Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 018/2013

Nature: Smallest Vibration Sensor in the Quantum World

Magnetic Spin of a Molecule Excites Vibrations in an Adjacent Carbon Nanotube/ Basis of Sensors and Quantum Computers/ Video shows deformation wave on Carbon nanotube
2013_018_Nature_-_Kleinster_Schwingssensor_der_Quantenwelt72dpi
The spin of a molecule (orange) changes and deforms the nanotube (black) mounted between two electrodes (gold). (Figure: C. Grupe/KIT)

Carbon nanotubes and magnetic molecules are considered building blocks of future nanoelectronic systems. Their electric and mechanical properties play an important role. Researchers of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology and French colleagues from Grenoble and Strasbourg have now found a way to combine both components on the atomic level and to build a quantum mechanical system with novel properties. It is reported now in the print version of nature nanotechnology journal (DOI: 10.1038/nnano.2012.258).

 

In their experiment the researchers used a carbon nanotube that was mounted between two metal electrodes, spanned a distance of about 1 µm, and could vibrate mechanically. Then, they applied an organic molecule with a magnetic spin due to an incorporated metal atom. This spin was oriented in an external magnetic field.

 

“In this setup, we demonstrated that the vibrations of the tube are influenced directly when the spin flips parallel or antiparallel to the magnetic field,” explains Mario Ruben, head of the working group at KIT. When the spin changes, the resulting recoil is transferred to the carbon nanotube and the latter starts to vibrate. Vibration changes the atomic distances of the tube and, hence, its conductance that is used as a measure of motion.

 

The strong interaction between a magnetic spin and mechanical vibration opens up interesting applications apart from determining the states of motion of the carbon nanotube. It is proposed to determine the masses of individual molecules and to measure magnetic forces within the nano-regime. Use as a quantum bit in a quantum computer might also be feasible.

 

According to the supplementary information published in the same issue of nature nanotechnology such interactions are of high importance in the quantum world, i.e. in the range of discrete energies and tunnel effects, for the future use of nanoscopic effects in macroscopic applications. Combination of spin, vibration, and rotation on the nanoscale in particular may result in entirely new applications and technologies.

 

Videoanimation shows wave on Carbon nanotube.

 

The online version of the print paper:
http://www.nature.com/nnano/journal/v8/n3/full/nnano.2012.258.html

The supplementary information:
http://www.nature.com/nnano/journal/v8/n3/pdf/nnano.2013.27.pdf

The homepage of the research group at KIT can be found at:
http://www.ruben-group.de/

 

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

kes, 05.02.2013

For further information, please contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
PKM, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseThl2∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 018/2013

Nature: Kleinster Schwingungssensor der Quantenwelt

Mittels des magnetischen Spins eines Moleküls lassen sich Schwingungen in einem benachbarten Kohlenstoffnanoröhrchen anregen / Grundlage für Sensoren und Quantencomputer
Der Spin des Moleküls (orange) klappt um und verformt das Nanoröhrchen (schwarz), das zwischen zwei Elektroden (gold) aufgespannt ist. (Bild: C.Grupe/KIT)
Der Spin des Moleküls (orange) klappt um und verformt das Nanoröhrchen (schwarz), das zwischen zwei Elektroden (gold) aufgespannt ist. (Bild: C. Grupe/KIT)

Kohlenstoffnanoröhrchen und magnetische Moleküle gelten als Bausteine für zukünftige nanoelektrische Systeme. Dabei spielen sowohl ihre elektrischen als auch ihre mechanischen Eigenschaften eine Rolle. Forscher des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie und französische Kollegen aus Grenoble und Strasbourg berichten nun in der Fachzeitschrift nature nanotechnology, wie sich die beiden Bausteine auf atomarer Ebene zusammensetzen lassen und ein quantenmechanisches System mit neuartigen Eigenschaften bilden. (DOI: 10.1038/nnano.2012.258)

 

In dem Experiment nutzten die Forscher ein Kohlenstoffnanoröhrchen, das zwischen zwei Metallelektroden etwa einen Mikrometer weit aufgespannt war und mechanisch schwingen kann. Daran brachten sie ein organisches Molekül an, das dank eines eingebauten Metallatoms ein magnetisches Moment trug, welches sich in einem äußeren Magnetfeld ausrichten ließ.

 

„In diesem Aufbau konnten wir zeigen, dass die Schwingungen des Röhrchens direkt beeinflusst werden, wenn der Spin sich parallel oder antiparallel zum Magnetfeld einstellt“, erläutert Mario Ruben, Arbeitsgruppenleiter am KIT. Beim Umklappen des Spins entsteht ein Rückstoß, der an das Kohlenstoffnanoröhrchen weitergegeben wird und es in Schwingung versetzt. Die Schwingung verändert die Atomabstände des Röhrchens und damit direkt seine Leitfähigkeit, die als Maß für die Bewegung herangezogen wurde.

 

Die starke Wechselwirkung zwischen einem magnetischen Spin und einer mechanischen Schwingung eröffnet - neben der Bestimmung der Bewegungszustände des Kohlenstoffnanoröhrchens - einige interessante Anwendungsfelder. So ließen sich die Massen von einzelnen Molekülen bestimmen oder magnetische Kräfte im Nanobereich messen. Auch der Einsatz als Quantenbit in einem Quantencomputer wäre denkbar.

 

Im begleitenden Kommentarartikel in der gleichen Ausgabe von nature nanotechnologie wird unterstrichen, wie wichtig solche Wechselwirkungen in der Quantenwelt, d. h. im Bereich diskreter Energien und der Tunnelerscheinungen, sind, um in Zukunft die Vorteile der nanoskopischen Effekte auch in makroskopischen Anwendungen zu nutzen. Insbesondere könnte die Verbindung von Spin, Schwingung und Rotation auf der Nanoebene den Weg zu Anwendungen öffnen, die kein klassisches Vorbild haben und wirklich neuartige Technologie darstellen.

 

Videoanimation zeigt Schwinungen des Nano-Kohlenstoffröhrchens.

 

Homepage der Forschungsgruppen am KIT:

http://www.ruben-group.de

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

kes, 05.02.2013

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseByv7∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.