Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 081/2013

KIT Acquires Two New EU ERC Starting Grants

Projects Focus on Capillary Suspensions and Microstructures for High-throughput Screening of Cells – EUR 1.5 Million Each for Five Years

Dr. Erin Koos und Dr. Pavel Levkin vom KIT erhalten einen ERC Starting Grant der EU, um ihre Forschergruppen auszubauen. (Bilder: KIT) Dr. Erin Koos und Dr. Pavel Levkin vom KIT erhalten einen ERC Starting Grant der EU, um ihre Forschergruppen auszubauen. (Bilder: KIT)

Dr. Erin Koos and Dr. Pavel Levkin from KIT receive an ERC Starting Grant of the EU to extend their research groups. (Photos: KIT)

 

Capillary suspensions are used to specifically adjust the flow behavior of materials and to develop new products, such as inks for printed electronics or microporous ceramics. Such suspensions are studied by a team of scientists under the di-rection of Dr. Erin Koos. The research group headed by Dr. Pavel Levkin focuses on microstructures with hydrophilic and hydrophobic properties for the high-throughput screening of cells. For both projects, KIT has now been awarded an ERC Starting Independent Researcher Grant each.

 

For a period of five years, the projects will be funded with about EUR 1.5 million each. The Starting Independent Researcher Grant of the European Research Council (ERC) is part of the “Ideas” initiative under the 7th EU Research Framework Programme. It is to support promising projects of young researchers. Starting grants are among the most sought-after funds in Europe. The funds are to be used to establish independent excellent research teams. In 2013, the Starting Grant was awarded for the sixth time. More than 3000 proposals were submitted. Only about one tenth will be funded. KIT scientists also acquired ERC grants in previous rounds.

 

The research group “Capillary Suspensions: A Novel Route for Ver-satile, Cost-efficient, and Environmentally Friendly Material Design (CapS)” headed by Dr. Erin Koos at the Institute for Mechanical Process Engineering (MVM) of KIT studies novel suspensions for the production of customized, inexpensive, and environmentally friendly materials. Suspensions, i.e. mixtures of a liquid and solids that are finely distributed inside, are the basis of various innovative materials, such as nanotechnological products, coatings, adhesives as well as products used in daily life, e.g. food and cosmetics. The flow behavior of a suspension has to be adjusted precisely to the production method and the desired properties of the product.

 

So-called capillary suspensions may revolutionize material design: If a small volume of a liquid (less than 1 percent) is added to the continuous phase of a suspension, rheological characteristics are changed. This means that the flow of the suspension is modified. A highly fluid, weakly elastic suspension turns into a gel-like structure with highly elastic properties. With an increasing volume of the phase added, the yield point and viscosity increase by several orders of magnitude. This may be explained by capillary forces between both liquids and the solid. In contact with narrow pipes, gaps, or cavities, liquids exhibit a special behavior that results from the surface tension of the liquids and interfacial tension between the liquids and the solid surface.

 

By means of capillary suspensions, flow properties can be adjusted specifically, mixtures can be stabilized, phase separation can be avoided, and additives are no longer required. Capillary suspensions are the basis of innovative products, such as inks for printed electronics without conventional polymer or surfactant stabilizers, highly porous, open-pored sintering materials for filters, catalysts, and heat exchangers, plastic films with a small fraction of softeners or low-fat spreads based on water without emulsifiers.

 

The Helmholtz research group “Chemical Engineering of Biofunctional Materials” headed by Dr. Pavel Levkin from the Institute of Toxicology and Genetics (ITG) of KIT develops a new platform for high-throughput screening of living cells. This means that ten thousands up to millions of genetic, biochemical or pharmacological tests are performed automatically. High-throughput screening accelerates fundamental biological research and the discovery of new medical substances. About half of all high-throughput screenings are assays with living cells. The conventional methods used so far have been associated with a high expenditure and various limitations. The research group of Dr. Pavel Levkin applies novel microstructures for high-throughput screening of cells. These microstructures have both hydrophobic and hydrophilic properties.

 

So-called superhydrophobic/superhydrophilic microarrays produce highly dense fields of microfine droplets (droplet microarrays) or microfine hydrogel pads (hydrogel microarrays). The new platform combines hydrophilic microfibers, on which finest droplets are formed, with hydrophobic microfibers acting as barriers between the droplets. A tartan-like structure results. On smallest space, many isolated droplets can be arranged in arrays, their size and shape can be adjusted and miniaturized channels can be created. Every droplet acts as a minute three-dimensional test tube, in which the researchers can study the cells under various biochemical impacts.

 

By means of the platform to be developed, up to 300,000 experiments can be carried out at the same time on a single microarray. Individual cell experiments will take place in completely isolated droplets at certain points of the microarray. Hydrophobic barriers prevent cross-contamination and cell migration. In analogy, a platform for high-throughput screening of cells in 3D hydrogel micropads will be developed.

 

Erin Koos studied engineering and was awarded her doctorate by the California Institute of Technology with a dissertation on the flow behavior of wet bulk materials. Since 2009, she has been working as a post-doc in the Applied Mechanics (AME) group of the KIT Institute for Mechanical Process Engineering. Her studies focus on capillary forces in suspensions.

 

Pavel Levkin studied chemistry and chemical engineering at the Moscow Institute of Fine Chemical Technology and received his doctorate at Tübingen University with a dissertation on novel chiral selectors and chiral polymers. He worked as a post-doc at the University of California, Berkeley. Since 2010, he has been heading the Helmholtz University Group “Chemical Engineering of Biofunctional Materials” at the Institute of Toxicology and Genetics (ITG) of KIT and the Chair for Applied Physical Chemistry of Heidelberg University.

 


 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 26,000 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

or, 24.06.2013

For further information, please contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 081/2013

KIT wirbt zwei neue ERC Starting Grants der EU ein

Projekte befassen sich mit kapillaren Suspensionen sowie mit Mikrostrukturen zur Hochdurchsatzuntersuchung von Zellen - Förderung von je 1,5 Millionen Euro über fünf Jahre

Dr. Erin Koos und Dr. Pavel Levkin vom KIT erhalten einen ERC Starting Grant der EU, um ihre Forschergruppen auszubauen. (Bilder: KIT) Dr. Erin Koos und Dr. Pavel Levkin vom KIT erhalten einen ERC Starting Grant der EU, um ihre Forschergruppen auszubauen. (Bilder: KIT)

Dr. Erin Koos und Dr. Pavel Levkin vom KIT erhalten einen ERC Starting Grant der EU, um ihre Forschergruppen auszubauen. (Bilder: KIT)

 

Kapillarsuspensionen ermöglichen, das Fließverhalten von Materialien gezielt einzustellen und neue Produkte zu entwickeln, wie Tinten für druckbare Elektronik oder mikroporöse Keramiken. Mit solchen Suspensionen befasst sich eine Forschungsgruppe unter Leitung von Dr. Erin Koos. Um Mikrostrukturen, die wasserliebende und wasserabstoßende Eigenschaften vereinen, zur Hochdurchsatzuntersuchung von Zellen geht es in einer von Dr. Pavel Levkin geleiteten Forschungsgruppe. Mit diesen beiden Projekten hat das KIT nun je einen ERC Starting Independent Researcher Grant eingeworben.

 

Die Projekte erhalten eine Förderung von je rund 1,5 Millionen Euro, verteilt auf fünf Jahre. Mit dem Starting Independent Researcher Grant fördert der Europäische Forschungsrat (European Research Council – ERC) über das Programm „Ideen“ im 7. EU-Forschungsrahmenprogramm wegweisende Projekte von Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftlern. Ziel des Starting Grants, der als eine der begehrtesten Förderungen in Europa gilt, ist der Aufbau oder die Festigung eines unabhängigen exzellenten Forschungsteams. Der Starting Grant 2013 ist die sechste Ausschreibung. Insgesamt gingen mehr als 3 000 Anträge ein; nur rund ein Zehntel wird gefördert. Bereits bei vergangenen Ausschreibungen waren Wissenschaftler des KIT erfolgreich.

 

Die Forschungsgruppe „Capillary suspensions: a novel route for versatile, cost efficient and environmentally friendly material design (CapS)" unter Leitung von Dr. Erin Koos am Institut für Mechanische Verfahrenstechnik und Mechanik (MVM) des KIT befasst sich mit neuartigen Suspensionen, die maßgeschneiderte, kostengünstige und umweltfreundliche Materialien ermöglichen. Auf Suspensionen, das heißt Stoffgemischen aus einer Flüssigkeit und darin schwebenden, fein verteilten Festkörpern, basieren vielfältige Materialien wie innovative Nanotechnologieprodukte, Beschichtungen und Klebemittel, aber auch Alltagsprodukte wie Lebensmittel und Kosmetika. Das Fließverhalten einer Suspension muss genau auf das Fertigungsverfahren sowie die gewünschten Eigenschaften des Produkts abgestimmt sein.

 

Sogenannte kapillare Suspensionen können das Materialdesign revolutionieren: Wird der kontinuierlichen Phase einer Suspension eine geringe Menge – weniger als ein Prozent – Zweitflüssigkeit zugegeben, verändern sich die rheologischen Merkmale, das heißt Fließeigenschaften, der Suspension deutlich: Aus einer dünnflüssigen, schwach elastischen Suspension wird eine gelartige Struktur mit stark elastischen Eigenschaften. Mit zunehmendem Zweitphasenanteil steigen Fließgrenze und Viskosität um mehrere Größenordnungen an. Dieser Übergang lässt sich mit der Ausbildung von Kapillarkräften zwischen den beiden Flüssigkeiten und dem Feststoff erklären: Bei Kontakt mit engen Röhren, Spalten oder Hohlräumen zeigen Flüssigkeiten ein besonderes Verhalten, das auf die Oberflächenspannung der Flüssigkeiten und die Grenzflächenspannung zwischen Flüssigkeiten und fester Oberfläche zurückzuführen ist.

 

Kapillare Suspensionen erlauben es, Fließeigenschaften gezielt einzustellen, Gemische zu stabilisieren, Phasenseparation zu verhindern und Zusatzstoffe zu sparen. Sie ermöglichen innovative Produkte, wie Tinten für druckbare Elektronik, die ohne herkömmliche Stabilisatoren wie Polymere oder Tenside auskommen, hochporöse, offenporige Sinterwerkstoffe für Filter, Katalysatoren und Wärmetauscher, Kunststofffilme mit geringem Weichmacheranteil oder fettreduzierte Brotaufstriche auf Wasserbasis, die keine Emulgatoren benötigen.

 

Die Helmholtz-Forschungsgruppe „Chemical Engineering of Biofunctional Materials", geleitet von Dr. Pavel Levkin am Institut für Toxikologie und Genetik (ITG) des KIT entwickelt eine neue Plattform zur Hochdurchsatzuntersuchung von lebenden Zellen. Das sogenannte Hochdurchsatzscreening, bei dem Zehntausende bis Millionen von genetischen, biochemischen oder pharmakologischen Tests automatisiert durchgeführt werden, beschleunigt sowohl die grundlegende biologische Forschung als auch die Entdeckung neuer Arzneimittelwirkstoffe. Assays mit lebenden Zellen machen rund die Hälfte aller Hochdurchsatzscreenings aus. Bisherige Methoden erfordern allerdings einen hohen Aufwand oder unterliegen verschiedenen Anwendungsbeschränkungen. Die Forschungsgruppe von Dr. Pavel Levkin setzt für das Hochdurchsatzscreening von Zellen neuartige Mikrostrukturen ein, die wasserabstoßende und wasserliebende Eigenschaften in sich vereinen.

 

Sogenannte superhydrophobe-superhydrophile Mikroarrays ermöglichen hochdichte Felder von mikrofeinen Tröpfchen (DropletMicroarrays) oder von mikrofeinen Hydrogelpads (HydrogelMicroarrays). Die neue Plattform verbindet wasserliebende Mikrofasern, auf denen sich feinste Tröpfchen ausbilden, mit wasserabstoßenden Mikrofasern, die als Barrieren zwischen den Tröpfchen fungieren. Auf dieser Struktur, die einem fein karierten Gewebe ähnelt, lassen sich auf engem Raum viele isolierte Tröpfchen aneinanderreihen, deren Größe und Form genau festlegen und sogar Miniaturkanäle anlegen. Jedes Tröpfchen dient quasi als winziges dreidimensionales Reagenzglas, in dem die Forscher Zellen gezielt untersuchen und biochemischen Einflüssen aussetzen können.

 

Die Plattform wird es erlauben, auf einem einzigen Mikroarray bis zu 300 000 Experimente gleichzeitig durchzuführen. Individuelle Zellexperimente lassen sich in komplett isolierten Tröpfchen an bestimmten Stellen des Mikroarrays vornehmen. Die hydrophoben Barrieren verhindern Kreuzkontaminationen und Zellwanderungen. Analog dazu entwickeln die Wissenschaftler eine Plattform zum Hochdurchsatzscreening von Zellen in 3D-Hydrogel-Mikropads.

 

Erin Koos studierte Ingenieurwissenschaften und promovierte am California Institute of Technology über das Fließverhalten von feuchten Schüttgütern. Seit 2009 ist sie als Postdoc in der Gruppe Angewandte Mechanik (AME) am Institut für Mechanische Verfahrenstechnik und Mechanik (MVM) des KIT tätig und befasst sich mit Kapillarkräften in Suspensionen.

 

Pavel Levkin studierte Chemie und Chemieingenieurwesen am Moscow Institute of Fine Chemical Technology und promovierte an der Universität Tübingen über neuartige chirale Selektoren und chirale Polymere. Er wirkte als Postdoc an der University of California, Berkeley, und leitet seit 2010 die Helmholtz University Group „Chemical Engineering of Biofunctional Materials“ am Institut für Toxikologie und Genetik (ITG) des KIT und am Lehrstuhl Angewandte Physikalische Chemie der Universität Heidelberg.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

or, 24.06.2013

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu