Press Release 070/2013

Jürgen Becker is Honorary Doctor of BME Budapest

High Honor for the Head of the KIT Institute for Information Processing Technology. Karlsruhe-Budapest Partnership Started before the Political Change in East Europe
2013_070_Juergen_Becker_ist_Eherendoktor_der_TWU_Budapest_72dpi
Honorary doctor of BME Budapest: Professor Jürgen Becker (Photo: BME Budapest)

Professor Jürgen Becker, who heads the KIT Institute for Information Processing Technology, has been conferred the honorary doctorate by the Budapest University of Technology and Economics (BME). This distinction is to honor Becker for his research into embedded systems, including high-performance electronic computing systems for future automotive and aircraft construction. In this area, Becker is one of the leading scientists worldwide.

 

Jürgen Becker’s research and teaching activities focus on high-performance multi-core processors and their use in e.g. automotive and aircraft construction, railway technology, and industry automation. While requirements on such computer systems are increasing constantly, the single-core processors used so far are reaching their performance limits. Becker’s research is aimed at using new, highly complex, and reconfigurable system solutions for future, also safety-relevant, applications.

 

For his scientific achievements in these areas, Becker was conferred the honorary doctorate by the President of BME, Professor Gábor Péceli, a few days ago. The laudation was made by Professor Lázló Vajta, Dean of the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Informatics of BME. “I am highly honored by this high distinction of the BME, not only because of the recognition of my scientific work, but also because of the long successful cooperation in the education sector,” Jürgen Becker says. For more than 20 years now, KIT and the former Universität Karlsruhe have been running an engineering course in the German language at BME, in which Becker is one of the regular lecturers. For eight years, he has been teaching freshmen in digital technology. In the fifth semester, the Hungarian students come to KIT. Their final certificates are signed by the presidents of both institutions.

 

Contacts between both universities date back more than 40 years. They were established by the former presidents of the universities, Professor Heinz Draheim and Professor Imre Perényi across the iron curtain, at a time when Germany and Hungary did not yet maintain official relationships. In May 1970, the presidents signed a declaration of partnership between the BME and the then Universität Karlsruhe.

 

After the political change in East Europe and the accession of Hungary to the EU, the studies course was established. Becker’s predecessor at the ITIV, Professor Hans Martin Lipp, was also conferred the honorary doctorate by BME for his merits in the cooperation of both institutions.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 06.06.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehne does-not-exist.kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presse does-not-exist.kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 070/2013

Jürgen Becker ist Ehrendoktor der TWU Budapest

Hohe Auszeichnung für den Leiter des KIT-Instituts für Technik der Informationsverarbeitung. Partnerschaft Karlsruhe-Budapest begann bereits vor der politischen Wende in Osteuropa.
 Ehrendoktor der TWU Budapest: Prof. Jürgen Becker  (Foto: TWU Budapest)
Ehrendoktor der TWU Budapest: Prof. Jürgen Becker (Foto: TWU Budapest)

Professor Jürgen Becker, der am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) das Institut für Technik der Informationsverarbeitung leitet, hat die Ehrendoktorwürde der Technischen und Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Universität (TWU) Budapest erhalten. Die Hochschule zeichnet ihn damit für seine Forschung zu Eingebetteten Systemen aus, dazu zählen etwa hochleistungsfähige elektronische Rechensysteme für den künftigen Automobil- und Flugzeugbau. Becker gehört auf diesem Gebiet zu den weltweit führenden Wissenschaftlern.

In Forschung und Lehre beschäftigt sich Jürgen Becker mit besonders leistungsfähigen Computerprozessoren mit mehreren Rechnerkernen (Multi-Core-Prozessoren) und deren Einsatz in unterschiedlichsten Anwendungsbereichen, etwa im Automobil- und Flugzeugbau, in der Bahntechnik oder in der Industrieautomatisierung. Mit den stetig wachsenden Anforderungen an solche Computersysteme stoßen die bislang verwendeten Einkern-Prozessoren an ihre Leistungsgrenzen. Ein Ziel von Beckers Forschung ist es, die neuen, hochkomplexen, unter anderem rekonfigurierbaren Systemlösungen in zukünftigen auch sicherheitsrelevanten Anwendungen einsetzbar zu machen.

Für seine wissenschaftlichen Leistungen auf diesen Gebieten verlieh ihm vor wenigen Tagen der Rektor der TWU Budapest Professor Gábor Péceli die Ehrendoktorwürde, die Laudatio hielt Professor László Vajta, Dekan der Fakultät für Elektrotechnik und Informatik an der TWU. „Die hohe Auszeichnung aus Budapest freut mich besonders – nicht nur wegen der Anerkennung meiner wissenschaftlichen Arbeit. Sondern auch wegen der seit langem erfolgreichen gemeinsamen Aktivitäten in der Lehre“, sagt Jürgen Becker. Seit mehr als 20 Jahren betreibt das KIT, davor die Universität Karlsruhe, einen komplett deutschsprachigen Ingenieurstudiengang an der TWU, in dem auch Becker regelmäßig lehrt. So unterrichtet er dort seit acht Jahren die Erstsemester in Digitaltechnik. Im fünften Semester kommen die ungarischen Studierenden ans KIT, ihre Abschlussurkunden unterzeichnen die Rektoren bzw. Präsidenten beider Einrichtungen.

Die Kontakte zwischen den beiden Hochschulen reichen bereits mehr als 40 Jahre zurück. Geknüpft hatten sie die damaligen Rektoren Professor Heinz Draheim und Professor Imre Perényi durch den Eisernen Vorhang – also zu einer Zeit, in der es noch keine offiziellen Beziehungen zwischen Deutschland und Ungarn gab. Im Mai 1970 unterzeichneten sie eine Erklärung zur Partnerschaft der TWU Budapest mit der damaligen Universität Karlsruhe.

Nach dem politischen Wandel in Osteuropa und dem EU-Beitritt Ungarns wurde dann schließlich der Studiengang möglich. Für seine Verdienste um die Zusammenarbeit zwischen beiden Einrichtungen zeichnete die TWU Budapest bereits Beckers Vorgänger am ITIV, Professor Hans Martin Lipp, mit der Ehrendoktorwürde aus. 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 500 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

le, 06.06.2013

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
margarete lehneCos0∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseLxy1∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.