Press Release 071/2013

Software as an Advantage in Competition

CISPA, EC SPRIDE, and KASTEL Publish Strategy Report on Secure Software by Design

Software manufacturers consider IT security both a risk and an opportunity in global competition. The three competence centers for IT security funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), CISPA, EC SPRIDE, and KASTEL, support manufacturers in developing secure software: In their latest strategy report “Entwicklung sicherer Software durch Security by Design” (Secure Software by Design), they discuss challenges and solutions. KASTEL is the Competence Center for Applied Security Technology at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT).

 

Software manufacturers know that IT security will gain importance in addition to functionality. To increase the security of software products, IT security aspects have to be taken into account from the very beginning of the manufacturing process. If they are considered too late, costs will arise for the later elimination of deficiencies and payment of damages. Long-term loss of image and trust may result. In the future, problems will even be aggravated: The complexity of software will increase and later provision of software security will be more complex and expensive. An early systematic consideration of security in software manufacture is of strategic dimension and may even be an advantage in competition. The competence centers CISPA, EC SPRIDE, and KASTEL now list approaches to enhancing software security in their trend and strategy report. “Security by design considers security aspects from the very beginning. It is important to keep complexity manageable. Security cannot be installed in a finished product later on,“ Professor Dr. Jörn Müller-Quade, spokesperson of KASTEL, explains.

 

The centers analyzed challenges and problems of today’s software industry as regards IT security. They identified questions that will have to be answered to improve software quality. Some proposals made in the report can be implemented immediately by software industry, others still require industrial pre-commercialization phase research. All aspects have to be considered by the funding partners when planning future research programs, by the respective research institutions, and by the research departments of software industry. The centers want to decisively advance research and support partner companies. “IT systems are highly complex and IT security therefore has to be of interdisciplinary character. It is a major objective of research to develop a common language beyond individual disciplines,” Müller-Quade points out.

 

The Competence Center for Applied Security Technology (KASTEL) pools the IT security competences of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), the Fraunhofer Institute for Optronics, System Technologies, and Image Exploitation (IOSB), and the Research Center for Information Technology (FZI) in order to master future challenges in the area of IT security. It is aimed at replacing isolated partial solutions by the development of a holistic approach to implementing integrated security.

 
Click here to download the trend and strategy report:
www.sit.fraunhofer.de/secure-software-trends

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

ses, 06.06.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehne does-not-exist.kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 071/2013

Softwaresicherheit als Wettbewerbsvorteil

CISPA, EC-SPRIDE und KASTEL veröffentlichen den Strategiebericht „Entwicklung sicherer Software durch Security by Design“

Hersteller von Software sehen in der IT-Sicherheit sowohl ein Risiko als auch eine Chance im globalen Wettbewerb. Die drei vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderten deutschen Kompetenzzentren für IT-Sicherheit – CISPA, EC SPRIDE und KASTEL – unterstützen Hersteller bei der Entwicklung von sicherer Software: In ihrem aktuellen Trend- und Strategiebericht „Entwicklung Sicherer Software durch Security by Design“ erörtern sie Herausforderungen und Lösungswege. KASTEL ist als Kompetenzzentrum für Angewandte Sicherheits-Technologie am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) angesiedelt.

Softwarehersteller wissen: IT-Sicherheit ist neben der eigentlichen Funktionalität eine immer wichtigere Produkteigenschaft. Um Softwareprodukte sicherer zu machen, müssen IT-Sicherheitsfragen von Beginn des Herstellungsprozesses an berücksichtigt werden. Bezieht man sie zu spät ein, können neben den Kosten für die nachträgliche Behebung von Schwachstellen möglicherweise sogar Schadensersatzklagen sowie ein langfristiger Image- und Vertrauensverlust drohen. In Zukunft werden sich die Probleme noch verstärken: Die Komplexität von Software wird weiter zunehmen und die nachträgliche Absicherung von Software wird immer aufwendiger und teurer. Eine frühe systematische Berücksichtigung von Sicherheit bei der Softwareherstellung hat eine strategische Dimension und wird zum Wettbewerbsvorteil. Die Kompetenzzentren CISPA, EC SPRIDE und KASTEL zeigen der Softwareindustrie in ihrem Trend- und Strategiebericht Wege und Ansatzpunkte zur Verbesserung der Softwaresicherheit. „Security by Design berücksichtigt Sicherheitsaspekte von Anfang an. Wichtig ist etwa, die Komplexität beherrschbar zu halten. Sicherheit kann man dagegen nicht nachträglich in ein fertiges Produkt einbauen", erklärt Professor Dr. Jörn Müller-Quade, Sprecher von KASTEL.

Die Zentren haben sich mit den Herausforderungen und Problemen der heutigen Softwareindustrie in Bezug auf IT-Sicherheit beschäftigt und Fragen aufgezeigt, die zur Verbesserung der Softwarequalität beantwortet werden müssen. Einige der Anregungen des Berichtes können unmittelbar gewinnbringend von der Softwareindustrie umgesetzt werden, andere brauchen noch industrielle Vorlaufforschung. Die perspektivischen Punkte müssen bei der Planung zukünftiger Forschungsprogramme von Fördergebern, von einschlägigen Forschungseinrichtungen und von Forschungsabteilungen der Softwareindustrie berücksichtigt werden. Die Zentren wollen die Forschung maßgeblich vorantreiben und Partnerunternehmen unterstützen. „IT-Systeme sind hochkomplex und IT-Sicherheit muss daher interdisziplinär sein. Ein wichtiges Forschungsziel ist, eine gemeinsame Sprache über verschiedene Disziplinen hinweg zu entwickeln“, so Müller-Quade.

Das Kompetenzzentrum für angewandte Sicherheitstechnologie (KASTEL) bündelt die Kompetenzen in der IT-Sicherheit am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Optronik, Systemtechnik und Bildauswertung (IOSB) und dem Forschungszentrum Informatik (FZI), um die zukünftigen Anforderungen an IT-Sicherheit zu meistern. Ziel der Bündelung sind die Abkehr von isolierten Teillösungen und die Entwicklung eines ganzheitlichen Ansatzes, der auf die Gesamtsicherheit von Anwendungen zielt.

Download Trend- und Strategiebericht:

www.sit.fraunhofer.de/secure-software-trends

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

ses, 06.06.2013

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneQmp0∂kit edu