Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 016/2013

Interdisciplinary Graduate School KSETA about to Start

Projects on Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics/ Inauguration Symposium and Julius Wess Award Ceremony on February 01, 2013, at KIT
2013_016_Interdisziplinaere_Graduiertenschule_KSETA_startet_1_72dpi
The CMS Group Karlsruhe: The researchers decisively contribute to the development and operation of the Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS), one of the two particle detectors at CERN, Geneva. (Photo: Markus Breig)

The “Karlsruhe School of Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics: Science and Technology“ (KSETA) will be opened officially with an inauguration symposium on Friday, February 01, 2013, 14.00 hrs, on KIT Campus North. At this graduate school, physicists and engineers will work on projects in the field of elementary particle and astroparticle physics. During this symposium, KIT will hand over the Julius Wess Award to Dr. Peter Jenni and Dr. Michel della Negra as well as the honorary doctorate to Professor James W. Cronin. Representatives of the media are cordially invited.

 

KSETA offers doctoral students in physics and engineering excellent education and training for careers in science and industry. The graduate school that acquired funding in the second phase of the Excellence Initiative pursues an interdisciplinary approach extending from astronomy to astrophysics to elementary particle physics to cosmology. The doctoral students take part in international projects, such as the CMS particle detector at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) of CERN in Geneva, the Pierre Auger Observatory for cosmic rays in Argentina, the Karlsruhe Tritium Neutrino Experiment KA-TRIN, the Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer (AMS) on the international space station ISS, or the French-German detector for dark matter EDELWEISS. KSETA represents an important component of the KIT Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics Center (KCETA).

 

KIT Vice President for Research and Information, Professor Detlef Löhe, will welcome the guests of the inauguration symposium that will be held in the English language. Then, the scientific spokesman of KSETA, Professor Johannes Blümer, will present the concept of the graduate school under the heading of “Quarks, Cosmos, and Technology”. This presentation will be followed by the 2012 Julius Wess Award ceremony for outstanding achievements in the field of elementary particle and astroparticle physics. The Julius Wess Award goes to the Swiss Dr. Peter Jenni, former spokesman of the ATLAS particle detector at CERN, and to the French Dr. Michel della Negra, first spokesman of the Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) experiment at CERN. By granting this award, KSETA honors both experimental particle physicists for the discovery of a Higgs-like particle.

 

Another highlight of the symposium will be the conferral of the honorary doctorate on Professor James W. Cronin. In 1980, the US-American physicist received the Nobel Prize in physics for the discovery of violations of fundamental symmetry principles in the decay of neutral K-mesons. Presently, he is studying cosmic rays at the Pierre Auger Observatory, in which KIT is a major partner. The award ceremony will be followed by presentations of the persons honored.

 

The ssymposium will take place on Friday, February 01, 2013, 14.00 hrs, at the Center for Advanced Technological and Environmental Training (FTU) on KIT Campus North. At 10.00 hrs on the same day, KSETA will organize a colloquium on elementary particle and astroparticle physics. Professor Ulrich Nierste will make the introductory speech. Then, doctoral students of KSETA will present their projects.

 

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

or, 25.01.2013

For further information, please contact:

Monika Landgraf
PKM Abteilung Presse
Phone: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafSfc9∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseFzj7∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 016/2013

Interdisziplinäre Graduiertenschule KSETA startet

Projekte zur Elementarteilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik/ Inaugurations-Symposium und Verleihung des Julius Wess-Preises am 1. Februar 2013 am KIT
Die CMS Group Karlsruhe: Die Forscher sind maßgeblich an Entwicklung und Betrieb des Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) beteiligt, einem der zwei Teilchendetektoren am CERN in Genf.
Die CMS Group Karlsruhe: Die Forscher sind maßgeblich an Entwicklung und Betrieb des Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) beteiligt, einem der zwei Teilchendetektoren am CERN in Genf.

Die „Karlsruhe School of Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics: Science and Technology“ (KSETA) startet offiziell mit einem Inaugurations-Symposium am Freitag, 1. Februar 2013, um 14.00 Uhr am KIT Campus Nord. An der Graduiertenschule arbeiten Physiker und Ingenieure an Projekten der Elementarteilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik. Das KIT verleiht im Rahmen des Symposiums den Julius Wess-Preis an Dr. Peter Jenni und Dr. Michel della Negra sowie die Ehrendoktorwürde an Professor James W. Cronin.

 

KSETA bietet Promovierenden in Physik und Ingenieurwissenschaften eine hervorragende Ausbildung für Berufswege in Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft. Dabei verfolgt die Graduiertenschule, die sich in der zweiten Phase der Exzellenzinitiative durchgesetzt hat, einen fächerübergreifenden Ansatz zwischen Astronomie, Astrophysik, Elementarteilchenphysik und Kosmologie. Die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden wirken an internationalen Projekten mit, wie dem Teilchendetektor CMS am Large Hadron Collider (LHC) des CERN in Genf, dem Pierre Auger-Observatorium für kosmische  Strahlung in Argentinien, dem Karlsruhe Tritium Neutrino Experiment KATRIN, dem Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer (AMS) auf der internationalen Raumstation ISS oder dem französisch-deutschen Detektor für Dunkle Materie EDELWEISS. KSETA bildet einen wesentlichen Baustein des KIT-Zentrums Elementarteilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik (KCETA).

 

Bei dem englischsprachigen Inaugurations-Symposium hält der KIT-Vizepräsident für Forschung und Information, Professor Detlef Löhe, die Begrüßungsansprache. Der wissenschaftliche Sprecher von KSETA, Professor Johannes Blümer, präsentiert das Konzept der Graduiertenschule unter dem Titel „Quarks, Cosmos and Technology“. Daran schließt sich die Verleihung des Julius Wess-Preises 2012 für herausragende Leistungen in der Elementarteilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik an. Er geht an den Schweizer Dr. Peter Jenni, den früheren Sprecher des Teilchendetektors ATLAS am CERN, und an den Franzosen Dr. Michel della Negra, den ersten Sprecher des Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS)-Experiments am CERN. Mit der Auszeichnung würdigt das KCETA des KIT die beiden experimentellen Teilchenphysiker für die Entdeckung eines Higgs-artigen Teilchens.

 

Ein weiterer Höhepunkt des Symposiums ist die Verleihung der Ehrendoktorwürde an Professor James W. Cronin. Der US-amerikanische Physiker erhielt 1980 den Physik-Nobelpreis für die Entdeckung von Verletzungen fundamentaler Symmetrieprinzipien im Zerfall von neutralen K-Mesonen. Derzeit befasst er sich mit der Erforschung der kosmischen Strahlung am Pierre Auger-Observatorium, an dem auch das KIT maßgeblich beteiligt ist.An die Verleihungen schließen sich Vorträge der Geehrten an.

 

Das Symposium am kommenden Freitag, 1. Februar 2013, findet ab 14.00 Uhr in der Aula des Fortbildungszentrums für Technik und Umwelt (FTU) am KIT Campus Nord statt. Bereits ab 10.00 Uhr richtet die KSETA ein Kolloquium zur Elementarteilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik aus. Professor Ulrich Nierste hält die einführende Ansprache; anschließend stellen Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden der KSETA ihre Projekte vor.

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

or, 25.01.2013

Weiterer Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
PKM Abteilung Presse
Tel.: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafOfb6∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseRuu9∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.