award - Erwin Schrödinger Prize in the amount of EUR 50,000. With this award, the Stifterverband and Helmholtz Association recognize outstanding scientific achievements of researchers of various disciplines. The widely noted study by Butterbach-Bahl’s research team refuted the so far prevalent opinion that large-area grazing contributes to the constantly increasing nitrous oxide concentration in the atmosphere and, hence, to global warming.

 

The new president of Stifterverband, Andreas Barner, will hand over the award at the Helmholtz Annual Meeting on September 19 in Berlin. The study “Grazing-induced reduction of natural nitrous oxide release from continental steppe” was executed mainly by the biologist Professor Klaus Butterbach-Bahl and the geographer Dr. Michael Dannenmann from the Atmospheric Environmental Research Division of KIT’s Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK-IFU) as well as by the atmosphere physicist Professor Xunhua Zheng (Chinese Academy of Sciences), the chemist Professor Nicolas Brüggemann (Forschungszentrum Jülich), and geoecologist Dr. Benjamin Wolf (Empa/Zurich). While the project was carried out, Nicolas Brüggemann and Benjamin Wolf still worked at KIT. The findings obtained by combining ecosystems research with climate research were published in the journal “Nature” in 2010.

 

The scientists proved that, contrary to previous assumptions, livestock breeding in steppes does not increase the release of the greenhouse gas nitrous oxide into the atmosphere, but reduces it. Nitrous oxide (N2O), along with carbon dioxide (CO2) and methane, is among the gases contributing most to climate change and global warming. The greenhouse effect of a certain amount of N2O in the atmosphere exceeds that of the same amount of CO2 by a factor of about 300. About 60 % of anthropogenic nitrous oxide emissions are produced by agriculture, e.g. when microbes in the soil decompose nitrogen-containing feces of grazing sheep or cattle. Scientists consequently assumed that livestock breeding in steppes and prairies contributes to the constant increase of nitrous oxide concentration in the atmosphere.

 

In their research project funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG), the five researchers around Butterbach-Bahl proved that the situation is far more complex: Areas that are not used for livestock breeding actually release higher amounts of nitrous oxide over the year than areas on which animals are grazing. For their study, the scientists made measurements at several stations in the steppe of Inner Mongolia / China for a period of one year. They found that previous short-term studies had simply ignored the fact that the release of considerable amounts of nitrous oxide from steppe soil into the atmosphere is a natural process and that most of this natural emission is caused by the thawing period in spring.

 

It is exactly this emission that is reduced considerably by grazing, as was shown by the five researchers in their study: When animals are grazing the areas, they reduce the height of the grass. As a result, the snow is carried away by the wind more easily. The thinner snow cover reduces insulation of the grazing areas in the long and cold winter. Hence, soils are colder by up to 10°C, Butterbach-Bahl explains. “During the thawing period in March, less melting water is produced. This makes the soils drier,” the KIT researcher points out. “The cold and the aridity inhibit microbial activities: Less nitrous oxide is produced.”

 

The scientists around Butterbach-Bahl assume that previous calculations overestimated nitrous oxide emission from grazing areas by about 72 %. Still, it is a fact that nitrous oxide concentration in the atmosphere is increasing constantly. To understand this, much more research work remains to be done, Butterbach-Bahl emphasizes. Intensified animal husbandry will not solve the problem, as large amounts of methane will be released. Moreover, overgrazing of steppes causes soil degradation and high losses of the soil’s carbon reserves.

 

About the Stifterverband Science Award – Erwin Schrödinger Prize

Since 1999, the Helmholtz Association and Stifterverband have been granting the Erwin Schrödinger Prize to recognize outstanding scientific achievements and technological innovations at the interface of various disciplines in medicine, natural sciences, and engineering. Work must have been accomplished by representatives of at least two disciplines. The prize money is donated alternately by Stifterverband and the Helmholtz Association, the prize is awarded annually. The prize winners can freely dispose of the money in the amount of EUR 50,000. Every year, the prize is presented officially at the Helmholtz Annual Meeting.

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) pools its three core tasks of research, higher education, and innovation in a mission. With about 9,300 employees and 25,000 students, KIT is one of the big institutions of research and higher education in natural sciences and engineering in Europe.

KIT – The Research University in the Helmholtz Association

or, 02.07.2013
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseBcm3∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 087/2013

Schrödinger-Preis für Arbeit über Lachgasemissionen

Fünf Ökosystem-Klimaforscher um Professor Klaus Butterbach-Bahl vom KIT für herausragende interdisziplinäre Untersuchung ausgezeichnet
Großflächige Beweidung verringert die Abgabe von Lachgas aus Steppengebieten an die Atmosphäre – dies ermittelten die Forscher bei einer Langzeituntersuchung. Das Bild zeigt eine Schafweide in der Inneren Mongolei/China. (Foto: Benjamin Wolf)
Großflächige Beweidung verringert die Abgabe von Lachgas aus Steppengebieten an die Atmosphäre – dies ermittelten die Forscher bei einer Langzeituntersuchung. Das Bild zeigt eine Schafweide in der Inneren Mongolei/China. (Foto: Benjamin Wolf)

Fünf Forscher um Professor Klaus Butterbach-Bahl vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) erhalten den mit 50 000 Euro dotierten Wissenschaftspreis des Stifterverbands – Erwin Schrödinger-Preis 2013. Mit dieser Auszeichnung würdigen der Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft und die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft gemeinsam herausragende wissenschaftliche Leistungen, an denen Forscher verschiedener Disziplinen beteiligt waren. In einer viel beachteten Untersuchung hat die Gruppe um Butterbach-Bahl die bisher herrschende Meinung widerlegt, dass großflächige Beweidung zur stetig wachsenden Lachgaskonzentration in der Atmosphäre und damit zur globalen Erderwärmung beiträgt.

 

Der neue Präsident des Stifterverbands, Andreas Barner, wird die Auszeichnung im Rahmen der Helmholtz-Jahrestagung am 19. September in Berlin verleihen. Bei der Untersuchung „Grazing-induced  reduction of natural nitrous oxide release from continental steppe“ wirkten der Biologe Professor Klaus Butterbach-Bahl und der Geograf Dr. Michael Dannenmann vom Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung – Atmosphärische Umweltforschung (IMK-IFU) des KIT sowie die Atmosphärenphysikerin Professorin Xunhua Zheng (Chinese Academy of Sciences), der Chemiker Professor Nicolas Brüggemann (Forschungszentrum Jülich) und der Geoökologe Dr. Benjamin Wolf (Empa/Zürich) federführend. Während der Laufzeit des Projekts waren Nicolas Brüggemann und Benjamin Wolf am KIT tätig. Die Ergebnisse der Arbeit, die Ökosystem- und Klimaforschung verbindet, publizierte die Fachzeitschrift „Nature“ 2010.

 

Die Wissenschaftler haben nachgewiesen, dass die Viehhaltung in Steppengebieten die Abgabe des Treibhausgases Lachgas an die Atmosphäre nicht – wie zuvor angenommen worden war –, erhöht, sondern im Gegenteil sogar verringert. Lachgas (N2O) gehört neben Kohlenstoffdioxid (CO2) und Methan zu den wichtigsten Gasen, die zu Klimawandel und Erderwärmung beitragen. So ist die Treibhauswirkung einer bestimmten Menge N2O in der Atmosphäre rund 300-mal stärker als die der gleichen Menge CO2.Vom Menschen verursachte Lachgasemissionen entstehen zu rund 60 Prozent in der Landwirtschaft, etwa wenn Mikroben im Boden stickstoffhaltige Exkremente weidender Schafe oder Rinder abbauen. Wissenschaftler hatten daher angenommen, dass auch die Viehhaltung in Steppen- und Präriegebieten dazu beiträgt, dass die Lachgaskonzentration in der Atmosphäre ständig steigt.

 

Dass der Sachverhalt komplexer ist, zeigten die fünf Forscher um Butterbach-Bahl im Rahmen ihrer von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) geförderten Forschergruppe: Flächen, die nicht zur Viehhaltung genutzt werden, emittieren über das Jahr verteilt tatsächlich größere Mengen Lachgas als beweidete Flächen. Für ihre Studie erhoben die Wissenschaftler ein ganzes Jahr lang Daten über mehrere Messstationen im Steppengebiet der Inneren Mongolei/China. Vorangegangene Kurzzeituntersuchungen hatten übersehen, dass die Emission erheblicher Lachgasmengen aus Steppenböden in die Atmosphäre einen natürlichen Prozess darstellt und dass ein Großteil der natürlichen Emission auf die Tauperiode im Frühjahr zurückzuführen ist.

 

Genau diese Emission wird durch Beweidung von Steppen deutlich verringert, wie die fünf Forscher in ihrer Studie gezeigt haben: Denn indem die Tiere die Flächen abweiden, vermindern sie die Grashöhe. Dadurch wird der Schnee leichter vom Wind weggetragen. Unter der dünneren Schneedecke sind die beweideten Böden im langen und kalten Winter schlechter isoliert und daher bis zu zehn Grad Celsius kälter, wie Butterbach-Bahl erklärt. „Während der Tauperiode im März entsteht außerdem weniger Schmelzwasser, daher sind die Böden trockener“, erläutert der KIT-Forscher. „Kälte und Trockenheit aber hemmen die mikrobiellen Aktivitäten: Mithin entsteht weniger Lachgas.“

 

Die Wissenschaftler um Butterbach-Bahl gehen davon aus, dass frühere Berechnungen die Lachgasemission aus beweideten Graslandgebieten um rund 72 Prozent überschätzen. Allerdings ist es eine Tatsache, dass die Lachgaskonzentration in der Atmosphäre ständig steigt. Um dies zu verstehen, ist noch viel weitere Forschungsarbeit erforderlich, wie Butterbach-Bahl betont. Eine vermehrte Viehwirtschaft bringt nicht die Lösung des Problems, da sie große Mengen Methan freisetzt. Zudem führt Überweidung von Steppengebieten zu Bodendegradation und zu starken Verlusten an Bodenkohlenstoffvorräten.

 

Über den Wissenschaftspreis des Stifterverbands – Erwin Schrödinger-Preis

Seit 1999 zeichnen die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft und der Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft mit dem Erwin Schrödinger-Preis herausragende wissenschaftliche oder technisch innovative Leistungen aus, die in Grenzgebieten zwischen verschiedenen Fächern der Medizin, Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften erzielt worden sind und an denen Vertreter mindestens zweier Fachrichtungen mitgewirkt haben. Der Preis wird jährlich abwechselnd vom Stifterverband und der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft dotiert. Über das Preisgeld von 50 000 Euro können die Preisträger frei verfügen. Der Preis wird jährlich im Rahmen der Helmholtz-Jahrestagung offiziell übergeben.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

or, 02.07.2013
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseQgw7∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.