Press Release 033/2013

KIT Is Part of the National Energy Turnaround Platform

BMBF Projects “National Energy Turnaround Research Platform” and “Future Energy Systems” Compile Energy Research Findings for Public Discussion

Two of eight working groups of the academies’ project “Future Energy Systems” are headed by scientists of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). The Federal Minister of Research, Johanna Wanka, and acatech President Reinhard F. Hüttl have now outlined the objectives and structure of the project at a press conference in Berlin. The project is aimed at compiling and processing knowledge on energy issues, developing energy scenarios, and identifying new research topics.

 

The working group “Implementation Options” headed by Eberhard Umbach, President of KIT, develops concrete options for establishing the energy system desired in the future. Economic and societal framework conditions are considered as are the material resources available and the technological and scientific development needs. The working group will offer holistic and science-based orientation knowledge for the transformation of the energy system.

 

The working group “Scenarios” is headed by Armin Grunwald, Head of the Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis (ITAS) of KIT and of the Office for Technology Assessment with the German Federal Parliament (TAB). The working group is to describe potential future energy systems. The objectives of sustainability, affordability, and security of supply as well as dynamics of changing conditions are to be taken into account. Based on concrete objectives for the design of the future energy system, adequate monitoring of the energy turnaround will be possible. Against these objectives, the progress of the transformation process will be measured.

 

The academies’ project “Future Energy Systems” is aimed at pooling the interdisciplinary scientific expertise in Germany and gearing it towards the central issues relating to the energy turnaround. The project is coordinated by the German science academies, the National Academy of Science and Engineering (acatech), the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, and the Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities. Apart from technical feasibility, economic and legal aspects as well as efficient use of resources and society acceptance are addressed. The project is intended to identify solutions for managing the energy turnaround and to contribute to an efficient implementation in the form of secure, affordable, and sustainable energy supply. It will provide the scientifically sound basis of discussions of the energy turnaround in society. This will enhance the objectiveness of the debate and medium- and long-term acceptance.

 

The project “Future Energy Systems” is embedded in the “National Energy Turnaround Research Platform” together with the “Energy Turnaround Research Forum” and the “Coordination Group of Research Institutions and University Representatives”. In this group, the Helmholtz Association is also represented by Eberhard Umbach, its Vice President for Energy. The research platform is aimed at improving the pooling of research activities in the future.   

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is one of Europe’s leading energy research establishments. Research, education, and innovation at KIT foster the energy turnaround and reorganization of the energy system in Germany. KIT links excellent competences in engineering and science with know-how in economics, the humanities, and social sciences as well as law. The activities of the KIT Energy Center are organized in seven topics: Energy conversion, renewable energies, energy storage and distribution, efficient energy use, fusion technology, nuclear power and safety, and energy systems analysis. Clear priorities lie in the areas of energy efficiency and renewable energies, energy storage systems and grids, electric mobility, and enhanced international cooperation in research.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

kes, 04.03.2013
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Kosta Schinarakis
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-21165
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis does-not-exist.kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 033/2013

KIT ist Teil der Nationalen Plattform Energiewende

BMBF-Projekte „Nationale Forschungsplattform Energiewende“ und „Energiesysteme der Zukunft“ tragen Wissen aus der Energieforschung für die gesellschaftliche Diskussion zusammen

Zwei der acht Arbeitsgruppen des Akademienprojektes „Energiesysteme der Zukunft“ werden von Wissenschaftlern des Karlsruher Institutes für Technologie (KIT) geleitet. Über Ziele und Struktur des Projekts hat jüngst Bundesforschungsministerin Johanna Wanka und Acatech-Präsident Reinhard F. Hüttl auf einer Pressekonferenz in Berlin informiert. Das Projekt wird das Wissen zu Energiethemen aufbereiten, Energieszenarien ausarbeiten und neue Forschungsthemen identifizieren.

 

In der Arbeitsgruppe „Umsetzungsoptionen“, geleitet von Eberhard Umbach, Präsident des KIT, werden konkrete Optionen für einen Weg in das zukünftig angestrebte Energiesystem entwickelt. Dazu werden ökonomische und gesellschaftliche Rahmenbedingungen ebenso ins Kalkül gezogen, wie die verfügbaren materiellen Ressourcen sowie technologische und wissenschaftliche Entwicklungsbedarfe. Die Arbeitsgruppe bietet so ein ganzheitliches und wissenschaftlich basiertes Orientierungswissen für den Umbau des Energiesystems.

 

Der Arbeitsgruppe „Szenarien“ sitzt Armin Grunwald vor, Leiter des Instituts für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS) am KIT sowie des Büros für Technikfolgenabschätzung beim Deutschen Bundestag (TAB). Die Arbeitsgruppe soll mögliche Energiesysteme der Zukunft beschreiben. Dabei gilt es die Ziele Nachhaltigkeit, Finanzierbarkeit und Versorgungssicherheit, aber auch die Dynamik sich ändernder Bedingungen zu berücksichtigen. Konkrete Zielvorstellungen für die Ausgestaltung des zukünftigen Energiesystems sind auch die Grundvoraussetzung für ein adäquates Monitoring der Energiewende. An ihnen müssen sich die Fortschritte des Umbauprozesses messen lassen.

 

Ziel des Akademienprojektes "Energiesysteme der Zukunft" ist es, die in Deutschland vorhandene wissenschaftliche Expertise interdisziplinär zu bündeln und auf die zentralen Fragestellungen der Energiewende auszurichten. Das Projekt wird getragen von den deutschen Wissenschaftsakademien, der Deutschen Akademie der Technikwissenschaften (acatech), der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina und der Union der deutschen Akademien der Wissenschaften. Neben Fragen der technologischen Machbarkeit werden auch ökonomische und rechtliche sowie solche der effizienten Ressourcennutzung und der gesellschaftlichen Akzeptanz adressiert. Das Vorhaben will dadurch Lösungswege zur Bewältigung der Energiewende aufzeigen und damit zur effizienten Umsetzung hin zu einer sicheren, bezahlbaren und nachhaltigen Energieversorgung beitragen. Es liefert eine wissenschaftlich fundierte Basis für gesamtgesellschaftliche Diskussionen rund um die Energiewende. Dies dient einer sachlichen Debatte und fördert ihre Akzeptanz auch mittel- bis langfristig.

 

Eingebettet ist das Projekt "Energiesysteme der Zukunft" in die „Nationale Forschungsplattform Energiewende“, zusammen mit dem „Forschungsforum Energiewende“ und dem „Koordinationskreis der Forschungseinrichtungen und der Hochschulvertreter“, in diesem Kreis wird die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft ebenfalls durch Eberhard Umbach, als ihren Vize-Präsidenten für Energie, vertreten. Ziel der Forschungsplattform ist es, die einzelnen Forschungsaktivitäten in Zukunft stärker zu bündeln.

 

In der Energieforschung ist das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) eine der europaweit führenden Einrichtungen. Das KIT unterstützt die Energiewende und den Umbau des Energie-systems in Deutschland durch seine Aktivitäten in Forschung, Lehre und Innovation. Hier verbindet das KIT exzellente technik- und naturwissenschaftliche Kompetenzen mit wirtschafts-, geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichem sowie rechtswissenschaftlichem Fachwissen. Die Arbeit des KIT-Zentrums Energie gliedert sich in sieben Topics: Energieumwandlung, erneuerbare Energien, Energiespeicherung und Energieverteilung, effiziente Energienutzung, Fusionstechnologie, Kernenergie und Sicherheit sowie Energiesystemanalyse. Klare Prioritäten liegen in den Bereichen Energieeffizienz und erneuerbare Energien, Energiespeicher und Netze, Elektromobilität sowie dem Ausbau der internationalen Forschungszusammenarbeit.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

kes, 04.03.2013

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu