Press Release 076/2013

Effects at KIT – Entertaining Festival Program

”Ideas 2020 – A Tour of Tomorrow’s World”: Opening of the Traveling Exhibition of the Helmholtz Association Marks Start of KIT Program at the EFFEKTE Science Festival
2013_076_Effektvoll_am_KIT_-_buntes_Festival-Programm_72dpi
From a scavenger hunt by smartphone to science speed dating: Exciting science formats are offered by KIT at the EFFEKTE festival (Abb.: © James Thew, Fotolia.com)

What will our life be like in the future? The exhibition “Ideas 2020 – A Tour of Tomorrow’s World” tries to answer this question. It will be open from June 20 to July 10, 2013, on KIT Campus South (building 10.50). Short picture stories will illustrate current research topics. Representatives of the media are cordially invited to join the opening of the exhibition on June 19, 18 hrs. “Ideas 2020” marks the start of KIT’s program for the EFFEKTE science festival, which will include more than 100 join-in actions, experiments, presentations, expert talks, films, and visits.

 

The exhibition “Ideas 2020 – A Tour of Tomorrow’s World” will provide insight into the work of scientists of the Helmholtz Association and other scientific institutions and organizations. Seven pillars illustrate challenges faced by society, such as smart energy supply, self-determined life at old age, reduction of the consumption of resources, life in the city, health care, internet, and future industry. Visitors are requested to ask own questions and enter them at a central multi-media table. There, they can also read the replies of others. At “Ideas 2020”, KIT will also present current projects. Picture stories focus on robots as helpers in everyday life, superconducting cables for future energy supply, and security technology for the future internet. The exhibition will be open daily from June 20 to July 10, 2013, 8 to 18 hrs. More information: www.ideen2020.de.

 

Opening of Exhibition on June 18, 18 hrs, KIT Campus South (building 10.50):

Welcome address: Professor Eberhard Umbach, President of KIT

Scientific Issues

Professor Maximilian Fichtner, Helmholtz Institute Ulm
Energy Storage: Challenges and Opportunities

 

Professor Jörg Sauer, Institute of Catalysis Research and Technology, KIT
Bioliq® - The Development Platform for Sustainable Fuels

Professor Clemens Posten, Institute of Process Engineering in Life Sciences, KIT
Microalgae: Renewable Biomass 3.0

 

Reading at “Ideas 2020”: On June 25, 19 hrs, the author and scientific journalist Thomas Bührke will read from his historical novel about the astronomer Aristarch from Samos: In the 3rd century B.C., he was the first to claim that the sun, not the earth, is located in the center of the world and fought an unwinnable battle against the traditional conceptions of his contemporaries. The novel provides an insight into ancient sciences and illustrates the ideas discussed at that time.

KIT at the EFFEKTE Science Festival– Other Program Highlights (selected)

Complete program: www.pkm.kit.edu/effekte_2013

 

Tent City “Effects at KIT”
June 22 and 23, 10 – 20 hrs; KIT Campus South, Schlossbezirk 11, building 20.11

While visiting the tent city, visitors can experience highlights of science and engineering: Experts in the areas of climate and the environment, energy, nanotechnology and microengineering, elementary physics and astroparticle physics, mobility, optics and photonics as well as anthropomatics and robotics present their activities. ARMAR, the humanoid robot, will demonstrate how household robots put items into the fridge or clean the table. Students from KA-RaceIng will present self-constructed racing cars. The KIT Relationship Management Service Unit will provide information about the KIT Foundation, the alumni network, and its Company & Career Service.

 

Exhibition of the KIT Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics Center (KCETA): “Giant Experiments for Small Particles”
June 21 – 30, 2013, 10 – 18 hrs, KIT Campus South, Gaede-Hörsaal, Engesserstraße 7, building 30.22
To find smallest particles, science needs huge devices and detectors: KCETA presents its research and experiments relating to the quark, gluon, boson, Higgs boson, lepton, electron, and neutrino.

 

WiWi-Cache – Scavenger Hunt 2.0 through the Department of Economics
June 21 – 30, 2013, all-day, KIT Campus South, Schlossbezirk 13, building 20.13

Explore the KIT Department of Economics via your smartphone. The cost-free app “WiWi-Cache” leads you from station to station during this interactive scavenger hunt. At every station, questions are asked on the department – score points for fast and correct answers (daily and total rankings).

 

Radiation Protection – Measurement of Radioactivity (KIT) Tracing Atoms (ITU)
June 22 – 30, 2013, 10 – 18 hrs, KIT Campus South, Zirkel 2, building 20.20

Objects containing natural radioactive substances are measured. Items brought along, e.g. grandfather’s watch with fluorescent numbers, can be measured as well. In cooperation with the Institute for Transuranium Elements (ITU) of the European Commission.

 

Physics in Everyday Life – Experiencing Physics
June 22, 2013, 14 – 18 hrs, KIT Campus South, Schlossbezirk 13, building 20.13, room 006

The course of experiments of the MINT-Kolleg Baden-Württemberg demonstrates exciting phenomena of physics for watching and joining in. Junior researchers of any age can construct lava lamps or generate “church bells in the ear”.

 

Guerilla Physics
June 24 – 28, 2013, 10 – 14 hrs, pedestrian area, Kaiserstraße, Schlosspark

Quick experiments out of the blue for joining in: Guerilla physics is aimed at surprising the people on the road by small experiments and to make them think.

 

When the Roof Is Open, Clouds Are Part of the Party
June 24 and 26, 15 – 18 hrs, KIT Campus South, Wolfgang-Gaede-Straße 1, building 20.23, 13th floor

Visit of the meteorological measurement station of the Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research on the roof of the physics skyscraper. In addition, KIT’s research activities on climate and climate change are presented.

 

Science Movie: Colors of Math – Movie and Discussion
June 24, 2013, 19 – 21 hrs, KIT Campus South, Tulla-Hörsaal, Englerstraße 11, building 11.40

In “Colors of Math”, the Russian documentary filmmaker Ekaterina Eremenko shows mathematics from the sensual point of view. It can be tasted and smelled, it makes noise and appears in numerous colors. The movie was successfully presented at several film festivals. After the movie: Discussion with the director.

 

Science Speed Dating: Talking with Experts about the “Universe”
June 26, 2013, 17 – 18 hrs, Turmzimmer in Karlsruhe Castle

In eye-to-eye conversations, KIT scientists answer questions relating to the building blocks of the universe. Similar to the real speed dating, the talking time is limited to 5 minutes. Then, the asking persons go to the next expert. Online registration required:wissenschaftsfestival2013 does-not-exist.iosb fraunhofer de

 

Science Movie: InsideScience – Movie: Science and Its Perception
June 27, 2013, 19 – 21 hrs, Kinemathek Karlsruhe, Studio 3, Kaiserpassage 6

The InsideScience project will present a selection of new and revised films on science and research at KIT. Prior to the presentation, an introduction will be offered. Afterwards, a discussion of the contents will follow.

 

Membranes – Artificial Sky
June 28, 2013, 10 – 17 hrs and June 29, 2013, 10 – 13 hrs, KIT Westhochschule, Hertzstraße 16

Tents from the scientific point of view: Challenges associated with construction using flexible materials, such as foils and tissues, are illustrated. A course is designed to present membrane lightweight construction and experiments to join in by the visitors.

 

Why Clouds Do Not Fall Down from the Sky? Show with Experiments
June 28, 2013, 19 – 20 hrs, KIT Campus South, Grashof-Hörsaal, Engelbert-Arnold-Str. 3, building 10.91

Often, the sky is blue. In the morning and in the evening, it turns red – why? Where do clouds come from or thunderstorms and rainbows? Weather experts explain the spectacle in the sky by performing many experiments. Not only science and engineering make us marvel, but also all the things we see outside daily.


Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 14.06.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehne does-not-exist.kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Presseinformation 076/2013

Effektvoll am KIT - buntes Festival-Programm

„Ideen 2020 – Ein Rundgang durch die Welt von morgen“: Eröffnung der Wanderausstellung der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft – Auftakt zum KIT-Programm beim Wissenschaftsfestival EFFEKTE
Von der Schnitzeljagd per Smartphone bis zum Science Speed Dating: Wissenschaft in spannenden Formaten bietet das KIT bei den EFFEKTEN (Abb.: © James Thew, Fotolia.com)
Von der Schnitzeljagd per Smartphone bis zum Science Speed Dating: Wissenschaft in spannenden Formaten bietet das KIT bei den EFFEKTEN (Abb.: © James Thew, Fotolia.com)

Wie werden wir in Zukunft leben? Mögliche Antworten zeigt die Ausstellung „Ideen 2020 – Ein Rundgang durch die Welt von morgen“ vom 20. Juni bis 10. Juli 2013 am KIT-Campus Süd (Geb. 10.50). In kurzen Bildergeschichten zeigt sie aktuelle Forschungsthemen. Zur Eröffnung am 19. Juni um 18 Uhr sind Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der Medien herzlich eingeladen. Mit „Ideen 2020“ startet das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) in ein umfangreiches Programm beim Wissenschaftsfestival EFFEKTE: mit mehr als 100 Mitmachaktionen, Experimenten, Vorträgen, Expertengesprächen, Filmen und Besichtigungen.

 

Die Ausstellung „Ideen 2020 – Rundgang durch die Welt von morgen“ bietet Einblick in die Arbeit der Forscherinnen und Forscher der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft und weiterer wissenschaftlicher Institutionen und Organisationen. An sieben Stellen geht es um gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen wie intelligente Energieversorgung, selbstbestimmtes Leben im Alter, Schonen von Ressourcen, Leben in der Stadt sowie um Medizin, Internet und Industrie der Zukunft. Besucherinnen und Besucher können an einem zentralen Multimediatisch eigene Zukunftsfragen stellen und die Antworten auf Fragen anderer lesen. Auch das KIT stellt bei „Ideen 2020“ aktuelle Projekte vor: Die Bildergeschichten erzählen unter anderem von Robotern, die Menschen im Alltag helfen können, von supraleitenden Kabeln für die künftige Energieversorgung und von Sicherheitstechnologien für das Internet der Zukunft. Die Ausstellung ist vom 20. Juni bis 10. Juli 2013 täglich zwischen 8 und 18 Uhr geöffnet. Nähere Informationen: www.ideen2020.de

 

Eröffnung am 19. Juni 2013, 18:00 Uhr, KIT Campus Süd, (Geb. 10.50)

Begrüßung: Prof. Eberhard Umbach, Präsident des KIT

 

Wissenschaftliche Impulse

Prof. Maximilan Fichtner, Helmholtz-Institut Ulm
Energiespeicherung: Herausforderungen und Möglichkeiten

 

Prof. Jörg Sauer, Institut für Katalyseforschung und -technologie, KIT
bioliq® – die Entwicklungsplattform für nachhaltige Treibstoffe

 

Prof. Clemens Posten, Institut für Bio- und Lebensmitteltechnik, KIT
Mikroalgen: Erneuerbare Biomasse 3.0

 

Lesung bei der „Ideen 2020“: Am 25. Juni um 19 Uhr wird der Autor und Wissenschaftsjournalist Thomas Bührke in der Ausstellung aus seinem historischen Roman lesen, in dem der Astronom Aristarch von Samos im Mittelpunkt steht: Im dritten Jahrhundert vor Christus behauptete er als Erster, nicht die Erde, sondern die Sonne stehe im Zentrum der Welt – und führte damit einen aussichtslosen Kampf gegen die traditionellen Vorstellungen seiner Zeitgenossen. Der Roman gibt einen Einblick die Wissenschaften dieser Zeit und zeigt, welche zukunftsweisenden Ideen damals diskutiert wurden.

 

Das KIT beim Wissenschaftsfestival EFFEKTE – weitere Programm-Highlights (Auswahl)

Vollständiges Programm: www.pkm.kit.edu/effekte_2013

 

Zeltstadt „Effektvoll am KIT“
22.-23.06.2013, 10-20 Uhr; Wo: KIT-Campus Süd, Schlossbezirk 11, Geb. 20.11

In der Zeltstadt erleben Besucherinnen und Besucher Highlights aus Wissenschaft und Technik: Experten aus den Bereichen Klima und Umwelt, Energie, Nano- und Mikrotechnologie, Elementar-und Astroteilchenphysik, Mobilität, Optik und Photonik sowie Anthropomatik und Robotik stellen sich vor. So demonstriert der humanoide Roboter ARMAR, wie Haushaltsroboter der Zukunft den Kühlschrank einräumen oder den Tisch abwischen. Studierende von KA-RaceIng präsentieren selbst konstruierte Rennwagen. Die Abteilung Relationship Management des KIT informiert über die KIT-Stiftung, das Alumni-Netzwerk sowie den Company & Career Service.

 

Ausstellung des KIT-Zentrums Elementar- und Astroteilchenphysik (KCETA): „Riesige Experimente für kleine Teilchen“
21.-30.06.2013, 10-18 Uhr, KIT-Campus-Süd, Gaede-Hörsaal, Engesserstraße 7, Geb. 30.22

Um kleinste Teilchen zu finden, braucht die Wissenschaft riesige Apparate und Detektoren: Das KCETA präsentiert seine Forschung und Experimente rund um Quark, Gluon, Boson, Higgs-Boson, Lepton, Elektron und Neutrino.

 

WiWi-Cache – Schnitzeljagd 2.0 durch die Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften
21.-30.06.2013, ganztägig, KIT-Campus Süd, Schlossbezirk 13, Geb. 20.13

Mit dem Smartphone auf Entdeckungsreise durch die KIT-Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften. Die kostenlose App „WiWi-Cache“ führt bei der interaktiven Schnitzeljagd von Station zu Station. Dort gibt es Fragen zur Fakultät – für schnelle und richtige Antworten gibt es Punkte (Tages- und Gesamtwertung).

 

Strahlenschutz – Messung von Radioaktivität (KIT)
Atomen auf der Spur (ITU)

22.-30.06.2013, 10-18 Uhr; KIT-Campus Süd, Zirkel 2, Geb. 20.20

Gebrauchsgegenstände, die natürlich vorkommende radioaktive Stoffe enthalten, werden gemessen. Auch selbst mitgebrachte Gegenstände, z. B. Großvaters Uhr mit Leuchtziffern, kann man messen lassen. Gemeinschaftsveranstaltung mit dem Institut für Transurane (ITU) der Europäische Kommission.

 

Physik im Alltag – spielend Physik erleben
22.06.2013, 14:00-18:00 Uhr; KIT-Campus Süd, Schlossbezirk 13, Geb. 20.13, Raum 006

Der Experimente-Parcours des MINT-Kollegs Baden-Württemberg zeigt spannende Phänomene aus der Physik zum Anschauen und Mitmachen – so können kleine und große Nachwuchsforscher beispielsweise Lavalampen bauen oder „Kirchturmglocken im Ohr“ erzeugen.

 

Guerilla Physik
24.-28.06.2013, 10-14 Uhr; Fußgängerzone, Kaiserstraße, Schlosspark

Schnelle, überfallartige Experimente zum Mitmachen: Ziel der Guerilla Physik ist es, die Menschen in den Straßen durch kleine Versuche zu überraschen zum Nachdenken anzuregen.

 

Wenn das Dach offen ist, gehören die Wolken mit zum Fest
24. und 26.06.2013, 15-18 Uhr; KIT-Campus Süd, Wolfgang-Gaede-Straße 1, Geb. 20.23, 13. Stock

Besuch der meteorologischen Messstation des Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung auf dem Dach des Physikhochhauses. Außerdem werden die Forschungsaktivitäten am KIT zu Klima und Klimawandel vorgestellt.

 

Science Movie: Colors of Math – Filmvorführung und Gespräch
24.06.2013, 19-21 Uhr; KIT-Campus Süd, Tulla-Hörsaal, Englerstraße 11, Geb. 11.40

In „Colors of Math" zeigt die russische Dokumentarfilmerin Ekaterina Eremenko die Mathematik von ihrer sinnlichen Seite: Man kann sie schmecken und riechen, sie macht Geräusche und erscheint in unzähligen Farben. Der Film lief auf mehreren Filmfestivals mit großem Erfolg. Im Anschluss: Gespräch mit der Regisseurin.


Science Speed Dating: Experten-Runde zum „Universum“

26.06.2013, 17-18 Uhr; Turmzimmer im Karlsruher Schloss

KIT-Wissenschaftler beantworten im lockeren 1:1-Gespräch Fragen zu den Bausteinen des Universums. Wie beim „richtigen“ Speed Dating ist die Redezeit auf fünf Minuten beschränkt, dann wechseln die Fragenden zum nächsten Experten weiter. Online-Anmeldung: wissenschaftsfestival2013Ypg5∂iosb fraunhofer de

 

Science Movie: InsideScience – Filmvorführung: Wissenschaft und ihre Wahrnehmung
27.06.2013, 19-21 Uhr; Kinemathek Karlsruhe, Studio 3, Kaiserpassage 6

In der Filmvorführung zeigt das Projekt InsideScience eine Auswahl von neuen und überarbeiteten Filmbeiträgen zu Wissenschaft und Forschung am KIT. Vor der Vorführung gibt es eine Einleitung, danach eine Diskussion über die Inhalte.

 

Membranen – künstlicher Himmel
28.06.2013, 10-17 Uhr und 29.06.2013, 10-13 Uhr; KIT-Standort Westhochschule, Hertzstraße 16

Zelte wissenschaftlich betrachtet: Es werden Fragen und Herausforderungen anschaulich dargestellt, die sich beim Bauen mit biegeweichen Baustoffen wie Folien und Geweben ergeben. In einem Parcours wird der Bereich des Membran-Leichtbaus dargestellt und Versuche vorgeführt, bei denen die Besucher selbst mitmachen können.

 


Warum die Wolken nicht vom Himmel fallen? Show-Vortrag mit Experimenten

28.06.2013, 19-20 Uhr; KIT-Campus Süd, Grashof Hörsaal, Engelbert-Arnold-Str. 4, Geb. 10.91

Oft ist der Himmel blau, morgens und abends wird er rot - warum? Und wo kommen Wolken, Gewitter und Regenbögen her. Wie das Schauspiel am Himmel entsteht, erklärt ein Wetterforscher mit vielen Experimenten. Nicht nur Wissenschaft und Technik bieten Anlass zum Staunen, auch das, was wir täglich draußen sehen können.

 


Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

le, 14.06.2013
Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseZuk0∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin

Tel.: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Kontakt für diese Presseinformation:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
margarete lehneTty6∂kit edu