Press Release 052/2013

Building Sustainability and Energy Efficiency

“sb13 munich“ Conference about to Start

As part of the international series of “Sustainable Building Conferences”, the “sb13 munich” sustainability conference will take place from April 24 to 26, 2013. The conference will focus on trends towards establishing a sustainable development in central Europe’s construction and real estate industry. sb13 will provide a discussion platform for generating recommendations for politics, industry, and science, for initiating research collaborations, and for encouraging scientific exchange in particular among young scientists. The conference will be opened officially today, Wednesday, April 24, by Ministerial Director Günther Hoffmann from the German Federal Ministry of Transport, Building, and Urban Development (BMVBS). About 400 participants from 33 countries will meet at the “sb13 munich”.

 

The energy turnaround and associated challenges are key concerns of politics, industry, research, and of the construction and real estate sector. Energy efficiency and sustainability have long since become catchwords. Current challenges range from the development of energy-saving buildings to planning entire viable and green urban districts. Along with extensive discussions in the past 15 years, serious efforts were undertaken and initial successes were reached by several European countries in sustainable planning, building, management of buildings as well as in urban development. “It is now time to analyze still existing obstacles on the way towards the sustainable design of urban environment, to find new approaches to solving these problems, and to identify the opportunities resulting for the relevant actors,” says Professor Gerd Hauser, Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Building Physics (IBP) and Ordinary Professor of Building Physics at the Technische Universität München (TUM) with an outlook on the future. The conference is organized by IBP and TUM in cooperation with Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT).

 

In talks, workshops, excursions, and an exhibition, participants in “sb13 munich” will have the chance to inform themselves about the influence of politics and industry on the energy turnaround, funding concepts for sustainable construction, sustainable regional and urban planning incorporating latest trends in planning and energy supply, and low-energy and energy-plus concepts for new and existing buildings.

 

Current topics, such as low-energy buildings, resource efficiency, and the robustness of building and civic structures, can be integrated easily in the definition, evaluation, and shaping of sustainability. “Using lifecycle assessments to evaluate sustainability is a suitable means not only for identifying and resolving any conflicts of objectives, but also for classifying certain issues in a wider context. Sustainability remains of constant relevance,” says Professor Thomas Lützkendorf from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Hauser and Lützkendorf agree that the “sb13 munich” conference will contribute to steering national and international discussions and activities in the right direction.

 

Other topics covered by the conference will be methods for planning and evaluating sustainable buildings taking into account their life-cycles. In addition, the conference will present innovative materials and technologies for the construction sector. On April 24 and 25, the city of Munich and the BMVBS will organize special workshops for municipalities as part of the “sb13 munich”. A separate one-day conference was reserved for young scientists: The “Young Researchers Session” on April 23 at the Oskar-von-Miller-Forum and concentrated on current research activities and projects relating to sustainable building.

 

Topics and Trends at “sb13 munich”

Clear trends can be derived from the conference presentations and posters. One focus lies on economic issues, such as the integration of sustainability aspects in property valuation. Cost-effective solutions for low-energy buildings meet with increasing attention. It is important to consider sustainability aspects not just in the planning phase, as today, but in all processes and decisions throughout a lifecycle of a real estate. Additionally, it is needed to further develop and complement evaluation criteria and bases. The social and cultural value of historic buildings and civic structures, for instance, is increasingly discussed in the attempt to reconcile this value with the conservation of resources and protection of the environment. Work is also aimed at determining and applying various systems for evaluating these buildings’ sustainability. For other types of buildings, such as residential buildings, schools, or laboratories, evaluation criteria and systems will be presented at the conference.

 

About “sb13 munich”

“sb13 munich” is part of a series of sb13 regional conferences taking place in preparation for next year’s World Sustainable Building Conference to be held in Barcelona. This tradition of organizing regional conferences dates back to 1998. Since then, world and regional conferences have proved to be both fascinating and capable of producing valuable results.

 

The sb13 conference series and the sb14 world conference are initiated and organized by iiSBE (International Initiative for a Sustainable Built Environment), CIB (International Council for Building), FIDIC (International Federation of Consulting Engineers), and UNEP (United Nations Environment Programme). These organizations are international partners of “sb13 munich”. The organizers of the Munich conference (TUM, Fraunhofer IBP, and KIT) are supported by DBU (German Environmental Foundation) and the BMVBS (Federal Ministry of Transport, Building, and Urban Development). “sb13 munich” is organized by Professor Dr. Gerd Hauser, Director of Fraunhofer IBP and Ordinary Professor of Building Physics at TUM, Professor Dr. Thomas Lützkendorf from KIT, and Professor Dr. Natalie Eßig, University of Applied Sciences Munich, Fraunhofer IBP, and TUM Chair of Building Physics.

 

More information about the event and registration is available online at: www.sb13-munich.com.

 

Activities of the Fraunhofer Institute for Building Physics IBP concentrate on research, development, testing, demonstration, and consulting in the fields of building physics. These include noise control and sound insulation in buildings, the optimization of auditoria acoustics, and solutions for improving energy efficiency and optimizing lighting technology as well as climate control, hygiene, health protection, building material emissions, weatherproofing and protection against heat and moisture, preservation of building structures, and the conservation of historic monuments. Through holistic balancing, products, processes, and services are analyzed under ecological, social, and technical aspects in order to assess sustainability, sustainable optimization, and support of innovation processes. The research areas of building chemistry, building biology, and hygiene and work in the field of concrete technology complement the scope of activities in building physics. The IBP office at Kassel focuses on efficient energy use and the development of technical components.

 

Technische Universität München (TUM) is one of Europe’s top universities. It has about 500 professors, 9000 academic and non-academic staff members, and 32000 students. It focuses on engineering sciences, natural sciences, life sciences, medicine, and economic sciences. After winning numerous awards, it was selected a “University of Excellence” in 2006 and 2012 by the German Council of Science and Humanities and the German Research Foundation. In both national and international rankings, TUM is rated as one of Germany’s top universities. It is committed to the ideal of a top-level research-oriented entrepreneurial university. The university’s global presence includes a campus in Singapore as well as offices in Beijing (China), Brussels (Belgium), Cairo (Egypt), Mumbai (India), and Sao Paolo (Brazil). www.tum.de


Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

lg, 24.04.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Dr. Natalie Eßig
Fraunhofer-Institut für Bauphysik, Standort Holzkirchen und Technische Universität München
Lehrstuhl Bauphysik
Tel.: 089 289-25763
E-Mail:essig does-not-exist.tum de


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Presseinformation 052/2013

Nachhaltiges und energieeffizientes Bauen

Die Konferenz „sb13 munich“ öffnet ihre Pforten

Im Rahmen der internationalen Kongressreihe „Sustainable Building Conferences“ findet vom 24. bis 26. April 2013 die Nachhaltigkeitskonferenz „sb13 munich“ statt. Im Mittelpunkt stehen Trends für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung in der Bau- und Immobilienwirtschaft in Zentraleuropa. Auf dieser Diskussionsplattform werden Empfehlungen für Politik, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft erarbeitet, Forschungskooperationen angebahnt und der wissenschaftliche Austausch, insbesondere auch zwischen Nachwuchsforschern gefördert. Offiziell eröffnet die Konferenz am heutigen Mittwoch, 24. April, Ministerialdirektor Günther Hoffmann vom Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Bau und Stadtentwicklung (BMVBS). Auf der „sb13 munich“ treffen rund 400 Teilnehmer aus 33 Ländern zusammen.

 

Die Energiewende und ihre Anforderungen beschäftigen Politik, Wirtschaft, Forschung sowie die gesamte Bau- und Immobilienbranche gleichermaßen. Energieeffizienz und Nachhaltigkeit sind längst zu Schlagwörtern geworden, die Entwicklung energiesparender Gebäude bis hin zur Planung ganzer zukunftsfähiger grüner Stadtquartiere die aktuelle Herausforderung. Neben intensiven Diskussionen wurden in den vergangenen 15 Jahren ernsthafte Anstrengungen unternommen und erste Erfolge beim nachhaltigen Planen, Bauen und Betreiben von Gebäuden sowie einer nachhaltigen Stadtentwicklung in verschiedenen europäischen Ländern verzeichnet. »Nun ist es an der Zeit, die noch immer bestehenden Hemmnisse auf dem Weg zur nachhaltigen Gestaltung der gebauten Umwelt zu analysieren, neue Lösungsansätze dafür zu finden und die Chancen, die sich für die relevanten Akteure bieten, herauszustellen«, sagt Professor Gerd Hauser, Leiter des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Bauphysik IBP und Ordinarius für Bauphysik an der Technischen Universität München (TUM), mit Blick auf die Zukunft. Das IBP und die TUM sind gemeinsam mit dem Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) Veranstalter der Konferenz.

 

In Vorträgen, Workshops und Exkursionen sowie einer Ausstellung können sich die Konferenzteilnehmer über den Einfluss von Politik und Wirtschaft auf den Energiewandel, die Förderkonzepte für nachhaltiges Bauen, nachhaltige Regional- und Stadtplanung mit neuen Trends für Planung und Energieversorgung sowie über Niedrigst- und Plusenergiehauskonzepte für Neubauten und im Bestand informieren.

 

Aktuelle Themen wie Niedrigstenergiegebäude, Ressourceneffizienz, Robustheit von Gebäude- und Stadtstrukturen lassen sich dabei problemlos in eine Beschreibung, Bewertung und Beeinflussung der Nachhaltigkeit integrieren. »Die Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung via Lebenszyklusanalyse ist geeignet, sowohl Zielkonflikte zu erkennen und zu lösen, als auch Einzelthemen in einen Gesamtkontext einzuordnen. Die Nachhaltigkeit bleibt ein Dauerthema«, ist sich Professor Thomas Lützkendorf vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) sicher. Dass die „sb13 munich“-Konferenz dazu beiträgt, die Diskussionen und Aktivitäten sowohl auf nationaler als auch auf internationaler Ebene in die richtige Richtung zu lenken, darüber sind sich die Experten Hauser und Lützkendorf einig.

 

Vervollständigt wird das Themenspektrum durch Methoden zur Planung und Bewertung von nachhaltigen Gebäuden unter Beachtung des Lebenszyklusgedankens. Außerdem stellt die Konferenz innovative Materialien und Technologien für die Baubranche vor. Am 24. und 25. April werden bei der „sb13 munich“ zudem spezielle Workshops für Kommunen von der Stadt München und dem BMVBS organisiert. Ein eigener Konferenztag wurde jungen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern vorbehalten: In der „Young Researchers Session“, die bereits am 23. April im Oskar-von-Miller-Forum stattfand, haben sie Forschungsarbeiten und Projekte zum nachhaltigen Bauen präsentiert.

 

Themen & Trends auf der „sb13 munich“

In den Vorträgen und Posterausstellungen der Konferenz kristallisieren sich klare Trends heraus. So stehen beispielsweise ökonomische Themen wie die Integration von Aspekten der Nachhaltigkeit in die Werteermittlung im Fokus der Diskussion. Darüber hinaus rücken kostengünstige Lösungen für Niedrigstenergiegebäude in den Vordergrund. Bedeutend ist es auch, Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte bei sämtlichen Abläufen und Entscheidungen im Lebenszyklus einer Immobilie zu berücksichtigen und nicht wie bisher nur in der Planungsphase. Zudem gilt es, die Bewertungskriterien und -grundlagen weiterzuentwickeln und zu ergänzen. Dabei wird zum Beispiel der soziale beziehungsweise kulturelle Wert historischer Gebäude und Stadtstrukturen verstärkt diskutiert und versucht, diesen stärker als bisher mit Ressourcenschonung und Umweltschutz in Einklang zu bringen. Auch geht es darum, Systemvarianten zur Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung von Gebäuden verstärkt zu erarbeiten und anzuwenden. Für weitere Gebäudearten wie Wohnhäuser, Schulen oder Laborbauten werden auf der Tagung bereits Bewertungskriterien und -systeme vorgestellt.

 
Über die „sb13 munich“

Die „sb13 munich“ versteht sich als Teil einer Serie von Regionalkonferenzen aus der Reihe sb13, die der Vorbereitung der nächsten Weltkonferenz zum nachhaltigen Bauen im kommenden Jahr in Barcelona dient. Sie knüpft an Traditionen an, die bis in das Jahr 1998 zurückreichen und seither zu sowohl interessanten als auch ergebnisreichen Welt- und Regionalkonferenzen führten.

 

Die Serie der sb13-Konferenzen sowie die Weltkonferenz sb14 werden durch iiSBE (die Internationale Initiative für eine nachhaltig gebaute Umwelt), CIB (International Council for Building), FIDIC (International Federation of Consulting Engineers) und UNEP (United Nations Environment Programme) initiiert und begleitet. Sie treten bei der „sb13 munich“ als internationale Partner auf. Unterstützt werden die Veranstalter der Konferenz in München (TUM, Fraunhofer IBP und KIT) durch die DBU (Deutsche Bundesstiftung Umwelt) sowie durch das BMVBS (Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Bau und Stadtentwicklung). Organisiert wird die „sb13 munich“ von Prof. Dr. Gerd Hauser, Leiter des Fraunhofer IBP und Ordinarius für Bauphysik an der TUM, Prof. Dr. Thomas Lützkendorf vom KIT und Prof. Dr. Natalie Eßig, Hochschule München und Mitarbeiterin des Fraunhofer IBP sowie der TUM, Lehrstuhl für Bauphysik.

 

Weitere Informationen zur Veranstaltung und Anmeldung finden Sie im Web:
www.sb13-munich.com.

 

In den eigenen Kalender eintragen.

 

Die Aufgaben des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Bauphysik IBP konzentrieren sich auf Forschung, Entwicklung, Prüfung, Demonstration und Beratung auf den Gebieten der Bauphysik. Dazu zählen z. B. der Schutz gegen Lärm und Schallschutzmaßnahmen in Gebäuden, die Optimierung der Akustik in Räumen, Maßnahmen zur Steigerung der Energieeffizienz und Optimierung der Lichttechnik, Fragen des Raumklimas, der Hygiene, des Gesundheitsschutzes und der Baustoffemissionen sowie die Aspekte des Wärme-, Feuchte- und Witterungsschutzes, der Bausubstanzerhaltung und der Denkmalpflege. Über eine ganzheitliche Bilanzierung werden Produkte, Prozesse und Dienstleistungen unter ökologischen, sozialen und technischen Gesichtspunkten analysiert, um damit die Nachhaltigkeit, die nachhaltige Optimierung und die Förderung von Innovationsprozessen zu bewerten. Die Forschungsfelder Bauchemie, Baubiologie und Hygiene sowie das Arbeitsgebiet Betontechnologie komplettieren das bauphysikalische Leistungsspektrum des Instituts. Der Standort Kassel verstärkt die traditionellen Aktivitäten auf den Gebieten der rationellen Energieverwendung und bündelt die Entwicklung von anlagentechnischen Komponenten.

 

Die Technische Universität München (TUM) ist mit rund 500 Professorinnen und Professoren, 9.000 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern und 32.000 Studierenden eine der führenden technischen Universitäten Europas. Ihre Schwerpunktfelder sind die Ingenieurwissenschaften, Naturwissenschaften, Lebenswissenschaften, Medizin und Wirtschaftswissenschaften. Nach zahlreichen Auszeichnungen wurde sie 2006 und 2012 vom Wissenschaftsrat und der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft zur Exzellenzuniversität gewählt. In nationalen und internationalen Vergleichsstudien rangiert die TUM jeweils unter den besten Universitäten Deutschlands. Die TUM ist dem Leitbild einer forschungsstarken, unternehmerischen Universität verpflichtet. Weltweit ist die TUM mit einem Campus in Singapur sowie Niederlassungen in Peking (China), Brüssel (Belgien), Kairo (Ägypten), Mumbai (Indien) und São Paulo (Brasilien) vertreten. www.tum.de

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

lg, 24.04.2013
Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseQei3∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin

Tel.: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Kontakt für diese Presseinformation:

Dr. Natalie Eßig
Fraunhofer-Institut für Bauphysik, Standort Holzkirchen und Technische Universität München
Lehrstuhl Bauphysik
Tel.: 089 289-25763
E-Mail:essigYkv1∂tum de