Press Release 083/2013

Günther Oettinger Is Heinrich Hertz Guest Professor

EU Commissioner for Energy To Give Two Lectures at KIT on July 02 and 08
2013_083_Guenther_Oettinger_ist_Heinrich-Hertz-Gastprofessor72dpi
EU Commissioner for Energy Günther Oettinger is Heinrich Hertz guest professor 2013. (Photo: European Commission)

The German and European energy strategy and the challenges relating to economics, currency, and energy supply faced by Europe in the next years will be covered by the 2013 Heinrich Hertz guest professorship of the Karlsruher Universitätsgesellschaft (KUG, Karlsruhe University Society) and Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). The EU Commissioner for Energy and former Baden-Württemberg Minister-President Günther Oettinger will lecture publicly on July 02 and 08, 18 hrs, at the Tulla-Hörsaal on KIT Campus South (building 11.40). In addition, he will hold a seminar for KIT students.

 

In his first lecture as Heinrich Hertz guest professor on Tuesday, July 02, Günther Oettinger will speak about “An Energy Strategy for Europe”. With the adoption of the Europe 2020 Strategy at the latest has the transformation of the energy system become one of the major concerns of European politics. Oettinger will explain the roadmap 2015, the resulting goals for 2020, and the package of measures to be taken to establish a European domestic energy market for supporting the transformation of the European energy system. In the EU Energy Roadmap, extension of the infrastructure, energy efficiency, and renewable energies play central roles. According to Oettinger, transformation of German energy supply may only be successful in cooperation with the European partners. However, the EU must not be an island in the energy and climate protection sectors, as its share in worldwide CO2 emissions is 11 percent only and EU average import dependence exceeds 50 percent.

 

Europe 2020: Challenges for Economics, Currency, and Energy” will be in the focus of the second lecture given by Günther Oettinger on Monday, July 08. The economic and financial crisis, the shale gas boom in the USA, young emerging economies with an enormous hunger for energy in Asia and in Latin America have led to a so far unknown worldwide competition for resources. Consequently, energy is of increasing importance to economic and security policies as well as to climate policy. The transformation of the European energy market towards a secure, sustainable, and still competitive system is one of the crucial projects in Europe according to Oettinger. It will influence almost all other policies of the Union. Oettinger will also hold a student session on Monday, July 08, 17.15 to 18.00 hrs (Redtenbacher-Hörsaal, building 10.91).

 

The Heinrich Hertz guest professorship is awarded every year to outstanding personalities from science, industry, culture, and politics for their services and contributions to research and society by the Karlsruhe University Society (KUG) and KIT. The KUG donated the guest professorship in the amount of EUR 7500 in 1987 on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the discovery of electromagnetic waves by the physicist Heinrich Hertz at Universität Karlsruhe. The Karlsruhe University Society (KUG) is an association supporting the interests of KIT in the university sector.

 

About the Person
Since February 2010, Günther Oettinger has been member of the European Commission and responsible for the energy sector. From 2005 to 2010, he was Minister-President of the State of Baden-Württemberg. Oettinger was born on October 15, 1953 in Stuttgart and studied law and economics in Tübingen. From 1984 to 2010, Oettinger was member of Baden-Württemberg State Parliament. From 1991 to 2005, he chaired the CDU group in the state parliament. From 1999 to 2006, Günther Oettinger chaired the Federal Media Policy Committee of the CDU in Germany. From 2006 to 2010, he was chairman of the Committee of Media Policy Experts of CDU in Germany. Since 2005, he has been member of the board and presidential committee of CDU Deutschland. In April 2005, Günther Oettinger took office of the Baden-Württemberg Minister-President. In February 2010, he went to Brussels to work as a EU Commissioner.

 


Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

lg, 25.06.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Monika Landgraf
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-41150
monika landgraf does-not-exist.kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presse does-not-exist.kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Presseinformation 083/2013

Günther Oettinger ist Heinrich-Hertz-Gastprofessor

Der EU-Kommissar für Energie hält zwei Vorträge am KIT – Termine sind der 2. und der 8. Juli
Der EU-Kommissar für Energie Günther Oettinger ist Inhaber der Heinrich-Hertz-Gastprofessur 2013. (Foto: European Commission)
Der EU-Kommissar für Energie Günther Oettinger ist Inhaber der Heinrich-Hertz-Gastprofessur 2013. (Foto: European Commission)

Die deutsche und die europäische Energiestrategie sowie die Herausforderungen, denen sich Europa in den kommenden Jahren in Wirtschaft, Währung und Energieversorgung stellen muss: Um diese Themen geht es bei der Heinrich-Hertz-Gastprofessur 2013 der Karlsruher Universitätsgesellschaft (KUG) und des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT). Der EU-Kommissar für Energie und frühere baden-württembergische Ministerpräsident Günther Oettinger hält dazu zwei öffentliche Vorträge am 2. und 8. Juli, jeweils um 18 Uhr, im Tulla-Hörsaal am KIT Campus Süd (Gebäude 11.40), zudem ein Seminar für KIT-Studierende.

 

In seinem ersten Vortrag als Heinrich-Hertz-Gastprofessor am Dienstag, 2. Juli, spricht Günther Oettinger über „Eine Energiestrategie für Europa“. Spätestens mit der Europa 2020-Strategie ist der Umbau des Energiesystems zu einem Kernanliegen der europäischen Politik geworden. Oettinger erläutert die Roadmap 2050, die daraus resultierenden 2020-Ziele sowie das Paket zur Schaffung eines europäischen Energiebinnenmarkts als tragende Säulen der europäischen Energiewende. In der EU Energy Roadmap spielen der Ausbau der Infrastruktur, Energieeffizienz und erneuerbare Energien zentrale Rollen. Der Umbau der deutschen Energieversorgung kann, wie Oettinger betont, nur im Verbund mit den europäischen Partnern gelingen. Allerdings kann auch die EU keine Insel im Energie- und Klimaschutzbereich sein: Zum einen ist sie derzeit nur noch für elf Prozent der weltweiten CO2-Emissionen verantwortlich. Zum anderen besteht eine Importabhängigkeit im EU-Durchschnitt von über 50 Prozent.

 

Um „Europa 2020: Herausforderungen für Wirtschaft, Währung und Energie“ geht es im zweiten Vortrag von Günther Oettinger am Montag, 8. Juli. Wirtschafts- und Finanzkrise, Shale Gas Boom in den USA, junge aufstrebende Volkswirtschaften mit großem Energiehunger – besonders im asiatischen Raum, aber auch in Lateinamerika – haben zu einem bisher nicht gekannten weltweiten Wettbewerb um Ressourcen geführt. Dadurch erhält das Thema Energie neben der klimapolitischen nun auch eine größere ökonomische und sicherheitspolitische Dimension. Die Transformation des europäischen Energiemarkts hin zu einem sicheren, nachhaltigen und dabei immer noch wettbewerbsfähigen System ist nach den Worten von Oettinger eines der entscheidenden Projekte Europas, denn es wirkt sich auf fast alle anderen Unions-Politiken aus. Zudem hält Oettinger am Montag, den 8. Juli von 17.15 bis 18.00 Uhr eine Student Session (Redtenbacher Hörsaal, Geb. 10.91).

 

Mit der Heinrich-Hertz-Gastprofessur ehren die Karlsruher Universitätsgesellschaft (KUG) und das KIT jedes Jahr herausragende Persönlichkeiten aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Kultur und Politik für ihre Leistungen und Beiträge in Forschung und Gesellschaft. Die KUG stiftete die mit 7 500 Euro dotierte Gastprofessur 1987 – im 100. Jahr nach der Entdeckung der elektromagnetischen Wellen durch den Physiker Heinrich Hertz an der Universität Karlsruhe. Die Karlsruher Universitätsgesellschaft (KUG) setzt sich als Förderverein für die universitären Belange des KIT ein. Günther Oettinger hat das mit der Gastprofessur verbundene Preisgeld an zwei gemeinnützige Einrichtungen gespendet.

 

Zur Person

Günther Oettinger ist seit Februar 2010 als Mitglied der Europäischen Kommission zuständig für Energie. Zuvor war er von 2005 bis 2010 Ministerpräsident des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Oettinger, geboren am 15. Oktober 1953 in Stuttgart, studierte Rechtswissenschaft und Volkswirtschaft in Tübingen. Von 1984 bis 2010 war Oettinger Mitglied des Landtags Baden-Württemberg. Von 1991 bis 2005 war er Vorsitzender der CDU-Landtagsfraktion. Günther Oettinger fungierte von 1999 bis 2006 als Vorsitzender des Bundesfachausschusses Medienpolitik der CDU Deutschland und von 2006 bis 2010 als Vorsitzender des medienpolitischen Expertenkreises der CDU Deutschland. Seit 2005 ist er Mitglied des Präsidiums und des Bundesvorstandes der CDU Deutschland. Im April 2005 trat Günther Oettinger das Amt des baden-württembergischen Ministerpräsidenten an. Im Februar 2010 wechselte er als EU-Kommissar nach Brüssel.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

lg, 25.06.2013
Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseRvz3∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin

Tel.: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Kontakt für diese Presseinformation:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafPik5∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseBky8∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.