Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 078/2013

Senate Confirms Election of Holger Hanselka

Senate Follows Vote of the KIT Supervisory Board – The Appointment Procedure and Contract Negotiations Will Come Next
2013_078_Senat_bestaetigt_die_Wahl_von_Holger_Hanselka_72dpi
Professor Holger Hanselka. (Photo: Michael Paternack, Fraunhofer LBF)

Today, the KIT Senate confirmed with overwhelming majority the Supervisory Board’s unanimous election of Holger Hanselka as President of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). The 51-year-old mechanical engineer presently is Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Structural Durability and System Reliability LBF and Vice-President of the Technical University of Darmstadt. Hanselka’s confirmation by the Senate marks another step in the process that will be completed by the appointment procedure and contract negotiations. Only after signing the contract will KIT have a new president.

 

“I welcome today’s decision of the Senate to unanimously confirm the election of Mr. Hanselka as a new KIT president,” the Federal Minister of Research, Johanna Wanka, says. “I am very pleased that we have now found a candidate, who is a renowned scientist and research manager at the same time.”

 

The Minister of Science, Research, and the Arts of Baden-Württemberg, Theresia Bauer: “We are extraordinarily pleased with this clear vote of the Senate. This is a strong signal. Professor Hanselka would be a perfect choice as regards his qualification and character. I very much hope that we will succeed in winning him for the KIT.”

 

The chairperson of the Supervisory Board, Professor Renate Schubert, also is glad about the vote of the KIT Senate: “The Supervisory Board unanimously elected Mr. Hanselka as future KIT President. We see in him a person who will be able to excellently manage the KIT in the future and to master the challenges lying ahead.”

 

“I would like to thank the KIT bodies for the trust they place in me. KIT is a unique and fascinating institution. For the first time in Germany, a university and a non-university partner took the courageous step towards a complete merger with the support of politics. Now, the excellent potentials of the merger have to be used optimally and the profile of KIT needs to be sharpened,” Hanselka emphasizes. “I know both sectors of the science system and the market and I am quite sure that this entity will convince in international competition. I am looking forward to the challenges at KIT.”

 

Professor Jürgen Mlynek, President of the Helmholtz Association, is glad that the Senate confirmed Holger Hanselka as future KIT President. “Professor Hanselka is an excellent scientist. Moreover, he is a science manager equally respected by universities and non-university research institutions.” Mlynek is certain: “Holger Hanselka will continue the successful development work of the former President Umbach and optimally unfold the potential of KIT as a novel cooperation model between university and non-university research.”

 

The office period of the KIT president is six years. The new president is planned to start office on October 01, 2013. The former President of KIT, Professor Eberhard Umbach, will go into retirement.

 

Professor Holger Hanselka was born 1961 and studied mechanical engineering at the Claustal Technical University. In 1988, he took up work as a scientist at the German Aerospace Center (DLR) and specialized in the fields of lightweight construction and fiber composites. After a professorship at the Otto von Guericke University of Magdeburg, Hanselka was appointed Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Structural Durability and System Reliability and Head of the Institute for System Reliability and Machine Acoustics of the Technical University in Darmstadt in 2001. From 2006 to 2012, Hanselka was member of the Presidential Council of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. He was elected Vice-President of TU Darmstadt in 2010. Hanselka is responsible for knowledge and technology transfer, cooperation activities between science and industry, and formation of spinoffs. In 2000, he was awarded the science prize by the Stifterverband for a leading BMBF project. Hanselka is member of the acatech – National Academy of Science and Engineering as well as of various bodies and associations and partly assumes positions in their management.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

lg, 17.06.2013
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseUud4∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseYze7∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 078/2013

Senat bestätigt die Wahl von Holger Hanselka

Das Gremium folgt damit dem Votum des KIT-Aufsichtsrats – Nächste Schritte sind das Bestellungsverfahren und die Vertragsverhandlungen
Professor Holger Hanselka (Foto: Michael Paternack, Fraunhofer LBF)
Professor Holger Hanselka (Foto: Michael Paternack, Fraunhofer LBF)

Der KIT-Senat hat heute mit überwältigender Mehrheit das Votum des Aufsichtsrates bestätigt, der Holger Hanselka einstimmig zum Präsidenten des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) gewählt hatte. Der 51-jährige Maschinenbauingenieur ist derzeit Direktor des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Betriebsfestigkeit und Systemzuverlässigkeit LBF und Vizepräsident der Technischen Universität Darmstadt. Die Bestätigung im Senat ist ein weiterer Verfahrensschritt. Nun folgen das Bestellungsverfahren und die Vertragsverhandlungen. Erst nach der Vertragsunterzeichnung hat das KIT einen neuen Präsidenten.

 

„Ich begrüsse die heutige Entscheidung des Senats, sich einstimmig für Herrn Hanselka als neuen KIT-Präsidenten auszusprechen“, sagte Bundesforschungsministerin Johanna Wanka. „Ich freue mich darüber, dass mit ihm ein Kandidat gefunden wurde, der als Wissenschaftler und Forschungsmanager gleichermaßen hervorragende Referenzen vorweist.“

 

Die Ministerin für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst in Baden-Württemberg, Theresia Bauer: „Wir freuen uns außerordentlich über diese eindeutige Rückmeldung des Senats. Das ist ein starkes Signal. Professor Hanselka wäre fachlich und persönlich eine Idealbesetzung. Ich hoffe sehr, dass es gelingt, ihn für das KIT zu gewinnen.“

 

Die Aufsichtsratsvorsitzende, Professorin Renate Schubert, zeigt sich ebenfalls sehr erfreut über das Votum des KIT-Senats: „Der Aufsichtsrat hat sich einstimmig für Herrn Hanselka als künftigen KIT-Präsidenten ausgesprochen. Wir sehen in ihm eine Persönlichkeit, die das KIT bei allen kommenden Herausforderungen exzellent in die Zukunft führen kann.“

 

„Ich bedanke mich für das Vertrauen der KIT-Gremien. Das KIT ist eine einzigartige und sehr spannende Einrichtung. Als erste in Deutschland haben ein universitärer und ein außeruniversitärer Partner, getragen von der Politik, den mutigen Schritt getan, sich vollständig zusammenzuschließen. Jetzt geht es darum, die hervorragenden Potenziale der Fusion optimal zu nutzen und das Profil des KIT zu schärfen“, sagt Hanselka. „Ich kenne beide Bereiche des Wissenschaftssystems und den Markt und bin sicher, dass diese Verbindung gerade im internationalen Wettbewerb überzeugen wird. Ich freue mich auf die Herausforderungen am KIT.“

 

Es freue ihn sehr, dass der Senat Holger Hanselka als künftigen KIT-Präsidenten bestätigt habe, sagte Professor Jürgen Mlynek, Präsident der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft. „Professor Hanselka ist ein hervorragender Wissenschaftler. Zudem ist er ein in Universitäten und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen gleichermaßen anerkannter Wissenschaftsmanager.“ Mlynek ist sich sicher: „Holger Hanselka wird an die erfolgreiche Aufbauarbeit des bisherigen Präsidenten Umbach anknüpfen und das Potenzial des KIT als neuartiges Kooperationsmodell zwischen universitärer und außeruniversitärer Forschung optimal entfalten können.“

 

Die Amtszeit des KIT-Präsidenten beträgt sechs Jahre. Geplanter Amtsantsantritt des neuen Präsidenten ist der 1. Oktober 2013. Der bisherige Präsident des KIT, Professor Eberhard Umbach, geht in den Ruhestand.

 

Professor Holger Hanselka, Jahrgang 1961, studierte Allgemeinen Maschinenbau an der Technischen Universität Clausthal. 1988 ging er als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter zum Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und spezialisierte sich dort auf die Themen Leichtbau und Faserverbundstoffe. Nach einer Professur an der Otto-von-Guericke-Universität in Magdeburg folgte er 2001 dem Ruf nach Darmstadt als Direktor des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Betriebsfestigkeit und Systemzuverlässigkeit und Leiter des Fachgebiets „Systemzuverlässigkeit und Maschinenakustik“ an der TU Darmstadt. Von 2006 bis 2012 war Hanselka Mitglied des Präsidiums der Fraunhofer Gesellschaft. Das Amt des Vizepräsidenten der TU Darmstadt hat er seit 2010 inne. Hanselka ist Fachmann für Wissens- und Technologietransfer, für Kooperationen zwischen Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft sowie für Unternehmensausgründungen. Für ein BMBF-Leitprojekt erhielt er im Jahr 2000 den Wissenschaftspreis des Stifterverbandes. Hanselka ist Mitglied der acatech – Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften sowie in verschiedenen Gremien und Verbänden, zum Teil in Vorstandspositionen, aktiv.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

lg, 17.06.2013
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseLkq6∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.