Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 022/2013

Light from Silicon Nanocrystal LEDs

KIT Scientists Develop Multicolor LEDs without Heavy Metals
2013_022_Licht_aus_Silizium-Nanokristall-Leuchtdioden72dpi
Liquid-processed SiLEDs: By changing the size of the silicon nanocrystals, color of the light emitted can be varied. (Photo: F. Maier-Flaig, KIT/LTI)

Silicon nanocrystals have a size of a few nanometers and possess a high luminous potential. Scientists of KIT and the University of Toronto/Canada have now succeeded in manufacturing silicon-based light-emitting diodes (SiLEDs). They are free of heavy metals and can emit light in various colors. The team of chemists, materials researchers, nanoscientists, and opto-electronic experts presents its development in the “Nano Letters” journal (DOI: 10.1021/nl3038689).

 

Silicon dominates in microelectronics and photovoltaics industry, but has been considered unsuitable for light-emitting diodes for a long time. However, this is not true for nanoscopic dimensions: Minute silicon nanocrystals can produce light. These nanocrystals consist of a few hundred to thousand atoms and have a considerable potential as highly efficient light emitters, as was demonstrated by the team of Professor Uli Lemmer and Professor Annie K. Powell from KIT as well as Professor Geoffrey A. Ozin from the University of Toronto. In a joint project, the scientists have now succeeded in manufacturing highly efficient light-emitting diodes from the silicon nanocrystals.

 

So far, manufacture of silicon light-emitting diodes has been limited to the red visible spectral range and the near infrared. As regards the efficiency of silicon diodes emitting red light, researchers from Karlsruhe are already top in the world. “Controlled manufacture of diodes emitting multicolor light, however, is an absolutely novelty,” explains Florian Maier-Flaig, scientist of the Light Technology Institute (LTI) of KIT and doctoral student of the Karlsruhe School of Optics and Photonics (KSOP). KIT scientists specifically adjust the color of the light emitted by the diodes by separating nanoparticles depending on their size. “Moreover, our light-emitting diodes have a surprising long-term stability that has not been reached before,” Maier-Flaig reports. The increased service life of the components in operation is due to the use of nanoparticles of one size only. This enhances the stability of the sensitive thin-film components. Short circuits due to oversized particles are excluded.

 

The development made by the researchers from Karlsruhe and Toronto is also characterized by an impressing homogeneity of the luminous areas. The KIT researchers are among the few teams in the world that know how to manufacture such devices. “With the liquid-processed silicon LEDs that may potentially be produced on large areas as well as at low costs, the nanoparticle community enters new territory, the associated potentials of which can hardly be estimated today. But presumably, textbooks about semiconductor components have to be rewritten,” says Geoffrey A. Ozin, who is presently working as a KIT distinguished research fellow at KIT’s Center for Functional Nanostructures (CFN).

 

The SiLEDs also have the advantage that they do not contain any heavy metals. In contrast to cadmium selenide, cadmium sulfide or lead sulfide used by other groups of researchers, the silicon used by this group for the light-emitting nanoparticles is not toxic. Moreover, it is available at low costs and highly abundant on earth. Due to their many advantages, the SiLEDs will be developed further in cooperation with other partners.

 

Florian Maier-Flaig, Julia Rinck, Moritz Stephan, Tobias Bocksrocker, Michael Bruns, Christian Kübel, Annie K. Powell, Geoffrey A. Ozin, and Uli Lemmer: Multicolor Silicon Light-Emitting Diodes (SiLEDs). In: Nano Letters. DOI: 10.1021/nl3038689

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

or, 13.02.2013

For further information, please contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
PKM, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseWxk6∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 022/2013

Licht aus Silizium-Nanokristall-Leuchtdioden

KIT-Wissenschaftler entwickeln farblich durchstimmbare LEDs ohne Schwermetalle
Flüssigprozessierte SiLEDs: Die Änderung der Größe der Silizium-Nanokristalle ermöglicht es, die Farbe des ausgesandten Lichts zu variieren. (Abbildung: F. Maier-Flaig, KIT/LTI)
Flüssigprozessierte SiLEDs: Die Änderung der Größe der Silizium-Nanokristalle ermöglicht es, die Farbe des ausgesandten Lichts zu variieren. (Abbildung: F. Maier-Flaig, KIT/LTI)

Sie sind wenige Nanometer klein und besitzen großes Leuchtpotenzial: Nanokristalle aus Silizium. Einem interdisziplinären Team von Wissenschaftlern des KIT und der Universität Toronto/Kanada ist es nun gelungen, siliziumbasierte Leuchtdioden (SiLEDs) herzustellen. Sie sind schwermetallfrei und können Licht in verschiedenen Farben emittieren. In der Fachzeitschrift „Nano Letters“ stellt das Team aus Chemikern, Material- und Nanowissenschaftlern sowie Experten der Optoelektronik nun seine Entwicklung erstmals vor. (DOI: 10.1021/nl3038689)

 

Silizium dominiert die gesamte Mikroelektronik- und Photovoltaikindustrie, galt jedoch lange als ungeeignet für Leuchtdioden. In nanoskopischen Dimensionen verhält es sich allerdings anders: Winzigen Nanokristallen aus Silizium lässt sich durchaus Licht entlocken. Diese Nanokristalle bestehen aus nur wenigen hundert bis tausend Atomen und weisen ein erhebliches Potenzial als hocheffiziente Lichtemitter auf, wie die Forschergruppe um Professor Uli Lemmer und Professorin Annie K. Powell vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) sowie Professor Geoffrey A. Ozin von der Universität Toronto nachgewiesen hat. In einem gemeinsamen Projekt ist es den Wissenschaftlern nun gelungen, aus den Silizium-Nanokristallen hocheffiziente Leuchtdioden herzustellen.

 

Bisher war die Herstellung von Silizum-Leuchtdioden tatsächlich auf den roten sichtbaren Spektralbereich und den Bereich des Nahen Infrarots beschränkt. Bei der Effizienz von Silizium-Leuchtdioden, die rotes Licht emittieren, sind die Karlsruher Forscher bereits weltweit führend. „Ein absolutes Novum ist jedoch die kontrollierte Herstellung von Leuchtdioden, welche Licht in den verschiedensten Farben emittieren“, erklärt Florian Maier-Flaig, wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lichttechnischen Institut (LTI) des KIT sowie Doktorand der Karlsruhe School of Optics & Photonics (KSOP). Durch gezielte Auftrennung der Nanopartikel nach ihrer Größe können die KIT-Wissenschaftler die Emissionsfarbe der Leuchtdioden nun gezielt einstellen. „Darüber hinaus zeigen unsere Leuchtdioden eine erstaunliche Langzeitstabilität, die bisher nicht erreicht wurde“, berichtet Maier-Flaig. Die erhöhte Lebensdauer der Bauteile unter Betrieb ist dem Einsatz von Nanopartikeln jeweils nur einer Größe zu verdanken. Dadurch halten die empfindlichen Dünnschichtbauteile länger. Kurzschlüsse beispielsweise durch übergroße Partikel lassen sich so vermeiden.

 

Die Entwicklung der Forscher aus Karlsruhe und Toronto zeichnet sich überdies durch eine beeindruckende Homogenität der leuchtenden Flächen aus. Die KIT-Forscher gehören zu den wenigen Teams auf der ganzen Welt, die über die entsprechende Herstellungsexpertise verfügen. „Mit den flüssigprozessierten Silizium-Leuchtdioden, welche potenziell ebenso großflächig wie kostengünstig herstellbar sind, betritt die Nanopartikel-Community wirkliches Neuland, deren Potenzial heute nur schwer abzuschätzen ist. Vermutlich aber müssen Lehrbücher über Halbleiterbauteile neu geschrieben werden“, sagt Geoffrey A. Ozin, der derzeit auch als KIT Distinguished Research Fellow am Center for Functional Nanostructures (CFN) des KIT tätig ist.

 

Ein weiterer Vorteil der SiLEDs ist, dass sie ohne Schwermetalle auskommen. Anders als das von anderen Forschergruppen eingesetzte Cadmiumselenid oder auch Cadmiumsulfid oder Bleisulfid ist Silizium als Ausgangsmaterial für lichtemittiernde Nanopartikel nicht toxisch. Silizium ist außerdem kostengünstig und auf der Erde reichlich verfügbar. Aufgrund der vielen Vorzüge werden die Forscher die SiLEDs in Zusammenarbeit mit weiteren Partnern weiterentwickeln.

 

Florian Maier-Flaig, Julia Rinck, Moritz Stephan, Tobias Bocksrocker, Michael Bruns, Christian Kübel, Annie K. Powell, Geoffrey A. Ozin, and Uli Lemmer: Multicolor Silicon Light-Emitting Diodes (SiLEDs). In: Nano Letters. DOI: 10.1021/nl3038689

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

or, 13.02.2013

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseJwh8∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.