Press Release 036/2013

Improved Mobility Services through Comprehensive Concepts

Start of “Intermodal eMobility Management“ Research Project

Enhanced integration of electric mobility in regional mobility services is in the focus of the “Intermodal eMobility Management (I-eMM)” project funded with EUR 1.67 million by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) for three years under the E-Mobility South-West leading-edge cluster. The project is aimed at improving electric mobility services in combination with public passenger transport and car sharing offers. PTV Group coordinates the joint project in which Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a partner. The total project volume amounts to EUR 3.4 million.

 

Our mobility behavior changes. Mobility services, such as attractive public transport services or flexible car rentals are gaining importance. Possession of an own private car is of decreasing significance. The new research project now focuses on how electric vehicles can be used to efficiently design and operate new improved mobility offers for citizens.

 

The I-eMM project studies concepts for the supply and operation of mobility services that combine (electric) vehicle offers by car sharing companies with public passenger transport services. Studies concentrate on the Rhine-Neckar region with its potentials and new electric mobility services offered by Stadtmobil Rhein-Neckar AG in cooperation with Rhein-Neckar-Verkehr GmbH. For the first time, transport planning methods and models are applied. Based on defined mobility services, business models and associated processes and operations of various operators are analyzed and conceived in order to establish an integrated scheme for charging mobility services. Another focus is placed on the integration of real-time data from electric vehicle and public passenger transport operations. Interfaces are developed for the exchange of real-time data among the electric vehicle, the operator of the electric vehicles, and the public passenger transport control station. On this basis, information services for travellers and commuters in the region will be improved. Updated information will be supplied continuously to the traveller. As a result, attractiveness of electric mobility solutions will be increased in the future. The findings of the research project on Intermodal eMobility Management will be available by the end of the project in August 2015.

 

Committed Partners
Six partners from various branches, who are active in research, are involved in the project and contribute their know-how: The Research Center for Information Technology (FZI) and Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) with its Institute for Transport Studies (IfV) and the Institute of Product Engineering (IPEK) contribute latest scientific findings. From industry, the software provider PTV Group and RA Consulting are involved. The pilot partners are Rhein-Neckar-Verkehr GmbH as a public passenger transport company and Stadtmobil Rhein-Neckar AG as a car sharing company.

 

Electromobility South-West Leading-edge Cluster
With about 80 actors from industry and science, the leading-edge cluster Electromobility South-West is one of the most important regional alliances in the field of electric mobility. The cluster managed by the e-mobil BW GmbH agency is aimed at enhancing industrialization of electric mobility in Germany and making Baden-Württemberg a major supplier of electromobile solutions. The leading-edge cluster is funded by the BMBF under the High-tech Strategy of the Federal Government with EUR 14 million over a duration of five years. The cluster is to pool potentials along the complete chain of innovations and values added. Under the heading of “Road to Global Market”, the cluster uses the unique opportunities in the region of Karlsruhe-Mannheim-Stuttgart-Ulm to establish a network of renowned large, medium-sized, and small enterprises in the areas of vehicle technology, energy technology, information and communication technologies, and production technology with local research institutions. 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 08.03.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehne does-not-exist.kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Presseinformation 036/2013

Verbesserte Mobilitätsangebote durch übergreifende Konzepte

Forschungsprojekt „Intermodales eMobilitätsmanagement“ gestartet

Die verbesserte Integration von  Elektromobilität in regionale Mobilitätsdienste steht im Mittelpunkt des Projekts „Intermodales eMobilitätsmanagement (I-eMM)“, welches das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) über drei Jahre im Spitzencluster ‚Elektromobilität Süd-West‘ mit 1,67 Millionen Euro fördert. Ziel ist es, verbesserte Elektro-Mobilitätsangebote insbesondere in Vernetzung mit öffentlichem Personennahverkehr und CarSharing-Angeboten zu schaffen. PTV Group leitet als Koordinator das Verbundprojekt, an dem auch das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) beteiligt ist. Das Projektvolumen beläuft sich auf insgesamt 3,4 Millionen Euro.

 

Unser Mobilitätsverhalten verändert sich: Mobilitätsservices wie attraktive öffentliche Verkehrsangebote oder flexible Fahrzeugmietdienste gewinnen an Bedeutung, der Besitz eines eigenen Pkws wird hingegen immer weniger wichtig. Das neue Forschungsprojekt untersucht jetzt, wie sich mit Elektrofahrzeugen in Zukunft neue, stärker integrierte Mobilitätsangebote für Bürgerinnen und Bürger effizient konzipieren und betreiben lassen.

 

Das Projekt I-eMM erforscht dabei Konzepte für Angebot und Betrieb von Mobilitätsdienstleistungen, die (Elektro-)Fahrzeugangebote von CarSharing-Betreibern und ÖPNV-Anbietern miteinander verknüpfen. Den Anwendungskontext bietet dabei die Region Rhein-Neckar, in der beispielhaft Potenziale und neue Angebote von Elektromobilität aus der Kooperation der Stadtmobil Rhein-Neckar AG und der Rhein-Neckar-Verkehr GmbH im Mittelpunkt stehen. Neu ist dabei der Einsatz verkehrsplanerischer Methoden und Modelle. Auf Basis der definierten Mobilitätsangebote werden anschließend Geschäftsmodelle und die damit verbundenen Prozesse und Abläufe betreiberübergreifend analysiert und konzipiert, um eine integrierte Abrechnung der Mobilitätsdienstleistungen zu ermöglichen. Ein zweiter betreiberübergreifender Schwerpunkt stellt die betriebliche Integration von Echtzeitdaten aus Elektrofahrzeug- und ÖPNV-Betrieb dar.  Hierfür werden passende Schnittstellen für den Austausch von Echtzeitdaten zwischen eFahrzeug, eFlottenbetreiber und ÖPNV-Leitstelle konzipiert. Damit lassen sich Informationsdienste an Reisende und Pendler in der Region verbessern, die aktuell, betreiberübergreifende Auskunft geben und den Reiseverlauf unterstützen – und letztendlich in Zukunft die Attraktivität von Elektromobilitätslösungen steigern. Die Ergebnisse des Forschungsprojekts für das intermodale eMobilitätsmanagement werden mit Ende der Laufzeit im August 2015 vorliegen.

 

Engagierte Partner
Sechs forschungsaffine Partner aus verschiedenen Branchen sind in diesem Projekt aktiv und unterstützen es mit ihrem Know-how: Das Forschungszentrum Informatik (FZI) und das Karlsruher Institut für Technologien (KIT) mit dem Institut für Verkehrswesen (IfV) und dem Institut für Produktentwicklung (IPEK) bringen neueste wissenschaftliche Aspekte ein. Aus der Industrie engagieren sich die Softwareanbieter PTV Group und RA Consulting. Als Pilotpartner stehen seitens ÖPNV die Rhein-Neckar-Verkehr GmbH und seitens Car-Sharing die Stadtmobil Rhein-Neckar AG zur Verfügung.

 

Spitzencluster Elektromobilität Süd-West
Mit rund 80 Akteuren aus Industrie und Wissenschaft ist der Spitzencluster Elektromobilität Süd-West einer der bedeutendsten regionalen Verbünde auf dem Gebiet der Elektromobilität. Der Cluster, der von der Landesagentur e-mobil BW GmbH gemanagt wird, verfolgt das Ziel, die Industrialisierung der Elektromobilität in Deutschland voranzubringen und Baden-Württemberg zu einem wesentlichen Anbieter elektromobiler Lösungen zu machen. Das Spitzencluster wird vom BMBF im Rahmen der High-Tech Strategie der Bundesregierung über einen Zeitraum von fünf Jahren mit 40 Mio. Euro gefördert. Ziel der Spitzenclusterförderung ist es, regionale Potenziale entlang der gesamten Innovations- und Wertschöpfungskette zu bündeln. Unter dem Motto „road to global market“ nutzt der Cluster die einmaligen Möglichkeiten der Region Karlsruhe – Mannheim – Stuttgart – Ulm, um renommierte große, mittlere und kleine Unternehmen aus den Bereichen Fahrzeugtechnologie, Energietechnologie, Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie (IKT) sowie dem Querschnittsfeld Produktionstechnologie untereinander und mit Forschungsinstituten vor Ort zu vernetzen.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

le, 08.03.2013
Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseXpq4∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin

Tel.: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Kontakt für diese Presseinformation:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
margarete lehneYhp9∂kit edu