Press Release 026/2013

Inductive Charging Technology for Shuttle Busses

KIT’s PRIMOVE Project Focuses on Public Electric Busses in Mannheim – Power Flow Simulation and Optimized Charging Infrastructures

In cooperation with Rhein-Neckar-Verkehr GmbH (RNV), the city of Mannheim, and Bombardier Transportation GmbH, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) tests wireless recharging of electric busses used for regular public passenger transportation. The project funded by the Federal Ministry of Transport, Building, and Urban Development (BMVBS) is aimed at demonstrating suitability of the PRIMOVE inductive charging technology for daily passenger transportation.

 

For a period of twelve months, two inductively charged electric busses will be operated on the regular bus service line 63 in Mannheim and an electric service vehicle is to be applied. Vehicle use will be coordinated by the partners, the project will be managed by RNV GmbH. The scientific project partner is the KIT Institute of Vehicle System Technology (FAST).

 

In principle, inductive energy is transmitted via two magnetically coupled coils. One of these coils is installed in the road surface at the bus stop, the other is mounted to the vehicle bottom. Variation of magnetic flux induces an electric voltage in the vehicle coil. Thus, energy transmission between both coils is wireless.

 

KIT research activities under this project focus on simulating power flow in the electric busses and at the inductive charging points. “On this basis, the dimensions of vehicle batteries and the design of the road’s charging infrastructure can be adapted optimally,” says Professor Peter Gratzfeld from FAST, who manages the project on the part of KIT. Particular attention is paid to the requirements to be met by the supply network. “Large amounts of energy have to be supplied to the charging points within a very short time.” In addition, the KIT scientists determine efficiencies. They plan to demonstrate enhanced energy efficiency compared to conventional solutions. After startup of the electric vehicles, the real energy flows will be measured to verify simulation results.

 

Work also focuses on designing the charging stations in the road such that both electric busses and the electric service vehicle can be charged. Joint use of the same charging infrastructure will facilitate wide use of electric mobility in urban areas. KIT also supports the RNV GmbH in optimizing and designing the workflows at their workshops and provides training for the use of the new electric busses.

 

With this project, research of the Institute of Vehicle System Technology (FAST) is further advanced in the field of energy management for electrically driven railway and road vehicles. The large scope of mobility research issues at KIT is extended and it is contributed decisively to using electric mobility in everyday life.

 

The Mobility Systems Center pools KIT activities relating to vehicle technology. Presently, 40 KIT institutes with about 800 employees are working on methodological and technical fundamentals for tomorrow’s vehicles. It is their objective to develop concepts, technologies, methods, and processes for future mobility considering the complex interactions of vehicle, driver, traffic, infrastructure, and society.

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,800 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 18.02.2013
Contact:


Monika Landgraf
Chief Communication Officer
Head of Corporate Communications
Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse does-not-exist.kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehne does-not-exist.kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 026/2013

Induktive Ladetechnik für den Linienbusverkehr

KIT forscht im Projekt PRIMOVE mit Elektrobussen im Öffentlichen Personennahverkehr in Mannheim – Schwerpunkte: Simulation des Leistungsflusses und optimierte Ladeinfrastrukturen

Die Rhein-Neckar-Verkehr GmbH (RNV), die Stadt Mannheim, die Bombardier Transportation GmbH und das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) erproben gemeinsam Elektrobusse im regulären Fahrgastbetrieb, die an Haltestellen kabellos nachgeladen werden können. Die Alltagstauglichkeit der induktiven Ladetechnik PRIMOVE für den regelmäßigen Fahrgastbetrieb nachzuweisen ist Ziel dieses vom Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Bau und Stadtentwicklung (BMVBS) geförderten Projekts.

 

Zwölf Monate lang werden zwei induktiv geladene Elektrobusse auf den regulären Fahrstrecken der RNV-Buslinie 63 in Mannheim sowie ein Elektro-Servicefahrzeug im Verkehrsgebiet der RNV betrieben. Der Einsatz der Fahrzeuge erfolgt in enger Abstimmung zwischen den Partnern, die Federführung des Gesamtvorhabens liegt bei der RNV GmbH. Das Institut für Fahrzeugsystemtechnik (FAST) des KIT begleitet das Projekt wissenschaftlich.

 

Die induktive Energieübertragung erfolgt im Prinzip über zwei magnetisch gekoppelte Spulen: Eine ist unsichtbar im Straßenbelag an der Haltestelle eingelassen, die andere an der Fahrzeugunterseite verbaut. Durch die Änderung des magnetischen Flusses entsteht in der fahrzeugseitigen Spule eine elektrische Spannung. Damit funktioniert die Energieübertragung zwischen beiden Spulen kabellos.

 

Schwerpunkt der Forschungsarbeiten am KIT ist in diesem Projekt der Aufbau einer Energiesimulation, die den gesamten Leistungsfluss in den Elektrobussen und an den induktiven Ladestellen abbildet. „Damit lassen sich die Größe der Fahrzeugbatterien und die Ausgestaltung der straßenseitigen Ladeinfrastruktur optimal aufeinander abstimmen“, sagt Professor Peter Gratzfeld vom FAST, der das Projekt auf KIT-Seite leitet. Besonderes Augenmerk gelte den Anforderungen an das Versorgungsnetz: „Es muss in der Lage sein, große Energiemengen in kurzer Zeit an den Ladepunkten bereitzustellen.“ Darüber hinaus ermitteln die KIT-Wissenschaftler die Wirkungsgrade: Sie wollen die höhere Energieeffizienz gegenüber konventionellen Antriebslösungen nachweisen. Zudem erfassen sie nach Inbetriebnahme der Elektrofahrzeuge in einem umfangreichen Messprogramm die tatsächlichen Energieflüsse, um so die Simulationsergebnisse zu bestätigen.

 

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt liegt darin, die straßenseitigen Ladeeinrichtungen so zu gestalten, dass dort sowohl die Elektrobusse als auch das Elektro-Servicefahrzeug geladen werden können. Die gemeinsame Nutzung derselben Ladeinfrastruktur ist eine weitere entscheidende Erleichterung zur breiten Einführung der Elektromobilität in innerstädtische Bereiche. Weiterhin unterstützt das KIT die RNV GmbH beim Optimieren und Gestalten der Abläufe in ihren Werkstätten sowie bei Schulungen im Hinblick auf die besonderen Anforderungen im Einsatz der neuen Elektrobusse.

 

Mit diesem Projekt treibt das Institut für Fahrzeugsystemtechnik (FAST) seine Forschungsaktivitäten auf dem Gebiet des Energiemanagements für elektrisch betriebene Schienen- und Straßenfahrzeuge weiter voran. Es baut damit die Mobilitätsforschung am KIT weiter aus und leistet einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Einführung der Elektromobilität in den Alltag.

 

Das Zentrum Mobilitätssysteme bündelt die fahrzeugtechnischen Aktivitäten des KIT: An den methodischen und technologischen Grundlagen für die Fahrzeuge der Zukunft arbeiten derzeit knapp 40 Institute mit rund 800 Mitarbeitern. Ziel ist es, Konzepte, Technologien, Methoden und Prozesse für die Mobilität der Zukunft zu erarbeiten. Die Wissenschaftler berücksichtigen dabei das komplexe Zusammenspiel von Fahrzeug, Fahrer, Verkehr, Infrastruktur und Gesellschaft.

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

le, 18.02.2013

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneTfz8∂kit edu