Press Release 040/2013

Cloud Research for Better Weather and Climate Models

Measurement Campaign in Jülich to Determine Spatial Structure of the Clouded Atmosphere More Accurately Than Ever – KIT Climate Researchers Participate with “KITcube“
2013_040_Wolkenforschung_fuer_bessere_Wetter-_und_Klimamodelle72dpi
KITcube is one of the most modern measurement instruments in European weather and climate research. (Photo: Nele Ziegler, KIT)

Clouds appear to be large structures, but consist of ten thousands of water droplets and ice particles of variable size and shape. The Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) funds the research project “Cloud and Precipitation Processes in the Climate System – HD(CP)2” with a total amount of EUR 11 million. One of the project partners is Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). The project studies the spatial structure of clouds and their particle composition. It is aimed at improving the understanding of cloud and precipitation formation and, hence, weather and climate models.

 

The abbreviation HD(CP)2 stands for “High Definition Clouds & Precipitation for Advancing Climate Prediction“. 120 researchers from 17 institutes are involved in the project. From April to July 2013, a measurement campaign called “HOPE” will be performed on an area measuring 10 x 10 km2 around Forschungszentrum Jülich. There, remote sensing instruments will determine spatial temperature, humidity, and cloud fields up to about 10 km height with tilting lidar and radar devices and a number of ground sensors measuring temperature, humidity, and solar irradiation. More than 20 of these remote sensing systems will be coordinated and operated all around the clock in order to capture as many weather situations as possible. This will result in the most complete conception of the formation and development of clouds that has been obtained so far. The complex ground-based measurements will be complemented by a total of 300 radiosonde ascents.

 

The Institute of Energy and Climate Research of Forschungszentrum Jülich will host scientists from the Universities of Cologne, Bonn, Hohenheim, Berlin, Leipzig, and Munich, the Max Planck Institute for Meteorology in Hamburg, the Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), and the Leibniz Institute for Troposphere Research in Leipzig. Other national and international partners will join the experiment to complement and refine experimental measurements of the complex cloud system. These measurements will be accompanied by weather and climate calculations using latest model generations on the fastest high-performance computers available in Germany. The data obtained under HOPE will be used to assess the accuracy of the models. Comparison between model and reality will lead to model improvement. HOPE will also be a prototype of future European networks of fields for weather and climate measurements. The project is managed by a team of experts from Bonn, Hamburg, Hohenheim, Karlsruhe, and Leipzig.

 

The Troposphere Research Division of the KIT Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK-TRO) will apply the “KITcube” for atmosphere monitoring. This instrument consists of lidar and radar devices as well as of weather probes. IMK-TRO scientists will measure the complete process chain from evaporation on the ground to development with time and spatial distribution of humidity in the atmosphere to cloud and precipitation formation.


 

More information: http://hdcp2.zmaw.de/HOPE.2306.0.html


The KIT Climate and Environment Center develops strategies and technologies to secure the natural bases of life. For this purpose, 660 employees of 32 institutes produce fundamental and application-oriented knowledge relating to climate and environmental change. It is not only aimed at eliminating the causes of environmental problems, but increasingly at adapting to changed conditions.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 18.03.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehne does-not-exist.kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presse does-not-exist.kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseBpw9∂kit edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

Anleitung RSS-Feed einbinden

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 040/2013

Wolkenforschung für bessere Wetter- und Klimamodelle

Messkampagne in Jülich erfasst die räumliche Struktur der bewölkten Atmosphäre genauer als je zuvor – Klimaforscher des KIT mit „KITcube“ beteiligt
Der KITcube ist in der Wetter- und Klimaforschung eines der modernsten Mess-instrumentarien in Europas (Foto: Nele Ziegler, KIT)
Der KITcube ist in der Wetter- und Klimaforschung eines der modernsten Messinstrumentarien in Europas (Foto: Nele Ziegler, KIT)

Wolken erscheinen uns als große Gebilde, bestehen aber aus Zehntausenden Wassertröpfchen und Eispartikeln verschiedenster Größe und Form. Mit elf Millionen Euro fördert das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) das Forschungsprojekt „Wolken- und Niederschlagsprozesse im Klimasystem – HD(CP)2“, an dem auch das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) beteiligt ist. Das Projekt untersucht die räumliche Struktur von Wolken sowie deren Partikelzusammensetzung. Ziele sind ein genaues Verständnis der Wolken- und Niederschlagsbildung und damit eine deutliche Verbesserung von Wetter- und Klimamodellen.

 

Das Kürzel HD(CP)2 steht für „High Definition Clouds & Precipitation in Climate Prediction“. Insgesamt sind an dem Projekt 120 Forscher aus 17 Instituten beteiligt. Eine Messkampagne mit dem optimistischen Namen „HOPE“ findet von April bis Juli 2013 in einem etwa zehn mal zehn Quadratkilometer großen Gebiet um das Helmholtz-Zentrum Jülich statt. Fernerkundungsinstrumente erfassen dort die räumlichen Temperatur-, Feuchte- und Wolkenfelder bis in etwa zehn Kilometern Höhe mit schwenkbaren Lidar- und Radargeräten und einer Vielzahl von Bodensensoren für Temperatur, Feuchte und solarer Einstrahlung. Mehr als 20 solcher Fernerkundungsgeräte sind koordiniert und zumeist rund um die Uhr im Einsatz, um möglichst viele Wettersituationen einzufangen. Damit ergibt sich das bisher vollständigste Bild des Entstehens und der Entwicklung von Wolken. Insgesamt 300 Radiosondenaufstiege ergänzen die aufwändigen bodengebundenen Messungen.

 

Das Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung am Forschungszentrum Jülich ist Gastgeber für die beteiligten Institute der Universitäten zu Köln, Bonn, Hohenheim, Berlin, Leipzig, München, des Max-Planck-Instituts für Meteorologie in Hamburg, des Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) und des Leibniz-Instituts für Troposphärenforschung in Leipzig. Weitere nationale und internationale Partner kommen kontinuierlich hinzu, sie ergänzen und verfeinern die experimentelle Erfassung des komplexen Wolkensystems. Die Messungen werden begleitet von Wetter- und Klimaberechnungen der neuesten Modellgenerationen auf den schnellsten zur Verfügung stehenden Hochleistungsrechnern Deutschlands. Die umfangreichen Daten von HOPE dienen als Messlatte für die Genauigkeit der Modelle. Der Vergleich zwischen Modell und Wirklichkeit wird entscheidende Impulse zur Modellverbesserung liefern. HOPE ist auch ein Prototyp für zukünftige europäisch vernetzte Messfelder zur Wetter- und Klimaerfassung. Ein Expertenteam aus Bonn, Hamburg, Hohenheim, Karlsruhe und Leipzig leitet das Projekt.

 

Das Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung – Bereich Troposphärenforschung (IMK-TRO) des KIT setzt sein Instrumentarium zur Beobachtung der Atmosphäre ein: den „KITcube“, der unter anderem über Lidar- und Radargeräte  sowie Wettersonden verfügt. Die Wissenschaftler des IMK-TRO werden so  die gesamte Prozesskette von der Verdunstung am Boden über die zeitliche Entwicklung und räumliche Verteilung der Feuchte in der Atmosphäre bis hin zur Wolken- und Niederschlagsbildung erfassen.

 

Nähere Informationen: http://hdcp2.zmaw.de/HOPE.2306.0.html


Das KIT-Zentrum Klima und Umwelt entwickelt Strategien und Technologien zur Sicherung der natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen: Dafür erarbeiten 660 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter aus 32 Instituten Grundlagen- und Anwendungswissen zum Klima- und Umweltwandel. Dabei geht es nicht nur um die Beseitigung der Ursachen von Umweltproblemen, sondern zunehmend um die Anpassung an veränderte Verhältnisse.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

le, 18.03.2013

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
margarete lehneBzs6∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseMqg1∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.