Press Release 042/2013

France and Germany: Actors Developing Global Solutions

Bilateral Research and Education in the Focus of the 2013 KIT Annual Reception
2013_042_1_Frankreich_und_Deutschland_Gemeinsame_Akteure_bei_der_Entwicklung_globaler_Loesungen72dpi
KIT President Professor Eberhard Umbach welcomed the guests of the KIT Annual Reception. (Photo: Markus Breig)

German-French cooperation in research and education was in the focus of the Annual Reception of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) at the Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design yesterday evening. Main topics covered were energy and environmental research. Global challenges like these can only be managed jointly, said KIT President Professor Eberhard Umbach. He emphasized that German-French partnership plays a central role for Europe.

 

50 years ago, Konrad Adenauer and Charles de Gaulle sealed the Elysée Treaty with a signature – and with an embrace. The deep friendship and countless bilateral projects in politics, economy, science, and society are of crucial importance not only to both countries, but to the whole of Europe, said KIT President Eberhard Umbach in his welcome speech at the Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design. “Especially in these difficult times of the European Union (EU), it is important that Germany and France have a reliable partner in each other. The alliance between both countries is the axle driving further development of the EU. It is this solidarity that is required to manage the challenges ahead.” Umbach pointed out that scientific cooperation helped France and Germany overcome historical and political borders so quickly.

In the past years, KIT established a number of successful cooperative ventures with French institutions in the areas of energy research, nano- and microtechnologies, scientific computing, and research into the universe. As an example, Umbach mentioned the European Institute for Energy Research (EIFER): For more than ten years now, researchers of KIT, together with scientists of Électricité de France (EDF), have been working on future energy supply. Another bilateral project is the German-French Institute for Environmental Research (DFIU) founded in 1991. Together with the University of Strasbourg and the Association for Monitoring and Investigation of Atmospheric Pollution (ASPA), KIT is working on making the trinational Upper Rhine region the most innovative region in Europe as regards sustainable use of biomass. Another important partner is the French Commissariat of Atomic Energy and Alternative Energies (CEA). In the education sector, both countries have established permanent exchange through joint German-French study programs e.g. in mechanical engineering and physics. Graduates are conferred a double degree by KIT as well as by a French partner university. Together with ENSAM Metz, KIT has granted 500 double degrees so far. Joint activities in research and education are complemented by numerous cooperative ventures with French companies. Moreover, KIT is member of EUCOR, the European Confederation of Upper Rhine Universities.   

 

Long-term Cooperation in Energy Research

“Energy policies of both countries force us to understand today the practical consequences of the future transformation of the energy system,” said the Vice President of the EDF Group Bernard Salha in his keynote speech on Franco-German energy research. Among others, energy research focuses on sustainable urban planning and development. “The present challenge is to jointly prepare for the future and to learn from each other.” Salha pointed out that EIFER is an example of the joint effort. Here, the partners pool their strengths and competencies for the benefit of innovative projects and industrial development. EIFER is to be turned into a permanent institution such as to further extend the strategic partnership with KIT. Salha is Vice President of the EDF Group and Director of the Research and Development Division. With its 2000 researchers, it is responsible for all activities of the group in the production sector and for services offered to customers and grid operators.

 

 

EDF Vice President Bernard Salha (Photo: Irina Westermann)

 

Research, Innovation, and Academic Education in Germany and France

Cooperation between Germany and France is a reliable basis for research and development. Under the heading of “Learning from the Neighbor”, the podium discussion concentrated on bilateral research, innovation, and academic education. François Darchis, Senior Vice President of Air Liquide, underlined the advantages of new technologies. Under the “bioliq” project, joint research covers processes to convert biogenic residues into environmentally compatible fuels. Professor Bernard Bigot, Director of the Commissariat for Atomic Energy and Alternative Energies (CEA), looked back on the 50 years of joint development activities with great satisfaction. From nuclear technology to the transformation of the energy system, German and French scientists have been and are still working on European solutions on behalf of society. “As differences and common features are distributed well, we can learn a lot from each other,” added Dr. Karl-Friedrich Ziegahn, Chief Science Officer and Member of the Presidential Committee of KIT. He is responsible for the KIT Energy Center among others. Christiane Schmeken, Head of the Paris Office of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), pointed out that students are attracted by cultural differences in life and research. Also Professor Johannes Orphal, Spokesman of the German-French Initiative of KIT, emphasized that the effort associated with familiarizing with two cultures is worthwhile. By working in both countries, Orphal knows both perspectives. “German-French cooperation offers great potentials for the future!”, he summarized.

 

 

Podium discussion: Presenter Markus Brock, Prof. Johannes Orphal, Dr. Karl-Friedrich Ziegahn, Christiane Schmeken, François Darchis, Professor Bernard Bigot. (Photo: Irina Westermann)

 

Innovation at KIT

KIT focuses on the triangle of research, education, and innovation. “As one of the largest science institutions in Europe, KIT is responsible for designing cooperation of science and industry and promoting a living entrepreneurial culture,” Eberhard Umbach said. He pointed out that it is the declared objective of KIT to establish an ideal basis and incentives for development and transfer of know-how, inventions, and innovative technologies. Success of this approach is also reflected by KIT being one of the winners of the Germany-wide EXIST competition in January this year.

To honor scientists with highly innovative ideas, KIT recently launched the innovation award NEULAND in the two categories of “Competition of Ideas” and “Transfer Projects Special Award”. Among the criteria for winning the competition were creativity, innovation potential, vicinity to market, and market potential as well as benefit for the society. KIT President Eberhard Umbach and Vice President Dr. Peter Fritz honored this year’s laureates during the Annual Reception. The Competition of Ideas Award in the amount of EUR 3000 was granted to Professor Norbert Willenbacher and Jens Dittmann from the KIT Institute for Mechanical Process Engineering for their project “Porous Materials”. Professor Horst Geckeis, Professor Clemens Walther, Dr. Wolfgang Hauser, Sebastian Büchner, and Robert Götz from the Institute for Nuclear Waste Disposal were handed over the Transfer Projects Special Award in the amount of EUR 3000 for “NPA/LIBD“, a process used to analyze nanoparticles. The numerous proposals submitted were assessed by a jury of five experts from industry. From now on, the KIT Innovation Competition will take place annually. 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, kes, 22.03.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehne does-not-exist.kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presse does-not-exist.kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Projektleitung KIT Science Week

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseSwc2∂kit edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

Anleitung RSS-Feed einbinden

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 042/2013

Frankreich und Deutschland: Gemeinsame Akteure bei der Entwicklung globaler Lösungen

Grenzüberschreitende Forschung und Lehre im Mittelpunkt des KIT-Jahresempfangs 2013
Frankreich und Deutschland: Gemeinsame Akteure bei der Entwicklung globaler Lösungen
Begrüßte zum KIT-Jahresempfang: KIT-Präsident Professor Eberhard Umbach (Foto: Markus Breig)

Die deutsch-französische Zusammenarbeit in Forschung und Lehre standen im Fokus des Jahresempfangs des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT), der gestern Abend in der Hochschule für Gestaltung stattfand. Schwerpunktthemen waren dabei die Energie- und Umweltforschung. Globale Herausforderungen wie diese könne man nur gemeinsam bewältigen, so KIT-Präsident Professor Eberhard Umbach. Dabei spiele die deutsch-französische Partnerschaft eine zentrale Rolle für Europa.

 

Vor 50 Jahren besiegelten Konrad Adenauer und Charles de Gaulle den Elysée-Vertrag mit einer Unterschrift – und mit einer Umarmung. Die tiefe Freundschaft und die unzähligen grenzüberschreitenden Projekte in Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft seien aber nicht nur für diese beiden Länder von größter Bedeutung, sondern für ganz Europa, sagte KIT-Präsident Eberhard Umbach bei der Begrüßung in der Hochschule für Gestaltung. „Gerade in der schwierigen Situation, in der die Europäische Union (EU) zurzeit ist, ist es wichtig, dass Deutschland und Frankreich im jeweils anderen einen verlässlichen Partner haben. Die Verbindung zwischen den beiden Ländern ist die Antriebsachse für die Weiterentwicklung der EU. Nur mit dieser Solidarität lassen sich die Herausforderungen bewältigen.“ Nicht zuletzt über die wissenschaftlichen Kooperationen hätten Frankreich und Deutschland die historischen und politischen Grenzen schnell überwunden, so Umbach.

Das KIT hat in den vergangenen Jahren eine Reihe erfolgreicher Kooperationen mit französischen Einrichtungen etabliert, etwa in der Energieforschung, der Nano- und Mikrotechnologie, dem wissenschaftlichen Rechnen sowie in der Erforschung des Universums. Stellvertretend nannte Umbach das European Institute for Energy Research (EIFER): Seit mehr als zehn Jahren arbeiten hier Forscherinnen und Forscher des KIT und der Électricité de France (EDF) an der zukünftigen Energieversorgung. Ein weiteres grenzüberschreitendes Projekt ist das bereits 1991 gegründete Deutsch-Französische Institut für Umweltforschung (DFIU). Gemeinsames Ziel des KIT mit der Universität Straßburg und der Association pour la Surveillance et l‘Etude de la Pollution Atmosphérique (ASPA) ist es, die trinationale Oberrheinregion zur innovativsten Region Europas in der nachhaltigen Biomassenutzung zu machen. Wichtiger Partner ist auch die französische Kommission für Atomenergie und alternative Energien (CEA). Einen dauerhaften Austausch haben die beiden Länder auch in der Lehre aufgebaut, insbesondere mit den gemeinsamen deutsch-französischen Studiengängen etwa in Maschinenbau und Physik: Ihren Abschluss erwerben die Absolventinnen und Absolventen sowohl am KIT als auch an einer französischen Partnerhochschule. Zusammen mit der ENSAM Metz hat das KIT bislang 500 Doppelabschlüsse. Zu den Aktivitäten in Forschung und Lehre kommen zahlreiche Kooperationen mit französischen Unternehmen. KIT ist auch Mitglied von Eucor – die Oberrhein Universität. 

 

Langfristige Zusammenarbeit in der Energieforschung

„Die Energiepolitiken unserer beiden Länder drängen uns heute dazu, die praktischen Konsequenzen der bevorstehenden Energiewende zu verstehen“, sagte der Vizepräsident der EDF-Gruppe, Bernard Salha, im Impulsvortrag zur französisch-deutschen Energieforschung. Zentrales Thema dabei sei etwa die nachhaltige Stadtplanung und -entwicklung. „Die gegenwärtige Herausforderung besteht darin, die Zukunft gemeinsam vorzubereiten und voneinander zu lernen.“ Das gemeinsame Wirken belege EIFER, hier bündelten die Partner ihre jeweiligen Stärken und Kompetenzen zum Nutzen innovativer Projekte und der industriellen Entwicklung. EIFER wolle man zu einer dauerhaften Institution machen und auf diesem Weg die strategische Partnerschaft mit dem KIT weiter ausbauen. Salha ist Vizepräsident der EDF-Gruppe sowie Direktor der Abteilung Forschung und Entwicklung, die mit 2000 Forschern verantwortlich ist für alle Aktivitäten der Gruppe im Bereich Produktion bis hin zu Dienstleistungen für Kunden und Netzbetreiber.

 

 

EDF-Vizepräsident Bernard Salha (Foto: Irina Westermann)

 

Forschung, Innovation und akademische Ausbildung in Deutschland und Frankreich

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschen und Franzosen ist eine verlässliche Grundlage für Forschung und Entwicklung. Unter dem Motto „Vom Nachbarn lernen“ waren bilaterale Forschung, Innovation und akademische Ausbildung die Themen der Podiumsdiskussion. François Darchis, Senior Vice-President der Firma Air Liquide, unterstrich die Vorteile bei neuen Technologien. Beim Projekt „bioliq“ forscht man gemeinsam an Verfahren, um aus biogenen Reststoffen umweltfreundliche Kraftstoffe zu machen. Professor Bernard Bigot, Vorsitzender der Kommission für Atomenergie und alternative Energien (CEA), blickte zufrieden auf die 50-jährige gemeinsame Entwicklung zurück. Von der Kerntechnik bis zur Energiewende arbeiten Deutsche und Franzosen im Auftrag der Gesellschaft an europäischen Lösungen. „Gerade da Unterschiede und Gemeinsamkeiten gut verteilt sind, können wir viel voneinander lernen“, ergänzte Dr. Karl-Friedrich Ziegahn, Chief Science Officer des KIT und Mitglied des Präsdiums. Sein Zuständigkeitsbereich umfasst unter anderem das KIT-Zentrum Energie. Den Reiz für Studierende an Kulturunterschieden im Leben und Forschen betonte Christiane Schmeken, Leiterin des Pariser Büros des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes (DAAD). Dass sich der Aufwand zwei Kulturen kennenzulernen lohnt, bestätigte auch Professor Johannes Orphal, Sprecher der Deutsch-Französischen Initiative des KIT. Durch seine Arbeit in beiden Ländern hat er die verschiedenen Perspektiven kennengelernt. „Die Deutsch-Französische Zusammenarbeit bietet ein großes Potenzial für die Zukunft!“

 

 

Talkrunde: Moderator Markus Brock, Prof. Johannes Orphal, Dr. Karl-Friedrich Ziegahn, Christiane Schmeken, François Darchis, Prof. Bernard Bigot(Foto: Irina Westermann)

 

Innovation am KIT

Das KIT setzt auf den Dreiklang aus Forschung, Lehre und Innovation. „Als einer der größten Wissenschaftseinrichtungen in Europa steht das KIT in der Verantwortung, das Zusammenwirken von Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft zu gestalten und die lebendige Gründerkultur zu fördern“, sagte Eberhard Umbach. Erklärtes Ziel sei es, einen idealen Nährboden und Anreize für die Entwicklung und den Transfer von Wissen, Erfindungen und innovativen Technologien zu schaffen. Dafür stehe auch der Erfolg des KIT im bundesweiten EXIST-Gründerwettbewerb im Januar dieses Jahres.

Zur Förderung von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern mit besonders innovativen Ideen hatte das KIT erstmals den Innovationspreis NEULAND in den zwei Kategorien „Ideenwettbewerb“ und „Sonderpreis Transferprojekte“ ausgelobt. Auswahlkriterien waren unter anderem Kreativität, Innovationspotenzial, Marktnähe und -größe sowie Nutzen für die Gesellschaft. KIT-Präsident Eberhard Umbach und Vizepräsident Dr. Peter Fritz zeichneten die Preisträger nun beim Jahresempfang aus. Den mit 3.000 Euro dotierten Ideenwettbewerb gewannen Professor Norbert Willenbacher und Jens Dittmann vom Institut für Mechanische Verfahrenstechnik und Mechanik des KIT für ihr Projekt „Poröse Materialien“. Professor Horst Geckeis, Professor Clemens Walther, Dr. Wolfgang Hauser, Sebastian Büchner und Robert Götz vom Institut für Nukleare Entsorgung erhielten für „NPA/LIBD“, ein Verfahren zur Analyse von Nanopartikeln, den Sonderpreis Transferprojekte in Höhe von 3.000 Euro. Bewertet wurden die zahlreichen Bewerbungen von einer fünfköpfigen Unternehmerjury. Der Innovationswettbewerb wird zukünftig jährlich stattfinden.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

le, kes, 22.03.2013

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
margarete lehneUtf3∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseZpd7∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.