Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 061/2013

Nature: X-ray Tomography on a Living Frog Embryo

Motion of Individual Cells within Developing Frog Embryos Resolved/X-ray Tomography Based on Diffraction Rather than Absorption/New Methods for Developmental Biology
2013_061_Nature_Roentgentomographie_am_lebenden_Froschembryo72dpi
X-ray phase-contrast tomography: Early frog embryo in cellular resolution (left) and cell and tissue motion captured and visualized using flow analysis (right). (Figure: Alexey Ershov/KIT)

Classical X-ray radiographs provide information about internal, absorptive structures of organisms such as bones. Alternatively, X-rays can also image soft tissues throughout early embryonic development of vertebrates. Related to this, a new X-ray method was presented recently in a Nature article published by a German-American-Russian research team led by KIT. For periods of about two hours, time-lapse sequences of cellular resolution were obtained of three dimensional reconstructions showing developing embryos of the African clawed frog (Xenopus laevis). Instead of the absorption of X-rays, the method is based on their diffraction (DOI: 10.1038/nature12116).

 

“X-ray diffraction enables high-resolution imaging of soft tissues,” explains Ralf Hofmann, one author of the study and physicist at KIT. “In our work, we did not only manage to resolve individual cells and parts of their structure, but we could also analyze single cell migration as well as the movement of cellular networks.”

 

Using X-ray diffraction, similar tissues can be distinguished by minute variations of their refractive index. However, in contrast to classical absorption imaging, this does not require any contrast agent, and X-ray dose is profoundly reduced. The method is of particular advantage when probing sensitive tissues in living organisms, such as frog embryos. In their study, the researchers concentrated on the motion and shape changes of tissues, cavities, and single cells during the developmental milestone of gastrulation.

 

During gastrulation, germ layers are formed and organized in their proper locations. Thereby, an initially simple spherical ball of a few hundred cells turns into a complex, multilayered organism with differentiated tissues eventually turning into the nervous system, muscles, and internal organs. Quoting the renowned developmental biologist Lewis Wolpert: “it is not birth, marriage, or death, but gastrulation that is the most important event in your life.”

 

“Employing X-rays, we were able to watch joint and individual cell movements during gastrulation,” zoologist Jubin Kashef points out who is a co-author and head of a young investigator group at KIT. For the first time, it was appreciated how cells interact with each other in a living embryo and how regions void of cells form and disappear. “It is like the migration of peoples. Stimulated by the migration of individual cell groups, other cells join in. They form functional cellular networks, which adjust to their changing environment. During migration, cells specialize to form progenitor tissues of future organs, e.g. the brain or skin.”

 

“It is fascinating to have digital capabilities to observe and analyze these processes in an individual living frog embryo,” Hofmann and Kashef emphasize. “In this way, fundamental results are obtained.” The new method not only reveals morphological and dynamic aspects of embryonic development but also provides insights into their underlying molecular biology obtained by comparing the development of wildtype embryos and morphant phenotypes. The African clawed frog (Xenopus laevis) is one of the most important model systems of developmental biology whose study is of relevance in understanding human embryogenesis and diseases. In future research, morphant phenotypes will be correlated with the targeted switch-offs of key proteins. For this purpose, the novel technique -- combining latest X-ray measurement technology with advanced image analysis and developmental biology -- will be established at the synchrotron radiation facilities ANKA in Karlsruhe and APS in Chicago for routine use by a broad community of scientific users.

 

In their study, KIT researchers, which were supported by biologists from Northwestern University, used coherent X-rays from the Advanced Photon Source of Argonne National Laboratory in Chicago. Prior to this investigation, the method had been developed at ANKA. During measurement, a coherent bundle of X-rays passes the nearly spherical 1-mm frog embryo, which rotates half way around its axis within 18 seconds. By variation of the irradiation direction, information on the three-dimensional (3D) structure is acquired. As X-rays pass through different types of tissues at variable speeds, diffraction occurs. In turn, this generates a characteristic intensity distribution by interference a certain distance behind the embryo. Within the 18 s of tomographic scan time, about 1200 images were recorded. Similar to digital photography, every image consists of several million pixels. From this vast amount of data, the three-dimensional structure and the development of the embryo over time is inferred at micrometer resolution. If this process is repeated at intervals of several minutes, the resulting sequence of 3D images reveals all gastrulation movements occurring inside the embryo. Image reconstruction and analysis algorithms for the here-employed X-ray phase-contrast microtomography were developed at ANKA.

 

Immediate results of this research are the discovery of new morphological structures and the clarification of fluid redistribution processes. Moreover, the locations of centers driving the migration of tissues and cells during gastrulation were determined by differential flow analysis.

 

Reference:

J. Moosmann, A. Ershov, V. Altapova, T. Baumbach, M. S. Prasad, C. LaBonne, X. Xiao, J. Kashef, and R. Hofmann, “X-ray phase-contrast in vivo mictotomography probes new aspects of Xenopus gastrulation“, Nature (2013), doi:10.1038/nature12116.

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

kes, 16.05.2013

For further information, please contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
PKM, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseTvd0∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 061/2013

Nature: Röntgentomographie am lebenden Froschembryo

Bewegung einzelner Zellen im Inneren sich entwickelnder Froschembryonen aufgelöst / Röntgenbildgebung nutzt Beugung statt Absorption / Neue Methoden für die Entwicklungsbiologie
Röntgenphasenkontrast-Tomografie: Der frühe Froschembryo in zellularer Auflösung (links) und mit Zell- und Gewebebewegung über Flussfeldalgorithmen (rechts).(Bild: Alexey Ershov /KIT)
Röntgenphasenkontrast-Tomografie: Der frühe Froschembryo in zellularer Auflösung (links) und mit Zell- und Gewebebewegung über Flussfeldalgorithmen (rechts).(Bild: Alexey Ershov /KIT)

Schon klassische Röntgenbilder erlauben es, in das Körperinnere von Lebewesen zu schauen. Nun liefern Röntgenstrahlen auch Informationen über die frühe Embryonalentwicklung von Wirbeltieren. Im Fachmagazin Nature stellt ein deutsch-russisch-amerikanisches Forscherteam unter Leitung des KIT die neue Methode vor. Über zwei Stunden hinweg beobachteten sie die frühe embryonale Entwicklung des Afrikanischen Krallenfrosches mit zellularer Auflösung und in 3-D. Dazu nutzen sie statt der Absorption von Röntgenwellen, deren Beugung. (DOI: 10.1038/nature12116)

 

„Beugung von Röntgenstrahlung an Gewebe stellt eine hochauflösende Bildgebungsmethode für weiche Gewebe dar“, erklärt Ralf Hofmann, einer der Autoren der Studie und Physiker am KIT. „In unserer Studie konnten wir nicht nur einzelne Zellen und Teile derer Struktur auflösen, sondern auch die Wanderbewegung von Zellen und Zellverbänden.“

 

Die Röntgenbeugung erlaubt es, ähnliche Gewebe aufgrund winziger Variationen des Brechungsindexes zu unterscheiden. Sie kommt aber im Vergleich zur klassischen Absorptionsbildgebung ohne Kontrastmittel und mit geringeren Röntgendosen aus. Dies ist insbesondere bei empfindlichen Geweben wie bei Froschembryos von enormem Vorteil. In der Studie interessierten sich die Forscher insbesondere für die Verschiebungen und Formveränderungen der Zellverbände während der sogenannten Gastrulation.

 

Während der Gastrulation kommt es zur Ausbildung und Spezialisierung der Gewebestrukturen, sodass aus einer zunächst ballonförmigen Anordnung von wenigen Hundert Zellen ein komplexer Organismus mit differenzierten Geweben wie Nervenbahnen, Muskeln und inneren Organen entstehen kann. Dem renommierten Entwicklungsbiologen Lewis Wolpert wird in dem Zusammenhang der Satz zugeschrieben, dass „nicht die Geburt, die Hochzeit oder der Tod, sondern die Gastrulation der wichtigste Zeitpunkt für dein Leben ist.“

 

„Mit Hilfe der Röntgenbeugung konnten wir nun dabei zuschauen, welche koordinierten und individuellen Zellbewegungen während der Gastrulation ablaufen“, stellt der Zoologe Jubin Kashef, Coautor und Nachwuchsgruppenleiter am KIT, fest. Erstmals wurde am lebenden Embryo nachvollzogen, wie Zellen gemeinschaftlich agieren und dabei flüssigkeitsgefüllte Hohlräume entstehen und vergehen. „Es ist wie bei einer Völkerwanderung.“ Stimuliert durch die Wanderbewegung einzelner Zellgruppen beteiligen sich weitere Zellen. Sie bilden Zellverbände, die nicht nur gemeinsame Wegstrecken absolvieren, sondern sich während der Wanderung und in Abhängigkeit von ihrer Umgebung verändern. Dabei gruppieren sich Zellen neu, um Gewebearten der zukünftigen Organe, etwa dem Gehirn oder der Haut, zu bilden.

 

„Es ist faszinierend, diese Prozesse am einzelnen, lebenden Froschembryo – quasi live - ablaufen zu sehen“, so Hofmann und Kashef. „Wir gewinnen dadurch wichtige, grundlegende Erkenntnisse.“ Dies gilt sowohl für morphologische und dynamische Aspekte der Embryonalentwicklung als auch für die Klärung zugrunde liegender molekularbiologischer Mechanismen. Der Afrikanische Krallenfrosch (Xenopus Laevis) ist eines der wichtigsten Modellsysteme für die Entwicklungsbiologie und erlaubt die Untersuchung auch für Menschen und andere Säugetiere relevanter Entwicklungsmechanismen. In weiteren Studien könnten nun die abweichende Ausprägung von Merkmalen mit dem gezielten Ausschalten von Schlüssel-Eiweißen korreliert werden. Die neue Untersuchungsmethode, die aus dem Ineinandergreifen modernster Röntgenmesstechnik, intelligenter Bildanalyse und Biologie entsprungen ist, soll dazu an den Synchrotronanlagen ANKA in Karlsruhe und APS in Chicago fest etabliert und einem breiten wissenschaftlichen Anwenderkreis verschiedener Lebenswissenschaften zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

 

Für die Studie nutzte die Forschergruppe des KIT unterstützt von Biologen der Northwestern University kohärente Röntgenstrahlung aus der Synchrotronstrahlungsquelle Advanced Photon Source am Argonne National Laboratory in Chicago. Die Methodenentwicklung dafür war zuvor an der Synchrotronstrahlungsquelle ANKA des KIT erfolgt. Bei der konkreten Messung durchläuft ein kohärentes Bündel von Röntgenlicht den noch kugelförmigen, rund ein millimetergroßen Froschembryo, der sich in 18 Sekunden ein halbes Mal um seine Achse drehte. Diese Variation der Durchstrahlungswinkel erlaubt es ein tomografisches dreidimensionales Bild zu erzeugen. Da das Licht die verschiedenen Gewebearten mit verschiedenen Brechungsindizes unterschiedlich schnell durchläuft, kommt es zur Beugung, die in einiger Entfernung nach Austritt aus dem Embryo durch Interferenzeffekte eine charakteristische Intensitätsverteilung entstehen lässt. In den 18 Sekunden der tomografischen Aufnahme wurden rund 1200 Bilder unter verschiedenen Durchstrahlungswinkeln aufgenommen. Jedes Bild besteht wie bei einer digitalen Fotokamera aus einigen Millionen Bildpunkten.

 

Aus dieser Flut von Bilddaten werden die dreidimensionale Struktur und die zeitliche Entwicklung des Embryos mit Mikrometerauflösung errechnet. Die dafür maßgeschneiderten Algorithmen der dreidimensionalen Bildrekonstruktionen der sogenannten Röntgen-Phasenkontrast-Mikrotomografie und der darauf aufbauenden Bild- und Bewegungsanalyse wurden an ANKA am KIT entwickelt. Wiederholt man den Prozess im Abstand einiger Minuten, so entsteht eine ganze Abfolge von 3-D-Bildern, die den zeitlichen Ablauf der Gastrulation im gesamten Embryo wiedergibt.

 

Wichtige Ergebnisse der aktuellen Studie sind die Entdeckung neuartiger morphologischer Strukturen, definitive Aussagen über den Ablauf von Flüssigkeitsumverteilungsprozessen sowie die Lokalisierung von Antriebszentren für die Gewebe- und Zellwanderung über sogenannte differentielle Flussfelder.

 

Referenz:

J. Moosmann, A. Ershov, V. Altapova, T. Baumbach, M. S. Prasad, C. LaBonne, X. Xiao, J. Kashef, and R. Hofmann, „X-ray phase-contrast in vivo mictotomography probes new aspects of Xenopus gastrulation“, Nature (2013), doi:10.1038/nature12116.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

kes, 16.05.2013

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseEyw8∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.